页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我第一次参加铁人三项赛

作者:尼科尔-曼奇尼

最初发表于螃蟹、果冻和铁作者苏珊-迪普拉西多。


第一次参加铁人三项赛


妮可-曼奇尼一直热爱跑步。在她的记忆中,父亲曾带她到田径场,父亲一边跑,她一边骑车。后来,她也开始跑步,跑步总能让她头脑清醒。2015 年,她参加了自己的第一个 5K 比赛,在比赛中,她注意到了 "运动员服务运动员"(Athletes Serving Athletes),这是一个非营利组织,旨在帮助残疾人参加主流跑步比赛,当时还包括铁人三项比赛(后来,ASA 将其范围限制在跑步比赛中)。


就这样,她开始了她的运动和助人热潮。她报名参加了跑步僚机,并从 5 公里比赛开始。与此同时,她看着一些队友在铁人三项比赛中训练僚机位置。妮可甚至不会游泳。但是,一些愚蠢的事情并没有阻止她。她开始在Y游泳,并参加了ASA的铁人三项训练营,同时参加了2016年的短跑三项赛的跑步部分。


她看着该团体的创始人与一名运动员一起训练铁人三项博尔德赛,妮可认为这是一份很好的礼物。2017 年,她完成了自己的第一个奥运半程比赛,并准备报名参加自己的第一个 140.6 铁人三项比赛。


2017 年 12 月 21 日,妮可被正式诊断为浸润性早期乳腺癌。为了确诊,她已经经历了无数次扫描、检查和乳房X光检查。第二天,她开始接受激素治疗,并于2018年2月28日接受了手术。她接受了双乳切除术,激素治疗仍在进行中。2018 年 5 月,她参加了查塔努加 70.3 马拉松比赛。


2019 年,她还参加了 Eagleman 和大西洋城 70.3 的比赛,时间就在 IMMD 之前两周。虽然她有一个支持她的训练朋友小圈子,但长时间苛刻的训练时间让她的丈夫和 11 岁的儿子觉得她有点疯了,这样的日程安排有时让家人有点沮丧。


但她需要参加这场比赛。癌症让她的生活一团糟,她想要有条不紊、按部就班的训练。她的火花和激情已被消耗殆尽,她希望重新点燃这种激情!


她想找回自己。


训练对妮可的身体尤为不利。她还要与可能的莱姆病恐慌和增大的心脏作斗争。她经常生病,头发脱落,关节疼痛,盗汗,失眠,心悸,情绪剧烈波动,这进一步加剧了家中的紧张气氛。


但她坚持了下来,并一直走下去。她不得不休息几天,但她没有放弃。


水母让她很担心,因为她以前被水母蜇过,反应非常糟糕。事实上,她在比赛当天早上就哭了。但如果其他一切都不能阻止她,水母也不会。


她多次被蜇,一路上不得不多次重新涂抹可的松,双脚肿胀发紫。在整个跑步过程中,疼痛的水泡不断恶化。她向自己保证,再也不参加铁人三项比赛了。


360 团队是一个类似于美国田径协会的组织,他们在绕城公路的救助站值班。妮可认识那里的几个人,他们的拥抱和欢呼,以及他们运动员的照片,正是妮可所需要的激励。


放弃不是办法。她必须这样做,向其他人证明这是可能的。她想激励别人,让那些在化疗中挣扎的朋友们有所期待。向其他人证明,他们的能力远比想象的要大得多。


这是她摆脱癌症 1 年零 7 个月的纪念日。她挺过来了。她一直在寻找重新点燃自己的火花。那天,她的内心一定燃起了某种火花,因为她开始了那场比赛,并成功冲过了终点线。她不仅在终点找到了自己,还找到了一个铁人。还有很多人通过她找到了其他的东西: 灵感.

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

My First Ironman

By Nicole Mancini

Originally published in Crabbies, Jellies, and Iron by Susan DiPlacido.


First Ironman


Nicole Mancini has always loved running. She has found memories of her dad taking her to the track where she would ride her bike as he would run. Then, as she took it up, it always helped her clear her head. In 2015 she did her first 5K, and while there she noticed Athletes Serving Athletes, which is a non-profit that empowers those with disabilities to compete in mainstream running, and, at the time, triathlon events (ASA has since limited their scope to running events.) Nicole was impressed and intrigued.


Thus, began her athletic and helping hot streak. She signed up to become a running wingman and began with 5K events. Meanwhile, she watched as some of her teammates trained for wingman positions in triathlons. Nicole didn’t even know how to swim. But something that silly wouldn’t stop her. She started swimming at the Y and attended ASA’s triathlon camp while competing on the run portion in a sprint tri in 2016.


She watched as the founder of the group trained for Ironman Boulder with an athlete, and Nicole thought it was a great gift. She did her first Olympic and half distance in 2017 and was ready to sign up for her first 140.6.


On December 21, 2017, Nicole was officially diagnosed with invasive early stage breast cancer. She had already endured numerous scans, tests, and mammograms to get to the diagnosis. Hormone therapy began the next day and she underwent surgery on February 28, 2018. She had a double mastectomy and her hormone therapy is still ongoing. In May of 2018 she raced Chattanooga, 70.3.


In 2019, she also raced Eagleman and Atlantic City 70.3 just two weeks prior to IMMD. Though she has a small circle of supportive training friends, the long demanding training hours made her husband and 11-year-old son think she was a little nuts, and the schedule was a bit frustrating for the family at times.


But she needed to do this race. Cancer is chaotic, and she wanted the structure and routine of training, . She had been drained of her spark and passion, and she was looking to reignite that!


She wanted to find herself again.


Training was particularly hard on Nicole’s body. She also battled a possible Lyme disease scare and enlarged heart. She was often sick, her hair fell out, her joints ached, she suffered night sweats, and insomnia, heart palpitations, and drastic mood swings that further exasperated tensions in her home.


But she persevered and kept on going. She had to take some days off, but she didn’t quit.


The jellyfish were a concern for her, because she’s been stung before and reacted very badly. In fact, she cried on the morning of the race. But if everything else didn’t stop her, jellyfish weren’t going to either.


She suffered multiple stings, had to reapply cortisone several times along the way and her feet got swollen and purple. All through the run, painful blisters continued to worsen. She promised herself should would never do another Ironman again.


Team 360 which is an organization similar to ASA was manning the aid station at the bypass. Nicole knew several people there and their hugs and cheers, along with pictures of their athletes, were just the inspiration Nicole needed.


Quitting wasn’t an option. She had to do this to show others that it is possible. She wanted to inspire someone else, to give her friends who are struggling in chemo something to look forward to. To prove to others that they’re capable of so much more than they think.


It was her 1 year and 7-months cancer free anniversary. She made it through that. She had been looking to reignite her spark. Something must have sparked in her that day because she set that race on fir and successfully crossed the finish line. She didn’t just find herself at the end, she found an Ironman. And plenty of others have found something else through her: Inspiration.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page