页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

治疗淋巴水肿


 

淋巴水肿是指体内淋巴液积聚引起的肿胀。淋巴水肿通常是由于癌症或癌症治疗导致的淋巴结手术切除或损伤引起的。例如,肿瘤可能会阻碍淋巴液的流动并导致堵塞。在其他情况下,淋巴水肿可能是由于手术或放射治疗导致淋巴结受损而引起的。


淋巴系统发挥着重要的生物作用。它的工作是在全身循环淋巴液(一种富含蛋白质的溶液),捕捉细菌、病毒和废物。 这些废物通过淋巴结被称为淋巴细胞的抗感染细胞过滤,然后排出体外。 根据美国国立卫生研究院(NIH)的数据,在接受前哨淋巴结活检(SLNB)的女性中,5%-17% 的人会出现淋巴水肿,而在接受腋窝淋巴结清扫术(ALND)的女性中,这一比例最高可达 53%。

淋巴水肿可能会在治疗后几个月出现,在某些情况下,可能会在 20 年后出现。 虽然目前还没有治愈淋巴水肿的方法,但人们可以采取一些预防措施来降低患淋巴水肿的几率,例如保持患臂清洁和避免割伤。


建议去医院复诊时,要求在未受影响的一侧测量血压和/或抽血。您可能还需要避免穿紧身衣、戴手表和限制性首饰,以防止淋巴堵塞。

如果发生淋巴水肿,有几种疗法可以控制肿胀、减轻疼痛并促进全身淋巴流动。作为预防措施,您可以考虑在乘坐飞机或锻炼时穿上压力衣。您也可以更经常地穿着压力衣来控制症状。淋巴水肿网络 淋巴水肿网络 有一份为患者进行淋巴引流的按摩师名录。这种做法可以教给患者,也是一种可以每天在家中使用的技术。根据淋巴水肿的严重程度,淋巴水肿治疗师可能还会建议对手臂进行绑带/包裹,以模拟抽水的感觉,帮助促进淋巴液的流动。

做过淋巴结切除术(或淋巴区域接受过放射治疗)的人可能会觉得自己总是处于淋巴水肿的管理状态--无论是预防还是治疗,但好消息是,有几种治疗方法和疗法可以让肿胀和疼痛不至于变得严重。 如果您已经患上淋巴水肿,按摩和包裹手臂可以成为您睡前例行公事的一部分,就像刷牙和使用牙线一样。

今天的 #FeatureFriday重点介绍乳腺癌确诊后保持淋巴系统健康的信息,以及有关预防和治疗的信息和资源

您是如何预防或控制淋巴水肿的?

请发送电子邮件至 hello@survivingbreastcancer.org.


 

文章:



淋巴水肿不会自行消退,如果没有适当的治疗,还会继续发展。


淋巴水肿治疗的目标是利用剩余的健康淋巴管和其他淋巴通路,将淋巴水肿缩小到正常或接近正常大小。淋巴水肿消肿后,次要目标是保持消肿效果,防止淋巴液再次积聚。


......................................................................



约有五分之一的女性乳腺癌患者或乳腺癌晚期患者在接受乳腺癌治疗期间切除了腋下淋巴结,她们会出现淋巴水肿。 及早发现和治疗淋巴水肿有助于确保更快和更好的治疗效果。


 

致力于发现、开发和商业化治疗破坏性疾病的高度差异化药物的临床阶段生物治疗公司 PureTech 今天宣布启动 LYT-100(deupirfenidone)在乳腺癌相关上肢继发性淋巴水肿患者中的 2a 期概念验证研究。LYT-100 是 PureTech 全资拥有的候选产品,目前正用于治疗涉及炎症、纤维化和淋巴流动障碍的疾病。

 

如果使用药物治疗后淋巴水肿仍在发展,您可能需要接受手术治疗。医生会与您讨论几种选择: 血管化淋巴结转移手术(淋巴静脉移植)、淋巴-静脉吻合术(也称为淋巴静脉搭桥术)或查尔斯手术(皮肤移植术)



 

56 次浏览

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Treatment for Lymphedema


 

Lymphedema refers to swelling caused by a build-up of lymphatic fluid in the body. It is commonly brought about by the surgical removal of or damage to one's lymph nodes due to cancer or cancer treatment. For example, a tumor may block the flow of lymph fluid and result in a blockage. In other cases, lymphedema may develop due to damaged lymph nodes as a result of surgery or radiation.


Your lymphatic system serves a critical biological role. It’s job is to circulate lymph fluid (a protein rich solution) throughout your body, capturing bacteria, viruses and waste. These wastes are then filtered through your lymph nodes, by infection fighting cells called lymphocytes, and then flushed from your body. According to the NIH, 5-17% of women who have a sentinel lymph node biopsy (SLNB) develop lymphedema and the percentage increases up to 53% for women who have an axillary (armpit) lymph node dissection (ALND).

Lymphedema can occur a few months after treatment and, in some cases, may manifest 20 years later. While there is currently no cure for lymphedema there are precautions people can take to reduce the chances of developing it - such as keeping the affected arm clean and avoiding cuts.


Suggestion: When going for your follow up doctor's appointments, ask to have your blood pressure taken, and/or any bloodwork drawn, from the non-affected side. You may may also want to avoid wearing tight clothing, watches and restrictive jewelry to prevent any lymph blockage.

In the event that you develop lymphedema, there are several therapies available to manage the swelling, reduce the pain and promote the flow of lymph throughout the body. You may consider wearing a compression garment when flying or working out as a preventative measure. Compression garments may also be worn more routinely to manage symptoms. The Lymphedema Network has a directory of massage therapists who work with patients and perform lymphatic drainage. This practice can be taught to patients and is a technique that can be used daily at home. Depending on the severity, a lymphedema therapist may also recommend bandaging/wrapping the arm to mimic a pumping sensation and help promote the flow of lymph fluid.

While those who have had lymph nodes removed (or had radiation to the lymphatic area) may feel that they are always in a state of managing lymphedema - either preventative or treatment, the good news is that there are several treatments and therapies available so that the swelling and pain do not become severe. If you have developed lymphedema, massaging and wrapping your arm can become part of your bedtime routine just like brushing your teeth and flossing.

Today's #FeatureFriday highlights information on maintaining a healthy lymphatic system after a breast cancer diagnosis as well as information and resources on prevention and treatments

What are you doing to prevent or manage lymphedema?


 

Articles:



Lymphedema does not dissipate by itself and continues to progress without adequate treatment.


The goal of lymphedema management is to reduce the lymphedematous swelling to a normal or near normal size utilizing remaining healthy lymph vessels and other lymphatic pathways. Once the lymphedema is decongested, the secondary goal is to maintain the reduction and to prevent the re-accumulation of lymph fluid.


......................................................................



About one in five women who are living with or beyond breast cancer and who have had the lymph nodes in their underarm removed during breast cancer treatment will develop lymphedema. Identifying and treating lymphedema early helps to ensure more rapid and improved outcomes.


 

A clinical-stage biotherapeutics company dedicated to discovering, developing and commercializing highly differentiated medicines for devastating diseases, today announced the initiation of a Phase 2a proof-of-concept study of LYT-100 (deupirfenidone) in patients with breast cancer-related, upper limb secondary lymphedema, a chronic and progressive disorder for which there are no FDA-approved drug therapies. LYT-100 is PureTech’s wholly-owned product candidate that is being advanced for the potential treatment of conditions involving inflammation and fibrosis and disorders of lymphatic flow.

 

If your lymphedema progresses despite using medical treatments, you may be a candidate for surgery. There are several options that your doctor will discuss with you: Vascularized lymph node transfer surgery (lymphovenous transplant), Lymphaticovenous anastomosis (also referred to as lymphovenous bypass), or Charles procedure (skin grafts)



 

57 views

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page