页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

美国农村地区的乳腺癌

作者:亚历克西斯-普瑟瑟里


美国农村人口约占总人口的 15%,根据美国人口普查,农村人口在医疗保健方面的差距每年都在扩大。疾病预防控制中心指出,就癌症而言,大都市社区癌症死亡人数每年减少约 1.6%,而农村社区仅减少 1%。虽然从百分比上看,这一差距似乎并不显著,但这一差距每年都在累积,并继续恶化着农村居民的现状。

农村和城市地区有三种常见的癌症:乳腺癌、结肠直肠癌和肺癌。城市地区的乳腺癌发病率较高,而农村地区的结肠直肠癌和肺癌发病率较高。然而,在所有这些癌症中 农村地区 总死亡率较高。


特别是对于乳腺癌而言,定期进行乳房 X 光检查和筛查对于早期发现癌症、提高患病几率和生存率至关重要。2020 年在美国中西部进行的一项研究发现,与城市居民相比,农村地区的美国人乳腺癌筛查率较低,乳腺癌晚期诊断率较高。美国城乡之间的差距不仅体现在一般癌症上,还特别体现在乳腺癌上。 我们已经知道了这种差距,那么我们该如何着手解决这一问题并努力加以改善呢?对于农村社区来说,理想的第一步是关注乳腺癌筛查差异。州政府应在其议事日程中更加重视对农村医疗保健的资助,如在这些地区建立检测和初级保健中心。此外,研究发现,医疗保健专业人员不太可能搬到农村地区,因此可以为决定搬到美国农村地区的医疗保健提供者提供特殊奖励或福利。 农村地区缺乏医生的影响远不止乳腺癌筛查方面。一旦确诊为乳腺癌,必须长途跋涉数小时才能得到治疗,这是一个重大障碍,也造成了农村地区医疗保健的诸多障碍。 乔伊-安德森说,她所在小镇的居民要走 70 英里才能见到最近的医生。


这对每周甚至每天都要进行的化疗和/或放疗的影响不难想象。像 "加州俄勒冈州解决农村教育差异医疗合作计划"(COMPADRE)这样专注于在农村地区和无代表地区安排医生的计划应该得到支持、推广和资助。 许多农村患者经历的另一个因素是 "乳腺癌被忽视"。Jennifer Lycette 医学博士对农村地区的这种经历进行了研究,发现这些人群更有可能推迟、推诿或干脆拒绝乳腺癌筛查。在一篇文章中,她描述了她与一位妇女的经历,这位妇女一直忽视了一个巨大的肿瘤,直到她发现自己患上了乳腺癌。莱赛特医生认为已经有几个月或几年了。这名妇女还患有躁郁症,无法接受心理健康治疗。这导致了她对乳腺癌的忽视,最终导致她在 50 岁时去世。Lycette 博士的工作和研究结果表明,造成农村乳腺癌健康差异的因素是多方面的。


忽视心理健康和缺乏心理健康资源、缺乏医疗保健教育和就医途径,以及由于缺乏就医途径而导致的对医生的普遍不信任,这些问题充斥着 Lycette 博士的研究,但同时也揭示了改善农村健康差距的可能途径。 研究发现研究发现,城市和农村地区的心理健康患病率是一样的,但可及性、可负担性、可用性和可接受性都对农村地区构成了障碍,导致许多人得不到治疗。 有了初级保健医生和肿瘤专家,在农村地区集中更多的精神卫生专业人员将大大改善癌症的治疗。在农村社区推广心理保健,不仅能帮助患者在确诊乳腺癌后更好地应对,还能帮助他们的亲人应对乳腺癌,更好地发挥照顾者的作用。 许多像莱赛特医生这样的故事的根源是对医疗系统的不信任。过去一直受到美国医疗保健系统虐待的群体,如农村美国人、低收入美国人和美国黑人,已经对整个医疗保健领域产生了厌倦情绪,这并非毫无道理。这在大流行病和疫苗推广期间表现得极为明显。医疗保健系统与这些群体之间需要重建信任。这可以通过有效的外联计划和实地医疗干预来实现,让农村居民得到与城市居民同等的关注和照顾。此外,为了从根本上解决问题,医疗和保健专业的学生在求学期间就应该了解这些差异,这样他们作为这些人群的医疗服务提供者就会更有责任感。 最后,帮助在医疗差距问题上挣扎的农村社区的最好方法就是询问他们需要什么。Matthew Gavidia 在 美国管理保健杂志的一篇文章中指出,最了解一个城镇需要什么的人就是这个城镇的居民。 因此 个性化因此,应实施个性化计划,将社区的直接、具体需求放在首位。

在为乡村医疗中心争取更多的政府资金、促进社区内的心理健康和更多的乡村医生方面,还有更多的工作可以做,也必须做。这些工作虽然重要,但需要数月甚至数年的时间才能看到实质性的效果。对于那些需要立即解决问题的人来说,被诊断出患有乳腺癌时该怎么办的答案并不那么简单。一个有用的资源是 疾病预防控制中心的 国家癌症综合控制计划 (NCCCP)。NCCCP 在其网站上提供了各州的癌症计划,网址是:NCCCP 提供预防措施和辅助治疗,所有这些都可以在其网站上找到。对于农村地区的人来说,另一个资源是国家癌症研究所网站的农村癌症控制部分,网址是 这里.这为农村患者提供了他们所在地区可能的治疗中心。

农村居民在各方面都面临着医疗保健方面的差距,因此,在治疗像癌症这样具有毁灭性的疾病时,改善医疗保健、信息和教育的可及性至关重要。对于许多农村居民来说,在线资源是最好的选择,但真正有帮助的是系统性的变革。


继续在州一级投票支持并推动有利于乳腺癌患者的计划和法律,是每个人都能为缩小农村居民面临的巨大差距做出贡献的方式。

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

发现大脑

东部时间 5 月 27 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 5 月 28 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 6 月 3 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 6 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 6 月 10 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 6 月 11 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 6 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer in Rural America

By Alexis Puthussery


Rural Americans make up about 15% of the population, and according to the US census, rural healthcare disparities continue to increase for this population every year. In terms of cancer, the CDC states that cancer deaths for metropolitan communities decrease by about 1.6% every year, while for rural communities, the decrease is only 1%. While in terms of percentage, this difference may not seem significant, the difference accumulates every year and continues to worsen the current situation for rural citizens.

Rural and urban areas share three common types of cancer: breast, colorectal, and lung. Urban areas experience higher incident rates of breast cancer, while rural areas experience higher rates of colorectal and lung cancers. However, in all these cancers, rural areas experience higher overall mortality.


For breast cancer in particular, the importance of regular mammograms and screenings are vital to detecting cancer early and facing better odds and survival rates. A study conducted in midwestern America in 2020 found that Americans in rural areas experience lower rates of breast cancer screening and higher rates of late-stage breast cancer diagnoses than their more urban counterparts. The disparity between rural and urban Americans is not only found in cancer in general, but specifically in breast cancer as well. Much of the disparity is known, so how do we start to tackle the problem and work towards improving it? An ideal first step for rural communities would be to focus on breast cancer screening disparities. A greater emphasis on rural healthcare funding, such as testing and primary care centers in these locations should be put on state government agendas. Additionally, studies have found that healthcare professionals are less likely to move to rural areas, so special incentives or benefits could be put in place for healthcare providers who decide to move to rural America. The lack of physicians in rural areas affects much more than the screening aspect of breast cancer. When diagnosed, having to travel hours for treatment is a significant impediment and contributes to the many barriers to healthcare within rural areas. Joy Anderson, a healthcare worker from Fossil, Oregon, stated that people in her town have to travel 70 miles to see the nearest physician.


The effect this has on chemotherapy and/or radiation treatments, which have to be administered weekly, if not daily, is not hard to imagine. Programs like the California Oregon Medical Partnership to Address Disparities in Rural Education (COMPADRE) focus on placing doctors in rural areas and unrepresented areas should be supported, promoted, and funded. Another factor many rural patients experience is “breast cancer neglect.” Jennifer Lycette, M.D. has conducted research on this experience within rural areas and has found that these populations are more likely to delay, put off, or simply refuse breast cancer screenings. In one article, she describes her experience with a woman who had been neglecting a massive tumor for what Dr. Lycette believed for months or years. This woman also had bipolar disorder and was unable to receive mental health treatment. This contributed to her breast cancer neglect and eventually led to her death at 50 years old. Dr. Lycette’s work and findings show the multiple, confounding factors that contribute to rural breast cancer health disparities.


Neglect of mental health and lack of mental health resources, lack of healthcare education and access, and a general distrust of physicians stemming from a lack of access saturate Dr. Lycette’s research, but also reveal possible avenues to improve the rural health disparities. Studies have found that mental health prevalence is the same in both urban and rural areas, but accessibility, affordability, availability, and acceptability all pose barriers for rural areas, causing many people to go untreated. With primary care doctors and oncologists, centralizing more mental health professionals in rural areas would greatly improve the treatment of cancer. Promotion of mental healthcare in rural communities would not only help patients cope better with breast cancer once they are diagnosed, but help their loved ones cope and function as better caregivers as well. At the root of many stories like Dr. Lycette’s is a distrust of the healthcare system. Groups who have been systematically mistreated in the past by American healthcare, such as rural Americans, low-income Americans, and black Americans have grown weary of the field as a whole and not without reason. This was made extremely apparent during the pandemic and vaccine rollout. Trust needs to be rebuilt between the healthcare system and these groups. This can be done with effective outreach programs and on-the-ground healthcare intervention where rural citizens receive the same level of attention and care as those in urban areas. Additionally, to get to the root of the problem, medical and healthcare students should be taught about these disparities during their schooling, so that they are more responsible as providers to these populations. Finally, the best way to help rural communities struggling with healthcare disparities is to just ask them what they need. Matthew Gavidia for an article in the American Journal of Managed Care pointed out that the best people who know what a town or city needs are the inhabitants of said city or town. Therefore, personalized programs should be implemented, where immediate, specific needs of communities are the top priority.

There is more that can be and must be done in terms of fighting for more government funding for rural medical centers and promoting mental health within their communities and more rural physicians. While important, these are things that will take months or even years to see substantial effects. For those who need immediate solutions, the answer for what to do when diagnosed with breast cancer is not so simple. One helpful resource is the CDC’s National Comprehensive Cancer Control Program (NCCCP). The NCCCP provides cancer plans for every state on their website at They provide prevention measures and aid in treatment, all of which can be found on their website. Another resource for those in rural areas is the Rural Cancer Control portion of the National Cancer Institute’s website found here. This provides rural patients with possible treatment centers in their area.

Rural citizens face healthcare disparities on all fronts, and so when treating a disease as devastating as cancer, it is vital to improve access to healthcare, information, and education. Online resources are the best option for many rural citizens, but what will truly help is systematic change.


Continuing to vote for and promote programs and laws at the state level that will benefit breast cancer patients is how everyone can contribute to closing the enormous disparity rural citizens face.

Comentarios


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico