页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

养育子女与乳腺癌

作者:丹尼斯-罗德曼


乳腺癌一直是我生命中的一部分。我的母亲在我 36 岁时因乳腺癌去世。她在我两岁生日前离开了我们。在我这么小的时候就失去了母亲,这激励着我长大成人,成为最好的母亲。我期待着生儿育女,和自己的母亲一起做所有我渴望做的事情。巧合的是,在母亲怀我的那个年龄,我第一次怀孕了。尽管我对她没有任何记忆,但我从未感到与她如此亲近。一切似乎都在按计划进行:结婚、生子、成家,甚至在工作中升职。


快到我 40 岁生日的时候,我总是感到有些欣慰,因为每过一个生日,就离母亲的永恒年龄又远了一岁。一天晚上,我和丈夫坐在沙发上看电视。我的手臂蹭到了右侧乳房,感觉有些奇怪。我立即用手摸了摸......就在那里......一个肿块。我立即让丈夫摸摸。当他把手抽出来时,他立刻说:"这需要检查一下!"接下来的几天简直是天旋地转。首先,我去看了产科医生,他当天下午就直接让我去做乳房 X 光检查和超声波检查。接下来是核心针活检和转诊至乳腺外科医生。发现肿块十天后,我得到了罹患乳腺癌的消息。一周后,我发现是 TNBC。


我立刻想到了我的儿子。他会失去我吗......就像我失去自己的母亲一样? 我该怎么办?他刚满 5 岁。我感觉自己就像坐上了一列失控的货运列车。有太多的决定和情绪需要处理。我的姐姐曾和我说过,当我母亲临终时,她问我母亲是否还能活下去。所有的大人都告诉她一切都会好起来的。我母亲去世后,一切都不好了,我姐姐从此就变了,很少相信别人。我的儿子相当敏锐和敏感,他知道有些事情不一样了。电话响得多了,我就会离开房间私下谈谈。我需要告诉他发生了什么,以及将要发生的变化。我将首先接受双侧乳房切除术和腋窝结节切除术,然后接受化疗、放疗和重建手术。



我和儿子喜欢一起读书。我几乎每天晚上都给他读书,现在他也开始给我读书了。这是我们每晚睡前常规的一部分。我小时候从未有人读过书,但我在电影和电视上看到过。我曾梦想过和我的儿子或女儿一起躺在床上,偎依在毯子里,一起阅读。我在网上搜索了乳腺癌儿童读物,决定就这样告诉他我得了癌症。我把粉红色的书放在沙发上,他很快就问我们是否可以一起阅读。我们紧紧拥抱在一起,开始阅读。泪水开始顺着我的脸颊流下。我们读完了这本书,现在他知道了。我告诉他,如果他有任何问题或担忧,可以来找我倾诉,我们会一起解决。


我知道,向孩子们讲述癌症是一个非常私人的选择。有些人可能会觉得这会让他们不知所措,充满恐惧。有些人可能会选择隐瞒或限制告诉孩子的内容。对我来说,我想对我的儿子非常诚实。在我 25 岁生日之前,我就失去了双亲。我明白了死亡是生命的一部分。我想让儿子知道,我愿意尽我所能战胜癌症,和他一起在这个美丽的星球上尽情享受上帝赐予我的时光。每走一步,我都会找一本书来读,内容包括乳房切除手术、化疗和放疗。我们一起阅读,一起学习,互相帮助,共同度过难关。


剃光头的时候,我还让他帮忙。当我的头发掉到地上时,他咯咯地笑着,这让气氛变得轻松起来。剃完后,他会用小手搓搓胡茬,说感觉很柔软。化疗后,当我的头发重新长出来时,他也会这样做。这种告诉儿子我患癌的方法可能不是标准的,甚至不是建议的。我告诉其他癌症患者的是,你需要做你认为正确的事情。相信自己的直觉。你比任何人都更了解自己的孩子。如果他们哭了,安慰他们。如果他们生气,告诉他们你也很生气。最重要的是爱他们,爱自己。我的小家庭由我、我的儿子和我的丈夫组成,他们一起对抗癌症。


我给你们留下了我在癌症诊断和育儿方面的一些经验:

  1. 确保为自己留出时间。就像在飞机上一样,在帮助别人之前,你需要先戴上氧气面罩。

  2. 对自己温柔点。没有对错之分。

  3. 从小事中寻找快乐。在我们这个快节奏的世界里,我们很容易错过它们。

  4. 看看你的祝福,并教育你的孩子也这样做。

  5. 爱,爱你的孩子,爱你自己,爱他人。


最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

科门塔里奥斯


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

• mollymcloone

Parenting and Breast Cancer

Updated: Apr 19

By Denise Rodman


Breast Cancer has always been a part of my life. My mother passed away of breast cancer at the age of 36. She left us just before my 2nd birthday. Losing her at such a young age encouraged me to want to grow up and be the best mom I could be. I looked forward to having children and doing all the things I had longed to do with my own mother. Coincidentally, I became pregnant for the first time at the same age my mother was pregnant with me. I had never felt so close to her even though I have no memory of her. Everything seemed to be going as planned: marriage, a child, a home and even a promotion at work.


Fast forward to my 40th birthday–I had always felt some relief that every birthday celebrated was another year further from the eternal age of my mother. One night, I was sitting next to my husband on the couch watching TV. My arm had rubbed against my right breast and something felt odd. I immediately started to feel the area with my hand…there it was…a lump. I immediately asked my husband to feel it. As he pulled his hand away, he immediately said “that needs to get checked out!” The following few days were a whirlwind. First a visit to my OBGYN, who directly sent me for a mammogram and sonogram that same afternoon. Next was a core needle biopsy and a referral to a breast surgeon. Ten days after finding my lump, I was given the news that I had breast cancer. A week later, I found out it was TNBC.


I immediately thought of my son. Will he lose me… as I had lost my own mother? What was I going to do? He had just turned 5 years old. I felt like I was on a freight train barreling down the track out of control. So many decisions to make and emotions to process. My older sister had shared with me that when my mother was dying, she asked if my mother would live. All the adults told her everything would be okay. After my mother died everything was not okay and my sister would never be the same, rarely trusting others. My son is quite sharp and sensitive, and he knew something was different. The phone rang more, and I would leave the room to talk privately. I would need to tell him what was going on and the changes that would be happening. I would first have a bilateral mastectomy with an axillary node dissection, followed by chemotherapy, radiation and reconstruction surgery.



My son and I love to read together. I have read to him almost every night of his life and now he has begun to read to me. It is part of our nightly bedtime routine. I was never read to as a child, but I saw it happen in movies and on TV. I had dreamt of lying in bed with my son or daughter cuddled under the blanket and reading together. I researched breast cancer children’s books online and decided that is how I would tell him I had cancer. I put the pink book on the couch, and he quickly asked if we could read it together. We cuddled close and began to read. Tears began to run down my cheek. We finished the book and now he knew. I told him if he has any questions or worries to come talk to me and we would figure it out together.


I know that telling children about cancer is a very personal choice. Some might feel that it could overwhelm them and fill them with fear. There might be the option to hide it or limit what children are told. For me, I wanted to be very honest with my son. I had lost both of my parents before my 25th birthday. I had learned that death was a part of life. I wanted my son to know that I was willing to do anything I could possibly do to overcome cancer and enjoy as much time as God gave me on this beautiful planet with him. For every step, I would find a book to read about topics such as mastectomy surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. We would read about it together, learn together and help each other through this.


When it came time to shave my head, I even had him help. He was giggling as my hair dropped to the floor and it lightened the mood. Once shaved, he would rub his small hand over the stubble and comment on how soft it felt. He would do the same when my hair began to grow back in after chemo. This method of telling my son about my cancer might not be the standard or even the suggested. What I tell others going through cancer is you need to do what you feel is right. Trust your gut. You know your child or children better than anyone else. If they cry console them. If they get angry, tell them you are angry too. And most importantly love them and love yourself. My little family unit consisting of myself, my son and my husband fought cancer together.


I leave you with a few takeaways from my cancer diagnosis and parenting:

  1. Make sure you are taking time for yourself. Like on an airplane you need to put your oxygen mask on first, before helping someone else.

  2. Be gentle with yourself. There is no right or wrong way to navigate this.

  3. Find joy in the small things. In our fast-paced world it is so easy to miss them.

  4. Look at your blessings and teach your children to do the same.

  5. Love, love your children, love yourself, love others.


Subscribe to our mailing list and receive weekly inspiration directly to your inbox! 
Copy of Copy of Copy of Untitled Design