页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

建筑环境:探索环境与健康



 

超过 70% 的乳腺癌患者不知道自己患病的原因。会是环境因素吗? 建筑环境 建筑环境是指从建筑物、学校和办公场所到公园和社区基础设施等人为环境。它是我们生活、工作和社交的环境。您是否想过 您周围的环境如何影响您的健康 和福祉?


邻里关系是健康的关键决定因素。您所在社区的 基础设施 对您的健康和幸福起着重要作用。例如,您的 社区 是否有方便您散步的人行道,您的孩子是否可以安全地骑自行车?您是否可以 户外绿地和公园??您能买到新鲜的杂货和健康食品吗?

研究表明,这些 建筑环境因素与体育锻炼水平和饮食模式有关。如果您住在郊区,您可能有 有良好的道路和人行道但这样做的代价是什么呢?久坐不动的生活方式开车上下班、往返杂货店等等?这并不是说我们都应该急于搬进城市。虽然 城市规划虽然城市规划允许增加自行车道和 通勤文化虽然城市规划允许增加自行车道和步行到公共汽车站或从火车到办公室步行几个街区的通勤文化,但人们也可能更倾向于从便利店购买快餐,或更经常地外出就餐,而不是在家做饭......。.

环境影响我们的行为。 邻里因素会影响癌症幸存者的健康习惯,进而影响生存结果、疾病复发和死亡率。 医学证据开始显示出邻里之间在癌症风险方面的差异。如果人们生活的环境提倡久坐不动的生活方式,他们体重增加和肥胖的风险就会增加,从而导致 不良的健康后果 和更长期的健康风险,如 心血管疾病、糖尿病和癌症。

今天的 #FeatureFriday 聚焦 建筑环境今天的 #FeatureFriday 关注的是建筑环境,以及我们每天有意识地活动身体、倡导人行道、自行车道、医疗保健、健康食品、教育和减少环境中有毒致癌物质的决定。

您所处的环境对您的健康有何影响?请发送电子邮件至 hello@survivingbreastcancer.org.

 

文章:


交通是建筑环境的一个要素,与无障碍环境和住房相互关联。良好的交通条件可确保人们获得高质量的筛查服务,而且已发现这与许多癌症在确诊时的严重程度较低有关。交通基础设施,如港口、铁路和高速公路,也与较高的空气污染率有关,进而与较高的肺癌、结直肠癌、乳腺癌和乳腺癌的暴露风险有关、

和神经系统癌症。

 

影响相对体重的许多环境因素可分为十六个类别。第一类是影响体重平衡的建筑环境因素,包括物理、化学、生物制剂、城市住房和社会条件、交通以及与邻近有影响的农业或工业环境活动中心有关的污染。在统计学上,建筑环境的某些方面与肥胖风险之间存在着显著的关系。要全面了解这种关系,了解体育活动机会和获得健康食品的机会的影响至关重要。

 

健康的社会决定因素是指以下环境中的条件 环境中的条件是指人们出生、生活、学习、工作、娱乐、礼拜和养老的环境条件,这些环境条件影响着人们的健康、功能和生活质量的各种结果和风险。这些资源的例子包括安全且负担得起的住房、受教育的机会、公共安全、健康食品的可获得性、当地的应急/卫生服务,以及 环境没有威胁生命的毒素的环境。 了解人口群体如何体验 "地方 "与 "地方 "对健康的影响之间的关系,是健康的社会决定因素--包括社会决定因素和物质决定因素--的基础。

 

根据美国疾病控制和预防中心的说法,建筑环境 "包括我们生活和工作场所的所有有形部分"(2011 年,1)。这些部分包括我们的住宅、工作场所、街道、社区、基础设施、建筑物、公园、小径,甚至曾经包含建筑物的空置房地。健康公平意味着 "每个人都有公平公正的机会尽可能地保持健康"。1 要实现健康公平,社区必须解决不同群体在获取促进健康的系统和资源(如住房、交通、工作、公园和娱乐设施、食品、医疗保健和社区)方面的不同水平,以及它们在质量、成本和安全方面的不同水平。

 

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Built Environments: Exploring Environments and Health



 

Over 70% of people with a breast cancer diagnosis do not know why they developed the disease. Could it be environmental? The built environment is a term which refers to human-made surroundings, ranging from buildings, schools and office spaces to parks and neighborhood infrastructure. It is the setting in which we live, work, and socialize. Have you ever wondered how the environment around you affects your health and well-being?


Neighborhoods are key determinants of health. The infrastructure of your neighborhood plays a significant role in your health and well-being. As an example, does your neighborhood have sidewalks where you can easily take walks, and for your children to safely ride their bicycles? Do you have access to outdoor green spaces and parks? Do you have access to fresh groceries and healthy food?

Studies have shown that these built environment factors are associated with physical activity levels and dietary patterns. If you live in a suburb, you may have access to good roads and sidewalks, but what is the tradeoff; reliance on cars contributing to air pollution and a more sedentary life-style driving to and from work, to and from the grocery store and so on? That is not to say we should all rush to move into the cities either. While city planning allows for increased bike lanes and a commuter culture of walking to the bus stop or walking a few blocks from the train to the office, people may also be more likely to pick up fast food from a convenience store, or eat out more often versus cooking at home.

Our environment influences our behaviors. Neighborhood factors influence the health habits among cancer survivors, affecting survivorship outcomes, disease recurrence, and mortality. Medical evidence is beginning to show the correlation of neighborhoods' disparities in cancer risk. If people are living in an environment that promotes a more sedentary lifestyle, they are at an increased risk of gaining weight and becoming obese, which can lead to poor health outcomes and longer term health risks such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes and cancer.

Today’s #FeatureFriday focuses on the built environment and the conscious decisions we all take to move our bodies daily and advocate for sidewalks, bike lanes, access to healthcare, healthy foods, education, and to cut down on toxic carcinogens in our environments.

How has your environment affected your health? Let us know at hello@survivingbreastcancer.org.

 

Articles:


Transportation is an element of the built environment interrelated to accessibility and housing. Good access to transportation ensures access to high-quality screening services and has been found to be associated with less severe stages at diagnosis for many cancers. Transportation infrastructure, such as ports, railways, and expressways is also associated with higher rates of air pollution and, in turn, higher exposure-based risks for lung, colorectal,

and nervous system–based cancers.

 

Many environmental factors that affect relative weight can be classified under sixteen headings. The first of them, the built environment factors that act upon body weight balance include physical, chemical, biological agents, urban housing and social conditions, transportation and pollution related to the proximity of influential agricultural or industrial environmental centers of activity. There is a statistically significant relationship between some aspects of the built-up environment and risk of obesity. Understanding the influence of both opportunities for physical activity and access to healthy foods is critical to obtaining a comprehensive picture of this connection.

 

Social determinants of health are conditions in the environments in which people are born, live, learn, work, play, worship, and age that affect a wide range of health, functioning, and quality-of-life outcomes and risks. Examples of these resources include safe and affordable housing, access to education, public safety, availability of healthy foods, local emergency/health services, and environments free of life-threatening toxins. Understanding the relationship between how population groups experience “place” and the impact of “place” on health is fundamental to the social determinants of health—including both social and physical determinants.

 

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the built environment “includes all of the physical parts of where we live and work” (2011, 1). These include our homes, workplaces, streets, neighborhoods, infrastructure, buildings, parks, trails, and even vacant properties that once contained structures. Health equity means that “everyone has a fair and just opportunity to be as healthy as possible.”1 To achieve health equity, communities must address the differing levels of access that various groups have to health-promoting systems and resources like housing, transportation, jobs, parks and recreation facilities, food, medical care, and neighborhoods and their differing levels of quality, cost, and safety.

 

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page