页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

提高亚裔美国妇女对乳腺癌种族差异的认识


作者:Hanah Kurosawa


这是我在社会宣传活动中的第一篇博客,重点关注亚裔美国妇女乳腺癌发病率的种族差异。首先,我想做一个简单的介绍。

我叫 Hanah Kurosawa,是密歇根大学的大四学生,主修生物化学,辅修健康与医学社会学。课余时间,我是教育项目(The Education Project)的志愿辅导员,也是密歇根大学牙科学院的本科生研究助理。我对医学充满热情,并立志成为一名未来的医疗工作者。我还对美国和全球健康与福祉的社会学方面非常感兴趣。



当今美国的医疗领域存在着一些差异。这些差异可能源于种族、社会经济地位、性别和许多其他因素。社会因素在决定一个人获得医疗服务的机会、医疗服务的质量以及最终的福祉方面起着至关重要的作用。在本博客中,我将重点讨论亚裔美国妇女的乳腺癌发病率,这就是这种差异的一个突出例子。

格蕾丝-黄-林奇(Grace Hwang Lynch)在她的 NBC 新闻报道在过去二十年中,亚裔美国妇女患乳腺癌的比例持续上升,这与其他种族群体稳定的比例形成了鲜明对比。文章还提到了加利福尼亚州癌症预防研究所(CPIC)对旧金山湾区七个不同亚裔美国人群体的妇女在 1998 年至 2013 年期间乳腺癌发病趋势的研究结果,其中乳腺癌发病率上升幅度最大的群体包括南亚人(印度人和巴基斯坦人)、越南人和东南亚人(柬埔寨人、老挝人、苗族人和泰国人)。此外,CPIC 还报告说,菲律宾裔、韩裔和南亚裔妇女被诊断出乳腺癌时往往已是晚期。最后,这篇新闻报道还强调了 CPIC 的研究结果,即与其他种族群体相比,亚裔美国妇女可能容易罹患一种更具侵袭性的乳腺癌亚型,即 HER2-Neu 蛋白。


可能对这些趋势产生影响的因素有:与移民有关的生活方式的改变、医疗从业人员普遍认为亚裔女性患乳腺癌的几率较低这一毫无根据的观点,以及亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民女性比一般人更多地承受着日常生理需求的负担。此外,NBC 新闻的文章和 癌症支持社区博客Jenny Park 撰写的博客中都提到,在亚裔美国人社区,围绕乳腺癌讨论的污名化现象仍然非常普遍;妇女在谈论乳腺癌时感到困难重重,因此得不到她们需要的支持。Park 的博客还提到了 "亚裔美国人健康倡议"(Asian-American Health Initiative)的研究结果,该研究发现癌症仅是亚裔美国人的主要死因,而这与亚裔美国人的乳腺癌筛查率和晚期诊断率最低有关。


作为一名亚裔美国妇女,我亲眼目睹并亲身经历了人们在看待和讨论健康问题时存在的文化差异。如果不消除因文化差异而产生的误解和障碍,美籍亚裔妇女患乳腺癌的比例差距只会越来越大。教育那些没有认识到文化误解或没有认识到她们可以获得的资源的妇女,是朝着消除健康差距的正确方向迈出的一步。

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论员


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

top of page

Spreading Awareness of the Racial Disparity of Breast Cancer Among Asian-American Women


By Hanah Kurosawa


This is my first blog in my social outreach campaign focusing on racial disparities in breast cancer rates among Asian American women. I would like to start with a quick introduction.

My name is Hanah Kurosawa and I am a senior at the University of Michigan studying biochemistry with a minor in the sociology of health and medicine. Outside of school, I am a volunteer tutor for The Education Project and an undergraduate research assistant at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry. I am passionate about medicine and am aspiring to become a future health practitioner. I am also very interested in the sociological aspect of health and well-being in the United States and globally.



There are several disparities in the medical field in the United States today. Those disparities can be rooted in race, socioeconomic status, sexuality, and many other factors. Sociological factors play an instrumental role in determining a person’s access to healthcare, the quality of care they receive, and ultimately their well-being. One striking example of such disparity that I am focusing on in this blog is breast cancer rates among Asian-American women.

As reported by Grace Hwang Lynch in her NBC News article, the steady increase over the past two decades in breast cancer rates among Asian-American women greatly contrast the stabilized rates in other racial groups. The article also mentions findings from research done at the Cancer Prevention Institute of California (CPIC) on breast cancer trends among women in the San Francisco Bay Area from seven different Asian-American groups from 1998 to 2013, that the groups that showed the most dramatic increases in breast cancer rates included South Asian (Indian and Pakistani), Vietnamese, and Southeast Asian (Cambodian, Laotians, Hmong, and Thai). Additionally, CPIC also reported that women of Filipino, Korean, and South Asian descent tend to be diagnosed with breast cancer at more advanced stages. Finally, the news article also highlights CPIC’s findings that Asian-American women may be prone to a more aggressive subtype of breast cancer, the HER2-Neu protein, than other racial groups.


Factors that could be influential in these trends are lifestyle changes associated with immigration, the baseless belief prevalent among health practitioners that Asian women are less likely to get breast cancer, and the burden of daily physical needs that are experienced more among Asian-American and Pacific Islander women than the general population. In addition, both the NBC News article and Cancer Support Community blog written by Jenny Park mention that the stigma around the discussion about breast cancer remains very prevalent in the Asian-American community; women find difficulty in talking about it and consequently do not receive the support that they need. Park’s blog also mentions results from research done by the Asian-American Health Initiative that found cancer to be the leading cause of death only among the Asian-American population, which correlates with also having the lowest rate of breast cancer screenings and late diagnoses.


As an Asian-American woman myself, I have seen and experienced the cultural differences in how health is perceived and discussed. Without addressing the misconceptions and barriers that arise from the differences in culture, the disparity in breast cancer rates among Asian-American women will only become exacerbated. Educating women who do not realize the cultural misconceptions or the resources accessible to them is a step in the right direction towards dismantling the health disparity.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page