页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

雌激素耗竭与打鼾


 

"昨晚睡得怎么样?"有没有辗转反侧?做了生动的梦吗?睡得安稳吗?睡得好坏有很多因素 良好的睡眠比如食物的选择、体重、饮酒量,甚至一个人的年龄。据 打鼾实验室30 岁以下的年轻人中有 10% 会打鼾,而 50 岁以上的人中则有 40%。 由于失眠或潮热等治疗副作用会影响睡眠质量,被诊断患有癌症的人可能在睡眠方面面临更大的挑战。

睡眠对整体健康起着重要作用。它影响着身体的各个方面,从增加能量和血清素水平到改善情绪、认知和免疫功能。

根据美国睡眠协会的数据,有 5000-7000 万美国成年人患有睡眠障碍;48% 的人报告打鼾,21% 的女性患有阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停。 许多女性随着年龄的增长会打鼾,尤其是在更年期开始时 由于 荷尔蒙水平. 雌激素对肌肉和细胞的健康至关重要。 当女性性激素耗尽时,肌肉容易变软,失去弹性和形态。此外,进入围绝经期、更年期或与癌症治疗相关的药物诱导绝经期的女性容易出现以下情况肌肉退化、 (想想中段、臀部和大腿周围的脂肪增加)。 不过,咽喉部的软组织并没有脱离危险!

雌激素和孕酮能保持喉咙中气道的肌肉张力,防止气道塌陷。然而,随着 荷尔蒙水平下降、 处于更年期的女性患睡眠呼吸暂停的风险会增加。梅奥诊所指出喉咙中的组织松弛,会部分堵塞气道并产生振动。气道越狭窄,气流就越强劲。这就会增加组织振动,从而导致鼾声变大。本周的 #专题周五中,我们将探讨打鼾、更年期和乳腺癌之间的关系。

睡得好吗?让我们知道 hello@survivingbreastcancer.org.

~SBC 编辑团队

 

文章:



在更年期过渡期间和之后,女性患阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停(OSA)的风险会大幅增加,而此时抑郁的风险也会升高,这就提出了一种可能性,即雌激素的减少会导致 OSA 的易患性,进而引发情绪紊乱。

这些初步结果表明,除了较高的体重指数(BMI)和年龄外,较低的雌二醇可能与围绝经期和绝经后抑郁女性阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停(OSA)风险的增加有关,这就提出了一种可能性,即与绝经有关的雌二醇减少会影响女性上气道的通畅性。


 

结果表明,通常每晚睡眠时间少于建议睡眠时间 7 小时的妇女,以及在确诊癌症前几年经常打鼾的妇女,其癌症预后较差。对于被诊断出患有乳腺癌的妇女来说,这一研究结果尤为有力。在确诊前,每晚睡眠时间为 6 小时或更少且每周打鼾 5 晚或更多的乳腺癌患者死于乳腺癌的几率(危险比 = 2.14)是每晚睡眠时间为 7 至 8 小时且很少打鼾的患者的 2 倍。


 

睡眠时,上气道的组织结构会发生变化。毕竟您放松了,胸部、颈部和脸部的肌肉也放松了。通过被软组织或 "松弛 "组织包围的气道吸气和呼气时,喉咙会产生可闻的振动。这些声音可能很轻,也可能很响,或者你可能会听到呻吟声或口哨声,而不是通常与打鼾有关的嘎嘎声。

睡眠是一个全身过程,与所有身体系统都有着独特的关系。可以说,睡眠一旦中断,身体系统也会随之紊乱。随着时间的推移,这些干扰会造成慢性疾病滋生的环境。

 

M更年期与睡眠


一般来说,绝经后妇女对睡眠的满意度较低,多达 61% 的妇女有失眠症状。有失眠症状。 打鼾也被发现在绝经后妇女中更为常见和严重。打鼾以及呼吸暂停或喘息是更严重的睡眠障碍--阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停--的征兆。 睡眠呼吸暂停(OSA)的征兆。

雌激素水平的变化和下降会导致许多更年期症状,包括潮热,这是一种突如其来的全身发热的感觉,并伴有出汗。潮热通常从脸部开始,然后蔓延到胸部,75%-85% 的更年期妇女都会出现这种症状。



 

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Estrogen Depletion and Snoring


 

"How did you sleep last night?" Did you toss and turn? Did you have vivid dreams? Did you sleep soundly? There are many factors that contribute to a good night's sleep such as food choices, body weight, alcohol consumption, and even one's age. As reported by Snore Lab, 10% of young adults under 30 snore compared to 40% who are over the age of 50. People diagnosed with cancer may have even more challenges sleeping due to the side effects of treatment such as insomnia or hot flashes which disrupt sleep quality.

Sleep plays a significant role in overall health. It affects all aspects of the body ranging from increased energy and serotonin levels to better mood, cognition, and immune function.

According to the American Sleep Association, 50-70 million US adults have a sleep disorder; 48% of people report snoring and 21% of women have obstructive sleep apnea. Many women snore as they age, especially at the beginning of menopause due to the change in hormone levels. Estrogen is essential for muscle and cell health. When the female sex hormone is depleted, muscles tend to soften and lose their elasticity and form. Moreover, women entering perimenopause, menopause, or medically induced menopause associated with cancer treatments, become prone to muscle deterioration, (think of increased fat around the midsection, hips and thighs). However, the soft tissue in the throat is not out of harms way!

Estrogen and progesterone maintain the airway’s muscle tone in the throat, and keep it from collapsing. However, as hormone levels drop, women who are in menopause are more at an increased risk of developing sleep apnea. According to the Mayo Clinic, the tissue in the throat relaxes and can partially block your airway and vibrate. The narrower the airway, the more forceful the airflow becomes. This increases tissue vibration, thereby causing snoring to grow louder. In this week's #FeatureFriday, we explore the correlation between snoring, menopause, and breast cancer.

How are you sleeping? Let us know at hello@survivingbreastcancer.org.

~SBC Editorial Team

 

Articles:



Women’s risk of obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) increases substantially during and after the menopause transition, when depression risk is also elevated, raising the possibility that estrogen withdrawal contributes to OSA vulnerability, in turn contributing to mood disturbances.

These preliminary results suggest that, in addition to higher BMI and age, lower estradiol may be associated with increased Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) risk in depressed women during the peri- and postmenopause, raising the possibility that estradiol withdrawal associated with menopause influences upper-airway patency in women.


 

Results show that women who typically slept less than the recommended 7 hours of sleep per night and were frequent snorers in the years before their cancer diagnosis experienced a poorer cancer prognosis. The findings were especially robust for women who were diagnosed with breast cancer. Breast cancer patients who reported sleeping 6 hours or less per night and snoring 5 or more nights per week before their diagnosis were 2 times more likely to die from breast cancer (hazard ratio = 2.14) than patients who reported sleeping 7 to 8 hours per night and rarely snored.


 

The tissues in your upper airway tend to lose structure as you sleep. You're relaxed, after all, and so are the muscles in the chest, neck, and face. Breathing in and out through an airway that's surrounded by soft or "flabby" tissue results in audible vibrations in the throat. These sounds may be soft or loud, or you might hear groans or whistles instead of the rattling most often associated with snoring.

Sleep is a whole-body process that has a unique relationship to all body systems. When sleep is disrupted, it is fair to say that system disruption also occurs. Over time, these disruptions render an environment where chronic disease can flourish.

 

Menopause and Sleep


Generally, post-menopausal women are less satisfied with their sleep and as many as 61% report insomnia symptoms. Snoring has also been found to be more common and severe in post-menopausal women. Snoring, along with pauses or gasps in breathing are signs of a more serious sleep disorder, obstructive sleep apnea (OSA).

Changing and decreasing levels of estrogen cause many menopausal symptoms including hot flashes, which are unexpected feelings of heat all over the body accompanied by sweating. They usually begin around the face and spread to the chest affecting 75-85% of women around menopause.



 

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page