页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

年轻女性乳腺癌:常见问题解答

作者:Linh Luong



乳腺癌主要在绝经后的老年妇女中确诊。只有 25% 的病例发生在 50 岁以下的女性身上(Ganz,2003 年)。但近年来,这一年龄组的 然而,近年来,这一年龄组的病例急剧增加。2010 年至 2019 年间,30 至 39 岁年龄段的诊断人数激增了 19.4%,而 20 至 29 岁年龄段的诊断人数则增加了 5.3% (Morris et al.莫里斯等人,2023 年).人口趋势的这一变化在医学界引发了重大问题和担忧。继续阅读,了解 年轻女性罹患乳腺癌的风险因素以及有关诊断、治疗和预防的信息。



为什么年轻女性患乳腺癌的人数越来越多?


导致年轻女性乳腺癌发病率呈上升趋势的风险因素有很多。其中一个值得注意的因素是生活方式的改变,包括 口服避孕药、推迟生育和减少母乳喂养。


如今,妇女在选择自己喜欢的避孕方法时有了灵活的选择。 避孕方法。在这些选择中,口服避孕药最受欢迎。这些避孕药的主要成分是人工合成的雌激素,因此人们担心它会对癌细胞的发展产生潜在影响。根据 国家癌症研究所目前的口服避孕药使用者患癌症的风险增加了 24%,但并没有随着长期使用而增加。值得注意的是,这种风险在停止使用口服避孕药后开始下降,在停止使用十年后风险没有明显增加。然而,必须强调的是,口服避孕药导致乳腺癌的总体风险 仍然很低,这表明其他因素也可能是造成这一现象的原因。


怀孕是影响女性患乳腺癌几率的已知因素之一。早产的女性 患乳腺癌的风险较低随着年龄的增长。另一方面 35 岁后怀孕则会增加 患乳腺癌的风险.在怀孕期间,乳腺细胞会加速生长,这意味着这些细胞中任何已存在的遗传损伤都可能引发异常生长,从而导致乳腺癌。同时,随着年龄的增长,出现这些损伤的几率也会增加,这就有助于解释为什么初次分娩推迟会导致乳腺癌风险增加。


母乳喂养在降低女性罹患乳腺癌风险方面的作用已得到公认。女性患乳腺癌的风险。研究表明,母乳喂养每 12 个月,患乳腺癌的相对风险就会降低 4.3%,此外,每次分娩的风险也会降低 7.0%(Stordal,2023 年)。这种保护作用归因于妇女在哺乳期间经历的荷尔蒙变化,这可能会推迟她的月经周期。这种延迟会有效降低女性接触雌激素等荷尔蒙的机会,而众所周知,雌激素与乳腺癌风险的增加有关。综上所述 母乳喂养的下降趋势母乳喂养与年轻女性乳腺癌发病率的增加有潜在的关联。 年轻女性乳腺癌发病率的增加有潜在的关联。



年轻女性乳腺癌患者面临的独特挑战


乳腺癌 患乳腺癌的风险随着年龄的增长而增加、 70岁以上的女性患乳腺癌的风险最高. 由于年轻女性患乳腺癌的风险相对较低,她们会遇到 独特的挑战:


  • 提高认识:年轻女性可能对自我检查或识别乳腺癌症状的警惕性不高 乳腺癌症状.她们可能会将乳房肿块或异常分泌物等异常现象与荷尔蒙波动联系起来。此外 医疗服务提供者也可能会忽视年轻女性的这些症状以 "等等看 "的态度对待年轻女性的这些症状。

  • 乳房密度:由于年轻女性的乳房比年长女性的乳房更致密,因此更难发现癌症。 乳房密度越高,乳房 X 光检查就越难发现异常。通常会导致假阴性结果。

  • 筛查指南:现行的美国预防服务工作组(USPSTF)筛查指南(20162016)建议50至74岁的女性每两年进行一次乳腺X光筛查。但值得注意的是 可能的更新该指南建议从 40 岁开始进行乳房 X 光检查。由于 通常不建议年轻女性进行乳房 X 光检查因此,更难对年轻女性的乳腺癌进行早期诊断。

  • 不同类型的乳腺癌:年轻女性更容易患上侵袭性较强的 侵袭性较强的类型如三阴性乳腺癌,这种癌症通常对治疗的反应较低。


年轻女性接受乳腺癌治疗的副作用


年轻女性接受乳腺癌治疗可能会产生各种副作用,这取决于乳腺癌的分期、类型和所使用的治疗方法。 年轻女性常见的副作用可能包括


  • 对外表不满意:切除乳腺癌的外科手术,如肿块切除术和乳房切除术,会使患者的外貌发生显著变化。此外,化疗也会导致脱发,放射治疗会导致肤色改变。这些变化会导致患者对自己的外貌不满意。

  • 认知功能障碍:某些化疗药物会直接影响大脑功能(通常称为 "化疗脑化疗脑"),雌激素水平的变化也会影响认知功能。这些变化会导致记忆力减退、注意力难以集中和精力不足。

  • 生育能力: 化疗和放疗会损伤卵巢,导致卵巢停止排卵和分泌雌激素。激素治疗会扰乱月经周期,从而影响女性的生育能力。 药物引起的更年期和其他生育能力变化可能是暂时性的,也可能是永久性的。

  • 性健康:化疗会降低雌激素水平,导致阴道干涩和灼热。这反过来又会导致性交疼痛和不适。这个问题严重影响 生活质量患者的生活质量。

  • 心理挑战: 年轻女性似乎比年长女性 比年长女性经历更严重的心理困扰主要原因是担心丧失生育能力、身体形象改变和性功能障碍。


年轻女性能否降低罹患乳腺癌的风险?


虽然年轻女性患乳腺癌的几率无法完全避免,但个人可以采取一些措施来 降低风险并增加 早期发现:


  • 保持健康的生活方式:选择富含蔬菜、水果和瘦肉蛋白以及低饱和脂肪的均衡饮食。 定期锻炼每周至少进行 150 分钟中等强度的运动。

  • 母乳喂养:长期母乳喂养有助于降低患乳腺癌的风险。

  • 限制激素替代疗法或口服避孕药:尽量减少激素水平的变化可以降低患乳腺癌的风险。

  • 限制饮酒:即使少量饮酒也与乳腺癌风险升高有关 乳腺癌风险升高有关.考虑完全戒酒。如果您选择饮酒,建议您将酒精摄入量限制在每天不超过一杯。

  • 遗传咨询:如果您有乳腺癌家族史,建议您寻求 遗传咨询和检测以了解自己患乳腺癌的风险。


乳腺癌给年轻女性带来了独特的挑战。尽早诊断乳腺癌会产生重大影响。 虽然乳腺癌在年轻女性中较少见,但早期发现对治疗效果有很大影响。


通过了解信息、保持健康的生活方式,以及在出现任何相关症状时及时就医,我们可以增强自己的能力,在乳腺癌最早期、最容易治疗的阶段发现它。 乳房健康应该是每个人生阶段女性的首要任务。




了解更多信息:









播客 乳腺癌对话


35 岁以下确诊并经营企业。谁有时间治疗癌症?


了解乳腺癌筛查方式



引用作品


Assi HA, Khoury KE, Dbouk H, Khalil LE, Mouhieddine TH, El Saghir NS.年轻女性乳腺癌的流行病学和预后。J Thorac Dis.2013 Jun;5 Suppl 1(Suppl 1):S2-8. doi: 10.3978/j.issn.2072-1439.2013.05.24.PMID:23819024;PMCID:PMC3695538。


美国妇女患乳腺癌的风险。国家癌症研究所。(n.d.-a). https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/risk-fact-sheet


母乳喂养。数据与统计:事实。疾病控制和预防中心。(n.d.) https://www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/data/facts.html


我能降低罹患乳腺癌的风险吗?美国癌症协会。(n.d.-a). https://www.cancer.org/cancer/types/breast-cancer/risk-and-prevention/can-i-lower-my-risk.html

​​

Chakravarthi, B. V. S. K., & Varambally, S. (2013, December 31). 瞄准妊娠晚期与乳腺癌之间的联系eLife. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3874101/ `。


最终建议声明。乳腺癌:筛查。美国预防服务工作组。(n.d.) https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/recommendation/breast-cancer-screening


Gabriel, C.A. and Domchek, S.M. Breast cancer in young women.12, 212 (2010). https://doi.org/10.1186/bcr2647


Ganz, Patricia A. 等人,"年轻妇女的乳腺癌:治疗对生殖和晚期健康的影响"。临床肿瘤学杂志》21.22(2003 年):4184-4193.


荷尔蒙避孕与乳腺癌风险。ACOG.(2022). https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/practice-advisory/articles/2018/01/hormonal-contraception-and-risk-of-breast-cancer


Joly F., Lange M., Dos Santos M., Vaz-Luis I., and Di Meglio A. Long-Term Fatigue and Cognitive Disorders in Breast Cancer Survivors.癌症》(巴塞尔)。2019 Nov 28;11(12):1896. Doi: 10.3390/cancers11121896.PMID: 31795208; PMCID: PMC6966680.


Morris, A., Bever, L., & Malhi, S. (2023, August 27)。越来越多的年轻女性罹患乳腺癌。她们想要答案。华盛顿邮报》。https://www.washingtonpost.com/wellness/2023/08/22/breast-cancer-young-women-increase/


口服避孕药(避孕药)与癌症风险。国家癌症研究所。(n.d.). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/hormones/oral-contraceptives-fact-sheet


生育史与癌症风险。国家癌症研究所。(n.d.-e). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/hormones/reproductive-history-fact-sheet


Rose、Townley Bakewell 和 Deborah L. Volker。"与年轻乳腺癌女性治疗相关的性功能障碍》。肿瘤护理临床期刊》9.6(2005 年):697-702.ProQuest.Web.9 Sep. 2023.


乳腺癌筛查。美国预防服务工作组。(n.d.) https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/files/breast-cancer/Breast_Cancer_DRS_Consumer_Guide.pdf


癌症治疗的副作用。国家癌症研究所。(n.d.-d). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects


Stordal B.,《母乳喂养降低乳腺癌风险》:呼吁母乳喂养率低的高收入国家采取行动。Cancer Med.Doi: 10.1002/cam4.5288.Epub 2022 Sep 26.PMID: 36164270; PMCID: PMC9972148.



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer in Young Women: Common Questions Answered

By Linh Luong



Breast cancer is primarily diagnosed among older women, after menopause. Only 25% of cases occur in women under 50 years old (Ganz, 2003). However, in recent years, the cases in this age group have increased tremendously. Between 2010 and 2019, the number of diagnoses surged by 19.4% for individuals aged 30 to 39, while for those aged 20 to 29, the increase was 5.3% (Morris et al., 2023). This shift in demographic trends has raised significant questions and concerns within the medical community. Continue reading to learn about risk factors for breast cancer in young women, as well as information about diagnosis, treatment, and prevention.



Why is breast cancer in young women increasing?


There are several risk factors contributing to this increasing trend of breast cancer in young women. One noteworthy factor is the change in lifestyle, including oral contraceptive usage, delayed childbirth, and decreased breastfeeding.


Nowadays, women have a flexible choice when selecting their preferred birth control methods. Among these options, oral contraceptives stand out as a popular choice. These pills contain synthetic estrogen as a key ingredient, leading to concern about its potential influence on the development of cancer cells. According to the National Cancer Institute, current oral contraceptive users had a 24% increase in risk that did not escalate with prolonged use. Notably, this risk started to decline after discontinuance of oral contraceptive use, with no discernible risk increase after a decade of cessation. However, it is essential to emphasize that the overall risk of breast cancer from oral contraceptives remains very low, indicating that other factors may also be contributing to this phenomenon.


Pregnancy is one of the known factors that can influence a woman’s chance of getting breast cancer. Women who give birth at an early age have a lower risk of developing breast cancer as they grow older. On the other hand, pregnancy after age 35 is linked to an increased risk of breast cancer. During pregnancy, breast cells experience accelerated growth, meaning that any pre-existing genetic damage within these cells can initiate abnormal growth, which can lead to breast cancer. Meanwhile, the chances of having these damages can go up with age, which helps explain why a delayed first childbirth can result in an increased risk of breast cancer.


Breastfeeding is recognized for its role in reducing the risk of breast cancer in women. Research has shown that for every 12 months of breastfeeding, the relative risk of breast cancer decreases by 4.3%, which is in addition to the 7.0% decrease in risk for each birth (Stordal 2023). This protective effect is attributed to the hormonal changes that a woman experiences during breastfeeding, which may delay her menstrual cycle. This delay effectively lowers her exposure to hormones like estrogen, which is known to be associated with an increased risk of breast cancer. With that being said, the declining trend in breastfeeding has shown a potential correlation with an increased rate of breast cancer among young women.



Unique challenges for young women with breast cancer


The risk of breast cancer increases with age, with the highest risk in women over 70. Since younger women have a comparatively lower risk, they encounter distinct challenges:


  • Awareness: Younger women may not be as vigilant with self-exams or about recognizing breast cancer symptoms. They might associate abnormalities, such as breast lumps or unusual discharge, with hormonal fluctuations. Additionally, healthcare providers may also dismiss these symptoms in younger women with a “wait and see” approach.

  • Breast density: Cancer detection is more difficult because younger women’s breasts are denser than those of older women. Higher breast density makes it harder to detect abnormalities on mammograms, often resulting in false negative results.

  • Screening guidelines: The current U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) screening guidelines (2016) recommend biennial screening mammography for women aged 50 to 74 years. Of note, however, is that a possible update to the USPSTF guidelines is currently in progress, in which the USPSTF recommends mammograms starting at age 40. With mammograms not typically recommended for younger women, it’s more difficult to diagnose young women’s breast cancer early.

  • Different types of breast cancer: Younger women are more prone to developing more aggressive types, such as triple-negative breast cancer, which typically exhibits lower responsiveness to treatment.


Side effects of breast cancer treatment in young women


Breast cancer treatment in younger women can have various side effects, depending on the stage and type of breast cancer and the treatment used. Common side effects in younger women may include:


  • Dissatisfaction about appearance: Surgical procedures to remove breast cancer, such as lumpectomies and mastectomies, cause significant changes in a person’s physical appearance. Moreover, chemotherapy can also cause hair loss, and radiation can cause changes in skin color. These changes can lead to dissatisfaction with one’s appearance.

  • Cognitive dysfunction: Certain chemotherapy drugs can have direct effects on brain function (often called “chemo brain”), and changes in estrogen levels also influence cognitive function. These alterations can result in memory loss, difficulties with concentration, and low energy levels.

  • Fertility: Chemotherapy and radiation can damage the ovaries, causing them to stop releasing eggs and producing estrogen. Hormone therapy can disturb the menstrual cycle, which may affect women’s fertility. Medically-induced menopause and other fertility changes may be temporary or permanent.

  • Sexual health: Chemotherapy can lower estrogen levels, causing vaginal dryness and burning. In turn, this can lead to pain and discomfort during sexual intercourse. This issue significantly affects quality of life for affected individuals.

  • Psychological challenges: Younger women appear to experience more significant psychological distress than their older counterparts, largely driven by concerns about fertility loss, changes in body image, and sexual dysfunction.


Can younger women lower the risk of breast cancer?


While breast cancer in younger women cannot always be prevented entirely, there are steps individuals can take to reduce their risk and increase the chances of early detection:


  • Maintain a healthy lifestyle: Opt for a balanced diet rich in vegetables, fruits, and lean protein and low in saturated fat. Exercise regularly, aiming for at least 150 minutes of moderate-intensity exercise per week.

  • Breastfeeding: When done for an extended period, breastfeeding can help lower breast cancer risk.

  • Limit hormone replacement therapy or oral contraceptives: Minimizing changes in hormone levels can reduce the risk of breast cancer.

  • Limit alcohol consumption: Consuming even a small amount of alcohol has been associated with an elevated risk of breast cancer. Consider abstaining from alcohol entirely. If you choose to drink, it is recommended that you limit alcohol intake to no more than one alcoholic drink per day.

  • Genetic counseling: If you have a family history of breast cancer, it is advisable to seek genetic counseling and testing to learn more about your own risk of breast cancer.


Breast cancer presents unique challenges for young women. Diagnosing breast cancer as early as possible can have a significant impact. While it is less common in younger women, early detection can make a substantial difference in treatment outcomes.


By staying informed, maintaining a healthy lifestyle, and seeking timely medical attention for any concerning symptoms, we can empower ourselves to detect breast cancer at its earliest and most treatable stage. Breast health should be a priority for women in every stage of life.




Learn More:









On the Podcast: Breast Cancer Conversations


Diagnosed Under 35 and Running a Business. Who Has Time For Cancer?


Understanding Breast Cancer Screening Modalities



Works Cited


Assi HA, Khoury KE, Dbouk H, Khalil LE, Mouhieddine TH, El Saghir NS. Epidemiology and prognosis of breast cancer in young women. J Thorac Dis. 2013 Jun;5 Suppl 1(Suppl 1):S2-8. doi: 10.3978/j.issn.2072-1439.2013.05.24. PMID: 23819024; PMCID: PMC3695538.


Breast cancer risk in American women. National Cancer Institute. (n.d.-a). https://www.cancer.gov/types/breast/risk-fact-sheet


Breastfeeding. Data and Statistics: Facts. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (n.d.) https://www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/data/facts.html


Can I lower my risk of breast cancer? American Cancer Society. (n.d.-a). https://www.cancer.org/cancer/types/breast-cancer/risk-and-prevention/can-i-lower-my-risk.html

​​

Chakravarthi, B. V. S. K., & Varambally, S. (2013, December 31). Targeting the link between late pregnancy and breast cancer. eLife. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3874101/ `


Final Recommendation Statement. Breast Cancer: Screening. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. (n.d.) https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/recommendation/breast-cancer-screening


Gabriel, C.A., and Domchek, S.M. Breast cancer in young women. Breast Cancer Res. 12, 212 (2010). https://doi.org/10.1186/bcr2647


Ganz, Patricia A., et al., "Breast cancer in younger women: reproductive and late health effects of treatment." Journal of Clinical Oncology 21.22 (2003): 4184-4193.


Hormonal contraception and risk of breast cancer. ACOG. (2022). https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/practice-advisory/articles/2018/01/hormonal-contraception-and-risk-of-breast-cancer


Joly F., Lange M., Dos Santos M., Vaz-Luis I., and Di Meglio A. Long-Term Fatigue and Cognitive Disorders in Breast Cancer Survivors. Cancers (Basel). 2019 Nov 28;11(12):1896. doi: 10.3390/cancers11121896. PMID: 31795208; PMCID: PMC6966680.


Morris, A., Bever, L., & Malhi, S. (2023, August 27). More young women are getting breast cancer. They want answers. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/wellness/2023/08/22/breast-cancer-young-women-increase/


Oral contraceptives (birth control pills) and cancer risk. National Cancer Institute. (n.d.). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/hormones/oral-contraceptives-fact-sheet


Reproductive history and cancer risk. National Cancer Institute. (n.d.-e). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/causes-prevention/risk/hormones/reproductive-history-fact-sheet


Rose, Townley Bakewell, and Deborah L. Volker. "Sexual Dysfunction Related to the Treatment of Young Women with Breast Cancer." Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing 9.6 (2005): 697-702. ProQuest. Web. 9 Sep. 2023.


Screening for Breast Cancer. U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. (n.d.) https://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/files/breast-cancer/Breast_Cancer_DRS_Consumer_Guide.pdf


Side effects of cancer treatment. National Cancer Institute. (n.d.-d). https://www.cancer.gov/about-cancer/treatment/side-effects


Stordal B., Breastfeeding reduces the risk of breast cancer: A call for action in high-income countries with low rates of breastfeeding. Cancer Med. 2023 Feb;12(4):4616-4625. doi: 10.1002/cam4.5288. Epub 2022 Sep 26. PMID: 36164270; PMCID: PMC9972148.



Recent Posts

See All

The Now

2 kommentarer


gloriashoon
04 okt. 2023

Great article...thanks for sharing.

Gilla
Meghan
Meghan
04 okt. 2023
Svarar

Thanks for reading, Gloria!

Gilla

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP