页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌防治活动不会在十月结束:保持势头

乳腺癌宣传月已接近尾声,但我们都知道,这并不意味着乳腺癌防治工作的停止。在整个乳腺癌防治月期间,我们看到了无处不在的粉色丝带,以及粉色、茶色和绿色的乳腺癌防治三色丝带,还认识到了一些特定的宣传日,如 10 月 7 日的 "平胸日 "和 10 月 13 日的 "乳腺癌防治宣传日"。但是,在十月之后,我们如何才能继续提高人们对乳腺癌的认识(并采取行动),控制自己的健康,并倡导开展更多有关乳腺增生症的研究,从而找到治愈方法呢?以下是您一年中任何时候都可以采取的十个步骤:

  1. 向医生咨询 乳房密度

  2. 了解您的家族病史

  3. 安排年度乳房 X 光检查

  4. 每月对乳房进行自我检查。熟悉乳房的感觉,以便在感觉有异样时及时察觉。

  5. 研究一下品牌所说的 "部分利润 "到底是什么意思 "部分利润用于乳腺癌研究或提高人们对乳腺癌的认识。

  6. 成为病人的代言人;有一些很好的培训计划,如 项目领导听到我的声音转移性宣传计划.

  7. 与我们的社区联系 脸书, Instagram推特.

  8. 如果您是乳腺癌患者的朋友或家人,请询问他们在此期间您可以如何支持他们?也许他们会感谢您开车送他们去看医生,做一顿营养丰富的冷冻餐,或者照看他们的孩子,让他们有时间休息。

  9. 在一年中的任何时候,而不仅仅是十月,组织或参与乳腺癌研究筹款活动。

  10. 请记住,对于某些人来说,整个十月都在关注乳腺癌可能会让他们 令人沮丧和疲惫痛苦的回忆和情绪。如果乳腺癌宣传月对您来说是一段艰难的时期,那么您也可以为宣传月的结束而感到高兴。



播客插曲 #127.粉色文化与乳腺癌宣传月 | 缩小 0 - 4 岁儿童之间的差距

在今天的节目中,我们将与被诊断患有早期乳腺癌、早期转移性乳腺癌以及被诊断患有新发乳腺癌的女性进行对话。这场原始而坦率的对话为大众提供了有关乳腺癌、转移性乳腺癌的教育,以及乳腺癌社区希望您了解的十月。 立即收听。

 

来自网络

没有半途而废 (个人博客)

阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿(Abigail Johnston)是一名律师,也是两个小男孩的母亲:阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿(Abigail Johnston)是一名律师,也是两个小男孩的母亲,她每天都会在博客上分享与转移性乳腺癌患者生活在一起的真实感受。乳腺癌和 MBC 对许多人来说每天都是现实,而不仅仅是在十月。 阅读更多


这篇文章分享了如何在全年继续提高对乳腺癌的认识。除了筹款和提高人们对乳腺癌的认识,他们还强调了健康的生活习惯,以减少患乳腺癌的风险。虽然我们无法改变一些风险因素,如遗传或年龄,但 "有一些非常简单的方法可以抵消风险因素:

  • 不吸烟。

  • 运动

  • 健康饮食"


"没有人比倡导者和乳腺癌幸存者更清楚,为乳腺癌研究筹款至关重要。自乳腺癌宣传月开始以来的 36 年间,已筹集到数百万美元的研究资金,推动了诊断和治疗的进步。但是,如果潜在的捐赠者想确保他们的捐款能够到达他们想要支持的组织,他们就必须注意;遗憾的是,即使捐赠者的捐赠是值得的,他们也不能假定捐赠者是出于好意。 阅读更多


乳腺癌医生 Jame Abraham 分享了他和他的病人如何每天都在与乳腺癌作斗争,而不仅仅是在十月。他还谈到了美国和其他国家对乳腺癌的不同看法。"我现在经常往返于美国和印度之间,我曾在印度就读医学院,那里的公众对癌症的接受程度和对癌症诊断的禁忌明显不同。在旅途中,我想起了十月粉色的力量,感谢公众宣传的力量。公众宣传提高了人们的意识,打破了癌症诊断的禁忌,并创造了全国性的对话"。 阅读更多

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer Awareness Doesn't End in October: Keeping the Momentum Going

We are reaching the end of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, but as we all know, that doesn’t mean that breast cancer stops. Throughout the month, we’ve seen the ubiquitous pink ribbons, along with the tricolor pink, teal, and green MBC ribbons, and recognized specific awareness days like Going Flat Day on October 7th and MBC Awareness Day on October 13th. But how can we continue to bring awareness (and action) to breast cancer, take control of our own health, and advocate for more research on MBC so that we can find a cure, beyond October? Here are ten steps you can take any time of year:

  1. Ask your doctor about breast density

  2. Learn your family’s medical history

  3. Schedule your annual mammogram

  4. Do monthly self-exams of your breasts. Familiarize yourself with what they feel like, so you’ll notice if something feels different.

  5. Do your research about what exactly brands mean when they say “a portion of profits” go to breast cancer research or awareness.

  6. Become a patient advocate; there are wonderful training programs such as Project Lead or the Hear My Voice Metastatic Advocacy Program.

  7. Connect with our community on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

  8. If you are a friend or family member of someone with breast cancer, ask them how you can support them during this time? Perhaps they’d appreciate you driving them to a doctor's appointment, cooking a nourishing freezer-friendly meal, or babysitting their kids so they can have some time to rest.

  9. Organize or participate in a breast cancer research fundraiser any time of year, not just October.

  10. Remember that for some, the added focus on breast cancer throughout October can be upsetting and exhausting, bringing painful memories and emotions to the forefront. It’s okay to be glad that the month is over if breast cancer awareness month is a difficult time for you.



Podcast Ep. #127. Pink Culture and Breast Cancer Awareness Month | Bridging the gap between 0 - 4

In today's episode we speak with a panel of women who were diagnosed with early stage breast cancer, early stage breast cancer that metastasized, and women diagnosed with MBC de Novo. This raw and candid conversation provides education to the masses about breast cancer, metastatic breast cancer, and what the breast cancer community wants you to know about October. Listen Now.

 

From Around The Web

No Half Measures (Personal Blog)

On her blog, No Half Measures: Living Out Loud, Abigail Johnston, a lawyer and mom of two young boys, shares daily posts about the reality of what it is like living with metastatic breast cancer. Breast cancer and MBC are a reality for so many people every day, not just in October. Read More.


This article shares how you can continue the breast cancer awareness all year long. In addition to fundraising and bringing awareness to the condition, they also highlight healthy lifestyle habits to lessen the risk of developing breast cancer in the first place. While we can’t change some risk factors like genetics or age, “there are a number of very simple ways that you can counteract the risk factors:

  • Refrain from smoking.

  • Exercise

  • Eat healthy”


“​​Nobody knows better than advocates and breast cancer survivors that fundraising for breast cancer research is critically important. The millions raised during the last 36 years since Breast Cancer Awareness month began have funded research that led to advances in diagnosis and treatment. But if potential donors want to ensure that their monetary gift reaches the organization they want to support, they have got to pay attention; sadly, they cannot assume best intentions even if the cause is worthy.” Read More.


Dr. Jame Abraham, a breast cancer doctor, shares how he and his patients are fighting breast cancer every day, not just in October. He also reflects on how the disease is viewed differently in the US and other countries. “I frequently travel back and forth now between the U.S and India, where I attended medical school and where the public acceptance of cancer and the taboo of a cancer diagnosis are glaringly different. During my travels, I am reminded of the strength of pink in October and am thankful for the power of public advocacy. Public advocacy increases awareness, breaks the taboo of cancer diagnosis, and creates a national dialogue.” Read More.

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Commenti


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading.