页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳房 X 光检查后确诊为 DCIS

2019 年,在我 42 岁生日的前一天,我被诊断出患有 DCIS--乳腺导管原位癌--0期乳腺癌。我惊魂未定地坐在外科医生的办公室里,我的 医生在讨论我一周前的活检结果。的结果。


走出诊室,我需要预约,日历上的手术日期已经暂定,一种不知所措的感觉涌上心头。我不知道该如何把这个消息告诉我的丈夫和上高中的儿子。这怎么可能发生在我身上? 我没有时间去做一个乳腺癌患者。


这个过程是如何开始的?

我的年度乳房 X 光筛查发现了我的 DCIS.乳房 X 光检查发现我的右侧乳房有钙化现象,这促使我接受了乳房 X 光诊断检查和超声波检查。完成所有检查后,我被转诊到外科医生处接受进一步治疗。


我对异常成像并不陌生,因为我的乳房中有几个纤维腺瘤。这些都是乳房良性病变,自我检查时感觉就像乳房里有弹珠。几年前,我曾在这位外科医生那里就这些发现进行过活组织检查。再次约见他,我并不感到兴奋。


我带着很多问题赴约。然而,外科医生更专注于向我保证这可能不是癌症,而不是解决我的疑虑。约见突然结束,因为他被紧急叫走了。我还有更多问题要问,但他已经走了。护士指引我去安排活检。


我的内心像敲响了警钟。我感到沮丧和恐惧,而我还没有被诊断出来。我需要一位愿意花时间回答我问题的外科医生。


我决定寻求第二意见。这个决定是我在诊断过程中所做的最重要的事情之一。第二家医疗机构的预约和护理都很周到、个性化,而且不匆忙。


大量成像和活组织检查如此多的活组织检查

当我决定接受新的乳腺外科医生的治疗后,他为我安排了新的影像检查--乳房 X 光检查和乳房超声波检查,然后对钙化进行活检。 在这家新医疗机构进行影像诊断时,我最欣赏的一点就是在影像检查结束后立即与放射科医生进行交流。我可以向他询问我的钙化情况,并得到他的意见。他特别关注钙化的形状,并敦促我进行活检。


在整个诊断过程中,我做了五次活检。第一次和第二次活检是根据乳房 X 光检查结果进行的,另外三次是在我的核磁共振成像显示对侧乳房有可疑区域后进行的。


在整个诊断和治疗过程中,我最讨厌的就是活组织检查。在第一次乳房 X 线照相引导下的活检中,我晕倒了。幸好放射科医生能够继续进行活检并获取样本。


在做其他活检前,我一定要提醒放射科医生我可能会晕倒。 我在超声波和核磁共振引导下进行活检时表现较好,因为我是躺着的。 在乳房 X 光引导下进行活检时,坐着对我来说有些不合适!


由于我确诊时的年龄,我选择进行基因检测。我的外科医生建议我进行 DCIS 肿块切除术,但我想确保我没有任何会影响复发率的变异。


核磁共振检查后进行的额外活检结果是良性的,基因检测结果也没有问题,这让我非常激动。 诊断的最后一步意味着我可以做出手术决定了。


手术--终于

我最终决定进行 肿块切除术来切除DCIS.DCIS 只有大约 4 毫米,我的外科医生有信心将其切除,并尽量减少毁容。他还在手术中切除了我对侧乳房的一个良性纤维腺瘤。


我以前从未接受过全身麻醉,对麻醉过程感到恐惧。当我和其他人谈起我的恐惧时,他们都觉得这没什么大不了的。但对我来说确实如此。我记得就在他们把我带到手术室之前,我和护士谈起了我的恐惧。她鼓励我在麻醉前想一些愉快的事情,这样我醒来时就会感受到那些情绪。所以当他们给我戴上面罩时,我想到了我的丈夫,想到了我们在一起的美好时光。


接下来,一切都结束了。我又哭又笑我简直不敢相信一切都结束了。醒来后,我感到如释重负,幸福无比。


肿瘤切除术是门诊手术,所以我当晚就可以回家。能在自己的床上入睡真是太好了。第二天醒来时,我被百叶窗透进来的光线弄得晕头转向。 几个月来,我第一次睡了一整夜,醒来后也没有焦虑。


几天后,我接到了外科医生的电话。他当时正在手术间隙,但想打电话告诉我,他们在我的肿块切除术中获得了 我的肿块切除术边缘干净.所以,我不需要再做手术了!真是如释重负。我可以专心恢复,考虑下一步的治疗方案了。


手术后治疗:放射治疗和他莫昔芬

经过几周的恢复,我的外科医生允许我去见肿瘤医生。 他告诉我,我可以选择接受放射治疗并服用他莫昔芬五年。放射治疗将消除影像学上尚未显现的 DCIS,而他莫昔芬将通过降低我的雌激素水平来降低复发风险。


我预约了放射肿瘤专家,但不确定是否会接受放射治疗。一想到要接受治疗,我就感到非常害怕。我做了很多研究,我知道将放射治疗与肿块切除术结合起来可以降低我再次患乳腺癌的风险。在过去的几个月里,我的家人因为我的诊断和手术经历了太多的磨难。我的一部分想法是结束这次癌症治疗,跳过额外的一个月治疗。


我的放射肿瘤科医生非常出色。在咨询过程中,她回答了我的每一个问题。她很有耐心,而且知识渊博。当我们讨论我是否应该接受放射治疗时,她对我直言不讳。她说:"如果你年纪大一些,我不会建议你做这种治疗。但你才 42 岁。希望你还能再活 40 年。你的乳房中还有可能存在其他区域的 DCIS,但影像检查还看不出来。


这对我来说很重要。 从那以后,我就决心接受辐射治疗。


我接受了 20 次放射治疗,疗程长达四周。这让我筋疲力尽,皮肤两次被灼伤脱皮。2019 年圣诞节期间,我每天都要去接受治疗,日子过得很艰难。我丈夫当时可以在家工作,每天开车送我去看病。治疗地点离我们家很近,所以每天从开始到结束大约需要一个小时。我有严重的辐射疲劳症,在那一个月里,除了休息和涂抹大量乳液,我什么也做不了。


我已于2019年12月23日。与家人一起度过的圣诞节弥足珍贵。我们一起度过了癌症带来的创伤。


我从 2020 年 1 月 1 日开始服用他莫昔芬我于 2020 年 1 月 1 日开始服用他莫昔芬,并坚持服用了大约九个月。不幸的是,副作用,尤其是持续的肋骨疼痛,影响了我的生活质量,以至于我的肿瘤医生建议我停药。尽管如此,我还是很高兴自己尝试了服药。我也很感激我的肿瘤医生愿意倾听我的担忧,并关心我的副作用。


治疗后的生活

令我惊讶的是,这次癌症治疗对我和我的家人来说是如此艰难。我被诊断为癌症 0 期,不需要化疗,只做了一次手术。 然而,我的身体、精神和情感却前所未有地疲惫。我意识到,零期诊断并不意味着零挑战。


结束放射治疗后不久,我决定把自己的经历写成一本书。我没有告诉任何人我在做什么。每天早上,我打字直到无话可说,然后合上笔记本电脑的盖子,继续一天的工作。几个月来,这就是我的日常工作。 我倾吐心声,深入情感,分享我的心得体会然后继续我作为虚拟学校家长和家庭主妇的一天。


2020 年春天,我发现自己有了一本书的初稿。我为自己坚持写作而感到高兴。我一直梦想成为一名作家,但从未完成过手稿。 乳腺癌让我明白,在这个世界上,我可能没有无限的时间。我需要分享我的经历,帮助其他面临同样诊断的人。


在过去的两年里,我接受了一个新的使命--成为一名作家和乳腺癌倡导者。我没有想到,一个突如其来的 DCIS 诊断会让我走上这一新的职业道路,但每当我能够分享我的故事并给予鼓励的时候,我都会感到继续下去的动力。


通过社交媒体与珍妮弗联系:

Twitter (@mmejendouglas) : https://twitter.com/mmejendouglas

Instagram (@mmejendouglas) : https://instagram.com/mmejendouglas


感谢您分享您的故事,珍妮弗。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Diagnosed with DCIS after a Mammogram

In 2019, I was diagnosed the day before my 42nd birthday with DCIS - Ductal Carcinoma in Situ- Stage 0 Breast Cancer. I sat in shock in my surgeon’s office with my best friend taking notes next to me as the doctor discussed the findings of my biopsy the week before.


I walked out of the office with appointments to make, a tentative surgery date on the calendar, and a feeling of overwhelm cascading over me. I had no idea how to break the news to my husband and high school-aged sons. How could this be happening to me? I didn’t have time to be a breast cancer patient.


How did this process start?

It was my annual screening mammogram that caught my DCIS. The mammogram revealed calcifications in my right breast that prompted a diagnostic mammogram and an ultrasound. After all that imaging was complete, I was referred to a surgeon for further care.


I was no stranger to abnormal imaging because I have several fibroadenomas in my breasts. These are benign breast findings and feel like marbles in my breasts when I do my self-exam. I had seen this surgeon several years previously for a biopsy on these findings. I was not excited to be heading back to another appointment with him.


I came prepared with lots of questions for my appointment. However, the surgeon was focused more on reassuring me that it probably wasn’t cancer rather than addressing my concerns. The appointment abruptly ended when he got called away on an emergency. I had more to ask, but he was gone. The nurse directed me to the scheduler to get a biopsy set up.


Something inside me went off like a warning bell. I felt frustrated and scared, and I hadn’t been diagnosed yet. I needed to have a surgeon who would take the time to answer my questions.


I decided to seek out a second opinion. This decision turned out to be one of the most important things I did during my diagnosis process. The appointments and care at this second medical group were thorough, individualized, and not rushed.


Imaging Galore and Biopsies... So Many Biopsies

Once I decided to establish care with my new breast surgeon, he ordered new imaging- mammograms and ultrasounds on my breasts and then biopsies on the calcifications. One of the things I appreciated about the diagnostic imaging at this new facility was having a conversation with the radiologist immediately after my imaging. I was able to ask him about my calcifications and get his opinion on them. He was especially concerned with them because of their shape and urged me to get a biopsy.


Throughout my diagnosis process, I ended up having five biopsies. The first and second biopsies were on the findings from the mammogram, and the other three happened after my MRI showed areas of concern in the opposite breast.


The biopsies were what I hated the most throughout my diagnosis and treatment. During my first mammogram-guided biopsy, I passed out during the procedure. Thankfully the radiologist was able to continue the biopsy and get a sample.


I made sure to warn the radiologists before my other biopsies that I might faint. I did better during my ultrasound and MRI-guided biopsies because I was lying down. There was something about sitting up during the mammogram-guided biopsy that didn’t work for me!


I opted to have genetic testing done because of my age at diagnosis. My surgeon had recommended a lumpectomy for my DCIS, but wanted to make sure that I didn’t have any variants that would impact my recurrence rate.


I was thrilled when the additional biopsies performed after my MRI were benign, and my genetic testing came back clear. These final steps in my diagnosis meant that I could make a surgical decision.


Surgery- Finally

I ended up deciding on a lumpectomy to remove the DCIS. The DCIS was only about 4 mm, and my surgeon was confident he could remove it and minimize any disfigurement. He also removed a benign fibroadenoma from my opposite breast during the surgery.


I had never been under general anesthesia before, and I was terrified of the process. When I talked to other people about my fears, they made it seem like no big deal. But it was to me. I remember talking to my nurse just before they took me down to the surgery floor about my fears. She encouraged me to think pleasant things right before they put me under, and I would wake up feeling those emotions. So as they put the mask on me, I thought of my husband and the wonderful times we’d had together.


The next thing I knew, it was all over. I laughed and cried. I couldn’t believe it was over. I woke up feeling relieved and happy.


The lumpectomy was done as an outpatient procedure, so I could come home that night. It was wonderful to fall asleep in my own bed. The following day I woke up, disoriented at the light streaming through the shutters. For the first time in months, I slept all night and woke up without anxiety.


A few days later, I got a phone call from my surgeon. He was in between surgeries but wanted to call me to say they had gotten clean margins in my lumpectomy. So, I wasn’t going to need another surgery! What a relief. I could concentrate on recovery and think about the next treatment options.


Post Surgery Treatment: Radiation and Tamoxifen

After a few weeks of recovery, my surgeon cleared me to see the oncologist. He discussed that I had the option of doing radiation and taking tamoxifen for five years. The radiation would eliminate any DCIS not yet visible on imaging, and the tamoxifen would reduce my risk of recurrence by lowering my estrogen levels.


I made an appointment with the radiation oncologist, but I wasn’t sure if I would go through with radiation. The thought of getting the treatment was pretty terrifying. I had done a lot of research, and I knew that pairing radiation with a lumpectomy would reduce my risk of getting breast cancer again. My family had been through so much disruption with my diagnosis and surgery over the last few months. A part of me wanted to be done with this cancer treatment and skip the extra month of treatment.


My radiation oncologist was amazing. During our consultation, she addressed every single one of my questions. She was patient and also extremely knowledgeable. As we discussed whether or not I should do radiation, she was candid with me. She said, “If you were older, I wouldn’t advise you to do this treatment. But you are only 42. Hopefully, you will have 40 more years of life. There’s a possibility other areas of DCIS are in your breast, but imaging can’t see it yet.”


That did it for me. After that, I was committed to the radiation.


I had 20 treatments of radiation spread over four weeks. It was exhausting, and my skin burned and peeled twice. It was tough to go through Christmas season 2019 going to treatment every day. My husband was able to work from home at that time and drive me to my daily appointments. The location was close to our house, so it was about an hour from start to finish each day. I had a severe case of radiation fatigue and couldn’t do much during that month except rest and put lots of lotion on.


I finished radiation on December 23rd, 2019. That Christmas with my family was precious. We had made it through the trauma of cancer together.


I began tamoxifen on January 1st, 2020, and was able to stay on the medication for about nine months. Unfortunately, the side effects, especially the persistent rib pain, impacted my quality of life to the point that my oncologist recommended I stop taking it. Nevertheless, I’m happy I tried taking it. I’m also grateful that my oncologist was willing to listen to my concerns and cared about my side effects.


Life After Treatment

I was surprised at how hard this cancer treatment was on my family and me. I was diagnosed at stage 0, didn’t need chemotherapy, and only had one surgery. Yet I was physically, mentally, and emotionally drained in ways I had never been before. I realized that a Stage zero diagnosis doesn’t mean zero challenges.


Shortly after finishing radiation, I decided to write a book about my experiences. I didn’t tell anyone what I was doing. Each morning I typed until I had nothing left to say, then closed the lid of my laptop and went along with my day. For months this was my routine. I poured out my heart, delved into the emotions, shared what I had learned, and then went back to my day as a virtual school parent and homemaker.


In the spring of 2020, I realized I had the first draft of a book. I was delighted that I’d followed through with my writing. I had always dreamed of being an author but had never completed a manuscript. Breast cancer taught me that I might not have unlimited time on the planet. I needed to share what I had been through and help others facing the same diagnosis.


Over the past two years, I have embraced a new calling of being a writer and a breast cancer advocate. I didn’t expect that a surprise diagnosis of DCIS would lead me to this new vocation, but each time I’m able to share my story and offer encouragement, I feel inspired to continue.


Connect with Jennifer via social media:

Twitter (@mmejendouglas) : https://twitter.com/mmejendouglas

Instagram (@mmejendouglas) : https://instagram.com/mmejendouglas


Thank you for sharing your story, Jennifer. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page