页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

男性乳腺癌:治疗与粉红袍

已更新:10 月8 、2022

罗德-里奇



对于男生来说,进入乳腺癌治疗领域是一项独特的挑战。要准备好穿着粉红色的长袍在扫描部门穿梭!所有乳腺癌慈善机构的宣传材料都大量使用粉红色,这意味着男性在发现乳头后有肿块时,可能会被乳腺癌的诊断结果吓一跳。


谷歌医生是我认识的大多数男性在确诊乳腺癌后的第一选择。当然,人人都说不要谷歌,但当信息匮乏时,你还能做什么呢?八年前我被诊断出乳腺癌时,情况尤其如此。近年来,粉红慈善机构提高了人们对男性乳腺癌的认识,但研究表明,社会上对乳腺癌的认知率仍低于 50%。理想的情况是,乳腺癌慈善机构在提高人们的认识方面做更多的教育工作,强调这是一种不分性别的疾病这一简单事实。有时,我们是一个不方便的事实,许多营销活动的目标人群都被要求为女性疾病深挖和捐赠。我明白这个角度,但我经常看到年轻的女性乳腺癌患者成为主角,而这个群体在新确诊的患者中只是少数。女性一般在 50 岁左右确诊,男性则在 60 岁左右。


由于男性通常不会自己检查乳房肿块,而且他们的全科医生也不善于关注男性疾病,因此我们很容易被忽视。


男性的治疗方法与女性基本相同。而且,在对男性患者进行更多的研究以表明需要采取不同的治疗方法之前,这种情况很可能会一直持续下去。因此,常见的治疗方案是化疗、手术、放疗,然后服用激素阻断剂(最常见的是他莫昔芬),疗程为五年或十年。


预后

对于许多新确诊的晚期乳腺癌患者来说,当他们从确诊的震惊中走出来后,首先想知道的是,我的预后如何?许多人使用在线预后工具,将诊断信息与大型研究的数据进行比较,以估计预后。请注意,这些研究并不总是包括男性。五年和十年生存率通常以图表的形式呈现,可以提供预期寿命的估计。


显然,罹患 IV 期乳腺癌的患者尤其关注自己的预后。为一个人的生命设定终点确实是一种猜测游戏。要知道,这在很大程度上取决于病人对各种治疗方法的反应,更重要的是,取决于正在研发中的延长生命的新疗法。


如果您认识一个担心诊断或治疗的人,您可以引导他们使用这些资源:

从在医疗接待员柜台前的茫然神情--"病人在哪里",到在社交媒体上寻找支持团体,在那里有志同道合的男性,他们曾经历过这种疾病的方方面面。但实际上,我遇到了很多支持我的女性,她们不仅乐于帮助我解释科学数据,还在我遇到困难时提供情感支持。


---


罗德-里奇罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie)是一位出生于悉尼的作家、互联网出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟(Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance)董事会主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org您还可以在 Twitter @malefitness 上关注他。

他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在此处找到: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



25 观点

最新文章

查看全部

美胸

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Male Breast Cancer: Treatment and The Pink Gown

Updated: Oct 8, 2022

By Rod Ritchie



Entering the world of breast cancer treatment can be a unique challenge for a guy. Be prepared to get around the scanning department in a pink gown! The emphasis on the color pink, used extensively in all breast cancer charity promotional materials, means that men are blindsided from coming up with a probable breast cancer diagnosis of a lump behind their nipple.


Dr Google is the first port of call for most men I know after a breast cancer diagnosis. Of course, everyone says, don’t Google, but when there’s a dearth of information, what else can you do? This was particularly so eight years ago when I was diagnosed. In recent years, pink charities have improved awareness of breast cancer in men, but studies have shown the awareness rate in the community is still below 50%. Ideally, breast cancer charities would do more to educate people in raising awareness by stressing the simple fact that this is a genderless disease. Sometimes we are an inconvenient truth, and much of the marketing targets a population being asked to dig deep and donate for a women’s disease. I get this angle but so often I see young female breast cancer patients as the lead image when this cohort is a minority of those newly diagnosed. Women are generally diagnosed in their mid-50s, while men in their mid-60s.


Because men don’t generally check themselves for breast lump, and because their general practitioners are not attuned to looking out for the disease in men, we can easily slip below the radar.


Treatment for men is pretty much the same as that for women. And, until more research is carried out on male patients that might indicate a different path is required, this will likely remain the case. So, chemotherapy, surgery, radiation and then a five- or ten-year course of a hormone blocker, most commonly tamoxifen, is common treatment protocol.


Prognosis

For many newly diagnosed advanced breast cancer patients, the first thing they want to know once they are over the shock of the diagnosis is, what is my prognosis? Many use an online prognosis tool, using information about the diagnosis compared to data from large research studies to estimate prognosis. Mind you, this research does not always include men. Five and ten-year survival rates, often presented in the form of graphs, can give life expectancy estimates.


Those who develop Stage IV breast cancer are particularly concerned about their prognosis, obviously. Setting end-points in someone’s life really is a guessing game. Bear in mind that so much depends on how a patient responds to the various treatments and, importantly, the new life-extending treatments that are in the pipeline.


If you know a guy worried about a diagnosis or treatment, you might direct them to these resources:

  • Signs of breast cancer in men.

  • Statistics for men with breast cancer.

  • Surgery is on the cards for all men with this disease.

  • Sex and intimacy following treatment is an important consideration.

  • Metastasis is the spread of cancer from where it began, to other places in the body.

From the blank looks at medical receptionist counters, as in, where’s the patient, to looking for support groups on social media where like-minded men who have been there, done that with all aspects of the disease. But, really, I have met so many supportive women who are only too happy to not only help explain scientific data, and also offer emotional support when the going gets tough.


---


Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently he’s NED for both. He’s president of the Board of Directors of the Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness

His articles for Health Union can be found here: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



24 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico