页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的动物伴侣陪伴我走过乳腺癌的整个过程

已更新:2022 年 8 月 8 日

克里斯汀-卡特



亲爱的克里斯汀


自从我不得不与我的情感支持犬 Gus 道别后,我一直在强烈的悲伤和失落中挣扎。它已经 13 岁了,是我的一部分,甚至我在家里的任何房间里,它都要和我在一起。古斯患有复杂的疾病,我担心它即将遭受痛苦。它是一只英俊的苏格兰梗犬,陪伴我走过了患乳腺癌的整个历程。当它知道我需要安慰时,它就会给我安慰,而现在没有了它,我感觉完全失去了方向。我一直无法集中注意力,也无法入睡,我对自己决定对它实施安乐术感到悲痛和内疚。我该怎么做才能度过这段痛苦的时光,让我能够回想起我们共同拥有的爱和快乐的回忆?

 



亲爱的读者


对于您失去爱犬,我深表遗憾。我们与动物伙伴的关系可以如此丰富和充实,以至于 许多人当宠物死去时,他们所承受的痛苦甚至比失去人类朋友或家人时更甚。


这就难怪了--我们对动物的爱和来自动物的爱可能是我们生命中最无条件、不做评判和相对简单的关系。在你的情况中,古斯在你生命中的一个紧张而痛苦的阶段陪伴着你,这一事实使问题变得更加复杂。



无论你需要多少时间来哀悼

悲伤没有捷径可走。让自己感受这一过程中的所有艰难阶段--通常是否认、愤怒、讨价还价、抑郁和接受--在这些阶段发生时可能会让你感到痛苦,但最终会让你完成这个愈合周期。


您还提到了内疚感。听起来你是一个非常有爱心、敏感的人,我敢打赌,在决定安乐死之前,你已经为古斯考虑了所有的可能性。在当时的情况下,这可能是你能做的最仁慈的事情了。所以,请允许自己放下负罪感,即使你必须一点一点地做。


应对他人的反应

不是每个人都能理解失去宠物对我们的影响有多深。有些人可能会试图将古斯的损失降到最低,比如说 "他只是一只狗 "或 "再领养一只就好了"。这甚至可能是他们错误地试图让你感觉好一些。其他人可能什么也不说,要么是因为他们不理解你的感受,要么是因为他们试图否认失去自己的动物的前景,要么是因为他们试图不去回忆前一只动物的死亡。


如果可能的话,尽量不要让这些尴尬的遭遇让你心烦意乱。只需继续前行,或者回应一句:"谢谢你的建议,但我需要用自己的方式来处理这件事"。



找到理解你的人

有些人知道你正在经历什么,他们可以为你提供支持和治疗方法。 您可能需要探索互联网,包括 马克思的治愈心灵社区彩虹桥宠物损失悲伤支持中心。


纪念他

建立一个纪念馆,你可以经常去看看。这可以是书架上的一张照片,可以是埋葬他或保存他骨灰的地方,也可以是每当你想念他时点燃的蜡烛这样简单的东西。与他交谈,告诉他你爱他,感谢他的爱--任何能让你感觉良好或有联系的事情。


慢慢来

时间会帮助您减轻悲痛的程度,同样,您不能操之过急。也许有一天您会觉得自己已经准备好再养一只宠物了,但在此期间,请对自己温和些。在您决定拥有宠物之前,您可以去动物收容所做义工;这样您就可以享受到只有动物才能给予您的爱,而无需全心全意地投入。


与此同时,请给予自己同情,并知道你如此深爱的能力是一种惊人的力量。


祝你的康复之旅一切顺利、


克里斯汀 xo





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

My Animal Companion Has Been With Me Throughout Breast Cancer

Updated: Aug 8, 2022

By Kristen Carter



Dear Kristen,


I'm really struggling with intense sadness and loss since I had to say goodbye to my emotional support dog, Gus. He was 13 years old and so much a part of me, even to the point that he needed to be with me in whatever room of the house I was in. Gus was struggling with complex medical problems and I was in fear of his imminent suffering. He was a handsome Scottish Terrier and has been with me through my entire journey with breast cancer. He provided comfort when he knew I needed it and now I feel completely lost without him. I've been experiencing trouble concentrating and sleeping and am overcome with grief and guilt over my decision to have him euthanized. What can I do to get through this painful time and to reach the point where I can think about all the love and happy memories that we shared?

 



Dear Reader,


I am so sorry for the loss of your beloved dog. Our relationships with our animal companions can be so rich and fulfilling that many people suffer as much or more when pets die as when they lose a human friend or family member.


It’s no wonder – our love for and from animals can be among the most unconditional, nonjudgmental, and relatively simple relationships of our lives. In your case, this is compounded by the fact that Gus was there for you during an intense and traumatic phase of your life.



Take whatever time you need to grieve

There are no shortcuts when it comes to grieving. Allowing yourself to feel all the hard phases of the process – typically denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance – may hurt while they’re happening but will ultimately allow you to complete this healing cycle.


You mention feeling guilty as well. You sound like a very loving, sensitive person and I would wager that you thought through all the possibilities for Gus before deciding on euthanasia. It was probably the kindest thing you could have done under the circumstances. So give yourself permission to let go of the guilt, even if you have to do it little by little.


Coping with other people’s reactions

Not everyone understands how deeply the loss of a pet can affect us. Some people may try to minimize Gus’s loss, saying things like, “He was only a dog,” or “Just adopt another one.” This might even be their misguided attempt to make you feel better. Others may say nothing, either because they don’t understand how you feel, are trying to stay in denial about the prospect of losing their own animal, or trying not to remember the death of a previous one.


Try not to let these awkward encounters upset you, if possible. Simply move on or respond with something like, “Thanks for your advice, but I need to handle this my own way.”



Find people who DO understand

There are people who will know what you’re going through and who can offer their support plus ideas for healing. You may want to explore the internet, including Max’s Healing Hearts Community on Facebook and the Rainbow Bridge Pet Loss grief support center.


Honor his memory

Create a memorial you can visit as often as you want to. This can be a photo on a bookshelf, a place where he is buried or you keep his ashes, or something as simple as a candle you light whenever you miss him. Talk to him, tell him you love him, thank him for his love – anything that makes you feel good or connected.


Take your time

Time will help ease the intensity of your grief, and (again) you can’t rush this. You may feel ready for another pet someday, but in the meantime, be gentle with yourself. Something you might want to do before you take the plunge into ownership would be volunteering at an animal shelter; that would give you access to the kind of love only animals can give, without a full commitment.


In the meantime, give yourself compassion and know that your capacity to love so deeply is an amazing strength.


All the best for your healing journey,


Kristen xo





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page