页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌筛查与残疾:并不像看起来那么简单

已更新:2022 年 11 月 1 日


据世界卫生组织统计,乳腺癌是女性最常见的癌症,估计每年新增病例 210 万。事实上,全世界每 8 位女性中就有 1 位会在一生中的某个阶段罹患乳腺癌。 残疾妇女这个数字甚至更高--这是一个严重的公共健康问题。虽然这些数据令人唏嘘,但也有好消息:由于早期发现和治疗方法的改进,乳腺癌的死亡率已经 稳步下降过去几十年来,乳腺癌的死亡率一直在稳步下降。


对于肢体残疾的女性来说,接受 乳房 X 光检查- 对于身体残疾的妇女来说,接受乳房 X 光检查可能是一项挑战,而乳房 X 光检查是目前早期发现乳腺癌的方法之一。这是因为许多乳房 X 射线照相机器的设计并不适合残障人士使用,即使是适合残障人士使用的机器,根据特定乳房 X 射线照相点的可用资源,接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的过程可能会更加不舒服、困难,甚至完全不可能。在这里,我们将分析为什么残障人士接受筛查可能会更加困难,以及一些可能有助于使筛查过程更加容易的资源。

首先,什么是乳腺癌筛查?

对任何人来说,但更常见的是对顺性别女性和有子宫的人来说,患乳腺癌的可能性是生活中的现实。许多人通过定期进行乳房筛查来应对这一问题,通常是通过乳房 X 射线照相术.这种常见的检查包括对乳房进行 X 射线检查,以发现任何以其他方式无法发现的潜在癌变组织。

概括地说,乳房 X 射线照相术是使用低剂量 X 射线检查乳腺组织以早期发现乳腺癌的过程。X 射线用于生成乳房图像,然后由放射科医生进行读取。有 两种:乳房筛查乳房 X 光检查用于检测没有乳腺癌症状的人是否患有乳腺癌。诊断性乳房 X 光检查用于评估筛查乳房 X 光检查发现的乳房变化,或检查乳房症状,如肿块、疼痛或乳头溢液。

虽然乳房 X 光检查可能看起来不舒服、不方便,但大多数人都能顺利地接受检查。然而,对于某些人来说,比如残疾人,做乳房 X 光检查 并不总是那么容易如果不加以适当解决,这可能会对健康造成长期影响。



为什么残疾会增加筛查难度?

残疾妇女参加乳腺癌筛查的比例低于非残疾妇女。乳房 X 光检查对残障人士造成困难的原因有很多。例如 行动不便可能难以登上检查台。许多残障人士在往返就诊地点时会遇到困难。这可能是因为缺乏无障碍的交通工具,也可能是因为他们需要别人的帮助才能到达预约地点。

残障人士在就医时面临经济和非经济方面的障碍,这可能会导致乳腺癌检测延迟,并增加不良后果的风险。医疗服务提供者需要接受有关残疾妇女工作的教育。

还有一些人可能患有感觉处理障碍,难以忍受检查时的触感和压力。还有一些人可能有认知障碍,在检查过程中难以理解和遵循指示。最后,对于乳腺癌筛查和其他预防性健康措施的重要性,一些残障人士可能没有接受过与非残障人士同等程度的教育。这可能会使他们难以理解接受筛查的重要性,也难以对自己的医疗保健做出明智的决定。

这些困难可能导致错过或推迟乳腺筛查,进而导致 更高的乳腺癌发病率残疾人的乳腺癌发病率更高。在 一项研究例如,与没有肢体残疾的妇女相比,有肢体残疾的妇女接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的几率要低 1.3 倍。

这并不是乳腺癌独有的问题--许多不同疾病的 筛查有精神或身体残疾的人较少接受筛查。造成这种情况的原因有多种假设和记录,包括检查室/设备不方便进入、没有汽车或可靠的交通工具、医疗费用问题、缺乏外部支持系统、缺乏关于癌症筛查重要性的教育,或者与管理原有疾病相比,对乳腺癌筛查的重视程度有所下降。然而,无论原因如何,在一项基于英国的研究中 英国的一项研究在英国的一项研究中,残疾妇女接受乳腺癌筛查的可能性降低了 50%。 疾控中心报告称,2008-2010年间,接受乳房X光检查的女性比非残疾女性少10%。在美国的每个州和地区,残疾妇女和非残疾妇女接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的比例都存在差距,其中残疾妇女接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的比例最高,而非残疾妇女接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的比例最低。

鉴于乳房 X 射线照相术是发现早期乳腺癌的鉴于乳房 X 射线照相术是发现早期乳腺癌的主要方法之一,而一般来说,越早发现癌症更有可能 因此,接受乳房 X 射线照相检查的残疾妇女/子宫所有者人数较少,这表明她们将来患乳腺癌并发症的风险更大。特别是考虑到残疾妇女一般会妨碍获得医疗服务不仅是在乳腺筛查方面,乳房 X 光检查对残疾人的可用性和可及性的限制往往会对受影响者的健康造成负面影响。




健康知识普及与乳腺癌

健康素养是指阅读、理解和使用健康信息的能力。这是了解乳腺癌筛查和其他预防性保健措施重要性的一个重要因素。健康素养低通常会导致人们难以理解和使用健康信息,无论是自己还是亲人的健康信息。这可能使人们难以对自己的医疗保健做出明智的决定。

要提高医疗服务提供者的健康素养,有几件事可以做:一是提供清晰简明的乳腺癌筛查和其他预防性保健措施的相关信息。另一种方法是在提供这些信息时使用通俗易懂的语言,并为患者提供提问的机会,让他们对所读到或听到的内容进行澄清。这有助于确保他们理解这些信息,并对自己的医疗保健做出明智的决定。

改善残疾妇女接受乳腺癌筛查的机会是确保所有妇女都有机会接受所需筛查的重要一步。通过消除障碍并提供简明扼要的信息,我们可以帮助确保所有妇女都有机会接受所需的筛查并改善她们的健康状况。出版物,如残疾与健康杂志和定期的国家级筛查计划,如 全国健康访谈调查等定期的国家级筛查计划都是与残疾相关的医疗保健问题的重要信息来源。

当智力和发育障碍人士接受乳房 X 光检查时,医疗服务提供者如何为他们提供支持?

医疗服务提供者有几种方法可以让残障人士更方便地接受乳腺癌筛查。其中一种方法是使用辅助设备,帮助肢体残障人士正确摆放乳房 X 光检查位置。另一种方法是在乳房 X 光检查过程中提供支持,例如帮助患者摆好姿势或提供语言提示。最后,确保智力和发育障碍者了解乳房 X 光检查过程中会发生什么以及为什么要做乳房 X 光检查也很重要。要做到这一点,可以使用简洁明了的语言,提供直观教具,并花时间回答患者可能提出的任何问题。

如果您是为残障人士提供服务的医疗服务提供者,我们建议您利用这些资源,让您的患者更容易获得乳腺癌筛查服务。通过这样做,您可以帮助确保每个人都有平等的机会及早发现乳腺癌并提高生存几率。


我们可以采取哪些措施?

可以采取一些具体步骤,使乳房 X 光检查更方便更方便残障人士。例如,可以为行动不便的人提供方便,如提供斜坡或升降机让他们登上检查台。感官处理障碍者可以通过提供耳机或其他降噪设备来减少机器声音的影响。此外,还可以向有认知障碍的人提供简明扼要的说明,帮助他们理解和遵循检查过程中需要做的事情。

虽然这些便利措施可以使乳房 X 光检查更加无障碍,但重要的是要记住,它们并不总是完美无缺的。例如,并非所有的乳房 X 光检查地点都有斜坡或电梯。即使有便利设施,也可能使用不当,或者不足以让所有残障人士都能无障碍地进行检查。

目前有哪些资源可供残疾人士进行乳腺癌筛查?

人们越来越关注为残障人士提供的乳腺癌筛查服务。美国疾病预防控制中心(CDC)汇编了一系列州级和国家级计划,旨在帮助残障人士获得癌症筛查服务。以下是几项重点计划:


残疾人可以通过几种方式倡导乳腺癌筛查:

- 首先,了解您可以利用的资源(我们已在上文列出)非常重要。了解您可以获得哪些资源以及如何获取这些资源是确保您获得所需护理的关键。

- 其次,联系当地的残疾人社区,看看是否已经有您可以参与的倡议或计划。如果没有,看看是否有兴趣启动一些项目!

- 最后,宣传乳腺癌筛查对残疾人的重要性。与您的朋友、家人和同龄人谈谈为什么这个问题也很重要。

采取行动

如上所述,虽然乳房 X 光检查是最常见的乳腺癌筛查方法,但对于一些残疾妇女来说,接受乳房 X 光检查可能很困难,甚至不可能。这可能会导致一些问题,如发现过晚、存活率降低或与癌症相关的死亡。我们知道,早期发现可以挽救生命,这就是为什么我们必须努力提高筛查工具对残障人士的无障碍性。有许多组织努力使所有妇女都能更方便地接受乳腺癌筛查,但仍有更多的工作要做。

我们希望这些资源能够进一步解释残疾和乳腺癌筛查的复杂性,特别是在您的乳腺癌之旅中。 如果您是残障人士或认识残障人士,我们建议您利用现有的资源。接受乳腺癌筛查是掌控健康的重要一步。对于那些希望参与到改善残疾人筛查机会运动中的人来说,有很多方法可以参与其中并发出自己的声音!只要我们齐心协力,就能确保在抗击乳腺癌的斗争中没有人掉队。

您是否有乳癌故事和残疾生活经历想与我们分享?请联系我们--我们很乐意 听到您的声音!

有关乳腺癌的更多信息和资源,请访问我们的网站 SurvivingBreastCancer.org.




180 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer Screening and Disability: Not As Simple as it Seems

Updated: Nov 1, 2022


According to the World Health Organization, breast cancer is the most common cancer among women, with an estimated 2.1 million new cases a year. In fact, 1 in 8 women worldwide will develop breast cancer at some point in their lifetime and for women with disabilities, that number is even higher- and a serious public health concern. Though these statistics are sobering, there is good news: thanks to early detection and improved treatment options, the death rate from breast cancer has been steadily declining over the past few decades.


For women with physical disabilities, getting a mammogram – which is currently one of the methods for detecting breast cancer early – can be a challenge. This is because many mammography machines are not designed to accommodate people with disabilities, and even when they are, the process of getting a mammogram may be more uncomfortable, difficult, or entirely impossible, based on the resources available at a given mammography site. Here, we’ll break down why it might be more difficult for those with disabilities to get screened, and some resources that may help to make the screening process easier.

Firstly- What is Breast Cancer Screening?

For any person, but more commonly for cisgender women and people that have a uterus, the potential for breast cancer is a reality of life. Many manage this by getting breast screenings regularly, often via mammography. This common exam involves taking an x-ray of the breast to find any potential cancerous tissue that would not have otherwise been detected.

Mammography, summarized, is the process of using low-dose x-rays to examine breast tissue for early detection of breast cancer. The x-rays are used to create images of the breast, which are then read by a radiologist. There are two kinds: Breast screening mammograms are used to detect breast cancer in people who have no symptoms of the disease. Diagnostic mammograms are used to evaluate breast changes that have been found on a screening mammogram or to investigate breast symptoms, such as a lump, pain, or nipple discharge.

While mammograms might seem uncomfortable and inconvenient, most people are able to get one without any issues. However, for some people, such as those with disabilities, getting a mammogram is not always easy; this can have long-term consequences on health if not adequately addressed.



Why Does a Disability Make it More Difficult to Get Screened?

Breast cancer screening participation rates are lower among women with disabilities than among women without disabilities. There are a number of reasons why mammograms can be difficult for people with disabilities. For example, some people with mobility impairments may have difficulty getting onto the exam table. Many people with disabilities have difficulty getting to and from medical appointments. This can be due to a lack of accessible transportation or because they need assistance from someone else in order to get to their appointment.

People with disabilities face both financial and non-financial barriers to access that may result in delayed detection and increased risk of poorer outcomes from breast cancer. Providers require education about working with women with disabilities.

Others may have sensory processing disorders that make it difficult to tolerate the touch and pressure of the exam. And still others may have cognitive impairments that make it difficult to understand and follow the instructions during the exam. Finally, some people with disabilities may not receive the same level of education as those without disabilities about the importance of breast cancer screenings and other preventive health measures. This can make it difficult for them to understand the importance of getting screened and make informed decisions about their health care.

These difficulties can lead to missed or delayed breast screenings, which can in turn lead to higher rates of breast cancer for people with disabilities. In one study, for example, women with physical disability had a 1.3 times lower odds of having a mammography done compared to women without a physical disability.

This is not a problem unique to breast cancer- many different diseases are less commonly screened for in those with both mental or physical disabilities. There are a few hypothesized and documented reasons for this, including inaccessible exam rooms/equipment, not having a car or reliable transportation, issues with the cost of care, a lack of external support systems, a lack of education on the importance of cancer screenings, or a decreased priority on breast screening when compared to managing a pre-existing condition. Regardless of the reason, however, in a UK-based study, disabled women were up to 50% less likely to get screened for breast cancer, while in the US, the CDC reports that there are 10% fewer women that have received a mammogram between 2008-2010 when compared to women without disabilities. In every U.S. state and territory, there is a disparity between disabled and non-disabled women in rates of mammography, with disabled women.

Given that mammography is one of the main ways that early-stage breast cancers are discovered, and generally speaking, the earlier a cancer is discovered, the more likely it is to be managed successfully, the fact that fewer disabled women/uterus-owners are getting mammograms indicates that they are at a greater risk for future complications related to breast cancer. Especially given that being a disabled woman, in general, will hinder access to healthcare, not only related to breast screening, the limited availability and accessibility of mammograms to disabled individuals often negatively impact the health of those affected.




Health Literacy and Breast Cancer

Health literacy is the ability to read, understand, and use health information. It is an important factor in understanding the importance of breast cancer screenings and other preventive health measures. Low health literacy often results in difficulty understanding and using health information, whether it is for one’s own care, or for that of a loved one. This can make it difficult for people to make informed decisions about their health care.

There are a few things that can be done to improve health literacy at the provider level: one is to provide clear and concise information about breast cancer screenings and other preventive health measures. Another is to use plain language when providing this information, and provide patients with opportunities to ask questions and get clarification about what they have read or heard. This can help ensure that they understand the information and can make informed decisions about their health care.

Improving access to breast cancer screenings for women with disabilities is an important step in ensuring that all women have a chance to receive the screenings they need. By removing barriers and providing clear and concise information, we can help ensure that all women have the chance to receive the screenings they need and improve their health. Publications such as the Disability and Health Journal, and regular, national-level screening programs such as the National Health Interview Survey are great sources of information on healthcare issues related to disability.

How Can Health Providers Support Someone with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities When They are Getting a Mammogram?

There are several ways that health providers can make breast cancer screening more accessible for people with disabilities. One way is to use adaptive equipment that can help people with physical disabilities position themselves correctly for a mammogram. Another way is to provide support during the mammogram itself, such as by helping to position the person or by providing verbal cues. Finally, it is important to make sure that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities understand what is happening during the mammogram and why it is important to get one. This can be done by using clear and concise language, providing visual aids, and taking the time to answer any questions that the person may have.

If you are a healthcare provider who works with people with disabilities, we urge you to take advantage of these resources to make breast cancer screening more accessible for your patients. By doing so, you can help ensure that everyone has an equal opportunity to detect breast cancer early and improve their chances of survival.


What are Some Steps We Can Take?

There are some concrete steps that can be taken to make mammograms more accessible for people with disabilities. For example, accommodations can be made for people with mobility impairments, such as providing a ramp or lift to get onto the exam table. Sensory processing disorder can be accommodated by providing headphones or other noise-canceling devices to reduce the impact of the sound of the machine. And clear and concise instructions can be given to people with cognitive impairments to help them understand and follow what they need to do during the exam.

While these accommodations can make a mammogram more accessible, it is important to remember that they are not always perfect. For example, a ramp or lift may not be available at all mammogram locations. And even when accommodations are available, they may not be used properly or may not be enough to make the exam accessible for all people with disabilities.

What Resources are Currently Available for Someone Living with a Disability to Get Breast Cancer Screening?

There has been a growing focus on breast screening services for those living with a disability. The CDC has compiled a collection of state and national programs that aim to support those with disabilities in getting access to cancer screening. Here are a few highlighted programs:

  • “Every Woman Matters” - A multimedia exhibit highlighting the breast cancer journeys of Montana residents living with a disability. Additionally, the Montana Mammography Directory lists places within the state where mammograms can be found.

  • Mammography Accessibility Project- Created by the Oregon Office on Disability and Health, this web resource lists locations within the state where accessible mammograms can be found

  • The Right to Know Campaign- This CDC initiative aims at increasing awareness for the importance of mammography for disabled individuals within the U.S. It features breast cancer stories from disabled women, as well as informational resources.

  • Mammography Van- Run by Dana Farber Cancer Institute, the Mammography Van is a mobile, digital mammography location that visits communities in the greater Boston area to increase the availability of screening to those who might not be able to travel far for one. The schedule is regularly updated and can be found here.

  • Find a Mammogram Near You- The FDA created a website that allows you to search for a mammography location in your area. For those who are looking for a site, this is a great place to start. However, it is recommended that you call ahead to find out more details about the kinds of accessible measures available.


There are a Few Ways in Which People with Disabilities can Advocate for Breast Cancer Screenings:

- Firstly, it’s important to be aware of the resources that are available to you (which we listed above). Knowing what is available to you and how to access it is key to ensuring that you get the care that you need.

- Secondly, reach out to your local disability community and see if there are any initiatives or programs already in place that you can get involved in. If not, see if there is interest in starting something up!

- Finally, spread the word about the importance of breast cancer screenings for disabled individuals. Talk to your friends, family, and peers about why this issue is important too.

Take Action

As we’ve discussed above, while mammograms are the most common breast screening for cancer, they can be difficult or even impossible for some women with disabilities to get. This can lead to problems such as late detection, decreased survival rates, or cancer-related death. We know that early detection saves lives, which is why it is so important that we work towards increasing the accessibility of screening tools for those facing disabilities. There are many organizations working to make breast cancer screenings more accessible for all women, but there is still more work to be done.

We hope that these resources explain the intricacies of disabilities and breast cancer screenings a bit further, specifically in regard to your breast cancer journey. If you are a disabled individual or know someone who is, we urge you to take advantage of the resources that are available to you. Getting a breast cancer screening is an important step in taking control of your health. And for those looking to get involved in the movement to improve access to screenings for disabled individuals, there are many ways to get involved and make your voice heard! Together, we can make sure that no one gets left behind in the fight against breast cancer.

Do you have a breast cancer story and experience living with a disability that you would like to share? Please reach out to us – we would love to hear from you!

For more information and resources on breast cancer, please visit our website at SurvivingBreastCancer.org.




205 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page