页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

成为患者代言人

已更新:2022 年 11 月 8 日

罗德-里奇

 


我们都属于 SurvivingBreastCancer.org 社区的原因各不相同。我们中的一些人是患者、护理人员或亲友,一些人因这种疾病失去了亲人,还有一些人可能希望支持乳腺癌慈善机构。我们还希望向医学专家学习,如外科医生、肿瘤学家、内科医生和该领域的其他专家。


无论如何,我们中的许多人时常会感到成为患者代言人的召唤。


作为病人的代言人是令人满意的,为任何被诊断患有乳腺癌的人代言往往意味着病人在紧张的诊断和初期治疗阶段有了一个伙伴。它还可以提供实际的支持,包括家务和膳食等基本服务、

在需要送往医疗机构时提供帮助。

最重要的是,这可能意味着 坐在医生的诊室里,多一双耳朵和一个记录所有信息的记事本是非常宝贵的.这些信息患者往往无法理解,甚至无法正确 "听到"。


我的宣传故事


2014 年确诊后,我经常在 BreastCancer.org 上发帖,这是少数几个欢迎男性的社区之一。拥有市场营销和 IT 背景的我很快就发现,只要有合适的论坛,你就能接触到很多人。一开始,我从他人的经验中学习,后来经过培训和总结经验,我让新确诊的男性接触到各种社交媒体平台上发展起来的支持系统,其中最重要的是推特和脸书。


虽然传统的印刷媒体和电子媒体仍然是有效的渠道,但社交媒体是国际患者权益倡导者与患者和医疗专业人士接触的完美平台。在 Twitter 上很容易接触到世界各地的临床和研究团体,传播您的信息。也就是说 患者权益倡导者在任何时候都不应提供医疗建议.


一开始,我发现大多数人只是想找人倾诉,这对我来说没什么问题。孤立无援、知识匮乏和尴尬是很多人的感受。 如果知道有人曾有过这样的经历,往往会让人倍感安慰。为了寻找更多的机会,我接受了电话咨询师的培训,为处于不同治疗阶段的人提供服务。这些人通常住在偏远地区。当当地医院的输液室有机会招募志愿者时,我抓住了这个机会,在这个紧张和脆弱的时刻与人们坐在一起。我的自我介绍是:"我只是来帮助病人的。如果你喜欢聊天,没问题,如果不喜欢,我就继续"。这句话的成功率为 50%!


在参加了患者权益倡导者会议后,我有幸获得了 2018 年圣地亚哥 NBCC 项目 LEAD 课程的奖学金。2019 年,我获得了参加 SABCS19 的奖学金,在那里,许多女性给我留下了深刻印象,她们大多是这一领域的患者代言人,而我只在网上认识她们,她们的善良给我留下了深刻印象。


一物降一物。现在,我为男性乳腺癌全球联盟撰写文章、制作视频、举办讲座并编辑来自男性的故事。我在乳腺癌宣传领域占据了一席之地,我总是对推特上关注我的医学专家的数量感到惊讶。


需要什么


患者权益倡导者需要审视并建设性地应对不同的立场和问题,从消极或无动于衷的患者中反弹回来,最重要的是,要有足够的韧性,能够与他们试图帮助的人一起应对疾病的考验和磨难。


最好的患者代言人

  • 始终倾听和学习;

  • 对分享信息的不同方式持开放态度;

  • 重视他人的支持;以及

  • 与志同道合者合作。


基本上,我认为病人权益倡导者可以从帮助他人中获得很多心理上的益处。事实上,我们会因此而更加健康,精神上更加强大。除此之外,如果我们从他人的帮助中获益、 为什么不回报他人呢?



关于罗德-里奇

罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie)是一位出生于悉尼的作家、互联网出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟董事会主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org 您可以在 Twitter 上关注他 @malefitness


他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在此处找到: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:


最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Becoming a Patient Advocate

Updated: Nov 8, 2022

By Rod Ritchie

 


We all belong to the SurvivingBreastCancer.org community for different reasons. Many are variously curious and seek information, some of us are patients and caregivers or friends and relatives, some have lost loved ones to this disease, while others may wish to support a breast cancer charity. We also seek to learn from medical professionals, such as surgeons, oncologists, physicians, and other experts in the field.


Regardless, every so often many of us feel a calling to become patient advocates.


Being a patient advocate is satisfying, and advocating for anybody diagnosed with breast cancer very often means the patient has a partner throughout the stressful diagnosis and initial treatment phases. It can also involve giving practical support, from basics such as household chores and meals,

to assistance when transport to medical events is necessary.

Most importantly, it can mean sitting in on doctor appointments where another pair of ears can be invaluable along with a notepad for all that information. This is information that the patient often just doesn’t either comprehend or even properly ‘hear.’


My Advocacy Story


After diagnosis in 2014, I was a regular poster on BreastCancer.org, one of the few communities that welcomed men. With a marketing and IT background, I soon worked out that you could reach a lot of people with the right forums. At the start, I was learning from the experiences of others, in later years, after training and learned experiences, I put newly diagnosed men in touch with the support systems developing on the various social media platforms, most of all Twitter and Facebook.


While the traditional print and electronic media are still effective outlets, social media is the perfect platform for international patient advocates to engage with patients and medical professionals. It’s very easy on Twitter to reach out to the clinical and research communities around the world to spread your message. That said, at no time should a patient advocate give medical advice.


In the beginning, I could see that most people just wanted someone to talk to, and that was fine by me. Isolation, lack of knowledge, and just plain embarrassment were what very many men felt. Knowing someone was out there having lived their experiences was often a great comfort. Looking for more opportunities, I underwent training as a telephone counselor for people in various stages of treatment. Often these people lived in remote areas. When an opportunity came up for volunteers at the local hospital infusion room, I jumped at the chance to sit with people at this stressful and vulnerable time. My introduction line was, “I’m just here to support patients. If you like to talk, fine, if not I’ll move on.” This had a 50 percent success rate!


After attending conferences for patient advocates, I was fortunate to land a scholarship to the NBCC Project LEAD course in San Diego in 2018. In 2019, I received a scholarship to attend SABCS19, where I was impressed by the kindness of the many women who are mostly the patient advocates in this field, and who I only knew online.


One thing leads to another. Now I’m writing articles, making videos, giving talks, and editing the stories from men for the Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance. I occupy a niche in breast cancer advocacy, and I’m always amazed at the number of medical professionals following me on Twitter.


What it takes


Patient advocates need to look at and respond constructively to different positions and issues, bounce back from negative or unresponsive patients and, most importantly, be resilient enough to handle the trials and tribulations of our disease along with that of the people they are trying to help.


The best patient advocates:

  • always listen and learn;

  • are open to different ways to share messages;

  • value support from others; and

  • partner with like-minded individuals.


Basically, I believe patient advocates have much to gain psychologically from helping others. In fact, we are healthier and mentally stronger for it. That aside, if we’ve benefited from the help of others, why not pay it forward?



About Rod Ritchie

Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently he’s NED for both. He’s President, Board of Directors, Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness


His articles for Health Union can be found here: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

194 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Journey to the Stars

September  25 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

September 26, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

October 1, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page