页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌与糖

过去和现在都有许多研究试图将糖的摄入与乳腺癌和其他癌症联系起来。 这些研究调查了摄入糖是否会导致乳腺癌或进一步刺激乳腺癌的生长。 因此,关于糖是否会导致乳腺癌或是否会滋养乳腺癌细胞的问题目前仍悬而未决。

从生理学角度讲,我们的细胞需要能量来发育和存活。 同样,癌细胞也是如此,它们通常生长迅速,因此需要更多的能量。 但是,这些能量从何而来呢?

我们身体的能量有多种来源,其中包括葡萄糖,它存在于我们饮食中的含糖食物中,尤其是从含有碳水化合物的食物中转化成葡萄糖。 葡萄糖是一种单糖或单糖,是许多碳水化合物中的一种成分,也是人体最喜欢的能量来源。 注:从科学角度讲,糖分为单糖和双糖。 双糖由两个相连的单糖(单糖)组成,在消化过程中又被分解成后者。

葡萄糖对人体有益还是有害? 那么果糖、蔗糖、葡萄糖等又是什么呢? 果糖被称为水果糖,和葡萄糖一样,是一种单糖。 果糖天然存在于水果和大多数根茎类蔬菜中。 然而,果糖通常以高果糖玉米糖浆的形式添加到加工食品中,而高果糖玉米糖浆是从甘蔗、甜菜和玉米中提取的。

蔗糖(俗称食糖)是一种由葡萄糖和果糖组成的双糖。它是一种天然碳水化合物,存在于许多水果、蔬菜和谷物中,但也被添加到许多加工食品中,如糖果、冰淇淋、早餐谷物、罐头食品、苏打水等。 加工食品中的蔗糖通常来自甘蔗或甜菜。

葡萄糖、果糖和蔗糖天然存在于许多食物中,但也会添加到加工食品中。 不过,它们的消化和吸收方式不同(即我们的身体对单糖和双糖的消化和吸收方式不同)。如前所述,单糖已经是最简单的形式,因此在我们的身体使用它们之前不需要进行分解。它们主要通过小肠被直接吸收到我们的血液中。 另一方面,像蔗糖这样的双糖必须先分解成单糖才能被吸收。

德克萨斯大学 MD 安德森癌症中心最近的一项研究显示 Rolaynne Kimmons认为,"在典型的西方饮食中,大量的膳食糖可能会增加罹患乳腺癌和转移到肺部的风险"。

另一项 研究 研究了 "肥胖、心血管疾病和乳腺癌的交叉点",而 梅奥诊所的 则认为 "糖似乎是癌症患者焦虑和恐惧的主要来源。坊间流传着一种说法,认为糖会滋养癌症,避免吃糖会防止癌症生长。为了澄清事实......糖本身不会致癌。给癌细胞加糖不会让它们长得更快,而不让癌细胞吃糖也不会让它们长得更慢。然而,糖可能间接参与了癌症的发展"。

这些研究和其他研究让人觉得,如果你的饮食中没有糖,就有可能帮助阻止癌症的发生或生长。但是,我们的所有其他细胞也需要葡萄糖才能存活,不可能只让健康细胞获得所需的葡萄糖,而让癌细胞挨饿。

对癌症患者来说,最重要的处方也许就是限制饮食中的糖分含量、阅读标签、享用简单的未加工食品,并听从我们营养师/肿瘤学团队的建议,专注于获取治疗期间和治疗后保持强壮所需的营养。简而言之,多吃水果和蔬菜中的健康糖分,远离饼干、蛋糕和加工谷物。

虽然人们经常讨论糖与癌症之间可能存在的联系,但迄今为止的研究还没有证据表明两者之间存在直接联系,但研究仍在继续。


最新文章

查看全部

Comentarios(科门塔里奥斯)


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and Sugar

There have been, and continues to be, numerous studies that attempt to link the consumption of sugar to breast and other cancer(s). These myriad studies have investigated whether sugar ingestion contributes to breast cancer or further stimulates its growth. So, the question of whether or not sugar contributes to or feeds breast cancer cells remains unresolved at this time.

Physiologically speaking our cells need energy to develop and survive. Similarly, so do cancer cells, which typically grow fast and therefore require even more energy to do so. But, where does all this energy come from?

Our bodies’ energy comes from several sources including glucose, which is found in sugary foods in our diet, but especially from foods containing carbohydrates that gets converted into glucose. Glucose is a simple sugar, or monosaccharide, is a component found in many carbohydrates, and remains our body’s favorite energy source. Note: Scientifically speaking, sugars are categorized as monosaccharides or disaccharides. Disaccharides are made up of two linked monosaccharides (simple sugars) which are then broken back down into the latter during digestion.

Is glucose good or bad for you? What about fructose, sucrose, dextrose, etc.? Fructose is known as the fruit sugar, and like glucose, is a simple sugar. Fructose is naturally found in fruit and most root vegetables. However, fructose is commonly added to processed foods in the form of high-fructose corn syrup, which is derived from sugar cane, sugar beets and corn.

Sucrose (more commonly known as table sugar) is a disaccharide consisting of glucose and fructose. It’s a naturally occurring carbohydrate found in many fruits, vegetables and grains, but it’s also added to many processed foods, such as candy, ice cream, breakfast cereals, canned foods, soda, etc. Sucrose found in processed foods is commonly derived from sugar cane or sugar beets.

Glucose, fructose, and sucrose are found naturally in many foods but are also added to processed foods. However, they are digested and absorbed differently (i.e., our bodies digest and absorb monosaccharides and disaccharides differently). As mentioned, monosaccharides are already in their simplest form, therefore they don’t need to be broken down before our bodies can use them. They’re absorbed directly into our bloodstream, primarily through the small intestine. On the other hand, disaccharides like sucrose must be broken down into simple sugars before they can be absorbed.

According to a recent study by The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Rolaynne Kimmons posits, “high amounts of dietary sugar in the typical Western diet may increase the risk of breast cancer and metastasis to the lungs.”

Another study looked at the “intersection of obesity, cardiovascular disease and breast cancer” while Megan Rosessler from the Mayo Clinic suggests that "sugar seems to be a major source of anxiety and fear for people with cancer. There is a myth circulating that sugar feeds cancer and that avoiding sugar will prevent the growth of cancer. To set things straight…sugar does not cause cancer on its own. Giving sugar to cancer cells does not make them grow faster and depriving cancer cells of sugar does not make them grow more slowly. However, sugar may be indirectly involved in the development of cancer.”

These and other studies make it seem possible that if you had no sugar in your diet it could help stop cancer developing or growing. But all our other cells also need glucose to survive, and there’s no way of letting just the healthy cells get the amount of glucose they need while starving the cancer cells.

Perhaps the most important prescription for cancer patients is to limit the amount of sugar in our diet, read our labels, enjoy simple unprocessed foods, and follow the advice of our nutritionist/oncology team to focus on getting the nutrients you need to stay strong during and after treatment. In short, eat the healthy sugars found in fruits and veggies while shying away from the cookies, cakes, and processed cereals.

While the possible link between sugar and cancer is often discussed, the research so far has not shown evidence of a direct link, but that research continues.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page