页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

宠物陪伴为乳腺癌患者和幸存者提供安慰

大多数人都知道癌症对身体的破坏性影响。很少有人的生活没有受到癌症的某种影响--无论是通过朋友或亲戚间接影响,还是直接影响。但很多人不知道的是,癌症对精神和情绪的影响可能和它对身体的副作用一样隐蔽,而且往往更难察觉和解决。


除了面对危及生命的疾病和大量痛苦的治疗所带来的恐惧和压力外,许多癌症患者还感到 孤立和孤独.他们往往不再有精力或能力参加社交活动,或者生活中的人无法完全理解他们所经历的一切。对于许多有这种感觉的乳腺癌患者来说,宠物陪伴能给他们带来极大的安慰。

孤独:健康后果和负面影响

癌症与孤独之间的联系更令人担忧,因为研究表明 孤独会带来一系列与健康相关的后果包括药物滥用、抑郁和心脏问题。此外,孤独感并不一定与社会接触的多少有关。即使癌症患者拥有关爱他的人和支持他的亲友网络,也会感到孤独和压力。

尽管围绕癌症的大多数研究都集中在预防和治疗方面,但癌症幸存者,即癌症幸存者的独特经历和相关风险,正受到越来越多的关注。专家指出,孤独感对于癌症幸存者和癌症患者来说同样重要。例如,一项研究表明 孤独感与乳腺癌复发之间存在明显的相关性。乳腺癌幸存者的复发之间存在着显著的相关性。


宠物对癌症患者和幸存者的益处

对于饱受孤独折磨的癌症患者和幸存者来说,一个潜在的解决方案可能就是驱车前往当地的动物收容所。现在,养宠物对健康的益处已得到广泛认可;其中,疾病预防控制中心列出的益处包括 降低血压和胆固醇,减少压力感和孤独感,增强体质........


除了提供无条件的爱和急需的身体接触外,养宠物还有以下好处 为癌症患者和幸存者的生活增添目标感和结构感对于癌症患者和幸存者来说,还有一个额外的好处。照顾宠物可以为那些原本可能感到绝望的人提供一种外在的动力和责任感。即使是没有宠物的癌症患者和幸存者也不例外、 治疗期间的动物辅助疗法也能帮助他们减轻治疗过程中的痛苦或无聊,振奋精神。


虽然许多宠物都能给人带来陪伴感,但在关于宠物的治疗功效的讨论中,狗的出现频率最高。例如,您可能听说过狗能嗅出癌症的故事。但是,除了诊断能力之外,狗还能在其他方面帮助主人。


例如,狗需要运动,这就意味着它们的主人可能会更加活跃--体育锻炼会导致内啡肽的释放,而内啡肽可以帮助控制疼痛和改善情绪。此外,研究表明,仅仅抚摸狗狗就能导致 降低皮质醇(压力荷尔蒙)的水平,提高催产素(感觉良好的荷尔蒙)的水平.


值得注意的是,虽然宠物和动物疗法能为癌症患者带来巨大的益处,但并不是每个人都适合,尤其是免疫力低下的患者或幸存者。由于从动物身上感染疾病的潜在风险,患者应向医生咨询养宠物是否安全,以及哪些动物最适合他们。



SurvivingBreastCancer.org (SBC) 致力于为乳腺癌患者及其家属提供支持。SBC 提供了一个教育和虚拟社区平台,帮助乳腺癌患者、幸存者及其家人了解预防、诊断、治疗及其他方面的知识。查看我们的资源或考虑 捐款捐款!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Pet Companionship Offers Comfort for Breast Cancer Patients and Survivors

Most people are familiar with the devastating physical effects of cancer. It's rare to find someone whose life hasn't been affected by it in some way—whether indirectly, through a friend or relative, or directly. But what many people don't know is that the mental and emotional repercussions of cancer can be just as insidious as its physical side effects—and often much harder to recognize and address.


In addition to the fear and stress of facing a life-threatening illness and extensive, painful medical treatments, many cancer patients feel isolated and lonely. Often they no longer have the energy or ability to participate in social events or activities or the people in their lives cannot fully understand what they're going through. For many breast cancer patients dealing with such feelings, pet companionship offers great comfort.

Loneliness: Health Consequences and Negative Impact

The connection between cancer and loneliness is even more concerning in light of the research showing that loneliness comes with its own set of health-related consequences, including substance abuse, depression, and heart problems. In addition, loneliness isn't necessarily tied to the amount of social contact. Even a cancer patient with loving caregivers and a supportive network of friends and family can experience loneliness and stress.

Even though most research around cancer focuses on prevention and treatment, cancer survivorship, which covers the unique experience and risks associated with being a cancer survivor, is receiving more attention. According to experts, loneliness is just as crucial for survivors as it is for cancer patients. For example, one study showed a significant correlation between loneliness and recurrence for breast cancer survivors.


The Benefits of Pets for Cancer Patients and Survivors

For cancer patients and survivors suffering from the effects of loneliness, one potential solution may be a drive to the local animal shelter. The health benefits of owning a pet are widely recognized by now; among them, the CDC lists things such as decreased blood pressure and cholesterol, reduced feelings of stress and loneliness, and increased physical fitness.


In addition to providing unconditional love and much-needed physical contact, having a pet may come with the added benefit of giving life a sense of purpose and structure for cancer patients and survivors. Caring for a pet can supply an external sense of motivation and responsibility for people who might otherwise be feeling hopeless. Even for cancer patients and survivors who don't own a pet, animal-assisted therapy during treatment can help to alleviate the pain or boredom of treatments and lift their spirits.


While many pets can provide a sense of companionship, dogs tend to show up most frequently in discussions of the therapeutic benefits of pets. For example, you may have heard stories about dogs reportedly being able to sniff out cancer. But, in addition to their diagnostic capabilities, dogs can help their owners in various other ways.


For example, dogs need exercise, which means their owners are likely to be more active—physical exercise results in the release of endorphins, which can help with pain management and mood improvement. In addition, just petting dogs has been shown to result in decreased levels of cortisol (the stress hormone) and increased levels of oxytocin (the feel-good hormone).


It's worth noting that, while pets and animal therapy can have enormous benefits for people experiencing the effects of cancer, these options might not be a good idea for everyone, especially patients or survivors who are immuno-compromised. Because of the potential risk of catching diseases from animals, patients should consult with their doctors about whether having a pet is safe and which animals are most suitable for them.



SurvivingBreastCancer.org (SBC) is dedicated to supporting those affected by breast cancer and their families. SBC provides an educational and virtual community platform to help breast cancer patients, survivors, and their families navigate prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and beyond. Check out our resources or consider donating today!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Sunshine

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

March 1 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

March 8, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

March 25,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

March 26,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page