页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

抛弃伴侣与癌症



接受乳腺癌诊断以及处理随后的治疗和问题是一项挑战。无论您是 新诊断、面临复发或病情恶化。不幸的是,对一些人来说,癌症之旅还包括心痛和伴侣的离弃,他们曾以为无论如何都可以依靠的人却离他们而去。


伴侣抛弃癌症患者可能是情感上的,也可能是身体上的。情感上的伴侣遗弃是指关系中的非癌症患者不再给予情感支持和关爱。身体上的伴侣遗弃是指伴侣长时间离开家,停止支付账单,不再参与其他与家庭相关的活动。


女性被伴侣抛弃的风险更大

可悲的是,癌症确诊后被伴侣抛弃的情况并不罕见,而且更有可能发生在女性身上。密歇根大学的研究发现 31%涉及身体疾病的婚姻以离婚告终.此外,研究还发现,随着时间的推移,出现严重健康问题的男性多于女性,但离开患病妻子的男性却更多。这意味着女性更容易因疾病而导致婚姻解体:她们更容易成为寡妇,也更容易在患病后被抛弃。


弗雷德-哈钦森癌症研究中心的另一项研究发现 与妻子在丈夫患重病(如癌症或心力衰竭)后离开丈夫相比,丈夫离开妻子的人数要多得多。诊断。癌症患者的总体婚姻解体率约为 12%。此外,女性癌症患者的离婚率为 20.8%,而男性癌症患者的离婚率仅为 2.9%。


人们为何在确诊癌症后抛弃亲人

有时,人们在确诊癌症后会抛弃自己的亲人,因为他们害怕会发生什么。他们可能害怕自己的爱人会死去,或者害怕癌症会让他们遭受可怕的痛苦。还有一些人可能只是害怕未知--他们和伴侣的未来会怎样,以及未来会如何永远地改变他们的生活。


有些人还会因为不想经历痛苦而抛弃自己的亲人。癌症会让人感到无助和沮丧,尤其是当癌症让他们无法做以前喜欢做的事情时:与朋友或家人外出、料理家务,甚至与爱人亲密接触。


如何判断癌症确诊后伴侣是否会抛弃你

我们无法知道您的伴侣是否会在您被诊断出癌症后抛弃您--或者在癌症病程的任何阶段。但是,如果您担心伴侣会在确诊癌症后离您而去,您可以做一些事情来了解情况。这似乎是一个显而易见的问题,但还是问问他们吧!


告诉他们你对癌症对你们的关系意味着什么感到焦虑和害怕,并询问他们对此的感受。如果他们不愿意谈论这个问题,也不愿意为你们夫妻的未来做打算,这也许是可以理解的,但这可能表明出了什么问题。


另一种判断方法是,如果他们开始把自己的需求放在你的需求之前--比如比平时更频繁地和朋友出去,或者把钱花在自己身上,而不是为修车等重要事情存钱。如果您的伴侣在这段关系中变得孤僻,您也应该仔细观察:他是否看起来总是很悲伤?他是否不再有亲昵的举动?这些迹象可能意味着他在感情上开始退缩,即使他没有直接说出来。


如果你的伴侣需要空间,这可能不是抛弃

在你放弃你的伴侣之前,考虑一下他们可能正在经历他们对所发生的事情的一些感受。对任何人来说,看到自己的亲人罹患癌症都会很难受。您的伴侣可能会感到不知所措,需要一些空间来以他们的方式处理事情。


您的伴侣也可能会感到很大的压力,需要他们采取与平时不同的方式来帮助您改善病情。为此,他们可能需要远离你的时间和空间,以便想出如何在治疗期间最好地支持你的需求。


伴侣离开的另一个原因可能是未来的变化会影响双方的关系动态(即一旦治疗结束)。这可能会让他们感到不确定,害怕这些变化对他们现在或以后与你的未来(如果有的话)意味着什么。


被抛弃时有发生,但这并不意味着你不可爱

面对癌症诊断,感到被遗弃是正常的。不幸的是,公众对癌症的了解仍然远远不够,这让亲人感到无力和恐惧。即使是那些亲身经历过亲人患病的人,也可能对癌症会如何影响他们与伴侣的关系毫无准备。


巨蟹座是一个情绪紧张的旅程,即使是最幸福的人际关系也会倍感压力;如果再加上遗弃问题和其他亲密关系方面的挑战,随着事情变得越来越复杂,就很难再坚持下去了。


虽然被伴侣抛弃会让你感到孤独,但请记住你并不孤单!你是一个巨大社区的一部分,这个社区里的人们都曾面临过类似的挑战,并一起度过了难关(或正在度过难关)。例如,生存乳癌的全球在线社区 社区提供了与他人联系的机会,以获得安全、不受评判、点对点的支持,确保您永远不会孤单。


我们永远在您身边

生存乳腺癌》随时提供 多种资源包括财务管理指南、播客和网络研讨会,为您提供信息,减轻您的焦虑。我们还提供 治疗研讨会心灵运动课程您还可以参加我们的 小组配对导师.


无论您是以 现金捐赠举办 筹款还是 志愿者您的支持使我们能够提供这些资源,为尽可能多的人带来力量和希望。

454 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Partner Abandonment and Cancer



Receiving a breast cancer diagnosis and dealing with the subsequent treatments and issues is challenging. The news can ignite many emotions, whether you’re newly diagnosed, facing a recurrence, or experiencing progression. Unfortunately, for some people, the cancer journey also includes heartache and partner abandonment from someone they thought they could count on no matter what.


It can be emotional or physical when a partner abandons a person with cancer. Emotional partner abandonment occurs when the non-cancerous person in a relationship withdraws their emotional support and affection. Physical partner abandonment happens when they leave the house for extended periods, stop paying bills, and cease to engage in other household-related activities.


Women Are At Greater Risk for Partner Abandonment

Sadly, partner abandonment after a cancer diagnosis isn’t unique, and it’s more likely to happen to women. Research from the University of Michigan found that 31% of marriages that involve physical illnesses end in divorce. In addition, the study found that more men than women develop serious health problems over time, but more men leave their sick wives. This means women are doubly vulnerable to marital dissolution connected to illnesses: they are more likely to become widowed and more likely to be abandoned if they get ill.


Another study from the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center found that significantly more husbands leave their wives compared to wives leaving husbands after a serious illness such as cancer or heart failure diagnosis. The overall rate of marital dissolution among cancer patients is about 12%. In addition, the divorce rate when a woman is the cancer patient is 20.8%, while the rate when a man has cancer is just 2.9%.


Why People Abandon Loved Ones After a Cancer Diagnosis

Sometimes people abandon their loved ones after a cancer diagnosis because they fear what will happen. They may be scared that their loved one will die or that cancer will cause them to suffer horribly. Others may simply be afraid of the unknown — what the future holds for them and their partner and how it might change their lives forever.


Some people also abandon their loved ones because they don't want to experience pain. Cancer can make people feel helpless and frustrated, especially if it prevents them from doing things they used to enjoy: going out with friends or family members, taking care of household chores, or even being intimate with someone they love.


How To Tell If Your Partner Will Abandon You After a Cancer Diagnosis

There’s no way to know if your partner will abandon you after you’ve been diagnosed with cancer — or at any part of the cancer journey. But, if you’re worried that your partner will leave you after a cancer diagnosis, you can do a few things to find out. It might seem like an obvious question, but ask them!


Tell them that you are feeling anxious and scared about what having cancer means for your relationship, and ask them how they feel about it. While it may be understandable if they’re reluctant to talk about it or make plans for the future with you as a couple, it might be an indication that something is wrong.


Another way to tell is if they start putting their own needs in front of yours — such as going out with friends more often than usual or spending money on themselves rather than saving up for important things like car repairs. You should also watch closely if your partner becomes withdrawn from the relationship: does he always seem sad? Does he withdraw from affectionate gestures? These signs may mean he's starting to pull away emotionally even though he hasn't said anything directly.


It Might Not Be Abandonment If Your Partner Needs Space

Before you give up on your partner, consider that they might be going through some of their feelings about what is happening. It can be difficult for anyone to see their loved one go through cancer. Your partner may feel overwhelmed and need some space to work through things in their way.


Your partner may also feel a lot of pressure to act differently than they usually would help make things better for you. To do so, they may need time and space away from you to figure out how best to support your needs during treatment.


Another reason a partner might pull away could be because changes ahead will impact the relationship dynamic between both parties (i.e., once treatment ends). This could leave them uncertain and afraid of what those changes might mean for their future with you now or later down the road (if at all).


Abandonment Happens, But It Doesn't Mean You're Unlovable

It’s normal to feel abandoned in the face of a cancer diagnosis. Unfortunately, the general public’s understanding of cancer remains woefully inadequate, leaving loved ones feeling powerless and afraid. Even those who have had personal experience with a loved one’s illness may be unprepared for how it can affect their relationship with their partner.


Cancer is an emotionally intense journey that can stress even the happiest relationships; when coupled with abandonment issues and other intimacy challenges, it can be hard to hang on as things get more complex.


Although being abandoned by your partner can leave you feeling alone, remember that you’re not alone! You are part of an enormous community of people who have faced similar challenges and survived them (or are still surviving them) together. For example, Surviving Breast Cancer’s global online community offers opportunities to connect with others for safe, judgment-free, peer-to-peer support to ensure you’re never alone.


We’re Always Here For You!

Surviving Breast Cancer is always available with multiple resources, including financial management guides, podcasts, and webinars to provide you with information and lessen your anxiety. We also offer healing workshops and mindful movement classes, and you can join any of our groups or be matched with a mentor.


Whether you make a cash donation, host a fundraiser, or volunteer, your support enables us to make those resources available to give strength and hope to as many people as possible.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page