页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

变平和爆破手术


在整个十月的 "乳腺癌宣传月 "中,有几个特定的宣传日。例如,昨天(10 月 7 日)是 "平躺日"。这一天的设立是为了承认乳房切除术后选择平躺(而不是进行乳房再造手术)是确诊乳腺癌患者的有效选择。此外,一些原本在乳房切除术后进行乳房再造的妇女可能会选择在术后将假体取出。这就是所谓的 "切除 "手术。从一开始就选择 "平躺 "或在某个时候取出假体的原因有很多。请继续阅读选择这种方法的患者的故事,了解使用正确的语言描述您所期望的结果的重要性,即 平整美观的闭合平整或移除现有假体的利弊,以及这对您来说是否是一个好的选择。



播客插曲 #48根治性乳房切除术与平躺--采访 Alicia Duncan

在本期节目中,乳腺癌幸存者团队讨论了艾丽西亚与第三期乳腺癌诊断和失去乳房的斗争。团队强调了快速的癌症诊断会如何影响一个人的心理健康,以及癌症治愈后可能出现的创伤后应激障碍。最后,艾丽西娅解释了她的纹身,艾丽西娅和安吉拉还讨论了作为照顾者所需要的力量。 立即收听。


关于扁平化的明智决策

2019 年,Devorah 在局部复发后接受了双乳切除术。她一直知道自己不想要乳房再造,她感到幸运的是,她的乳房外科医生告诉了她 "不穿衣服运动",并尊重了她的选择。Devorah 还是 501(c)(3) 组织 "不穿上衣"(Not Putting on a Shirt)的董事会成员,该组织的使命是促进乳房切除术后选择平躺的女性获得最佳手术效果,并充分披露乳房切除术后的所有选择。 阅读更多



梅根呼吁相信自己的直觉

双乳切除术后,梅根最初选择了重建。但在她的膨体和后来的假体移位问题之后,她也出现了令人不快的副作用。她经历了疲劳、头晕、视力问题、睡眠问题等等,这些症状被称为乳房植入疾病(BII)。虽然目前对 BII 知之甚少,但她还是选择了取出假体。请阅读更多内容,了解她的故事,以及她如何与大家分享如果您发现任何这些症状,请及时告诉医生的重要性。 阅读更多


 

全网内容

有些妇女喜欢平躺,因为乳房切除术后的恢复时间通常比重建短。"如果你立即进行重建(在手术的同时进行重建),恢复时间要比不进行重建长。虽然一些较新的皮瓣手术通过保留组织捐献部位的肌肉结构将这种风险降到了最低,但这也取决于您所接受的手术类型,可能会出现一些肌肉无力和/或活动障碍。一般来说,立即重建确实能带来最美观的效果。

如果您选择延迟重建(乳房切除术后 6 个月、12 个月或更长时间后重建),乳房切除术后的恢复应该会更容易一些。如果您选择植入物重建,医生可能需要使用一种叫做组织扩张器的装置,用来在植入物最终放置的皮肤下形成一个口袋。如果您进行组织瓣重建,乳房切除术时切除的皮肤将被瓣上附带的皮肤取代(如果重建是在乳房切除术时进行的,则可能不需要更换皮肤)"。

有些选择不做整形手术的患者仍然希望拥有自然乳房的外观,因此会佩戴假体。如果你一直在使用假体,并在考虑不戴假体,但又觉得不舒服,可以试着在家里不戴假体。然后试着在短时间内不佩戴假体,看看自己的感觉如何。你可能会发现大多数人根本不会注意到你!

"如果你喜欢平胸的想法,但又担心穿上贴身的衣服会显得臃肿,那就选择能把注意力从胸部转移开的款式。 BreastFree有一些很好的穿衣建议:

  • 花卉和佩斯利花等图案繁复、不规则且不太细小的织物,能保持视线的移动

  • 深色,尤其是黑色,可掩盖胸部平坦部分下方缺乏阴影的问题

  • 胸前有口袋的清爽衬衫会掩盖你的轮廓

  • 夹克和毛衣叠穿在合身的 T 恤衫上,可以转移视线,掩盖胸部的不平整。

  • 围巾和披肩可以用来遮住胸部的一部分

  • 不要选择领口过低的款式,而应选择能展示你其他优点的款式,比如露出背部的高领,或者能突出腿部线条的短裙/开衩裙"。 阅读更多


女性选择取出乳房假体的常见原因包括

  • 核磁共振成像显示您的假体有问题:所有植入硅胶乳房假体的女性都应定期接受核磁共振成像检查,以确保假体没有破裂。虽然硅胶没有毒性,但如果不及时处理,破裂的假体可能会引起疼痛、刺激和感染。

  • 您的生活方式或喜好发生了变化:如果您觉得乳房假体过大或过重,可以用较小的假体替换或完全取出。

  • 必须进行假体取出手术的健康问题:对于已确诊为乳腺癌的女性来说,移除乳房假体在医学上是必要的,因为乳房假体会影响治疗。有些妇女之所以选择取出乳房假体,是因为她们出现了一些非特异性症状,如疲劳和不明原因的发烧,她们认为这些症状与植入乳房假体有关。这种情况被称为 "乳房植入疾病",虽然目前对这种疾病还不甚了解,但研究人员认为它可能是由自身免疫反应引起的。

移除植入物后的几种选择

  • 种植体置换:移除原有的假体,然后将您选择的新假体植入原有的 "口袋 "中。恢复时间与原来的重建手术相似。

  • 假体隆胸术:"与自然的大乳房一样,手术隆胸后的乳房也会随着时间的推移而下垂。如果您已植入假体多年,正常的衰老和重力作用可能会导致假体周围的皮肤松弛、拉伸。为了确保您的新假体位于正确的位置,外科医生可能会将假体置换与乳房提升术结合起来。他们会去除乳房上多余的皮肤,植入新的假体,并根据需要调整乳头的位置。

  • 移除植入物:您可以选择完全取出假体。注意:虽然这篇文章中提到,取出假体几个月后,乳房会恢复到自然的形状,但这只适用于对现有乳房进行隆胸手术的女性,而不适用于乳房切除和重建手术。 阅读更多


由于有乳腺癌家族史、甲状腺癌个人史以及 BRCA1+,萨曼莎决定接受预防性双乳切除术。她不想担心再次被诊断出癌症,并希望知道自己能陪伴在新女儿身边。"在我的记忆中,用硅胶假体进行乳房再造是唯一的选择,而且得到了很好的支持和详细的介绍。.........我记得有人鼓励我植入硅胶假体,以便让我的女儿 "看起来正常",并且 "越大越好"(臭名昭著的 "重建就是隆胸 "的观点)。我最终拥有了可以说是完美、绚丽和相当大的再造乳房,但我对自己的身体始终感到不舒服"。八年后,她接受了切除手术。"我多年来一直感觉不舒服,希望切除手术能对我有所帮助,事实也确实如此。同样重要的是,我感觉不到自己是完整的、性感的,也感觉不到与植入胸部的联系。我总觉得它很陌生。我决定取出假体,最重要的一点不是勇敢的行为,也不是拒绝胸部、胸部或任何介于两者之间的东西。它是一种自爱和自我尊重的行为......即使我们不知所措、惊慌失措,甚至常常匆忙行事,提出问题、了解情况、做好功课、(在可能的情况下)花时间消化和做出反应、拥有自己的身体,并根据自己的声音而不是内部和外部的声音(通常是负面的)做出决定,这些都是非常重要的"。 阅读更多


Not Putting On A Shirt 是几年前发起 "平躺日 "的组织之一。平躺日 "的宗旨是倡导将平躺作为乳房切除术后的一种有效选择,并鼓励医生将其作为一种选择提供给患者。他们希望通过提高人们对 "平卧位 "选择的认识,改善平卧位妇女的美学效果,并使她们有能力在知情的情况下做出手术决定。Not Putting On A Shirt "为选择平胸的女性喝彩,帮助她们在没有胸部的情况下拥抱自己的美丽和性感。他们分享女性自豪地 展示她们的手术疤痕并为 患者提供者有关这一选择的资源。 阅读更多

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Going Flat and Explant Surgery


Within Breast Cancer Awareness Month throughout October, there are several specific awareness days. Yesterday, October 7th, for example, was Going Flat Day. This day arose to recognize the choice to go flat (as opposed to having reconstructive breast surgery) following a mastectomy as a valid option for those diagnosed with breast cancer. Additionally, some women who originally had breast reconstruction after their mastectomy may choose to have their implants removed later on. This is known as an “explant” surgery. There are numerous reasons someone may choose to go flat from the beginning or to have their implants removed at some point. Read on for stories from patients who have chosen this route, the importance of using the correct language to describe your desired outcome, i.e, aesthetic flat closure, pros and cons of going flat or removing current implants, and whether this could be a good option for you.



Podcast Episode #48 Radical Mastectomy and Going Flat - Interview with Alicia Duncan

In this episode, the surviving breast cancer team discusses Alicia’s struggle with her stage III breast cancer diagnosis and the loss of her breasts. The team highlights how a fast cancer diagnosis can take a toll on one’s mental health along with the PTSD that may come in the aftermath of being cured of cancer. Lastly, Alicia explains her tattoos and both Alicia and Angela discuss the strength needed to be a caregiver. Listen Now.


Informed Decision Making About Going Flat

In 2019, Devorah had a double mastectomy after a local recurrence. She always knew she did not want breast reconstruction, and feels fortunate that her breast surgeon – who told her about the flat movement – honored her choice. Devorah is also on the Board of Not Putting on a Shirt, a 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to promote optimal surgical outcomes for women who choose to go flat after mastectomy and full disclosure of all post-mastectomy options. Read More.



Meghan's Call To Trust You Instincts

After her double mastectomy, Meghan initially opted for reconstruction. But after issues with her expanders and later the implants shifting, she also had unpleasant side effects. Known as breast implant illness (BII), she experienced fatigue, dizziness, vision problems, sleep problems and more. While little is currently known about BII, she chose to remove her implants. Read more for her story and how she shares the importance of speaking up if you're noticing any of these symptoms. Read More.


 

Content Across The Web

Some women prefer to go flat because the recovery time after a mastectomy is typically shorter than with reconstruction. “If you have immediate reconstruction (reconstruction at the same time as surgery), the recovery time is longer than it is with no reconstruction. Depending on the type of procedure you have, there may be some muscle weakness and/or mobility issues as well, although some of the newer flap procedures minimize this risk by preserving the muscle structure at the tissue donor site. Generally, immediate reconstruction does lead to the most cosmetically pleasing results.

If you choose delayed reconstruction — reconstruction 6 or 12 months or more after mastectomy — your recovery from mastectomy should be a bit easier. If you choose implant reconstruction, your doctor may need to use a device called a tissue expander, which is used to create a pocket under the skin where the implant will eventually go. If you have a tissue flap reconstruction, the skin that was removed at mastectomy will be replaced with the skin that comes with the flap (if reconstruction is performed at the time of mastectomy, this skin replacement may not be necessary).”

Some patients who opt for no reconstructive surgery still want the look of their natural breasts and wear prosthetic breasts. If you’ve been using a prosthesis and are considering going without, but are uncomfortable about the idea of it, try not wearing the prosthesis while at home. Then try working your way up to going without it for short errands and see how you feel. You may realize most people don’t even notice!

“If you like the idea of going flat but are worried about looking lopsided in form-fitting clothing, choose styles that draw attention away from your chest area. BreastFree has some great clothing tips:

  • fabrics with busy, irregular patterns that aren’t too small, such as florals and paisleys, keep the eye moving

  • dark colors, especially black, camouflage the lack of shadow underneath the flat part of your chest

  • crisp shirts with breast pockets mask your contours

  • jackets and sweaters layered over form-fitting t-shirts draw attention away from your chest and hide any unevenness

  • scarves and shawls can be used to cover part of your chest

  • instead of plunging necklines, choose styles that show off your other assets, such as high necklines that bare your back or shorter/slit skirts that highlight your legs” Read More.


Some common reasons that women may choose to have their breast implants removed include:

  • An MRI has revealed a problem with your implant(s): All women with silicone breast implants should periodically undergo MRI testing to make sure their implants haven’t ruptured. Though silicone isn’t toxic, ruptured implants can cause pain, irritation, and infection if left untreated.

  • Your Lifestyle or Preferences Have Changed: If you feel like your breast implants are too large or too heavy, they can be replaced with smaller implants or removed entirely.

  • Health Concerns That Make Explant Surgery Necessary: Breast implant removal is medically necessary for women who have received a diagnosis of breast cancer as they can interfere with treatment. Some women choose to have their breast implants removed because they’re experiencing non-specific symptoms, like fatigue and unexplained fevers, and they think their symptoms are related to having breast implants. This condition is known as breast implant illness, and while it’s poorly understood at present, researchers think it may be caused by an autoimmune reaction.

A few options after removing implants:

  • Implant Exchange: The original implants are removed and new implants of your choice are replaced into the existing “pocket.” The recovery time is similar to that of the original reconstruction surgery.

  • Breast Lift with Implants: “Like large natural breasts, surgically augmented breasts often sag over time. If you’ve had breast implants for many years, normal aging and the effects of gravity may have created loose, stretched skin around your implants. To make sure your new implants sit in the correct position, surgeons may combine your implant exchange with a breast lift. They’ll remove excess skin from your breasts, insert new implants, and adjust the position of your nipples, as needed.”

  • Implant Removal: You may choose to remove your implants altogether. Note: while this article shares that a few months after implant removal, the breasts will fill out to their natural shape, this only applies to women who have had augmentation of their existing breasts, not a mastectomy and reconstruction. Read More.


Because of a family history of breast cancer, personal history of thyroid cancer, and being BRCA1+, Samantha decided to undergo a prophylactic double mastectomy. She did not want to worry about another cancer diagnosis and wanted to know she would be there for her new daughter. “Reconstruction with silicone implants was the only option I remembered being presented with any great support or detail. ... I recall someone encouraging the implants, so as to “look normal” for my daughter and to “go as big as possible” (the infamous “reconstruction is a boob job” view). I ended up with arguably perfect, gorgeous and quite large reconstructed breasts, but was never comfortable in my body.” Eight years later she had explant surgery. “I had not been feeling well for years and hoped the explant would help, which it did. Equally importantly, I did not feel whole, sexy or connected to my implanted chest. It always felt foreign to me. The most important aspect of my decision to remove my implants was not a gallant act of bravery, nor a rejection of boobs, foobs or anything in between. It was an act of self-love and self-honoring ... Even when we are overwhelmed, scared and often rushed, it is incredibly important to ask the questions, be informed, do our homework, take our time (when possible) to digest and react, own our own bodies and make our decisions based on our own voice and not the (often negative) internal and external ones that chime in.” Read More.


Not Putting On A Shirt is one of the organizations that spearheaded Going Flat Day a few years ago. Going Flat Day is all about advocating for flat closure as a valid choice post-mastectomy, and to encourage doctors to present it as an option to their patients. By increasing awareness about the option to go flat, they hope to improve the aesthetic outcomes for women who go flat and empower them to make informed decisions about their surgery. Not Putting On A Shirt celebrates women who have chosen to go flat and helps them embrace their beauty and sensuality without their breasts. They share photos of women proudly showing off their surgery scars, and offer resources for patients and providers about this option. Read More.

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events