页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

转移性三阴性乳腺癌:新兴疗法带来希望


在美国,每八名妇女中就有一人在一生中被诊断出患有乳腺癌。


乳腺癌有许多不同的类型。乳腺癌的类型通常取决于癌症从乳房的哪个部位开始,是否已经扩散。

 

转移性三阴性乳腺癌

转移性三阴性是一种乳腺癌亚型,其雌激素受体(ER)、孕激素受体(PR)和人类表皮生长因子受体 2(HER2)--其他乳腺癌细胞上常见的受体检测结果均为阴性。

直到最近,由于大多数已获批准的针对这三种受体的疗法都不起作用,三阴性乳腺癌一直难以治疗。

转移性乳腺癌是指癌症扩散到乳房以外的一个或多个部位,如骨骼或其他重要器官,包括肝脏、肺和大脑。肿瘤分裂快、生长快、增殖快,发生转移的几率更高,因此 TNBC 具有极强的侵袭性。



关于三阴性乳腺癌的事实

  • 乳腺癌的诊断依据是是否存在驱动乳腺癌发展和生长的三种受体:雌激素、孕激素和 HER2-neu。如果三种受体的病理结果均为阴性,则可诊断为三阴性乳腺癌。

  • 三阴性乳腺癌多发于 40 至 50 岁的女性(比其他形式乳腺癌的平均年龄要小)、非裔美国人和西班牙裔女性,以及 BRCA1 基因突变的女性。

  • 三阴性乳腺癌比其他形式的乳腺癌更具侵袭性,因此更有可能扩散到其他器官,并在治疗后复发。

  • 传统上,三阴性乳腺癌通常采用综合疗法进行治疗,包括手术、放疗和化疗,但目前正在积极探索免疫疗法、PARP 抑制剂和 ACD 等新的治疗方案。

  • 大约 10%-15% 的乳腺癌是三阴性乳腺癌。

前景看好的新兴疗法


最近,一些 新的治疗方案 已经问世,其他治疗方案也即将问世。新疗法包括免疫疗法、PARP抑制剂和抗体药物共轭物Trodelvy(sacituzumab govitecan)。此外,2019 年,针对 PDL1 突变的三阴性乳腺癌的一种免疫疗法 Atezolizumab 成为首个获批的转移性三阴性乳腺癌靶向疗法。 最近,美国 DESTINY-breast04 试验取得了巨大成功。他们发现,与标准化疗相比,接受新疗法的患者的中位无进展生存期延长了约四个月,总生存期也更长。他们的数据最近在2022年ASCO年会上公布,是最有前景的新疗法之一。 一项类似的研究对一种名为 TROPiCS-2 研究,以及第三项研究,即 DetermaIO的研究结果,该研究对包括三阴性乳腺癌在内的六种癌症类型进行了免疫检查点抑制剂研究。 研究人员还在考虑以癌症干细胞或具有类似干细胞基因表达的癌细胞为靶点是否是一种可行的选择。 其中一项研究专门研究了一种名为DOT1L的基因,并使用一种名为EPZ-5676的分子在不同的三阴性乳腺癌细胞系和类器官模型中抑制该基因。

他们发现,DOT1L不仅作用于许多促进癌细胞生长的细胞存活途径,而且抑制该基因似乎还能抑制细胞和肿瘤的生长。虽然类似的疗法仍需进行动物和人体试验,但看到潜在的新治疗方案不断涌现令人振奋。 此外,目前还在研究其他类型的药物和治疗方案,包括针对PI3K/AKT/mTOR途径、雄激素受体途径的药物,以及结合PARP抑制剂、免疫检查点抑制剂和其他类型药物的治疗方案。


由于许多免疫疗法仍在积极开发和研究之中,一些患者可能会出现一些意想不到的副作用 意想不到的副作用的副作用。为了解决这一问题,ASCO 制定了一份 信息文件该文件强调了 NCCN 关于免疫疗法潜在不良反应的指导原则,以及何时需要关注这些不良反应。但是,如果您出现了明显的副作用,或对较新治疗方法的疗效或安全性感到担忧,最好还是向您的医生或医疗专业人员咨询您的疑虑,因为他们能够为您的治疗方案提供最佳建议。 我们始终与您、SBC 成员以及科学家、研究人员和肿瘤内科医生密切合作,为我们的需求和生活质量代言!

 
通过 SBC 提供的一些资源,了解有关转移性三阴性乳腺癌的更多信息:





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer: Emerging Therapies Deliver Hope


One in eight women in the US will receive a breast cancer diagnosis in their lifetime.


There are many different types of breast cancer. The type of breast cancer is often determined by where the cancer started in your breast, if it’s spread.

 

Metastatic Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

Metastatic Triple-negative is a breast cancer subtype that tests negative for estrogen receptors (ER), progesterone receptors (PR), and human epidermal growth factor receptors 2 (HER2)—receptors commonly found on other breast cancer cells.

Until recently, because most approved therapies that target those three receptors didn’t work, triple-negative breast cancer was difficult to treat.

Metastatic breast cancer means cancer spreads beyond the breast to one or more other areas such as bones or other vital organs, including the liver, lungs, and brain. The tumor divides quickly, grows, and proliferates with a higher chance of metastases, making TNBC extremely aggressive.



Facts About Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

  • Breast cancer is diagnosed based on the presence or absence of three receptors that drive the development and growth of breast cancer: estrogen, progesterone, and HER2-neu. Triple-negative breast cancer is diagnosed when there is a negative pathology for all three receptors.

  • Triple-negative breast cancer occurs most often in women ages 40 to 50 (younger than the average age of other forms of breast cancer), African American and Hispanic women, and those with BRCA1 mutations.

  • Triple-negative breast cancer is more aggressive than other forms of breast cancer, making it more likely to spread to other organs and recur after treatment.

  • Traditionally, triple-negative breast cancer is typically treated with a combination of therapies, including surgery, radiation therapy, and chemotherapy, but new treatment options such as immunotherapy, PARP inhibitors, and ACD’s are all actively being explored.

  • Approximately 10-15 percent of breast cancers are triple-negative.

Promising Emerging Therapies


Recently, several new treatment options have become available, and others are on the horizon. New treatments include immunotherapy, PARP inhibitors, and the antibody-drug conjugate Trodelvy (sacituzumab govitecan). In addition, in 2019, atezolizumab, a form of immunotherapy targeting triple-negative breast cancers with PDL1 mutations, was the first approved targeted therapy in metastatic triple-negative breast cancer. Recently, the DESTINY-breast04 trial has had great success with a new antibody-drug conjugate known as trastuzumab deruxtecan. They found that compared to standard chemotherapy, those given the new treatment had about a four month increase in median progression-free survival, as well as a longer overall survival. Their data was recently presented at the 2022 ASCO Annual meeting, and was one of the most promising new therapies featured. A similar study examining an antibody-drug conjugate known as the TROPiCS-2 study, was also featured at the meeting, as were results from a third study, the DetermaIO, which looked at immune checkpoint inhibitors in six cancer types, including triple-negative breast cancer. Researchers are also considering if targeting cancer stem cells, or cancer cells with stem-cell like gene expression would be a viable option. One such study looked specifically at a gene called DOT1L, and used a molecule named EPZ-5676 to inhibit it in different triple-negative breast cancer cell lines and organoid models.

They found that not only did DOT1L act on many cell survival pathways that contributed to the growth of cancer cells, but inhibiting the gene also seemed to inhibit cell and tumor growth. While therapies like these still need to undergo animal and human testing, it’s exciting to see potential new treatment options emerging. Additionally, other types of drugs and regimens are currently being studied, including drugs targeting the PI3K/AKT/mTOR pathway, the androgen receptor pathway, and regimens that combine PARP inhibitors, immune checkpoint inhibitors, and other types of drugs.


As many immunotherapies are still actively being developed and studied, some patients may experience some unexpected side effects from immunotherapies. In order to combat this, ASCO has an informational document for patients which highlights the NCCN guidelines of potential adverse reactions from immunotherapies, and when to be concerned about them. However, if you are experiencing significant side effects or are concerned about the efficacy or safety of a newer treatment, it’s always best to consult your doctor or a medical professional about your concerns, as they will be able to best advise you about your treatment plan. We are always working closely with you, our SBC members and the scientist, researchers, and medical oncologists to advocate and be the voice for our needs and quality of life!

 
Learn more about metastatic triple-negative breast cancer with some resources from SBC:





Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP