页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

护理人员的福祉

作者:亚历克西斯-普瑟瑟里


什么是护理员?美国癌症协会 美国癌症协会将护理者定义为 "最经常帮助病人但没有报酬的人"。与病人一样,护理人员也承受着压力和焦虑,尽管他们可能并不总是表现出来。因此,关注护理人员的心理健康和福祉非常重要,因为他们是真正的无名英雄。


我们必须认识到,癌症的诊断会给患者和他们周围的人带来巨大的伤害。父母、兄弟姐妹、朋友和其他亲人很快就会成为照顾者,并被卷入癌症诊断的巨大压力中。由于对病人的爱,照顾者比任何人都更需要承担一些责任。作为照顾者,照顾好自己应该始终是一个优先事项,尤其是当您决定为别人付出这么多的时候。


同样重要的是要强调,重视护理人员的经历并不会贬低或减少病人的经历。这个问题可能会阻碍许多护理人员在需要帮助时寻求帮助。当一个人决定成为一名照护者(或有时默认为照护者)时,他们会自愿接受随之而来的精神和身体压力。


研究表明 研究表明,照顾者的焦虑和抑郁程度明显更高。这可能导致以下症状

  • 睡眠困难

  • 更易怒

  • 容易疲劳

  • 可能影响照顾者日常生活以及他们为癌症患者提供的照顾质量的其他问题


此外、 研究 研究发现,在亲人被诊断出患有癌症后,照顾者可能会患上创伤后应激障碍。因此,作为照顾者,格外关注自己对保持身心健康非常重要。建议照顾者也建立一个强大的支持系统,但不一定要采取支持小组或治疗等传统形式。


作为照顾者保持心理健康和幸福的 5 个想法

  1. 每天为自己留出时间,哪怕只有 15 分钟,也要为自己留出时间。

  2. 虽然护理工作会带来新的角色和责任,但不要因此而放弃自己喜欢的活动。如果您参加了体育联盟、教会团体或当地社团,请继续参加,因为您会发现,在控制癌症似乎不可能的时候,这给您带来了某种程度的正常生活。

  3. 锻炼身体!运动是缓解压力的好方法。试着每天抽出 30 分钟与朋友一起散步、拿起网球拍或举重。保持体力活动能帮你消除疲劳,让你睡得更好!

  4. 制定一个 "暗号"。癌症会给人带来压力,这是很自然的事情,即使您和被诊断者都是出于好意,但情绪高涨也是正常的。如果您发现沟通开始中断,请使用您的 "暗语 "作为您需要暂停和休息的信号。这个策略会立即化解这种情况,给您和您的亲人一个重新开始的机会。

  5. 你们会很忙,这一点毋庸置疑。但有备无患是关键。找个好朋友或同事,请他们每周给你打一两次电话,问候你的情况。让对方在手机上设置一个提醒,这样他们就不会忘记了!当他们打电话来的时候,你要谈论的是你自己,而不是你所爱的人的近况或下次看医生的时间。这是您将注意力从癌症转移到聊天上的好机会!



在回顾自己作为照护者的时光时,许多人希望自己 向朋友和家人寻求帮助帮助 "可以有多种形式,并因人而异。例如

  • 询问邻居是否介意过来帮忙做日常家务,如洗碗、打扫房间或洗衣服。

  • 请朋友帮忙接送孩子上学和参加课后活动。

  • 现在似乎每个人都会带食物过来或在网上订购食物。如果有人愿意帮忙做饭,请务必提前告知他们您的食物偏好和过敏情况!


作为照顾者,照顾好自己不仅在得知亲人被确诊的最初创伤期间非常重要,在未来的数月和数年中也同样重要。在看医生、扫描和就诊之前,压力和焦虑很容易涌上心头。 正如照顾者希望陪伴在癌症患者身边一样,那些与照顾者关系密切的人也希望为他们做同样的事情。为了面对癌症,一个强大的社区是必要的,这也延伸到照顾者社区。


如果您正在照顾罹患癌症的亲人,哪类资源对您最有帮助?请告诉我们,以便我们能在以下网站填补这一重要领域的计划和服务空白 SurvivingBreastCancer.org.电子邮件 info@survivingbreastcancer.org提出您的想法!

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Well-Being for Caregivers

By Alexis Puthussery


What is a caregiver? The American Cancer Society defines caregiver as “the person who most often helps the patient and is not paid to do so.” Like the patient, caregivers undergo stress and anxiety, although they may not always show it. It is thus important to pay attention to the mental health and well-being of caregivers as they truly are the unsung heroes.


One must recognize that a cancer diagnosis takes a toll on the person diagnosed and all of those around them. Parents, siblings, friends, and other loved ones quickly fall into the caregiver role and are thrown into the intensity of a cancer diagnosis. Caregivers, more than anyone, assume some of this burden because of the love they have for the patient. Taking care of oneself as a caregiver should always be a priority, especially when you have decided to give so much of yourself to someone else.


It is also important to emphasize that valuing a caregiver’s experience does not devalue or decenter the patient’s experience. This is an issue that may prevent many caregivers from seeking help when they need it. When one decides to become a caregiver (or sometimes by default become the caregiver) they willingly accept the mental and physical stress that comes with it.


Studies have shown that caregivers experience significantly higher levels of anxiety and depression. This can lead to symptoms such as:

  • Difficulty sleeping

  • Higher irritability

  • Becoming easily fatigued

  • Other issues that may affect the caregiver’s daily life, and also the quality of care they can give to their loved one with cancer


Additionally, studies have found that caregivers may suffer PTSD after a loved one has been diagnosed with cancer. Thus paying extra attention to oneself, as a caregiver, is important to maintaining mental and physical wellness. a strong support system is recommended for the caregiver as well, though it does not necessarily need to take on the traditional forms such as support groups or therapy.


5 Ideas to Maintain Mental Health & Well-Being as a Caregiver

  1. Carve out time for yourself each day, even if it is just 15 minutes, find time for YOU.

  2. While caregiving brings on new roles and responsibilities, do not cut yourself off from the activities you enjoy doing. If you are part of a sports league, church group, or a local society, keep participating as you will find that this brings a level of normality in a time when taking control of cancer seems impossible.

  3. Get exercise! Exercise is a great stress reliever. Try and find 30 minutes a day for a walk with a friend, pick up a tennis racket, or throw some weights around. Keeping physically active will help you fight off fatigue and help you sleep better!

  4. Develop a “code word.” It is natural that cancer is stress-reducing and even though you and the person diagnosed have the best intentions, it’s normal for emotions to run high. If you notice that communication is starting to break down, use your “code word” as a single that you need to take a time-out and break. This strategy will immediately defuse the situation and give you and your loved one an opportunity to reset.

  5. You are going to be busy, there is no doubt about that. But preparedness is key. Find a good friend or colleague and ask them to call you once or twice a week to check in on you. Have that person set a reminder in their phone so they don’t forget! When they call, this is a time to talk about YOU, not updates on how your loved one is doing or when the next doctor’s appointment is. This is your opportunity to take your mind off of cancer and just chat!



When reflecting on their time as caregivers, many wished they had asked for help from their friends and families sooner rather than later “Help” can take on many forms and is unique to the individual. For example:

  • Ask a neighbor if they wouldn’t mind coming over to help with daily chores like doing the dishes, cleaning the house, or doing the laundry.

  • Ask friends to help with picking up or dropping off the kids from school and after-school activities.

  • It seems like everyone these days brings food over or orders food online. If people are offering to help with meals, be sure you inform them of your food preferences and any allergies in advance!


Taking care of oneself as the caregiver is not only important during the initial trauma of learning a loved one has been diagnosed, but also for the months and years to come. It is common for stress and anxiety to bubble up during times leading up to doctor visits, scans and medical appointments. Just as caregivers want to be there for the person with cancer, those close to the caregivers want to do the same for them. In order to face cancer, a strong community is necessary, and this extends to the community of caregivers as well.


If you are caring for a loved one with cancer, what type of resources would be most helpful for you? Let us know so we can fill the gap in this important area of programming and services at SurvivingBreastCancer.org. Email info@survivingbreastcancer.org with your ideas!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page