页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

这种无性别疾病

罗德-里奇

这是每月专栏的第一篇,我希望它能为读者提供教育和信息。在接下来的几个月里,我将告诉大家我所认识的男性是如何处理诊断和治疗问题的,第 4 阶段的男性是如何在长期治疗中挣扎的,患上这种疾病的耻辱感是如何让男性退缩的,以及早期患者是如何处理他们对复发的恐惧的。虽然男性仅占新病例的百分之一(1%),但我们通常被诊断为晚期,预后一般较差。我从事所有这些宣传工作的根本目的是,让人们关注这种无性别的疾病,因为善意的慈善机构在筹款活动中对这种疾病进行了过多的粉红色渲染。我在社交媒体(主要是 Facebook 和 Twitter)上与乳腺癌社区保持着良好的联系,并从众多女性和男性患者以及为我们提供治疗的人们那里汲取力量。


我的故事

我花了几个月的时间才说服我的全科医生,让他给我做一个左乳房发炎的扫描,尽管我的家族有乳腺癌病史。我注意到,当监测员看着显示器上超声波设备的反应时,她的眼睛睁得大大的。果然,几天后的活组织检查证实她患上了 IIIB 期炎症性乳腺癌。新辅助治疗被我的医生戏称为 "厨房水槽"。化疗持续了 18 周,每三周化疗一天。共使用了三批 FEC(氟尿嘧啶、Ellence 和 Cytoxan)和三批 Docetaxol。随后的手术范围很广,因为有 2/23 个淋巴结检测呈阳性,所以我腋下的所有淋巴结和乳腺组织都被切除了。手术后的病理结果显示肿瘤仍在活动,因此没有达到 pCR。


当我问到是否可以重建乳房时,我的外科医生被逗乐了。她解释说,虽然有可能重建一个男性乳房的复制品,但由于缺乏额外的材料,重建工作会更加困难,而且实际上会妨碍医生集中精力切除受影响的组织,因为癌症通常会在男性乳房中传播得更远。手术后,我开始接受 33 次放射治疗,每周 5 次,持续 7 周。过去八年来,我一直在服用激素阻断剂他莫昔芬。三年前,我被诊断出患有前列腺癌,治疗方法比乳腺癌简单得多,包括机器人前列腺切除术。目前,我的这两种癌症都没有复发。


这一切发生在八年前,当时我 64 岁。如今,我关闭了自己的互联网出版公司,成为了一名全职的男性乳腺癌患者权益倡导者。2018年,我有幸受邀参加了在圣地亚哥举办的 "领导力项目"(Project LEAD)课程,我的患者宣传工作得到了认可。有机会与这么多患者权益倡导者见面让我非常振奋,而与医疗专业人士的交流也同样重要。2019 年,我获得了阿拉莫乳腺癌基金会(Alamo Breast Cancer Foundation)提供的患者权益倡导者奖学金,参加在圣安东尼奥举行的 SABCS,这是世界上最重要的乳腺癌会议。


在我接受治疗时,我的医生给了我一个很好的建议,让我受益匪浅。她说,永远不要对治疗的任何方面有任何先入为主的想法。只有在我经历了最糟糕的治疗之后,我才明白她的意思。担忧和恐惧存在于我们的内心深处,自然无处不在。而建立在逻辑和科学基础上的希望,则会让我们保持更好的状态。


---

关于罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie):罗德-里奇是悉尼出生的作家、互联网出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟(Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance)的主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org您可以在 Twitter @malefitness 上关注他。


他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在此处找到: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext

158 观点

最新文章

查看全部

美胸

科门塔里奥斯


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

This Genderless Disease

By Rod Ritchie

This is the first of a monthly column which I hope will educate and inform readers. Over the coming months I’ll tell you how men I know handle diagnosis and treatment, how Stage 4 men struggle with the perpetual treatment, how the stigma of having this disease holds men back, and how early-stagers handle their fears of recurrence. While men make up only one percent (1%) of new cases, we are usually diagnosed with a later stage, and generally have a poorer prognosis. My underlying aim in all this advocacy work is to shine a light on a genderless disease which is burdened with too much pink hoopla by well-meaning charities in fundraising efforts. I’m well connected to the breast cancer community on social media, mainly Facebook and Twitter, and draw strength from the many women and men living with the disease and from those treating us.


My Story

It took me a few months to convince my GP that I needed a scan for an inflamed left breast, And, this despite having a recorded family history of breast cancer. I noticed the monographer’s eyes widen as she watched the monitor reacting to her ultrasound device. Sure enough, a biopsy a couple of days later confirmed Stage IIIB Inflammatory Breast Cancer. Neo-adjuvant treatment was what my MO jokingly called, “the kitchen sink”. Chemo lasted 18 weeks, and was one day each three weeks. There were three lots of FEC (Fluorouracil, Ellence, and Cytoxan) and three of Docetaxol. The Surgery that followed was extensive, since 2/23 lymph nodes tested positive, all those under my arm were removed along with the breast tissue. Pathology following surgery showed the tumors to be still active, so pCR was not achieved.


My surgeon was amused when I asked if there was any reconstruction. While it is possible to rebuild a facsimile of a guy’s breast, she explained, the lack of extra material makes it harder and actually inhibits the surgeon who is concentrating on removing the affected tissue, since cancer often travels further in male breasts. Following surgery, I started 33 radiation treatments, five a week for seven weeks. I have been taking the hormone blocker Tamoxifen for the past eight years. Three years ago, I was diagnosed with prostate cancer and the treatment, much simpler than for breast cancer, consisted of a robotic prostatectomy. I’m currently NED for both.


All this happened eight years ago when I was 64. Today, having closed down my internet publishing company, I’m pretty well a full-time advocate for men who find themselves dealing with breast cancer. I’ve been fortunate to have my patient advocacy efforts recognized and in 2018 when I was invited to attend the Project LEAD course in San Diego. The chance to meet up with so many patient advocates was very uplifting, while connecting with medical professionals, was just as important. In 2019 I was awarded a patient advocate scholarship from the Alamo Breast Cancer Foundation to attend SABCS, in San Antonio, the world’s premier breast cancer conference.


When I was going through treatment, my MO gave one fine bit of advice that has stood me in great stead. She said, never have any preconceived notions about any aspect of treatment. Only after I had handled the worst of it, did I understand her point. Worry and fear lie within us, and are naturally ever-present. Hope, based on logic and science, on the other hand, will keep us all in a better space.


---

About Rod Ritchie: Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently he’s NED for both. He’s president of the Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness


His articles for Health Union can be found here: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext

158 views

Comentários


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page