页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

无性别乳腺癌研究

罗德-里奇

大多数癌症都不分性别,卵巢癌、宫颈癌、睾丸癌和前列腺癌是明显的例外。 那么,既然我们每个人都有一定量的乳腺组织,为什么乳腺癌却常常被认为是女性的专利呢?在新发病例中,男性和其他性别患者只占百分之一,这部分患者往往太少,无法参加试验,因此,我们根本得不到新药试验。 就好像我们在统计学上无关紧要一样。所有这一切导致其他所有性别的治疗都以女性的治疗为基础。虽然这种治疗通常非常成功,我们应该感谢创造新药物的研究,但进一步的研究可以消除最近一项研究中发现的治疗结果差距。


由于包括临床医生在内的普通民众都认识到乳腺癌是女性特有的疾病,因此研究是一个开端,证明了 高质量的研究可以为治疗提供更好的信息.2018年,BCRF研究员、欧洲肿瘤学院乳腺癌项目协调员法蒂玛-卡多索(Fatima Cardoso)博士对1482名男性进行的一项研究显示 男性乳腺癌患者往往得不到充分治疗.此外,他们在早期诊断后接受保乳手术的可能性要小得多。与女性相比,他们接受ER阳性乳腺癌内分泌治疗的可能性也更小。卡多索博士和她的同事们还报告了男性和女性乳腺癌在生物学和分子方面的差异。


最近有一个好消息,美国食品及药物管理局发布了一份指导文件草案《男性乳腺癌》:开发治疗药物》的指导文件草案。他们现在建议将男性纳入乳腺癌临床试验。最终的指导文件将有助于指导公司进行药物临床开发,以治疗男性患者的乳腺癌。这将带来真正的改变。


宣传乳腺癌的各个阶段

八年来,我作为第三期患者权益倡导者与第四期患者权益倡导者并肩工作,我经常在社交媒体上看到这样的流行语:20%-30% 的早期乳腺癌患者会被再次诊断为多发性乳腺癌。我总是想,这意味着有 70-80% 的机会不会复发。这个概率还不错。 但是,随着时间的流逝,我的男性和女性朋友也相继罹患此病,我可以看出,我的几率可能是比较大的,但是如果没有治愈的方法,再加上我也曾接受过侵袭性前列腺癌的治疗,我的预后就不那么好了。

早期乳腺癌患者的权益倡导者通常被建议留在自己的领域,而不是为转移性患者的事业奔走。至少在最近,当有影响力的晚期乳腺癌患者和团体开始将宣传工作的可持续性问题视为一个前进中的问题时,情况才有所改观。 可持续发展是一个尴尬的术语,但在这里,它被用来描述转移性乳腺癌(MBC)患者权益倡导者的流失,他们的流失是因为他们的治疗方案用完了。 乳腺癌倡导者群体一直在流失优秀的倡导者。


我是第二代乳腺癌患者,母亲在我 40 岁时去世,因此我特别热衷于支持有孩子的年轻乳腺癌女性患者。但是,通过活跃的社交媒体和论坛,通过参加培训课程和研讨会,以及圣安东尼奥乳腺癌研讨会等年度会议,我认识了许多转移性患者。 转移性患者才是患者权益的推动者和摇旗呐喊者。 相反,虽然许多早期乳腺癌患者在接受初期治疗时往往很活跃,但在治疗后却往往并不活跃。很快,我的乳腺癌朋友就大多是 MBC 患者了。他们是多么知情和活跃啊。


我们都渴望希望,这是恐惧的必然结果,是一种自然的情感,也是各个阶段的病人所共有的情感。不管我们愿不愿意,我们或多或少都在一起。作为一名乳腺癌患者,我对此深有体会。 像我这样的早期患者不仅能给予实际和精神上的支持,我们还能从 MBC 患者那里了解到我们的未来。 但是,无论如何,我们都会有经验和回忆、宣传方法以及基于人际关系的灵感来指导我们。


---

罗德-里奇罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie)是一位出生于悉尼的作家、互联网出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟董事会主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org您可以在 Twitter @malefitness 上关注他。


他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在此处找到: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



111 观点

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 5 月 20 日下午 5:30

RSVP

体内呼吸法

东部时间 5 月 21 日下午 6:00

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Genderless Breast Cancer Research

By Rod Ritchie

Most cancers are genderless, with the notable exceptions of ovarian, cervical, testicular, and prostate cancers. Why is it, then, that breast cancer is so often thought to be exclusively female, when we all have some amount of breast tissue? With only one percent of new cases in males and other genders, there are often too few of this cohort to enroll in trials, and therefore, we don’t get new drugs tested on us at all. It’s as if we are statistically irrelevant. All this leads to treatment for all other genders based on women's treatment. While this treatment is often very successful, and thankful we should be for the research that created new medications, further research could eliminate a gap in treatment outcomes that was discovered in a recent study.


Because awareness among the general population, including clinicians, that breast cancer is specific to women, studies are a start and prove that quality research can inform treatment for the better. A 2018 study of 1482 men by BCRF researcher Dr. Fatima Cardoso, Coordinator, European School of Oncology Breast Cancer Program, shows men are often under-treated with breast cancer. Also, they were much less likely to get breast-conserving surgery after an early-stage diagnosis. They were also less likely to receive endocrine therapy for ER-positive breast cancer, compared to women. Along with her colleagues, Dr. Cardoso has also reported the biological and molecular differences between male and female breast cancers.


In recent good news, the FDA has issued a draft guidance document, Male Breast Cancer: Developing Drugs for Treatment. They are now recommending the inclusion of males in breast cancer clinical trials. The final guidance document will help guide companies undertaking clinical development of drugs to treat breast cancer in male patients. This will lead to real change.


Advocating For All Stages of Breast Cancer

As a Stage III patient advocate working alongside Stage IV advocates for eight years now, I regularly come across the common social media meme: 20-30% of people diagnosed with early-stage breast cancer will be re-diagnosed with MBC. I always think, well, that means a 70-80% chance of no regression. Not bad odds. But, as the years rolled by and I lost male and female friends to the disease, I could see that my odds may have been favorable, but without a cure, and having also been treated for aggressive prostate cancer, my prognosis was not so good.

Patient advocates living with early-stage breast cancer are often advised to stay in their lane, rather than take up the cause for metastatic patients. At least that was true until recently when influential advanced breast cancer patients and groups began to see the issue of advocacy sustainability as a problem moving forward. Sustainability is an awkward term, but here it is applied to describe the attrition of metastatic breast cancer (MBC) patient advocates, who pass because they’ve run out of lines of treatment. The breast cancer advocate community loses fine advocates all the time.


As a second-generation breast cancer patient, one who lost my mother, aged 40, I’m particularly keen to support younger MBC women who have kids. But, I’ve come to know many metastatic patients from an active social media and forum presence, from attending training courses and seminars, and annual conferences like the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium. It was metastatic patients who were the patient advocacy movers and shakers. Conversely, while many early-stagers tended to be active whilst undergoing initial treatment, they were more often not so afterward. Pretty soon my breast cancer pals were mostly MBC folks. And what an informed and active lot they were.


We all crave hope, it is the corollary of fear, a natural emotion, and one common to patients of all stages. Whether we like it or not, we are all more or less in this together. As a man with breast cancer, I know this well. Early-stage patients like myself don’t just give practical and moral support; we learn about what might well be our future from MBC folks. But, regardless, we will have the experiences and memories, the advocacy methodology, and the inspiration based on personal relationships to guide us.


---

Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently he’s NED for both. He’s President, Board of Directors, Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness


His articles for Health Union can be found here: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page