页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

节日与转移性乳腺癌

作者:阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿



我喜欢节日。家人团聚、美食、交换礼物、庆祝上帝赐予我们的一切以及他儿子的牺牲,这一切对我来说都充满了魔力。当然,我的生日也在冬至这一天,这也是我每年都期待的事情。每年一月份,我就会开始为下一个圣诞节准备礼物,我总是在为我名单上的人寻找最完美的礼物,而我的名单每年都在增加,这让我丈夫非常懊恼。到了年底,看到人们为我挑选的礼物感到高兴,这对我来说就是最大的收获。


自 2017 年被诊断出患有 IV 期转移性乳腺癌(MBC)以来,我开始以不同的方式看待节日。我清楚地记得确诊后的第一次庆祝活动,当时我挣扎于既想过度制造回忆,又想干脆退出一切。我的脑海里总是想着,这个节日、这个生日、这个庆祝活动、这一次,这将是最后一次。我仍然发现自己在节日或其他时候盯着我爱的人,试图记住他们的脸,把记忆固定在大脑里,这样......是什么呢?这样我死后还会记得吗?


我的逻辑思维很强势,对这种妄想我的努力有任何意义的想法嗤之以鼻。我把记忆中的这个时间点固定下来,现在还有意义吗?在不远的将来,我也会成为餐桌上空着椅子的那个人。今年或明年是否有庆祝活动又有什么关系呢?


有时候,我觉得我的逻辑思维有点贱,或许只是生气。


不,我没有多重人格,但这有助于我将这些矛盾的情感塑造成具有不同观点的真实人物,从而更好地理解整体。这种同时生活在两种相互矛盾的想法/感觉中的感觉让人困惑。我活着,但又快死了;我快乐,但又极度悲伤;我痛苦不堪,但又心满意足;我恶心得要命,但又对垂涎欲滴的食物饥肠辘辘;我微笑,但又......

渴望我的床我必须携带所有

这些矛盾的冲动同时涌上心头。


这会让人精疲力竭。


我反复思考孩子们会记住什么,然后疯狂地拍照,保存我认为重要的东西。我把纸条、信件和纪念品偷偷藏起来,因为我知道我的孩子们很可能无法完全理解它们的意义。我和所有我认为需要知道我死后想要什么的人交谈,因为我清楚地知道我才是关心这些事情的人,而不是其他人。


你既想庆祝,又想亲临现场,同时又非常担心自己会被抹杀、被取代,在你最关心的人的生活中变得无关紧要,你该如何调和这种矛盾?在真实的节日庆典中,这种预感到的悲痛令人匪夷所思、麻木和震惊。


我想,在我的生活中,有些人就是因为这个原因而退避三舍,或者制造冲突,把自己和我分开。每个人处理预期悲伤的方式都不一样。勇气需要一种反应,安全需要另一种反应。你的选择揭示了一些东西。我的选择揭示了一些东西。结果会成为一种遗产,是因抓住机会而产生的亲密关系,还是因错失机会而造成的分离。还能有多少机会?


而这一切都还没有加上 COVID-19。


我与其他患有乳腺增生症的人交谈过,他们正在考虑冒着暴露于 COVID-19 的风险并很可能因此而死亡,因为我们的预期寿命很短,这个节日很可能是我们的最后一个节日。当您试图在众多未知因素中做出决定时,如何权衡所有风险/益处?


在没有水晶球的情况下(我也需要一个水晶球),我认为我们必须根据我们现在所掌握的情况做出最好的决定。我认为,我们必须专注于已知的事情来做决定,而不是为了考虑未知的事情而把自己逼疯。我认为,我们必须能够对我们能够影响的事情负责,其他的事情就放手去做。


这并非易事。


所以,这不是一件容易的事。


我发现,要想对自己的计划和决定感到安心,我确实必须把对身边人的关心程度缩减到最重要的人身上。那些与我有真正联系的人,那些专注于与我一起创造美好回忆的人。这意味着我必须放弃过去多年来的许多默认做法,这并不是一件容易的事。这意味着我必须更加挑剔、更加用心、更加沉稳(即不带着一百万个项目到处跑),才能有情感能力专注于最重要的事情。


这些决定充满了许多陷阱、担忧和感受,无论是现在的还是过去的。然而,我知道,当我下功夫考虑清楚,而不是随波逐流时,假期里就会有对我来说最重要的人和元素。






最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

コメント


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

The Holidays and Metastatic Breast Cancer

By Abigail Johnston



I love the holidays. The family togetherness, the food, the exchanges of gifts, the celebration of what God has given us and the sacrifice of His Son, it’s all magical to me. Of course having my birthday in the mix, on the Winter Solstice, is also something to look forward to every year, but don’t get me started on the whole Santa thing. I literally start planning for the following Christmas in January each year when it comes to gifts and I’m always on the lookout for the perfect gift for the people on my list, which grows and grows every year much to my husband’s chagrin. That the end of the year culminates in getting to see people happy about what I’ve selected, that’s the highlight for me.


Since 2017, when I was diagnosed with Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer (MBC), I’ve started to see holidays differently. I vividly recall the first celebrations following my diagnosis when I struggled with both wanting to go overboard in making memories and also wanting to simply withdraw from everything. The thought that this holiday, this birthday, this celebration, this time, this will be the last time, is always in the back of my mind. I still find myself staring at the people I love, during holidays or otherwise, trying to memorize their faces, fixing the memories in my brain so … what? So that I will remember after I die?


My logical brain asserts itself and is pretty scornful of this fanciful notion that my efforts mean anything. Does me fixing this point in time in my memory mean anything now? I’ll be the one leaving a chair empty at the table at a time in the not so distant future. What does it matter whether there is a celebration this year or next when any one of them will be my last?


Sometimes I think my logical brain is a bit bitchy or maybe just angry.


No, I don’t have multiple personalities, but it helps me to cast these ambivalent feelings as actual characters with different points of view to better make sense of the whole. This living with two contradictory ideas/feelings at once is confusing. I’m alive, yet dying, happy, yet intensely sad, in excruciating pain, yet content, horribly nauseous, yet hungry for the mouth watering food, smiling, yet

yearning for my bed. I have to carry all of

these contradictory urges all at once.


It can be exhausting.


I ruminate over what my kids will remember and then frantically take pictures to preserve what I think is important. I secret away notes and letters and keepsakes, knowing logically that my boys likely won’t fully grasp their significance. I talk to all the people who I think need to know something about what I want after I’m gone, knowing full well I’m the one who cares about these things, not others.


How do you reconcile wanting to celebrate and be present with the very real fear that you will be erased, replaced, become irrelevant in the lives of those you care about the most? This anticipatory grief amongst the very real festivities of the holidays is mind boggling/numbing/blowing.


There are people in my life who have pulled back from me or created conflicts to separate themselves from me because of this, I think. Everyone deals with anticipatory grief in different ways. Courage requires one response, safety another. What you choose reveals something. What I choose reveals something. What results becomes a legacy of intimacy created by opportunities taken or separation because of opportunities missed. How many more opportunities can there be?


And that’s all before we add COVID-19 into the mix.


I talk to others living with MBC who are contemplating risking exposure and likely death from COVID-19 in light of the fact that due to our truncated life expectancy, this holiday season may well be our last. How do you weigh all the risks/benefits when attempting to make decisions amongst so many unknowns?


Absent a crystal ball (and I need one of those), I think we have to make the best decisions with what we have to work with, right now. I think we have to focus on the knowns to make decisions, not make ourselves crazy with attempting to contemplate the unknowns. I think we have to be able to take responsibility for the things we can influence and just pitch the rest.


Not an easy task.


So not an easy task.


I have discovered that to feel settled about my plans and my decisions, I do have to shrink my level of care for those around me to the ones who matter the most. Those who I have genuine connections to; those who are focused on making memories with me. That means I have to let go of many of the defaults of years past, not an easy thing. That means I have to be more picky and more intentional and more settled (i.e., not running around with a million projects) to be able to have the emotional capacity to focus on what matters most.


These decisions are fraught with so many pitfalls and worries and feelings, present and past. It is a struggle and causes often sleepless nights in the lead up to the holidays; however, I know that when I put in some work to think this through rather than going with the flow, the holidays contain the people and elements that matter most to me in the end.






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page