页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

如何告诉朋友和同事您患有乳腺癌


您刚刚得知自己患有乳腺癌。情绪、疑问和恐惧让您不知所措。有太多的事情需要处理,有太多的事情需要考虑,有太多的决定需要做出。


其中一个决定就是你要与谁分享这个消息,在什么时候告诉他们,甚至是否要让他们知道。您可能会担心让别人不高兴,也会担心不得不安慰他们。告诉朋友和同事您患有乳腺癌,也会让您更加真实地大声说出 "我患有乳腺癌"。


与谁分享、如何分享、何时分享都取决于您自己。分享乳腺癌诊断结果的消息是一件复杂的事情,有可能造成的压力几乎与癌症诊断本身一样大,而此时您最不需要的就是更多的压力。


没有简单或正确的方法,而且 如果你不愿意分享,也不必告诉任何人。


如果您决定告诉朋友和同事,这不仅仅是要告诉他们您被确诊的消息,还要处理似乎永无休止的关于手术、治疗、检查结果等问题的海啸。不过,了解一些可能遇到的问题和可能得到的反应会对您有所帮助。


如何分享新闻

与谁分享、如何分享、何时分享都取决于你。这完全取决于你是否愿意这样做。这很可能是一次情感谈话,因此可能需要花费大量的时间和精力,这可能会耗费你的精力。如果您要单独告诉别人,无论是当面、通过电话还是通过电子邮件,您可能会发现自己一次只能处理几个 "透露"。


有些人选择在社交媒体上分享消息,以避免在个别电话或会议上重复报道。另一些人可能会对在互联网上公布自己的隐私感到不安。人们可能会担心广泛公布自己的诊断结果会使自己受到区别对待,或者担心这一消息会危及自己的工作或医疗保险。


潜在反应

一旦你把事情说出来,就会有很多人回应你,其中有些可能很难处理。

可以理解的是,你会担心每次告诉别人后,他们就不再看重你;担心你在他们眼中变成了 "癌症病人"。请记住,癌症并不能定义你,你仍然是你!因为这个消息太情绪化了,你也可能会有悲伤的眼神和泪水、拥抱、困惑等等。有时,无论大家多么善意,都会让你难以承受。我们都有过这样的尴尬经历:有人以我们无法想象的方式回应我们的消息。(就像有一次,一位朋友告诉我,她有一位姨妈死于乳腺癌,以此来寻求共同点)。

很多人都会询问他们可以提供哪些帮助,因此,准备一份您可能需要帮助的事项清单--膳食、就医交通、儿童看护--会非常方便。这不仅仅是嘴上说说而已,人们是真的想帮忙,他们希望您能让他们知道您需要什么!如果您没有准备好清单,告诉他们您会通知他们也是完全可以接受的。此外,在接下来的几个月里分散提供支持也很有帮助。虽然一开始可能会有铺天盖地的爱心和援助,但请别人把它记在自己的日历上,30 天或 60 天后再联系。你会很高兴你这样做的!

其他人可能会说错话或做错事,这并不是因为他们不近人情,而仅仅是因为他们不知道该如何应对。试着不要把这些反应当作针对个人的,而是把注意力放在那些能给你所需支持的人身上。

可以肯定的是,您可能会遇到对您的消息的各种反应。这种反应往往难以预料,有时甚至令人震惊,但常见的反应可能包括以下几种:


同情与支持

有些人会立即提供无条件的爱、同情和支持。这是值得欢迎的回应。是的,这很好,但如果他们立即进入控制模式,也会让人有点不知所措。


放弃

当得知您患有乳腺癌时,有些朋友可能会消失。在一项调查中,多达 65% 的幸存者说他们的朋友或亲戚在确诊后与他们断绝了联系或疏远了他们。


我们每个人都有局限性,对某些人来说,这些局限性包括对朋友患乳腺癌消息的强烈反应。幸存者的内疚、恐惧、无助和否认会导致一些人 人们对坏消息退避三舍. 有些人只是笨嘴拙舌,害怕说错话,所以会选择逃避。


导致人们变得沉默寡言的行为也可能是因为他们内心深处的问题。这可能是一个极好的时机,可以考虑在以下组织中寻求新的关系 支持团体或加深与曾经支持过你的朋友的关系。


不恰当或具有伤害性的评论

有时,当人们面对恐惧的事情时,比如可能会失去患癌症的朋友,他们的大脑会暂时疯狂,说出一些愚蠢的话。他们因为担心你而没有想清楚,他们的反应并不是要伤害你。你可能会听到

  • 关于如何用茶树精油、小苏打或在郁金香中跳裸舞治愈癌症的各种荒谬理论,你懂的

  • 同样,关于乳腺癌和染发剂之间联系的评论和文章,或者关于你有一次使用凝胶甲油的评论和文章也是如此。

  • 对你的治疗选择提出未经请求的批评

  • 有人批评您不公开自己诊断结果的决定,有些人责备您保持沉默,暗示您的沉默对其他女性没有帮助

  • 为您整理一份他们所知道的每一位死于乳腺癌的人的名单

  • 告诉你获得乳腺癌的 "礼物 "是多么 "幸运"

  • 一般侵入性问题,如 "你的几率有多大?"

我们深知,披露自己的诊断结果可能会让人望而生畏。我们的 活动、网络研讨会和计划最重要的是,我们的社区始终在帮助您进行这些对话以及更多。


255 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

How to Tell Friends and Coworkers You Have Breast Cancer


You’ve just learned that you have breast cancer. You’re overwhelmed with emotions, questions, and fear. There’s so much to deal with, so much to consider, and so many decisions to make.


One of those decisions is who you’re going to share the news with, at what point you might want to tell them, and if you even want to let them know at all. You might be concerned about upsetting people and dealing with having to console them. Telling friends and coworkers you have breast cancer can also make it more real to you as you say the words "I have breast cancer" out loud.


Who you share it with, how you share it, and when you share it is all up to you. Sharing news about your breast cancer diagnosis is complicated and can potentially create almost as much stress as the cancer diagnosis itself, at a time when one of the last things you need is more stress.


There’s no easy or right way to do it, and you don’t have to tell anyone if you’d rather not share.


If you decide to tell friends and coworkers, it’s not just about breaking the news of your diagnosis; it’s also about managing the seemingly never-ending tsunami of questions regarding surgeries, treatment, test results, etc. However, knowing some of the questions you might encounter, and possible reactions you might get can be helpful.


How to Share the News

Who you share it with, how you share it, and when you share it is all up to you. It’s all about what you’re comfortable doing. It’s most likely going to be an emotional conversation, so it can take a lot of time and energy, which can be draining. If you’re telling people individually, either in person, by phone, or by email, you may find that you’re only able to handle a few “reveals” at a time.


Some people choose to share the news on social media to avoid repeating the story with individual phone calls or meetings. Other people may be uncomfortable splashing their private life on the internet. People may worry that a broad announcement of their diagnosis will cause them to be treated differently or fear that the news will jeopardize their job or health insurance coverage.


Potential Reactions

Once you let the proverbial cat out of the bag, you can expect a host of responses, some of which may be difficult to handle.

It’s understandable that you worry that every time you tell someone, they will stop seeing you; that you’ll become a “cancer patient” in their eyes. Remember, cancer doesn't define you, you’re still you! And because the news is so emotional, you may also get sad eyes and tears, hugs, confusion, etc. Sometimes, it can just be too much to bear everyone’s sadness, no matter how well-meaning. We all have those awkward stories when someone responds to our news in ways we just didn't even imagine. (Like the time a friend was trying to relate and find common ground by telling me she had an aunt that died from breast cancer).

Many people will ask how they can help, so having a list of things you may need help with—meals, transportation to medical appointments, child care—can be handy. This isn't just lip serves, people genuinely want to help and they are looking for you to let them know what you need! It’s also perfectly acceptable to tell them you will let them know if you don’t have a list prepared. Additionally, it is helpful to spread out the support over the next few months. While there may initially be an overwhelming outpour of love and assistance, ask someone to put it in their calendar and to reach out in 30 or 60 days. You'll be glad you did!

Others may say or do the wrong thing, not because they’re unkind, but simply because they don’t know how to respond. Try not to take these reactions personally, and instead focus on those who can give you the support you need.

One thing you can count on is that you will probably encounter various responses to your news. It’s often unpredictable and sometimes shocking, but a few common reactions might include:


Compassion and Support

Some people will immediately offer their unconditional love, compassion, and support. It’s a welcome response. Yes, that’s wonderful, but it can also be a bit overwhelming if they instantly launch into control mode.


Abandonment

Some friends may disappear when learning that you have breast cancer. In one survey, as many as 65 percent of survivors said they had friends or relatives who cut contact or pulled away from them after being diagnosed, It’s a painful reality to face, but it happens.


We all have limitations, and for some people, they include harsh reactions to the news that a friend has breast cancer. Survivor’s guilt, fear, helplessness, and denial cause some people to back away from bad news. Some people are just awkward and are afraid of saying the wrong thing, so instead, they go AWOL.


The behaviors that cause people to become MIA can also be because of their deep-seated issues. It may be an excellent time to consider seeking new relationships in support groups or deepening relationships with friends who did stick by you.


Inappropriate or Hurtful Comments

Sometimes, when people are faced with fearful things, like the possibility of losing a friend to cancer, their brains go temporarily crazy and say stupid things. They’re not thinking clearly because they’re worried about you, and their responses aren’t meant to hurt you. You may hear:

  • Various crackpot theories about how you can cure cancer with Tea Tree oil, baking soda, or by dancing naked in the tulips, you get the drift

  • Similarly, comments and articles about the link between breast cancer and hair dye or that one time you got gel nail tips

  • Unsolicited critiques about your treatment choices

  • Criticism about your decision to not go broadly public about your diagnosis, with some people chastising you for keeping quiet, implying that your silence is not helping other women

  • Cataloging a list for you every person they know of who died of breast cancer

  • Telling you how “lucky” you are to have received a “gift” of breast cancer

  • General invasive questions, such as “What are your odds?”

We know firsthand that disclosing your diagnosis can be daunting. Our events, webinars and programs, and most of all, our community is always here to help you with those conversations and more.


Subscribe to our mailing list and receive weekly inspiration directly to your inbox! 
Copy of Copy of Copy of Untitled Design