页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

选择改变

作者:考特尼-普罗克特

2012 年 7 月至 2013 年 7 月:误诊的一年


当我发现左侧乳房有肿块时,我告诉自己这可能只是一个囊肿。然而,在这之前的 11 年里,我经历了巨大的挑战,因为我的身体出现了一些看似偶然的健康问题--包括多次紧急手术、患上皮肤癌以及 3 次怀孕失败--所以至少可以说,我对自己的身体存在信任问题。我与妇产科医生预约了检查肿块的时间,屏住呼吸,真的希望能从健康问题中得到喘息。


医生在就诊时为我做了身体检查,并肯定地告诉我这只是一个囊肿(剧透:这是癌症)。我如释重负。我几乎是跳着离开她的办公室的,我感到很欣慰,因为我没有面临另一场改变人生的健康危机。


几个月后,我开始感到比平时更累了,我告诉自己这只是因为工作太忙的缘故。后来有一天,也就是我第一次发现肿块的 6 个月后,我正在上健身课,发现左腋下有点疼。感觉有点像剃刀灼伤或太阳灼伤,还有点疼。这种感觉一直持续,但起初并不稳定--几天后腋下就会感觉正常,持续一周或更长时间。再过几周我就要去妇产科做年检了,所以我尽量让自己不要太紧张,告诉自己会让她在年检时检查一下。现在回想起来,我觉得自己太天真了,左侧乳房有肿块,却不知道这是一个巨大的警示信号。但我当时对乳腺癌和淋巴结并不了解,也没想到乳房肿块会与腋窝疼痛....,更没想到自己得了癌症!


在我的年度体检中,医生再次检查了我乳房上的肿块,发现它长大了。让我印象深刻的是,她仅凭感觉就能判断出肿块增大了,因为在我这个未经训练的门外汉看来,肿块并没有明显增大。她似乎对增大并不在意,假设这是一种囊肿,可能会随着怀孕而增大和缩小。一个会玩 "派对把戏 "的囊肿......听起来并不可怕。当我告诉她我新发现的腋下酸痛时,她摸了摸我的腋下,说她没有感觉到任何不妥,但我看得出她略微有些担心,她建议我去看乳腺专科医生,以防万一。


几个月后,当我能够去看乳腺专科医生时,腋下的疼痛感更加普遍和持续。它经常感到肿胀和刺激,而且在我的腋下形成了一个明显的肿块。专家似乎在看我的病历之前就已经断定我的肿块是囊肿。他闯进我等候的检查室,什么也没问就摸了摸我乳房上的肿块,然后惊呼这确实是个囊肿。他说,这种囊肿会不断长大,直到切除为止。因此,他建议我切除囊肿,但他不想因为切除囊肿而影响我的暑假计划(对于密歇根人来说,夏天是件大事😊),他建议我把手术安排在秋天。太棒了,又要做手术了。等不及了。


他正准备起身离开,在秋天来临之前不再理我,但在他离开之前,我告诉了他我腋下的疼痛和肿块。他摸了摸我的腋窝,然后说了一句别人对我说过的最不可思议的话。当时我觉得很困惑,也很怀疑,现在我对乳腺癌有了一定的了解,几乎不可能相信对话是这样进行的......但还是发生了。


这位乳腺专家告诉我,我腋下的肿块是一个淋巴结,我能感觉到它的唯一原因是我身上的脂肪比别人少。这个解释对我来说没有意义,因为我身上的脂肪量多年来没有什么变化,而且我的腋窝以前也从来没有过这种感觉,所以我不明白为什么我的淋巴结会选择在这个时候出现。我当时的表情一定很困惑,因为他接着说,如果我身上的脂肪多了,脂肪就会覆盖淋巴结,我就感觉不到它们了。我很确定我当时的表情仍然很困惑,因为他接着说,如果我摸摸右腋窝,可能也会摸到肿块。就这样,他站了起来,转身走出了房间。


当我坐在检查室里时,我的内心充满了沉甸甸的感觉和挥之不去的困惑,我不情愿地探了探右腋窝,希望真的能摸到一个淋巴结。结果一无所获。摸不到淋巴结。我越来越难以说服自己一切都好,但一位每天都为乳腺癌妇女看病的乳腺专家告诉我,我很好,这个乳房肿块没有威胁,可以等待。所以我应该感觉良好,对吗?


几个月后,我在洗澡时摸到乳房上有多个肿块。我很震惊,似乎一夜之间就形成了这么多肿块,我都分不清哪里是一个肿块的尽头,哪里是另一个肿块的开始。我当天就预约了妇产科的护士。我很害怕,但我的意识中更多的是沮丧和恼怒,因为我又一次 又一次去看医生。


护士摸了摸肿块,她说这可能是一种像葡萄一样成簇生长的囊肿。但她要求做超声波检查以确定。超声波检查最终导致了正确的诊断。超声波检查结果令人担忧(很明显!!!),于是我去做了乳房 X 光检查,结果也令人担忧,于是做了活组织检查。


活组织检查 5 天后,也就是在我第一次就肿块去看妇产科医生的 364 天后,我接到了确诊我患有乳腺癌的电话。那年我 29 岁。当我听到 "对不起,是癌症...... "这句话时,我的世界戛然而止,我一直努力控制的一切都轰然倒塌。


癌症统计


浸润性导管癌 3 期,ER+/PR+/HER2+,BRCA 阴性,在 9 个淋巴结发现癌症


治疗计划和众多决定


在确诊的第二天,我就见到了肿瘤专家,之后一切都进展得很快。


我的肿瘤专家建议我接受乳房切除术、6 次化疗(赫赛汀和左拉德克斯)以及化疗后的 25 次放疗。她说,只要我的身体对化疗有反应,我就有很大的机会存活下来。听到这个预后,我的内心有一部分是感激的,但更大的一部分是对即将发生的事情感到无比恐惧,感觉太冒险了,不抱希望。


恐惧和不确定性压得我喘不过气来,我必须做出的决定让我头晕目眩。我是要进行侧切还是双侧乳房切除术?由于癌症的荷尔蒙受体呈阳性,我是要切除卵巢,还是每个月往胃里打一针药丸让自己进入更年期?我是否要接受建议的 6 轮化疗,以及所有可能的长期副作用?然后是决定放疗和化疗期间工作还是请病假。还有治疗结束后的重建决定。


我感觉自己快被这些无法预测结果的不可能选择淹没了。我想要答案。我想要确定性。我想知道我将如何度过这一切。我想知道这一切会如何结束。

当然,我不可能知道,所以我试着一次一个决定,做出最明智的决定。最终,我接受了左侧乳房切除术,完成了建议的化疗和放疗,每月注射一针 Zoladex 一年,然后接受了右侧乳房切除术,并在乳房重建手术时切除了卵巢和输卵管。


选择改变


从接到电话告诉我患上癌症的那一刻起,我就毫无疑问地知道了一件事。鉴于我的生活方式--生存意味着改变。如果我想要的不是疾病、病痛和失落,我就必须改变。我没有继续让自己陷入困境,试图改变外部环境 I我必须从内心开始改变。

值得庆幸的是,我在化疗期间请了病假,这样我终于可以听从我的身体一直在呼喊的改变的战斗号角。要想知道如何改变我的生活,我感到不知所措,不知从何下手,于是我自然而然地做起了我唯一擅长的事情--研究和数据收集。我阅读书籍,聆听有关正念、冥想、阿育吠陀和其他整体治疗方式的研讨会和培训,我所学到的东西让我茅塞顿开。我一直对东方传统的智慧和实践很感兴趣,但我并没有把以前学到的任何东西坚持不懈地付诸实践。

这对我来说不再是一种选择......我必须找到一种方法来减轻我给自己带来的压力。于是,我开始定期冥想,并把治疗过程和副作用作为我新发现的正念练习的实验室--让我大吃一惊的是,它竟然起作用了!当我关注它,不再抗拒它时,疼痛就变得更容易忍受了--说真的,谁能想到呢?因为害怕被强烈的情绪吞没而习惯性埋藏起来的难耐情绪得到了宣泄,当我能够足够地感受到情绪起伏的整个浪潮时,我的情绪实际上转变成了接受或平静。

我学会了如何意识到自己的想法并集中注意力,有了这种意识,我就能看到自己给自己讲的故事,这些故事造成了不必要的恐惧和焦虑,让我可以选择让故事过去,而不被它所缠绕。当然,我还是有很多焦虑、绝望和可怜的时候--毕竟我是化疗后的秃头、单波(在乳房切除术和重建手术之间的一年里,我对自己的爱称),而且最近在与癌症斗争的同时,还被推入了医学诱导的更年期!我的意思是,我肯定会有一些超级糟糕的时刻。但是,即使是在那些黑暗的时刻,我也会与自己的情绪同在,并尽我所能以同情和接纳的态度对待自己和我的经历。

当我继续练习 "当下 "时,我意识到我不再拼命寻找癌症的 "另一面",我的思绪也不再总是徘徊在 "如果 "和 "将如何生活 "之间。相反,我每天都有许多接受、屈服、平静和感恩的时刻。这种感觉很奇妙,但也很陌生。


有一天,我沉思着这种陌生的静止感,默默地想 我感觉到了什么我听到脑海中有一个声音在回应我:"家....,你回家了"。当我放下对生活的所有限定条件的死死把持,我找到了自己的中心,找到了真正的自我,感觉就像回到了家。我感受到了归属感和认同感--就像啊哈,你在这里,我一直在寻找你,但我不知道我寻找的是你!


这种 "家 "的感觉,"在我的中心 "的感觉,是我通过让癌症唤醒我的生命而得到的礼物,7 年后的今天,我仍然带着它。是的,我仍然会偏离轨道。是的,我也有非常艰难的日子,我和其他穿着人类服装的灵魂一样,远非完美。但如果我偏离了中心,我会很快(大多数时候)抓住自己,更重要的是,我知道如何回家。我可以肯定地说,我再也不想患癌症了,我也可以同样肯定地说,我很感激这段经历,因为我学到了很多关于生命和关于我自己的东西。我对不确定性和变化有了更大的承受力,对日子有了更强的韧性,对自己和生命之流有了更多的信任,而且内心知道我得到了支持,我需要的正是这样的支持。


我们爱你们,支持你们,你们很重要。爱你


____________________________________________________________________________


Courtney Proctor 是一名经过认证的心灵生活教练,她帮助女性明确自己真正想要的是什么,重新认识真正的自己,发挥自己最大的潜能。她还是 HeartMath® 认证导师,并提供个人和团体课程,帮助人们建立复原力。您可以在 atmancollective.com或发送电子邮件至 courtney@atmancollective.com。



18 条意见

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

• mollymcloone

Choosing to Change

By Courtney Proctor

July 2012 – July 2013: A Year of Misdiagnosis


I was 28 years old and otherwise healthy with no history of breast cancer on either side of my family when I found the lump in my left breast and I told myself it was probably just a cyst. However, I was on the heels of an immensely challenging 11-year period of seemingly random health issues -- including multiple emergency surgeries, a spot of skin cancer, and 3 lost pregnancies -- so I had trust issues with my body to say the least. I made an appointment with my OBGYN to have the lump checked and held my breath, really hoping for a respite from health issues.


My doctor did a physical exam at the appointment and with assured confidence told me it was just a cyst (spoiler alert: it was cancer). To say I was relieved is an understatement. I practically skipped out of her office, feeling comforted that I wasn’t facing yet another life changing health crisis.


A few months later I started to feel more tired than usual, which I largely wrote off by telling myself it was just because there was a lot going on at work. Then one day, about 6 months after I first found the lump, I was in a fitness class and I noticed that my left armpit was a little sore. It kind of felt like razor burn or sun burn, and it ached a little. The sensation continued but initially it was inconsistent – it would be there for a couple days then my armpit would feel normal for a week or more. I had an annual exam with my OBGYN coming up in a few weeks so I tried not to feel too uneasy about it, telling myself I’d have her check it out at the appointment. Looking back, I think how naïve I was not to have known it was a huge warning sign given the lump in my left breast. But I didn’t know much about breast cancer or lymph nodes and I didn’t think a lump in my breast would be associated with armpit pain….and I certainly did not think I had cancer!


At my annual exam, my doctor rechecked the lump in my breast and noticed it had grown. I was crazy impressed that she could tell just from feeling it that it had grown, because it wasn’t noticeably larger in size to my untrained, layperson fingers. She seemed unconcerned about the growth, hypothesizing that it was a type of cyst that may grow and shrink with pregnancy. A cyst that does party tricks…doesn’t sound too menacing. When I told her about my newfound armpit soreness, she felt my armpit and said she didn’t feel anything amiss, but I could tell she was slightly concerned and she suggested I visit a breast specialist just in case.


By the time I was able to get in to see the breast specialist a couple months later, the soreness in my armpit was more prevalent and consistent. It felt swollen and irritated quite often and a palpable lump had formed in my armpit. It seemed like the specialist had looked at my chart and already concluded the lump was a cyst before he even saw me. He barged into the exam room I was waiting in, and without asking me anything he felt the lump in my breast and exclaimed that it was indeed a cyst. This type of cyst, he said, will continue to grow and grow until you remove it. So, he recommended that I have it removed but he didn’t want to dampen my summer plans with a pesky cyst removal (summer is a big deal to Michiganders 😊) and he suggested I schedule the surgery for the fall. Super cool, another surgery. Can’t wait.


He was about to get up and leave, washing his hands of me until fall, but before he did I told him about the pain and lump in my armpit. He felt my armpit and then he said one of the most utterly unbelievable things anyone has ever said to me. It was confusing and seemed suspect at the time, and now that I know what I know about breast cancer, it’s nearly impossible to believe the conversation went down like this…but down it went.


This breast specialist told me the lump in my armpit was a lymph node and the only reason I could feel it is because I had less fat on my body relative to others. The explanation didn’t make sense to me because the amount of fat on my body hadn’t changed much in years and my armpit had never felt this way before, so I didn’t understand why my lymph node chose to make itself known now. I must have had a confused expression on my face because he went on to say that if I had more fat on my body the fat would cover the lymph nodes and I wouldn’t be able to feel them. Pretty sure the look of bewilderment remained because he continued, saying that if I felt around in my right armpit, I’d probably feel a lump there too. With that, he stood up, turned around and walked out of the room.


As I sat in the exam room, with a sinking feeling in my gut and lingering confusion, I reluctantly probed my right armpit hoping I would indeed feel a lymph node. The search returned nothing. No lymph nodes to be felt. It was getting harder to convince myself that everything was ok, but a breast specialist who sees women with breast cancer daily had told me my I was fine, that this breast lump was not threatening and could wait. So I should be feeling good, right?


A couple months later I was taking a shower and felt multiple lumps in my breast. I was shocked that seemingly overnight so many lumps had formed that I couldn’t tell where one ended and another began. I got an appointment with an RN at my OBGYN office for that same day. I was scared, but the emotion that was even more present in my consciousness was frustration and annoyance that I was once again heading to a doctor office.


The RN felt the lumps and she said it’s probably a type of cyst that grows in clusters, like grapes. But she ordered an ultrasound to be sure. That ultrasound is what finally lead to a correct diagnosis. The ultrasound results were concerning (obviously!!!), so I went for a mammogram which again came back as concerning and lead to a biopsy.


5 days after the biopsy, and 364 days after first seeing my OBGYN about the lump, I got the call confirming I had breast cancer. I was 29 years old. When I heard the words “I’m sorry, it’s cancer…”, my world stopped and everything I had been trying so hard to control came crashing down.


Cancer Stats


Stage 3 invasive ductal carcinoma, ER+/PR+/HER2+, BRCA negative, cancer found in 9 lymph nodes


Treatment Plan and SO Many Decisions


I was able to see an oncologist the day after I got the diagnosis, and everything moved quickly from there.


My oncologist recommended a mastectomy, 6 rounds of chemotherapy, Herceptin and Zoladex, and 25 radiation treatments after chemo. She said that as long as my body responded to the chemo, I had a very high chance of survival. There was a part of me that felt grateful to hear the prognosis, but an even larger part that was so immensely terrified about what was to come it felt too risky to feel hopeful.


The fear and uncertainty were overwhelming, and the decisions I had to make were dizzying. Would I have a lateral or bilateral mastectomy? Since the cancer was hormone receptor positive would I have my ovaries removed or get a pill shot into my stomach every month to put me into menopause? Would I do the recommended 6 rounds of chemo with all the possible long term side effects? Then there was the decision about radiation and working during chemo or taking a medical leave. And reconstruction decisions after getting through treatment.


I felt like I was drowning under the weight of all these impossible choices with impossible to predict outcomes. I wanted answers. I wanted certainty. I wanted to know how I would get through it all. I wanted to know how it would end.

Of course, I couldn't know so I tried to take it one decision at a time and make the most informed decision I could. I ultimately had a left mastectomy initially, completed the recommended chemo and radiation, did the monthly shot of Zoladex for a year then had a right mastectomy and my ovaries and fallopian tubes removed at the time of my breast reconstruction surgery.


Choosing to Change


From the moment I got the call telling me I had cancer, there was one thing I knew without a doubt. Given the way my life had been going - survival meant change. If I wanted something other than the dis-ease, illness and loss I had been experiencing I needed to change. Instead of continuing to run myself into the ground trying to change my external circumstances I had to change from the inside.

Thankfully, I was able to take medical leave from my job during chemo so I could finally heed the battle cry of change my body had been shouting. Trying to figure out how to change my life felt overwhelming and I didn't know where to start, so naturally I did the only thing I knew how to do really well - research and data gathering. I read books, listened to seminars and trainings on mindfulness, meditation, Ayurveda and other holistic healing modalities, and what I learned blew my mind wide open. I had always been intrigued by the wisdom and practices of eastern traditions, but I hadn’t put anything I’d previously learned into practice consistently.

That wasn’t an option for me anymore…I had to find a way to lessen the stress and pressure I had put on myself. So I started meditating regularly and using the procedures and side effects of treatment as a laboratory for my newfound mindfulness practices -- and to my giant surprise, it worked! Pain was more tolerable when I paid attention to it and stopped resisting it- seriously who would have thought?!? Tough emotions I had habitually buried for fear of being swallowed in their intensity were cathartic and actually shifted into acceptance or peace when I could be present enough to ride the whole wave of the emotion as it ebbed and flowed.

I learned how to be aware of my thoughts and focus my attention and having that awareness allowed me to see the stories I was telling myself that caused unnecessary fear and anxiety and gave me a choice to let the story go without getting wrapped up in it. Of course, I still had many moments of anxiety, despair and poor me -- after all I was bald from chemo, a uni-boob (as I lovingly referred to myself for the year between my mastectomy and reconstruction) and recently thrust into medically induced menopause while battling cancer! I mean, I was bound to have some super crappy moments. But I was present with my emotions and held myself and my experience with compassion and acceptance as best I could even during those dark times.

As I continued to practice being present, I realized that I no longer desperately searched for the "other side" of cancer, my mind wasn’t constantly wandering to the what-if's and the how-will-life-be's. Instead, I had many moments of acceptance, surrender, peace, and gratitude every single day. It felt amazing, but also very unfamiliar.


Contemplating this unfamiliar sense of stillness one day, I silently wondered what am I feeling and I heard a voice in my head respond with "Home….you've come home." When I let go of the death grip I had on all the qualifiers of how life needed to be in order for me to be happy and ok, I found my center, my true self, and it felt like coming home. I felt a belonging and recognition -- like ahhh, there you are, I've been searching for you but I didn't know it was you I was searching for!


That sense of being home, being in my center, is the gift I received by allowing cancer to wake me up to my life, and I continue to carry it with me 7 years later. Yes, I still get knocked off course. Yes, I have REALLY hard days and I'm as far from perfect as the next spirit in a human suit. But I catch myself quickly (most of the time) if I get knocked off center and more importantly I know how to get back home. I can definitively say that I don't want cancer again, and I can just as definitively profess that I am grateful for the experience because I learned so much about life and about myself. I have far more tolerance for uncertainty and change, resilience for days, trust in myself and the flow of life, and an inner knowing that I am supported and exactly where I need to be.


You are loved, you are supported, and you matter. Much love to you.


____________________________________________________________________________


Courtney Proctor is a Certified Spiritual Life Coach who helps women clarify what they truly want, reconnect with who they really are and step into their fullest potential. She is also a HeartMath® Certified Mentor and offers individual and group classes for building resilience. You can learn more about her services at atmancollective.com or send an email to courtney@atmancollective.com.


Subscribe to our mailing list and receive weekly inspiration directly to your inbox! 
Copy of Copy of Copy of Untitled Design