页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

医生职业倦怠



医生(和护士)职业倦怠已被正式承认多年,并对医务人员的安全和病人的治疗成功构成了重大的生存威胁。目前,仅在美国,每年就有约 400 名医务人员死于自杀[1]。根据《Medscape 医生生活方式报告》,近 "一半的医生都有职业倦怠的经历,其中急诊科、重症监护和家庭医学科的倦怠率最高"[2]。


COVID-19 期间的倦怠

COVID-19 的爆发无疑加剧了这一现象。[3]有许多促成因素,如与实践相关的过多文书工作和电脑时间,但还有许多其他驱动因素和影响因素。后者包括完美主义人格特质、过高的期望值以及对失败、失控和暴露等问题的恐惧。最后这些问题与内部力量有关,但也有许多外部压力。排名不分先后,包括工作时间长、要求在更短时间内看更多病人、网络挫折、官僚任务太多、病人难缠/不现实以及工作与生活的平衡。


医生职业倦怠可能会带来严重后果:身体机能下降、人际关系问题、成瘾、焦虑、抑郁以及上文提到的自杀。此外,病人的护理质量也可能受到不利影响,包括医疗失误、处方开具和病人的整体满意度。


医生职业倦怠的危险信号包括消极、疲惫、生病和养成不良习惯。


医生职业倦怠干预

医务人员消除职业倦怠的方法有很多,它们与减轻护理人员的压力类似。例如,首先要照顾好自己--考虑一下一位空姐就必要时使用和实施氧气面罩给出的最后安全建议:"确保先戴上你的面罩,然后再给你的孩子、亲人或需要帮助的邻居戴上面罩"。适当的营养和锻炼在阻止职业倦怠的浪潮中也发挥着重要作用。最后,为自己留出时间(在这里,我想起了一位好友在我担任癌症护理者时对我说的话,要我确保自己有时间散步、休息和锻炼。她一直认为,如果我能抽出时间放松一下,我作为护理人员的价值就会更大。


据美国医疗保健研究与质量机构(AHRQ)报道,马克-林泽博士开发了一项小型调查的说法,马克-林泽博士开发了一项小型调查,让医生们了解自己的压力和职业倦怠程度。通过研究,Linzer 博士确定了三种有助于缓解医生职业倦怠的干预措施:


  • 在对工作人员进行调查后,安排每月一次的医疗服务提供者会议,重点讨论工作生活问题或临床专题。

  • 通过糖尿病和抑郁症筛查质量改进项目提高团队功能,以吸引办公室工作人员参与,加强团队合作,并减轻医生负责护理工作各个方面的压力。

  • 让医疗助理将病人数据输入电子健康记录、跟踪表格和发送传真,让医生有更多时间与病人面对面[4]。


战胜职业倦怠的最后一个建议是大笑。在 Netflix 上给自己找一部喜剧片,脱掉鞋子,坐下来微笑。笑可能就是职业倦怠的最大解药。


因此,在下次就诊时,当医生询问您最近是否摔过跤,或者您的药物清单是否有任何变化时,一定要花点时间问问医生他们最近怎么样,他们上一次笑得肚子疼是什么时候,以及他们今天最感激的是什么。我们是伙伴,要携手共进。


参考文献 [1]Andrew, L.A., (2018),《医生自杀》、 Medscape, https://emedicine.medscape.com/article/806779-overview [2]Martin, K. L., (2020).医生生活方式与幸福报告 2020》:代沟、 Medscape https://www.medscape.com/slideshow/2020-lifestyle-happiness-6012424#1 [3]Kane, L., (2021).千刀万剐":Medscape National Physician Burnout & Suicide Report 2021、 Medscape. https://www.medscape.com/slideshow/2021-lifestyle-burnout-6013456#4 [4]医生职业倦怠》,(2017 年)。 https://www.ahrq.gov/prevention/clinician/ahrq-works/burnout/index.html


8 条意见

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Physician Burnout



Physician (and Nurse) Burnout has been officially recognized for years and poses a significant existential threat to the safety of medical personnel and the treatment success of patients across the spectrum. Death by suicide in the medical profession has now reached approximately 400 annually just in the United States[1]. According to the Medscape Physician Lifestyle Report nearly “half of all physicians experience burnout with emergency care, critical care and family medicine experiencing the highest rates”.[2]


Burnout During COVID-19

The onset of COVID-19 has certainly exacerbated this phenomenon. However, burnout was quite real with 79% of physicians reporting burnout prior to the pandemic.[3] There are many contributing factors such as excessive paperwork and computer time associated with the practice, but there are many other drivers and influencing facets. The latter include perfectionism re: personality traits, excessive expectations, and fears including failure, loss of control and exposure. These last issues are associated with internal forces but there are many external pressures as well. In no particular order would be the long hours, demands of seeing more patients in a shorter amount of time, network frustrations, too many bureaucratic tasks, difficult/unrealistic patients and work-life balance.


There can be severe consequences associated with physician burnout: physical decline, relationship issues, addiction, anxiety, depression and the above referenced suicide. In addition, patient quality of care may be adversely affected including medical errors, prescription issuance and overall patient satisfaction.


The danger signs of physician burnout include negativity, exhaustion, illness and the development of poor habits.


Physician Burnout Intervention

There are a number of ways for medical personnel to combat burnout and they are similar to caregivers relief. For example, taking care of yourself being foremost - consider the final safety advice an airline stewardess gives regarding the use and implementation of the O2 masks if necessary “Be sure to place yours on first, then place one on your child, loved one or neighbor that needs assistance.” Proper nutrition and exercise also play a significant role in stemming the tide of burnout. Lastly, make time for yourself (here I recall a close friend calling me out in my role of cancer caregiver, to make sure that I was finding the time to walk, rest, & exercise by myself. She always maintained that I was more valuable as a caregiver when I could find the time to unwind.


According to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Dr. Mark Linzer developed a mini survey to allow physicians to check in on their stress and burnout levels. From his research, Dr. Linzer identified three interventions that could help to alleviate physician burnout:


  • Scheduling monthly provider meetings focused on work life issues or clinical topics after surveying staff members on which topics to address.

  • Enhancing team functioning through diabetes and depression screening quality improvement projects to engage office staff, enhance teamwork, and reduce the pressure on physicians to be responsible for all aspects of care.

  • Having medical assistants enter patient data into electronic health records, track forms, and send faxes to give doctors more face-to-face time with patients.[4]


The final advice we recommend in defeating burnout is to laugh. Find yourself a comedy on Netflix, take your shoes off, sit back and smile. Laughing may just be the greatest antidote to burnout.


So for your next appointment when your doctors are asking if you have fallen recently, or if there are any changes to your medication list, be sure to take a moment to ask your doctor how they are doing, when was the last time they laughed so hard their belly hurt, and what they are grateful for today. We are partners and in this together.


References [1] Andrew, L.A., (2018), Physician Suicide, Medscape, https://emedicine.medscape.com/article/806779-overview [2] Martin, K. L., (2020). Physician Lifestyle & Happiness Report 2020: The Generational Divide, Medscape https://www.medscape.com/slideshow/2020-lifestyle-happiness-6012424#1 [3] Kane, L., (2021). Death by 1000 Cuts': Medscape National Physician Burnout & Suicide Report 2021, Medscape. https://www.medscape.com/slideshow/2021-lifestyle-burnout-6013456#4 [4] Physician Burnout, (2017). https://www.ahrq.gov/prevention/clinician/ahrq-works/burnout/index.html


8 views

Recent Posts

See All

Sunshine

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

March 1 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

March 8, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

March 25,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

March 26,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page