页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

冷冻疗法:它能在您的乳腺癌治疗过程中提供帮助吗?



冷冻疗法冷冻疗法是一种使用接近冰点或冰冻温度的治疗方法。它通过收缩血管发挥作用,从而减少流向特定部位的血液。虽然减少血流量似乎有悖常理,但通过减少身体发炎部位的血流量,有助于减轻相关肿胀和不适。它还可以通过减少神经活动来改善疼痛。


冷冻疗法对以下问题尤其有帮助 神经病变神经病变是指外周神经系统(大脑和脊髓以外的任何神经元)出现功能障碍。常见症状包括刺痛或麻木、疼痛、感觉变化(如感觉能力增强或减弱)、协调能力丧失或肌肉无力。


虽然神经病变最常见于糖尿病,但由于某些化疗或放射治疗会对神经造成损伤,因此乳腺癌患者也有患病风险。 神经损伤. 高达 30% 或 40% 的化疗患者会出现某种程度的神经病变,因此冷冻疗法是一种简单有效的方法,许多乳腺癌患者和幸存者都可以通过这种方法来控制潜在的症状、 和治疗后的潜在症状。




在特定化疗期间同时对手脚进行冷冻治疗 已被证明通过限制药物攻击肢体敏感神经的能力,有助于抑制未来神经病变的发展。乳腺癌患者在接受特定化疗时,可考虑使用冷疗法,其中包括类固醇类药物,如 紫杉醇(紫杉醇)或 多西他赛 (Taxotere),这种药物通常用于转移性乳腺癌患者。服用某些化疗药物的次数越多,发生周围神经病变的风险就越高:增加剂量、治疗频率或使用联合疗法都会增加神经损伤的风险。在治疗时使用冷疗法,可以更有效地减轻未来神经病变的发生。


您也可以在家中使用冷疗法来帮助缓解神经病变症状。使用冷疗法看起来 简单在发炎部位使用冰袋或用冰浴来帮助缓解全身疼痛。或者,如果您想要更强的治疗效果,并且有足够的资源,也可以在家里购买专业的冷冻治疗设备,包括液氮冷冻的 冷冻风扇用于特定身体部位的治疗或全身冷冻疗法。


冷冻疗法是一种较新的癌症治疗方法,由于它可以减少血液流动,因此存在以下风险 风险需要考虑的风险。不建议患有糖尿病等其他疾病的人使用这种疗法,因为他们发现潜在组织损伤的能力已经降低。如果使用时间过长,冷冻疗法有可能导致皮肤灼伤或刺激、体温过低,或加重高血压等心血管问题。如果您不确定冷冻疗法是否适合您,最好咨询医疗保健提供商。

 

如果您有兴趣亲自尝试冷冻疗法,请查看我们的合作伙伴 NatraCure合作伙伴提供的产品:



最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Cryotherapy: Could it Help During Your Breast Cancer Journey?



Cryotherapy, or cold therapy, is any kind of treatment that uses near-freezing or freezing temperatures. It works by constricting blood vessels, which in turn can reduce blood flow to a particular area. While it may seem counterintuitive to want to reduce blood flow, by doing so to an area of the body with inflammation, it can help reduce associated swelling and discomfort. It also can help improve pain by reducing nerve activity.


Cryotherapy can be especially helpful for issues such as neuropathy, where the peripheral nervous system (any neurons outside of the brain and spinal cord) are malfunctioning. Common symptoms include tingling or numbness, pain, sensation changes such as an increased or decreased ability to feel things, loss of coordination, or muscle weakness.


While neuropathy is most common with diabetes, those with breast cancer are at risk given that some chemotherapies or radiation treatments can cause nerve damage. Up to 30 or 40% of people undergoing chemotherapy develop neuropathy to some degree, so cryotherapy is a simple, effective way that many breast cancer patients and those in survivorship can help manage the potential symptoms, both during and after treatments.




Concurrent administration of cryotherapy to hands and feet during specific chemotherapy treatments has been shown to help inhibit future neuropathy development, by limiting the ability for the drug to attack sensitive nerves in the limbs. Specific chemotherapies that have been considered with cold therapy for breast cancer are taxanes such as pacitaxel (Taxol), or docetaxel (Taxotere), which is commonly given to those with metastatic breast cancer. The more you take certain chemotherapies, the higher your risk for peripheral neuropathy: increasing dosage, frequency of treatment, or using a combination therapy can put you at a greater risk of nerve damage. By using cold therapy at the time of treatment, you may be able to more effectively mitigate the onset of future neuropathy.


Cold therapy is also something that you can use at home to help with neuropathy symptoms. Using cold therapy can look as simple as using an ice pack on an inflamed area or using an ice bath to help with generalized body pain. Or, if you want something stronger and have the resources for it, it’s also possible to get professional cryotherapy equipment for your home, including liquid nitrogen-chilled cryofans for specific body area treatments or whole-body cryosaunas.


Cryotherapy is a newer therapy in cancer care, and because it can reduce blood flow, there are risks that need to be considered. It’s not recommended for people with other medical conditions such as diabetes, where your ability to detect potential tissue damage is already reduced. If used for too long, cryotherapy can potentially result in skin burns or irritation, hypothermia, or the exacerbation of cardiovascular issues such as high blood pressure. It’s best to consult a healthcare provider if you’re unsure if cryotherapy is right for you.

 

If you're interested in trying out cryotherapy for yourself, check out some of the many products that our partners at NatraCure have to offer:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page