页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌与感冒和流感季节

在我们持续关注 COVID-19 预防措施的同时,常规的感冒和流感季节已经悄然来临。 这个季节通常从 10 月份开始 高峰期十二月到三月之间。虽然感冒和流感对很多人来说只是一种不愉快的困扰,但那些免疫力低下的人,如乳腺癌患者,发生并发症的风险更高。幸运的是,在流感大流行期间,我们已经习以为常的许多预防措施也可以帮助您预防和限制感冒和流感的传播。这包括戴口罩、生病时呆在家里、定期洗手,如果医生建议,还可以每年注射流感疫苗。请继续阅读,了解乳腺癌患者保护自己免受季节性感冒和流感侵袭的重要性,以及生病时的建议。



乳腺癌营养指南

适当的营养和锻炼有助于增强免疫力,避免感冒和流感。请阅读更多有关可提高免疫力的食物的建议。 阅读更多

 

来自网络

"[流感]最令人担忧的是,癌症患者一旦患上流感,出现严重并发症的风险较高。因此,如果您患有癌症并开始出现发烧、流鼻涕、喉咙痛或咳嗽等症状,特别是如果您的免疫系统受损,请立即就医。流感有很好的治疗方法,但必须尽早使用,即在症状出现后 48 到 72 小时内使用。如果您怀疑自己可能患有流感,还应该检查是否感染了其他病毒"。

以 "特敏福 "品牌销售的奥司他韦对所有流感检测呈阳性的人都是安全的,包括癌症患者。此外,任何类型的癌症患者接种流感疫苗都是安全的。不过,癌症患者接种疫苗的效果不如非癌症患者,尤其是正在接受积极治疗的患者。"对于癌症患者来说,接种疫苗也很重要,而不是鼻雾,因为鼻雾是一种减毒活疫苗,实际上可能会导致免疫力低下的患者患上流感。 免疫力低下的而且效果也不如注射疫苗"。 阅读更多


"为什么普通感冒对癌症患者很重要?人体抵御普通感冒的主要手段是构成免疫系统的白细胞。并不是每个人都会感冒。如果你的免疫系统很强大,那么即使你接触到感冒病毒,也不太可能感染它。


癌症患者的免疫系统较弱。具体来说,癌症患者循环血液中的中性粒细胞水平可能异常低下,这种情况被称为中性粒细胞减少症。中性粒细胞是一种有助于预防和抵抗感染的白细胞。癌症患者出现中性粒细胞减少症最常见的原因是化疗的副作用。化疗引起的中性粒细胞减少症会增加患者感染的风险,并干扰癌症治疗。 阅读更多


"化疗会削弱免疫系统,使接受治疗的人更容易患感冒、流感或其他感染。...感染,包括感冒、流感和 COVID,对于免疫系统较弱的人来说可能会危及生命。如果您在接受化疗期间出现感染症状,请在感觉不适后立即致电医生。...化疗期间的感染治疗取决于感染的原因和症状的严重程度。...如果您在化疗期间患上感冒或流感,在医生集中治疗感染期间,您的治疗可能会被延迟。化疗期间患者的安全非常重要,医生不想冒着感染恶化的风险继续治疗,以免进一步削弱您的免疫系统"。 阅读更多


癌症患者和幸存者应该接种流感疫苗,他们的护理人员以及与他们同住的 6 个月及以上的其他人也应该接种流感疫苗,以避免传播流感。"您可能还需要接种肺炎球菌疫苗。患流感会增加患肺炎球菌疾病的风险。 肺炎球菌疾病的风险。肺炎球菌肺炎是一种严重的 与流感有关的并发症可导致死亡。患有癌症或其他会损害免疫系统的疾病的人应该向医生咨询有关 肺炎球菌疫苗。"


"提前与医生计划好 如果生病了该怎么办。...如果您有 流感症状-

  • 退烧后,除了就医或其他必要的情况外,至少 24 小时内不要出门。无需使用退烧药即可退烧。

  • 尽可能远离他人,以免让他们生病。

癌症患者如果发烧,一定要立即打电话给医生。 发烧。如果您在化疗期间发烧,这属于医疗紧急情况。 阅读更多

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and Cold and Flu Season

While we continue to pay so much attention to COVID-19 precautions, the regular cold and flu season has quietly arrived. This season typically begins in October and peaks between December and March. While colds and the flu are mostly just an unpleasant nuisance to many people, those who are immunocompromised, such as those with breast cancer, are at a higher risk of complications. Luckily, many of the same precautions we’ve grown accustomed to throughout the pandemic can also help protect you from and limit the spread of colds and the flu. This includes wearing a face mask, staying home if you feel sick, regular hand washing, and, if your doctor recommends it, getting an annual flu shot. Read on for more information about why it is important for those with breast cancer to protect themselves from seasonal colds and flus and advice for if you do get sick.



Nutrition Guide For Breast Cancer

The right nutrition and exercise can help support your immune system to avoid colds and the flu. Read more for suggestions of foods that can boost your immunity. Read More.

 

From Around The Web

“The biggest concern [around the flu] is that cancer patients are at a higher risk of developing serious complications if they do get the flu. So if you have cancer and start experiencing symptoms like a fever, runny nose, sore throat or coughing — especially if you have a compromised immune system — see a doctor right away. There’s a good treatment for the flu, but it has to be administered early, within 48 to 72 hours of the onset of symptoms. If you suspect you might have the flu, you should also be checked for other viruses.”

Oseltamivir, sold under the brand name Tamiflu, is safe for everyone who has tested positive for the flu, including cancer patients. Additionally, it’s safe for patients with any type of cancer to get the flu vaccine. However, the vaccine doesn’t work as well among cancer patients as it does in those without cancer, particularly those on active treatment. “It’s also important for cancer patients to get the shot, as opposed to the nasal mist, because the mist is a live-attenuated vaccine and may actually cause the flu in immunocompromised patients and not be as effective as the shot.” Read More.


“Why is the common cold important for cancer patients? The body’s primary defense against the common cold is the white blood cells that make up the immune system. Not everyone gets every cold. If you have a strong immune system, you are less likely to contract a cold virus, even if you are exposed to it.


Cancer patients have weakened immune systems. Specifically, cancer patients may have abnormally low levels of neutrophils in the circulating blood, a condition called neutropenia. Neutrophils are a kind of white blood cell that helps prevent and fight infections. The most common reason that cancer patients experience neutropenia is as a side effect of chemotherapy. Chemotherapy-induced neutropenia increases a patient’s risk of infection and disrupts cancer treatment.” Read More.


“Chemotherapy weakens the immune system, making people who are undergoing treatment more susceptible to colds, the flu, or other infections. ... Infections, including a cold, the flu, and COVID, can be life-threatening for people with weak immune systems. If you have symptoms of an infection while you are receiving chemotherapy, call your doctor as soon as you start feeling unwell. ... The treatment that you receive for an infection while you're undergoing chemotherapy will depend on the cause of the infection and how severe your symptoms are. ... If you develop a cold or the flu during chemotherapy, your treatment might be delayed while your doctors focus on treating the infection. Patient safety is important during chemotherapy, and doctors do not want to risk making the infection worse by continuing a treatment that further weakens your immune system.” Read More.


Cancer patients and survivors should get the flu vaccine, as should their caregivers and others 6 months and older who live with them to avoid spreading the flu. “You may need a pneumococcal shot, too. Having the flu increases a person’s risk for pneumococcal disease. Pneumococcal pneumonia is a serious flu-related complication that can cause death. People with cancer or other diseases that compromise the immune system should ask their doctor about pneumococcal shots.


“Plan in advance with your doctor about what to do if you get sick. ... If you have flu symptoms

  • Stay home for at least 24 hours after your fever is gone except to get medical care or for other necessities. Your fever should be gone without the use of a fever-reducing medicine.

  • Keep away from others as much as possible to avoid making them sick.

It’s important for people with cancer to call their doctor immediately if they get a fever. If you get a fever during your chemotherapy treatment, it’s a medical emergency.” Read More.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page