页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

从诊断到倡导

作者:安-方法

我的故事

1993 年 1 月,我被诊断出患有乳腺小叶癌,但没有人告诉我这是多灶性乳腺癌。我们的乳房有乳腺叶和乳腺导管,因此有这种划分。当时,我患有极度的多重化学敏感症,这是一种至今仍未被发现的疾病。我避免了化疗、荷尔蒙治疗和放射治疗,通过手术和自然疗法生存下来。1997 年,我被告知由于胸壁上的一系列微小肿瘤,我的病情已经到了第四期,于是我在复杂的补充方案中加入了个性化的中药处方。如果当时能通过检测来确定我是否属于那一小部分受益者,我可能会接受激素治疗,如他莫昔芬或芳香化酶抑制剂。如今,可以通过检测来确定一个人是否会从化疗或激素治疗中获益。这是一大进步。


我没有使用天然的潜在替代膳食补充剂吲哚-3-甲醇或 DIIM。这两种保健品都经过了研究,尤其是由纽约威尔医学中心的一位医生进行的研究。请参见医学图书馆在线 pubmed.gov了解研究和更多信息。


我的主张

1999 年,我创立了安妮-阿普利西德项目(Annie Appleseed Project),这是一个全志愿者参与的非营利性癌症组织,旨在分享以证据为基础的辅助疗法(中西医结合肿瘤学)信息。作为一名乳腺癌倡导者,我曾在许多会议和活动上发言,接受过采访,并展示过海报。我的工作将继续为癌症患者以及肿瘤学领域的所有人提供教育和信息。安妮-阿普利西德项目(Annie Appleseed Project)提供了大量关于男性乳腺癌患者和女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋和变性者群体的信息。网站还设有国际部分。遗憾的是,2012 年和 2015 年,网站的规模和内容都遭到了削减。我们仍在努力更新网站,但与此同时,我们使用 Facebook 页面(非我的个人页面)提供最新的研究和文章、活动信息等。


作为乳腺癌社区宣传和参与工作的一部分,我是全国乳腺癌联盟(National Breast Cancer Coalition)的董事会成员,并且一直是期刊和国防部的积极赠款评审人,我还为这些期刊和国防部招募其他癌症幸存者。(如果您从未为国防部做过评审,但想进一步了解这项年度活动,请与我们联系)。请直接与我联系,因为我每年都会推荐乳腺癌幸存者作为消费者审稿人。有一个指导和培训计划--我们代表我们的社区,我们的观点和意见是 DOD 所欢迎的。


我为自己的工作感到非常自豪,但我并不把围绕中西医结合肿瘤学的兴趣归功于我个人。我是中西医结合肿瘤学会的特许倡导成员。也是 MASCC(多国癌症支持性治疗协会)的首位倡导成员。现在正是时候。


如今,肿瘤学领域的许多人都承认运动、改变营养、处理压力等的必要性和价值。 关于辅助疗法,最重要的一点是,它们必须与常规疗法同时进行,这样才能获得最佳疗效。幸运的是,它们也可能在治疗后发挥作用。ASCO(美国临床肿瘤学会)现在已经认识到并承认,传统医学在帮助我们的同时也会伤害我们。他们还没有准备好建议所有病人都接受这种治疗,也没有准备好建议保险支付这种治疗。我将继续希望并倡导这些观点。


未来展望

安妮-阿普尔西德项目希望于 2023 年 2 月 23-25 日在佛罗里达州西棕榈滩举办第 15 届教育大会。我们为晚期癌症患者(任何类型/所有类型)和无薪倡导者提供奖学金。除周五晚上的晚餐外,所有餐费均包含在 299 美元的费用中(多年来未增加)。演讲者来自美国各地和国外,代表了不同的医疗方法和专业。这是一个结识志同道合者的好地方;包括演讲者在内的所有人都一起吃午餐!两个上午都有免费的瑜伽课程--我们从周四下午开始,一直持续到周六傍晚。从机场到会议酒店有免费班车接送,还有可容纳 2-4 人的特价房。所有提供的食物都是有机食品,大部分都是当地种植的。我们的赠品袋向与会者介绍健康有趣的产品。


我希望能尽快恢复旅行,这样我就能成为一名现场倡导者,提出我所擅长的具有穿透力的重要问题。



--

在 Instagram 上与 Ann 联系:@annieappleseedpr

以及 Twitter:@annieappleseed


最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

From Diagnosed To Advocate

By Ann Fonfa

My Story

I was diagnosed with lobular breast cancer in January 1993 and was not told it was multi-focal. Our breasts have lobes and ducts, thus the delineation. At that time, I was suffering from extreme Multiple Chemical Sensitivity, a still not recognized illness. I avoided chemotherapy, hormonal, and radiation treatments using surgery and natural strategies to survive. I was told I was stage IV in 1997, due to a series of tiny tumors on the chest wall, so I then added personalized Chinese herbal prescriptions to a complex complementary protocol. I might have taken hormonal therapy such as Tamoxifen or an Aromatase Inhibitor if there had been a test to see if I was among the small percentage of those who would benefit. Nowadays, testing can be done to see if a person will benefit from chemotherapy or hormonal treatment. This is a great advance.


I didn’t use the natural, potential replacement dietary supplements Indole-3-carbinol or DIIM. Both have been studied, especially by a doctor at Weill Medical Center in NYC. See the Library of Medicine online pubmed.gov for studies and more information.


My Advocacy

In 1999, I founded Annie Appleseed Project, an all-volunteer cancer nonprofit to share evidence-based information on complementary therapies (Integrative Oncology). As a breast cancer advocate, I have spoken at many conferences and events, have been interviewed, and have presented posters. My work continues to educate and inform the community of people with cancer as well as all in oncology. The Annie Appleseed Project has presented substantial information on males with breast cancer and on the LGBT community. The website had an International section, as well. Unfortunately in 2012 and again in 2015, the site was cut in size and content. We are still working to update it, but meanwhile we use our Facebook page (not my personal page) to offer current studies and articles, information on events, etc.


As part of my advocacy work and engagement in the breast cancer community, I serve on the board of directors for the National Breast Cancer Coalition and have been an active grant reviewer for journals and the Dept. of Defense, for which I recruit other cancer survivors. (Get in touch if you have never reviewed for DOD, but would like to know more about this annual event.) Please contact me directly, as I recommend breast cancer survivors as Consumer reviewers each year. There is a mentoring and training program - our views and opinions as we represent our community, are what is welcome at DOD.


I am very proud of my work, but I don’t take personal credit for the interest around Integrative oncology. I was the charter Advocate member of the Society for Integrative Oncology. And first advocate member of MASCC (Multi-National Assoc. for Supportive Care in Cancer). It’s time is NOW.


Today, many in oncology acknowledge the need and value for exercise, nutritional changes, handling stress, and more. The most important thing about complementary therapies, is that they NEED to be done ALONG with conventional, at the same time in order to best benefit. Luckily, they may work afterwards also. ASCO (American Society for Clinical Oncology) has now recognized and acknowledged that conventional medicine does harm us even as it may help. They are not ready to recommend that ALL patients receive this care, nor that insurance cover it. That will come as I continue to hope and advocate for these points.


What’s On The Horizon

Annie Appleseed Project hopes to host our 15th educational conference February 23-25, 2023 in West Palm Beach, FL. We offer scholarships for people with advanced cancers (any/ all types) and also to unpaid Advocates. All meals except Friday night dinner are included in the $299 cost (not increased in years). Speakers come from all over the US and abroad, representing a variety of medical approaches and professions. It’s a great place to meet like-minded others; everyone eats lunch together including the speakers! There’s free yoga classes both mornings - we start Thursday afternoon and run through Saturday late afternoon. There’s a FREE shuttle from the airport to the conference hotel and reduced rate rooms are available that can sleep 2-4 people. All food served is organic and much is locally grown. Our giveaway bags introduce the participants to healthy and interesting products.


I hope to get back to traveling soon so that I can be an in-the-room Advocate and ask the penetrating and important questions I am known for.



--

Connect with Ann on Instagram: @annieappleseedpr

and on Twitter: @annieappleseed


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Spanish support group

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

October 2 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

October 3 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

October 10, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

October 16, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Fall into Meditation

October 17  6:40 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong 

October 24, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

November 5, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page