页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

根据内部指导采取行动

作者:格洛丽亚


整整一年前,即 2020 年 8 月 31 日,我被诊断出患有 浸润性叶状乳腺癌....


诊断

这一诊断让我的心灵受到了极大的震撼。 我的搭档陪我一起去皮肤科做手术活检拆线,他在停车场轻轻地抱着我,我们都哭了。我的全科医生(GP)在我得到这个消息的 15 分钟内就给我打了电话。她立即为我预约了第二天的子宫颈抹片检查,转介我再做一次乳房 X 光检查(尽管我大约一年前做过一次乳房 X 光检查,结果什么都没有),并转介我去看外科医生。


手臂肿块

我发现这个 针头大小的肿块(现在我已经明白这是乳房的尾端),我把它给全科医生看了,他让我去做超声波检查。我们都认为这是一个囊肿,所以我们同意在超声波检查结果出来后再进行监测。第二年,我的乳房 X 光检查也没有发现任何问题。


开始

2019年是充满挑战的一年--起因是右膝肿胀,最初被诊断为贝克氏囊肿。几个月无法行走让我研究了贝克氏囊肿的病因,因此我选择改变饮食习惯,消除导致炎症的食物。


2019 年 7 月,我照顾了 12 年的 94 岁父亲中风去世。与此同时,我的乳房 X 光检查也到期了。 检查结果显示一无所获。


2019 年 8 月,我发现自己的右眼有一个完整的黄斑孔。2019 年 10 月 1 日,我接受了玻璃体切除手术,修复了黄斑孔,并更换了那只眼睛的晶状体。 经历过这种手术的人都知道,如果可能的话,你必须每天 24 小时脸朝下躺一周。当我发现我的那只眼睛可以重新阅读时,这真是个好消息 我流下了释放和感激的泪水.



转眼到了 2020 年 2 月底,我开始感到手术眼太阳穴周围头痛。我给眼科医生打了一个电话,让他带我到验光师那里检查手术眼睛后面的血压等情况。我之所以与大家分享这些,是为了让大家了解 事件的全部经过.我的手术眼没有问题,但太阳穴头痛持续了三天。于是,我联系了我的全科医生,她看了我的情况后担心可能是巨细胞动脉炎,于是给我开了小剂量的强的松,并要求我做血液检查。第二天,我们拿到了我的血检结果,结果显示 高炎症水平- 于是她再次加大了强的松的剂量。与此同时,她与风湿病专家和血管专家进行了讨论,并要求进行颞动脉活检。只有这样,他们才能确定这不是巨细胞动脉炎。感谢并庆幸不是这样!!!


我的整个世界都改变了

现在,2020 年 3 月,COVID 19 全球大流行宣布。我确实注意到所谓的 "囊肿 "增大了,一致性也不同了........于是,我尽可能在 2020 年 6 月左右与全科医生预约。她立即让我去皮肤科做切除手术。就在那时,我的整个世界都变了--皮肤科医生向我解释说,超声波检查并不是一个明确的工具,况且这是自 2018 年 12 月以来的事情。 他和我分享说,他可以从活检中判断出是否是囊肿,如果是囊肿,他已经做好了切除的准备,但如果不是囊肿,他将做手术活检。那是 2020 年 8 月 16 日,两周后,我预约了拆线时间。 就在那时,我被诊断为 ILC (浸润性肺叶癌)。


测试

2020 年 8 月 31 日的超声波和乳房 X 光检查 仍未显示任何不一致或异常之处.我的子宫颈抹片检查结果为阴性。因此在这方面一切正常。外科医生的首次就诊也是在那一周,并开出了一系列检查单,包括 CT 扫描胸部、腹部和骨盆造影剂 CT 扫描; 乳房核磁共振成像放射性示踪剂全身骨扫描.这些检查将进一步确定手术和治疗方案。因此,在接下来的几周里,我接受了这些不同的检查....,这些检查都使用了毒性很强的化学物质,所以必须错开时间,以确保我的体内不再有这些化学物质。


手术

考虑到这一切,我得到了一个好消息--这是一个单发肿瘤,因此手术安排在美国东部时间 2020 年 9 月 29 日上午 8 点,进行肿瘤切除术。我知道一切都会好起来的,因为 "8 "是无穷大的标志,而 9 月 29 日是我亲爱的哥哥的生日之一,他在 7 年前就转性了。我和我的外科医生商定,如果前哨结节没有问题,她将只做一个 辅助淋巴结清扫.手术很成功--肿块切除术的安全边缘没有任何肿瘤,淋巴结(前哨和辅助淋巴结)也没有任何肿瘤,因此手术区域愈合后的下一步治疗就是放射治疗。


积极和知情

从 2020 年 8 月 31 日到 2020 年 10 月 30 日的这段时间里,我做了尽可能多的研究。我选择 积极了解自己的健康和福祉- 因此,我围绕 ILC 研究了梅奥诊所和 Breast Cancer.org。此外,我还在加拿大安大略省的 Wellspring 注册了,这是一个非营利性组织,为所有加拿大癌症患者及其主要照顾者提供众多服务和项目。我最初注册了灵气疗法和治疗性触摸疗法(TT)。 作为一名训练有素的灵气大师,我对接受能量治疗持开放态度,而且在2019年7月我父亲接受临终关怀时,我曾接受过一次TT治疗,我还记得治疗后的感觉是多么平静祥和。


抚触治疗

在每次检查前、手术前一天、手术中、手术后一天以及 10 次放射治疗后的每一天,我都会继续接受一位退休护士的远程 TT 治疗,我称她为我的地球天使....。TT 非常有疗效现在,许多教学医院都在为护士和医生教授基于实证研究的 TT疗法。我打心底里相信,正是因为 TT,我在术后根本不需要服用任何止痛药,术后两周除了需要抽吸乒乓球外,不需要其他额外的干预措施。请记住--肿瘤和所有被摘除和切除的淋巴结都在腋下的同一个部位--一个 4.5 英寸的切口。


经过研究,我选择了 加速放射治疗计划- 在做出明智的选择之前,我阅读了当时所有的相关论文--《柳叶刀》、Breast Cancer.org、耶鲁大学等。我很高兴,也很感谢当时有这样的选择!!! 对于任何不了解它的人--请向您的放射肿瘤科医生咨询,并讨论这是否是您可能的治疗方案。再次感谢我的地球天使,在我接受放射治疗后的每一天,我都在遥控下对 TT 做贡献!!!放射治疗区域的皮肤没有破损!


治疗计划和副作用

我的下一步治疗计划是使用芳香化酶抑制剂(AI),因为肿瘤的病理结果表明它是 ER/PR+、HER2-、2 期、1 级(异常细胞少于 10%),而且我的ONCO Score(雌激素受体拮抗剂)是ER/PR+、HER2-、2 期、1 级(异常细胞少于 10%)。 ONCO 评分为 11。作为一名 63 岁即将 64 岁的绝经后妇女,我的 ONCO 评分必须达到 26 分以上才会被建议化疗。 这是我人生旅途中又一个值得庆幸的时刻!.....!


我能够 我于 2020 年 12 月 4 日完成了放射治疗,并于 2020 年 12 月 12 日开始服用人工受孕药物(在我的病例中,医生给我开的是来曲唑)。 不幸的是,我经历了这种人工合成药物可能带来的所有三种最严重的副作用。 盗汗、潮热、手指关节疼痛和僵硬- 以至于在凌晨时分--凌晨 2 点到 6 点的快速眼动睡眠时间--我的睡眠都被打乱了。 第一个月后,我的医生建议我在早上服用,而不是晚上--副作用继续存在,没有中断....。


两个月后,我的医生建议我休息一段时间,一旦副作用减轻,他就会让我开始服用另一种人工合成药物--依西美坦。 不幸的是 副作用继续存在停药后的 6 个月里,副作用依然如故。


在这 6 个月里,我回顾了我的各种检查报告,以便再次做出明智的决定--因为我的 CT 扫描显示我患有 NAFLD(非酒精性脂肪肝)。 我决定对此做一些研究.感谢并感激正确的饮食和运动,这是一个可以自我恢复的器官,但需要大约 3 年的时间。


内部指南

我已经做出了一个明智的决定,不服用任何人工合成药物,因为人工合成药物的副作用会使人衰弱,持续 5 年,然后我可能需要每 6 个月注射一次骨针,持续 3 年,这也会产生一系列副作用。当我每天冥想并向伟大的神灵询问什么对我最好时,我不断得到同样的直觉--我不需要人工合成药物。顺便说一下,我的乳腺癌评分也显示,即使服用人工受孕药物 5 年,也只能将可能的复发率从十分之一(全国乳腺癌的平均复发率)提高到三十三分之一。 我的内部指导所以我选择听从内心的指引,把自己作为一个完整的生命来关注


在感恩中生活

我每天都生活在感恩之中,在我的人生旅途中 每天冥想、写日记、划定健康的界限、吃健康的食物、每天在大自然中散步,同时吟诵........


我非常感谢阿利斯泰尔-坎宁安(Alistair Cunningham),在他的指导下,我写出了这本名为《疗愈之旅》(A Healing Journey)的书,以及所有与各种模块配套的工作手册,这些工作手册都是由加拿大 Wellspring 管理的!我非常感谢他!"!


我在身体、情感、心理和精神等所有生活领域都做出了改变,并且每天都在努力。目前,我正在完成疗愈之旅 5 模块,并注册了疗愈之旅 6A 和 6B,将于 2021 年 9 月中旬开始学习。 我还感觉到了完成 TT 3 级的指引,这样我就可以在以下机构做志愿者--圭尔夫惠灵顿临终关怀医院、格罗夫斯纪念医院(我已经在那里的志愿者协会董事会做了两年的志愿者)和加拿大 Wellspring!!!


我每天都尽可能过最好的生活,因为我在寻求伟大的神灵/上帝/神性母体--随你怎么称呼它--给我的内在指引并付诸行动



感谢您分享您的故事,格洛丽亚。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Acting on Internal Guidance

By Gloria


Exactly a year ago – August 31, 2020; I was given a diagnosis of Invasive Lobular Breast Cancer....


The Diagnosis

This diagnosis rocked my Spirit to the core. My partner, who had come with me to my dermatologist appointment to get my stitches removed from my surgical biopsy, gently held me in the parking lot and we both cried. My General Practitioner (GP) called me within 15 minutes of my receiving this news. She immediately booked an appointment for the next day to get my pap smear test done, referral to get another mammogram done (even though I had a mammogram approximately a year earlier that showed nothing), and a referral to a surgeon.


Lump in Arm

I had found this pinhead lump in my underarm (which I have now come to understand is the tail end of the breast) back in 2018, and I had shown it to my GP who sent me to get an ultrasound done. We both thought it was a cyst and so we agreed to monitor it after the ultrasound came back clear. The following year my mammogram, showed nothing either.


The Start

2019 was a year of many challenges – it started with a swollen right knee that was initially diagnosed as a Baker’s Cyst. Being unable to walk on it for a couple months allowed me to research the causes of a Baker’s Cyst and so I chose to change my diet and eliminate the foods that causes inflammation.


In July 2019, my 94 year old Dad who I looked after for 12 years after he suffered a stroke passed. Around the same time my mammogram was due. It showed nothing.


In August 2019, I found out I had a full macular hole in my right eye. I underwent a vitrectomy surgery to repair my macular hole and replace the lens in that eye on October 1, 2019. Anyone who has been through this surgery knows that you have to lie face down for a week 24 hours a day, if possible. It was great news when I found out I could read again in that eye – the tears of release and gratitude flowed.



Fast forward, toward the end of February 2020, I started with headaches around the temple of my operated eye. A call to my ophthalmologist had me go to my optometrist to check the blood pressure, etc. behind the operated eye. The reason I share this is so that you can understand the full sequence of events. There was no problem with my operated eye, but the temple headaches continued over 3 days straight. So, I contacted my GP who saw me and was concerned that it could be Giant Cell Arteritis – so she prescribed a small dosage of prednisone and ordered blood work. The next day, we got the results of my blood work that showed high inflammation levels – so she again increased the prednisone. In the meantime, she had discussions with a rheumatologist and vascular specialist and ordered a temporal artery biopsy. This is the only way that they can eliminate that it wasn’t giant cell arteritis. Thankful and grateful that it wasn’t!!!


My Whole World Changed

Now, March 2020 and COVID 19 global pandemic is announced. I did notice that the so-called “cyst” had grown and the consistency was different. So, I booked an appointment with my GP when possible around June 2020. She immediately sent me to the dermatologist to have it removed. That is when my whole world changed – the dermatologist explained to me that an ultrasound is not a definitive tool, plus it was since December 2018. He shared with me that he can tell from the biopsy if it is a cyst and if it is he had prepped the area to remove it but if it wasn’t he would do a surgical biopsy. That was August 16, 2020, and 2 weeks later, I had an appointment to get the stitches removed, and that’s when I got the diagnosis of ILC (Invasive Lobular Carcinoma).


The Tests

Ultrasounds and mammograms on August 31, 2020 still did not show any inconsistencies or abnormalities. My pap smear came back negative. So all good in that respect. The surgeon's first visit occurred that week also and a number of tests were orders – CT Scan with contrast of chest, abdomen, and pelvis; Breast MRI and Radioactive Tracer full body bone scan. These tests would provide further results as to what the surgery and treatment plan would look like. So, for the next couple weeks I underwent these various tests.... all use very toxic chemicals so they had to be staggered to ensure that the chemicals were no longer in my system.


The Surgery

Great news considering everything – it was a single tumor and so surgery was scheduled for September 29, 2020 at 8am EST for a lumpectomy. I knew that all will be well since 8 is the sign of infinity, and September 29 was one of my dear brother’s birthday’s who had transitioned 7 years earlier. My surgeon and I had agreed that if the sentinel nodes were clear that she would only do 1 auxiliary lymph node dissection. Surgery was successful – nothing in the safe margins of the lumpectomy, nothing in the lymph nodes (sentinel nor auxiliary) and so next treatment post healing of the surgical area was radiation.


Active and Informed

During this entire time – from August 31, 2020 to October 30, 2020 – I did as much research as was possible. I chose to be an active informed participant in my health and wellbeing – so I researched Mayo Clinic and Breast Cancer.org around ILC. In addition, I registered with Wellspring, Ontario, Canada, a non-profit organization that provides numerous services and programs for any Canadian Cancer Patient and their main caregiver. I initially registered for both Reiki and Therapeutic Touch (TT). Being a trained Reiki Master – I was open to receiving energy healing and I had had 1 TT treatment when my Dad was in Hospice back in July 2019 – and I remembered how calming and peaceful it felt after the treatment.


Therapeutic Touch Treatments

I continued to have TT treatments remotely by a retired nurse who I called my Earth Angel.... before each test, day before surgery, during surgery, day after surgery, and each day after my 10 radiation treatments. TT is so healing that it is now taught based on it’s evidence-based research at a number of teaching hospitals for nurses and doctors. I believe in my heart of hearts that it is due to TT that I didn’t require any pain meds at all post surgery and other having to have a table tennis ball aspirated 2 weeks post surgery no other additional interventions were required. Remember – the tumor and all the lymph nodes that were removed and dissected were all in the same area in the underarm – a 4.5in incision.


I opted, after my research, to do the Accelerated Radiation Treatment Plan – I read all the papers available at the time on this – The Lancet, Breast Cancer.org, and Yale before making an informed choice. I'm so happy and thankful this was an available choice!!! For anyone who isn’t aware of it – please check with your radiation oncologist and have the discussion if it is a possible treatment plan for you. Again, I contribute no broken skin in the radiated area to TT which I had each and every day after radiation remotely by my Earth Angel!!!


Treatment Plan and Side Effects

The next step in my treatment plan was an AI (Aromatase Inhibitor) since the pathology of the tumor indicated that it was ER/PR+, HER2 -, Stage 2, Grade 1 (less than 10% of cells were abnormal), and my ONCO Score was 11. Being a 63 soon to be 64 post menopausal woman at the time, I would have had to have an ONCO Score of 26+ for chemo to be even suggested/recommended. Another thankful moment in the journey!!!


I was able to complete my radiation on December 4, 2020 and commence the AI (in my case Letrozole was prescribed) on December 12, 2020. Unfortunately, I experienced all the 3 most severe side effects possible from this AI. Night sweats, hot flashes, and joint pain and stiffness in my fingers – to the point it disrupted my sleep in the wee hours of the morning – the REM sleep time 2am-6am. My MO suggested after the first month to take it in the morning versus night – the side effects continued without a break....


After 2 months, my MO suggested taking a break and once the side effects subsided that he will start me on another AI – Exemastane. Unfortunately, the side effects continued like clock-work for 6 months even after stopping the AI.


In those 6 months, I went back and reviewed all my reports from my various tests to again make another informed decision – and since my CT Scan had shown a NAFLD (Non- alcoholic fatty liver disease) I decided to do some research on this. Thankful and grateful that with the right diet and exercise this is the one organ that can rejuvenate itself but it takes approximately 3 years.


Internal Guidance

I have made an informed decision to not take any AI since an AI for 5 years with debilitating side effects would then require me to have possibly every 6 months bone injections for 3 years and that also has it own set of side effects. As I meditated daily and asked Great Spirit what was best for me – I kept getting the same intuitive knowingness – I don’t need an AI. BTW – my onco score also showed that even taking an AI for 5 years it will only probably result in improving a possible recurrence from 1 in 10 (which is the national average of breast cancer) to 1 in 33. My internal guidance was shouting no to me – so I chose to follow my internal guidance and instead focus on myself as a whole being!!!


Living in Gratitude

I live each day in gratitude as I walk the journey of my life in daily meditation, journaling, putting healthy boundaries, eating healthy foods, and daily walks in nature while chanting.


I'm very grateful for Alistair Cunningham who was guided to write the book entitled “A Healing Journey” and all the workbooks that go with all the various modules and run by Wellspring Canada!!!


I have made changes in all areas of my life – physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual and work on all of them daily. I am currently completing the Healing Journey 5 module and registered for both Healing Journey 6A and 6B to commence mid September 2021. I have also felt guided to complete TT Level 3 so I can volunteer with the following organizations – Wellington Hospice Guelph, Groves Memorial Hospital (where I already volunteer on the Board of the Volunteer Association and has been for the last 2 years), and Wellspring Canada!!!


Living my best life possible every day as I seek and act on the internal guidance given to me by Great Spirit/God/Divine Matrix – call it what you will!!!



Thank you for sharing your story, Gloria. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Sunshine

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

March 1 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

March 8, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

March 25,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

March 26,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page