页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

从点滴中发现一件好事

作者:斯蒂芬妮-哈吉斯




我叫斯蒂芬妮-哈吉斯。我今年 26 岁,已婚,有一个 4 岁的女儿。2022 年 3 月,我发现右侧乳房有一个肿块,于是去看了医生。我和护士、医生都认为这可能只是淋巴结肿大,因为肿块很痛,我没有癌症家族史,而且我当时只有 25 岁。 年仅 25 岁.


在做了超声波检查和活组织检查后,我被诊断为 二期三阴性浸润性导管癌。当时,我正在完成社会工作学士学位的最后一年。我不想停止上学,因为我知道我可以用它来分散对癌症治疗的注意力。


我的肿瘤医生使用了我的血样,并将其提交给 Myriad Genetics 公司进行基因检测。我没有见遗传咨询师。肿瘤外科医生告诉我,我可以等结果出来再决定做什么手术。我已经下定决心要做双乳切除手术,因此决定不再等待。


2022 年 4 月,我做了双乳切除手术。事实证明,我的选择是正确的!我的 BRCA 1 基因突变.这种基因突变使我有罹患卵巢癌的风险,因此我需要在几年后接受手术切除卵巢。我记得当时我觉得自己是个 "缺陷",因为我的家族中没有人得过癌症。乳房切除手术两天后,我又因肺部完全塌陷而住院一周。


那年六月,我开始接受化疗(多柔比星和赛妥昔),万圣节那天完成了治疗。12 月,我以优异的成绩从德克萨斯大学阿灵顿分校毕业。我继续接受检查和多次扫描。


2023 年 4 月,我发现 癌症复发了.实际上,我没有任何症状,也没有感觉到任何异样。在任何手术和植入物之前,我更容易发现自己身体的异常。肿瘤专家要求我做正电子发射计算机断层扫描,结果显示没有问题。不到两周后,我约见了肿瘤外科医生,她摸到了一个奇怪的肿块。我不得不去做超声波检查和活检,就这样我又发现了癌症。


我不得不接受更多的扫描,以确保癌细胞没有扩散,幸好没有扩散。五月,我再次接受了手术。这次我做了肿块切除术,并取出了 12 个淋巴结,幸好检测结果显示没有癌症。我必须接受物理治疗,才能让手臂恢复正常活动。 


巧合的是,我开始接受化疗和 免疫疗法2023 年 6 月,就在我前一年开始化疗的同一天。我接受的化疗是吉西他滨和卡铂,这让我感觉非常不舒服。我接受的免疫疗法是 Keytruda。


2023 年 10 月 27 日,我完成了化疗和第一部分免疫疗法。目前我正在接受放射治疗。我总共要接受 20 次放疗。我已经完成了将近一半的疗程,感觉和看起来都像被晒伤了。我将于 2024 年 1 月 18 日完成放疗,并于 2 月 13 日开始接受更多的免疫疗法。


2023 年 8 月,我开始攻读UTA 的高级社会工作硕士课程,如果一切顺利,我将于 2024 年 8 月完成学业。这段经历充满了坎坷,但我很庆幸今天还能在这里奋斗和坚持。


我接受治疗的时间越长,就越发现自己 在化疗脑和疲劳中挣扎.有些时候我似乎无法下床,但我很庆幸我的女儿能够理解我,她知道那些日子里我只能依偎在她身边看电影。在其他日子里,我可以做更多的事情,和她以及我们的小狗一起在外面玩耍。


在我第一次化疗期间,化疗脑会让我非常沮丧,尤其是在学校的时候。我会哭着离开学校,因为我无法记住考试和测验所需的信息。随着时间的推移,我学会了对自己保持耐心,并像 蓝色线索一样,用手机上的记事本输入我一天中需要的信息。有机会的话,我还会做一些不同类型的谜题来刺激自己的思维。


我想给刚刚确诊的人的建议是,尽情享受生活,实现自己的目标,因为癌症不能也不会阻止你。 在每一个细小的瞬间找到一件好事,并专注于此,以度过糟糕的时光。



谢谢你分享你的故事,斯蒂芬妮!



与斯蒂芬妮联系




阅读更多









播客 乳腺癌对话


是的,我得了癌症,但我的孩子怎么办?



提交您的故事




最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Find One Good Thing in Every Little Moment

By Stephanie Hargis




My name is Stephanie Hargis. I am 26 years old, married, and have a four-year-old daughter. In March 2022, I found a lump in my right breast and went to the doctor. I, along with my nurses and doctors, thought it could’ve just been a swollen lymph node since the lump was painful, I had no family history of cancer, and I was only 25 years old


After doing a sonogram and a biopsy, I was diagnosed with stage 2 triple negative invasive ductal carcinoma. At the time, I was finishing up the last year of my bachelor’s degree in social work. I didn’t want to stop going to school because I knew I could use that as a distraction from cancer treatment.


My oncologist used my blood sample and submitted it to Myriad Genetics for genetic testing. I did not meet with a genetic counselor. I was told by the surgical oncologist that I could wait for the results in order to make a decision about what surgery to do. I had made up my mind on doing a double mastectomy and decided to not wait.


In April 2022 I had a double mastectomy. It turns out I made a good choice! I tested positive for the BRCA 1 gene mutation. This gene mutation puts me at risk for ovarian cancer, so I will need to have surgery in a couple of years to have my ovaries removed. I remember feeling like I was “defective” because no one else in my family had cancer. Two days after my mastectomy, I was back in the hospital for a week because of a fully collapsed lung.


I started chemotherapy (doxorubicin and Cytoxan) that June, and completed my treatment on Halloween. I graduated magna cum laude from The University of Texas at Arlington in December. I continued going to check ups and getting multiple scans.


In April 2023, I found out the cancer was back. I actually did not have any symptoms and did not feel anything different. It was much easier to notice something out of the ordinary on my body before any surgery and implants. The oncologist had ordered a PET scan and that came back clear. Less than two weeks later, I had an appointment with my surgical oncologist where she felt a strange lump. I had to go do a sonogram and biopsy, and that is how I found out about the cancer again.


I had to have more scans done to make sure it hadn’t spread, which thankfully it hadn’t. In May I had surgery again. This time I had a lumpectomy and 12 lymph nodes taken out, which thankfully tested negative for cancer. I had to do physical therapy to get my arm moving like normal again. 


Coincidentally, I started chemo and immunotherapy in June 2023, on the same day that I had started chemo the year before. The chemo I was administered was gemcitabine and carboplatin, which made me feel really sick. The immunotherapy I received was Keytruda.


On October 27, 2023, I finished chemo and the first part of immunotherapy. I am currently going through radiation. I have to do a total of 20 sessions. I am almost halfway done and I am experiencing what feels and looks like a sunburn. I will be completing radiation on January 18, 2024 and starting more immunotherapy on February 13.


In August 2023 I started the advanced standing master’s program for social work at UTA and if everything goes well, I will be done in August 2024. This experience has been full of ups and downs, but I feel blessed to still be here today fighting and pushing through.


The longer I have been in treatment, the more I find myself struggling with chemo brain and fatigue. Some days I cannot seem to get out of bed, but I am thankful that my daughter is understanding and knows those days are all about snuggles and movies. Other days I can get more things done and play outside with her and our puppy.


During my first chemo experience, chemo brain would frustrate me so much, especially while being in school. I would leave school crying because I was unable to memorize information that I would need for tests and quizzes. Over time I have learned to be patient with myself, and to be like Steve from Blue’s Clues and use my handy dandy notepad on my phone to type things I need throughout the day. When I have a chance, I work on different types of puzzles to help stimulate my mind.


A piece of advice that I would give someone who just got diagnosed would be to live your life to the max and reach your goals because cancer cannot and will not stop you. Find one good thing in every little moment and focus on that to get through the bad times.



Thank you for sharing your story, Stephanie!



Connect with Stephanie:




Read More:









On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Yes, I Have Cancer, But What About My Kids?



Submit Your Story:




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page