页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

金融毒素--让我们排毒吧


特约编辑 Madhumitha Sabhanayagam 撰文

"关注健康是人生最大的障碍"。 柏拉图

"金钱买不到幸福" "金钱不能保证你的健康"。 我们都听过这些名言,甚至连我们自己都会这么说。是的,这些都是名言,但有了钱,不用再担心 "我是否负担得起下一次癌症预防/补救治疗",肯定会让我笑得更灿烂,晚上睡得更安稳。

我们都知道治疗癌症的费用有多高。但我们却没有意识到,在癌症病人背负所有其他负担之外,他们还承受着沉重的经济负担。


昂贵的治疗费用所带来的负面影响促使人们创造了一个新的流行词:财务毒性。财务毒性是指癌症治疗费用所造成的情绪、精神、身体以及威胁生命的财务压力。瑞安-尼普博士(请收听我们将于周一播出的他的播客)。


金融毒害可能会持续多年,形成最恶性的循环。 举个例子:为了赴约,我们可能会被要求旷工,我们可能需要支付日托费用,以便在您接受放射治疗时照看孩子,或者您可能需要支付旅行费用。 在某些情况下,癌症可能会导致你无法工作。然后,你必须吃得健康。我们都知道健康饮食是多么昂贵。(一份 7.00 美元的沙拉和一个 1.99 美元的芝士汉堡有什么区别?) 这些都发生在治疗阶段,然后是治疗后的护理。您仍然需要每年进行一次体检。 你仍然需要坚持服用抗癌药物。 你仍然要保持饮食健康。你以前能够胜任或担任的工作可能不属于你,或者你可能无法胜任。

经济压力也会对家庭造成损害。 它会使人际关系紧张,导致家庭动态发生变化。所有这一切都很难独自驾驭和解决。有许多边缘化群体无法获得有关财务毒性的知识,最后难免被账单淹没,背上沉重的债务。 尼普医生主张,即使你觉得自己没有经历财务毒性,也要与治疗团队讨论财务问题。对有些人来说,这是一个声望问题,对有些人来说,这是一个缺乏知识的问题,对有些人来说,他们不知道自己的财务状况如何,因为他们不是家庭的经济支柱。



与治疗顾问交谈可以帮助您找出替代方案,以减少对您经济的影响。例如,根据您的预后情况,您可以每两周来一次,而不是每周来一次;您的医生可以开出替代药物,这样您的保险就可以支付了。我们可以从这些方面入手。很多时候,向你的咨询师提出这个话题可能会帮助他们提出正确的问题,从而推动问题得到妥善、经济的解决。如今,金融毒害仍是一个新鲜的话题,它的发展势头越来越猛,因此,人们正在进行更多的研究,以探讨这一现象以及如何更好地帮助患者应对这一问题。癌症的预后并不容易应对,但确保您在财务方面保持领先的最好办法就是诚实地面对自己和团队。他们会帮助你。


最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Financial Toxicity - Let’s Detox


By Contributing Editor, Madhumitha Sabhanayagam

“Attention to health is life's greatest hindrance." Plato

“Money can't buy happiness.” “Money will not guarantee you health.” We have all heard these quotes and even we are guilty of speaking so. Yeah, these are true quotes, but having money and not having to worry about how “am I going to afford my next cancer-preventing/remediation treatment definitely would help me smile a little bigger, and sleep easier at night.

We all know how expensive cancer can be to deal with. What we fail to realize and ignore at our peril is the adversarial effect of the financial burden inflicted on cancer patients on top of all the other burdens they carry.


The negative effects of expensive treatment have warranted the coining of a new buzz word; financial toxicity. Financial toxicity is the emotional, mental, physical, life-threatening financial stress caused by cancer treatment costs. Dr. Ryan Nipp (catch our podcast with him coming out on Monday.)


Financial toxicity can linger for years, and represents a most vicious cycle. For example: To make appointments, we may be required to miss work, we may have to pay for daycare for the children to be watched while you are at radiation sessions, or you may have to cover travel costs.  In some cases, your cancer could render you unable to work. Then you have to eat healthily. And we all know how expensive eating healthy can be. (How is a salad, $7.00 and a cheeseburger $1.99?).  This occurs during the treatment phase and then there is post-treatment care. You still have to get yearly check-ups.  You still have to keep up with post-cancer medications.  And you still are eating healthy. The job you were once capable of performing or holding before,  may not be yours, or you may not be capable of performing.

Financial stress can also take a toll on families.  It can strain relationships and cause changes in family dynamics. All of this can be hard to navigate and untangle on your own. There are many marginalized communities that do not have the access to gain knowledge about financial toxicity Who inevitably get swamped with bills at the end and are left with crippling debt. Dr. Nipp, advocates for talking to your treatment team about finances even if you feel like you are not experiencing financial toxicity. To some it is a prestige issue, to some, it is a lack of knowledge and to some, they don't know what their finances are because they are not the breadwinner of the family.



Talking to your treatment counselor could help you figure out alternatives to help reduce the toll on your finances. For example, based on your prognosis, you could come in bi-weekly instead of weekly, your doctor could prescribe an alternative medication so that your insurance can cover it. These are some of the areas we could start with. A lot of the time, opening the topic up with your counselor may help them ask the right question to drive towards a proper, economic solution to the problem.Financial toxicity is still fresh on the scene today. It is a topic gaining more momentum and thus more research is being done to study the phenomenon and how to best assist patients to combat it. A Cancer prognosis is no easy thing to deal with, but the best way to make sure you stay ahead of your finances is to be honest with yourself and your team. They are there to help.


Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page