页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

西语裔社区的乳腺癌和医疗服务

作者 基拉-福特



为纪念 西语裔传统月现在是思考乳腺癌如何影响西班牙裔社区的时候了。 西语裔乳腺癌患者所面临的独特挑战。.


人们已经充分认识到,乳腺癌诊断的可能性取决于个人的遗传背景,而且往往与种族有关。这给研究和了解乳腺癌对西班牙裔群体的具体影响带来了挑战,因为 西班牙裔不是一个同质群体,可以是任何种族.从历史上看,乳腺癌研究一直未能解决西班牙裔人口的这种多样性问题。事实上 大多数乳腺癌研究乳腺癌的研究都是基于对非西班牙裔白人妇女的研究。


尽管如此,通过对整个西班牙裔人口的研究,还是可以推测出一些大致的结论。 最近的数据显示,西班牙裔女性 被诊断出患有乳腺癌的几率患乳腺癌的几率比非西班牙裔白人妇女低 30%。虽然这一统计数字听起来很有希望,但西班牙裔女性更有可能在以下年龄段被诊断出乳腺癌,这也是事实 更年轻患有 更具侵袭性乳腺癌的类型更具侵袭性,而且更有可能 更有可能在晚期确诊.虽然乳腺癌在西班牙裔女性中的发病率较低,但她们 比非西班牙裔白人妇女死于乳腺癌的几率比非西班牙裔白人妇女高出 30%,乳腺癌是西班牙裔妇女癌症死亡的主要原因。 乳腺癌是西语裔妇女癌症死亡的主要原因。


部分问题,特别是与及时诊断有关的问题,是由以下原因造成的 缺乏乳房 X 光检查.定期进行乳房 X 射线检查对早期发现癌症至关重要,但一项关于乳房 X 射线检查的研究表明,乳房 X 射线检查对癌症的早期诊断至关重要。 2019 年的一项研究美国疾病控制和预防中心的一项研究发现 只有 64% 的 40 岁以上西班牙裔妇女在过去两年内接受过乳房 X 光检查。.这一数字偏低与许多社会因素有关,其中最大的一个因素是无法赴约。虽然乳房 X 光检查是一种快速筛查,但通常只能安排在一般的工作时间内进行,妇女可能不得不错过工作时间,并有可能因此而失去一份薪水。她们还可能不得不安排托儿服务--这又是一个经济负担--并安排交通前往这些预约地点。这些对工作和家庭义务的干扰,造成了 西语裔妇女接受乳房 X 光检查的经济障碍。然而,错过乳房 X 光检查的后果可能会让她们付出更大的代价。


获得筛查只是以下方面的一个例子 健康的社会决定因素对寻求癌症治疗的拉美裔人群的影响。另一个例子是饮食和营养。保持富含水果、蔬菜和全谷物的饮食习惯有助于降低个人罹患乳腺癌的风险。 系统性地缺乏健康食品选择这被认为是西语裔妇女乳腺癌发病率的一个复杂因素。


语言障碍是另一个挑战。在美国,许多有关乳腺癌的信息都是用英文书写的,因此,如果患者的主要语言是西班牙语,他们可能会发现在治疗过程中缺乏资源和文化竞争力。但需要注意的是 1964 年民权法案第六章包括了有关英语水平有限 (LEP) 的个人接受医疗保健服务和信息的规定,这样他们就可以从医疗服务提供者那里获得他们所能理解的语言的信息和交流。这包括 要求在预约就诊时提供专业的医疗保健口译员。.书面材料也必须经过专业翻译并提供给患者。


最后是保险问题。 美国人口普查局发现,西班牙裔是全美无保险率最高的人群之一。没有保险就更难以获得预防保健和早期发现癌症。


这些只是影响拉美裔人健康的众多因素中的几个例子,而这些因素目前尚未得到充分解决。 解决这些问题的方法将是复杂的,但第一步是提高人们的认识。了解西班牙裔妇女在接受癌症筛查、信息、治疗和保险方面面临着一系列独特的障碍,对于确保医疗保健及其他方面的公平是非常必要的。



乳腺癌幸存者网站西班牙语资源与支持:



A关于作者

基拉-福特 Kiara Ford 是爱默生学院的应届毕业生,主修传播学,副修健康与社会。她目前是非营利组织 "亚洲妇女健康组织 "的一名社区保健员实习生。她热衷于病人权益和健康公平,希望通过自己的工作提高人们对病人权益的认识和理解。




最新文章

查看全部

美胸

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and Healthcare Access Within the Hispanic Community

By Kiara Ford



In recognition of Hispanic Heritage Month this September 15 to October 15, now is the time to reflect on how breast cancer affects the Hispanic community, and the unique challenges that are often left unaddressed for Hispanic people with breast cancer.


It has been well established that the likeliness of a breast cancer diagnosis can be determined by one’s genetic background, and is often linked to race. This presents challenges when attempting to study and understand how breast cancer specifically impacts the Hispanic community, as Hispanic people are not a homogenous group and can be of any race. Historically, breast cancer research has failed to address this diversity within the Hispanic population. In fact, most research about breast cancer is based on studies of non-Hispanic white women.


That being said, some broad generalizations can be surmised from studying the Hispanic population as a whole. Recent data shows that Hispanic women are about 30% less likely to be diagnosed with breast cancer than non-Hispanic white women. Although this statistic sounds hopeful, it is also true that Hispanic women are more likely to be diagnosed younger, with more aggressive types of breast cancer, and are more likely to be diagnosed at a later stage. Although breast cancer may be less common among Hispanic women, they are 30% more likely to die from their breast cancer than non-Hispanic white women, with breast cancer being the leading cause of cancer deaths among Hispanic women.


Part of the issue, particularly as it pertains to timely diagnoses, is caused by a lack of access to mammograms. Regular mammograms are essential to catch cancer early, but a 2019 study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that only 64% of Hispanic women over age 40 had had a mammogram within the past two years. This low figure is linked to a number of social factors, one of the biggest being the inability to make it to an appointment. Although mammograms are quick screenings, they can often only be scheduled during typical business hours, when women might have to miss work and potentially lose a paycheck in order to get them. They might also have to arrange childcare – another financial burden – and organize transportation to these appointments. These disruptions in work and family obligations create a financial barrier to mammogram access for Hispanic women, yet the consequences of missing a mammogram can be costlier.


Access to screenings is just one example of how social determinants of health impact Hispanic people seeking cancer care. Another such example is diet and nutrition. Maintaining a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains can help lower an individual’s risk of developing breast cancer. Systemic lack of access to healthy food options is believed to be a compounding factor in breast cancer rates among Hispanic women.


Language access presents yet another challenge. In the United States, much information about breast cancer is written in English only, so a patient whose primary language is Spanish may find a lack of resources and cultural competency within their treatment. It should be noted, however, that Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 includes provisions for limited English proficient (LEP) individuals receiving healthcare services and information so that they receive information and communications from their providers in a language they understand. This includes a requirement for professional healthcare interpreters to be provided at medical appointments when requested. Written materials must also be professionally translated and provided to patients.


Finally, there is the issue of insurance. The U.S. Census Bureau has found that Hispanic people have among the highest uninsured rates in the nation. A lack of insurance makes it far more challenging to access preventative care and catch cancer early.


These are just a few examples of the numerous factors shaping the health of Hispanic people, which are not currently adequately addressed. The solution to these issues will be complex, but one of the first steps is raising awareness. Understanding that Hispanic women face a unique set of obstacles in receiving cancer screening, information, treatment, and insurance coverage is necessary to ensure equity in healthcare and beyond.



SurvivingBreastCancer.org Spanish Language Resources & Support:



About the Author:

Kiara Ford is a recent graduate of Emerson College, where she majored in communication studies and minored in health and society. She is currently a community health worker trainee with the non-profit organization Asian Women for Health. She is passionate about patient advocacy and health equity, and hopes to raise awareness and increase understanding of patients’ rights through her work.




Recent Posts

See All

Sunshine

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

March 1 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

March 8, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

March 25,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

March 26,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page