页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

医疗补助与乳腺癌:您应该知道的事情

特约撰稿人 Amy Ferraro Whitsett 撰文

 

我先说说我的癌症故事。我在 45 岁时被诊断出患有 早期乳腺癌。幸运的是,我是在乳房 X 光检查中被发现的,当时还摸不到癌细胞。最糟糕的是第二次乳房 X 光检查和活检结果之间的那段时间。放射科医生想帮我,告诉我这很可能是癌症。但由于乳腺癌根本不在我的考虑范围之内,我感到震惊和困惑。确诊后,幸运的是我的初级保健医生是我的好朋友和一位超级乐于助人的执业护士,不到 72 小时,我就得到了一组医生的诊治。随后,我便在世界上最好的医疗机构之一接受了手术、化疗、放疗、基因检测和抗荷尔蒙治疗。我用替代疗法、大量瑜伽、大量阅读、更多运动、自然疗法和补充剂作为补充。这种经历很糟糕,但也有一线希望。


在过去的 25 年里,我一直在健康和人类服务领域从事幕后工作。我帮助机构获得资金,使他们能够为消费者提供服务。多年来,我曾开玩笑说自己 "为了拯救儿童而杀死树木",或者 "如果我是一名糟糕的社会工作者,我就会确保社会工作者有钱去做他们需要做的事情"。我热爱我的工作,但我的个人经历让我渴望在第一线做更多的工作,并确保公众了解我有幸参与的某些计划(包括医疗补助计划)的益处。


我希望人们了解医疗补助计划的积极意义,以及在需要时如何获得医疗补助。美国有两个大型公共医疗保险计划,即医疗保险计划和医疗补助计划。

  • 医疗保险的对象是 65 岁以上的老人以及某些老年人、盲人和残疾人。

  • 医疗补助计划是一项 经济情况调查医疗补助 "是一项经济情况调查计划,针对某些没有医疗保险或医疗保险有限的群体。

有双重资格者,有资格参加两个计划。


大多数美国人如何获得医疗保险



如今,主要由于《平价医疗法案》(ACA)的实施,您可以通过简化的在线系统提出申请,该系统可确定您是否有资格获得医疗补助,或是否应该购买医疗保险。 a 系统(取决于您的居住地)。还有 a 与其他福利计划(如补充营养计划 (SNAP))进行更传统的合作。


约有 20% 的美国人通过医疗补助计划投保,医疗补助计划为近一半的新生儿支付费用。医疗补助计划由各州和地区管理,但资金由联邦政府和州政府共同提供(在本文中,州包括地区和哥伦比亚特区)。儿童健康保险计划(CHIP)是一项单独的计划,它覆盖更多的儿童,在某些情况下也覆盖他们的父母,与《医疗补助计划》密切相关。各州必须覆盖某些群体,例如联邦贫困线(FPL)138% 或以下的儿童。然后,各州可以选择覆盖其他群体。


此外,还有必要服务和可选服务。有些在法律上被称为可选的服务实际上并不是可选的,例如处方药。这样做既不实际,也不符合成本效益 成本效益医疗补助 "计划不支付处方药费用是不现实的,也不符合成本效益。1965 年《医疗补助计划》创立时,处方药也不是私人保险的一部分,因为当时处方药还不像今天这样普遍,因此有些术语已经过时。


全美医疗保险法案》旨在通过增加符合《医疗补助计划》资格的人数(《医疗补助计划》扩展)以及创建市场,让没有保险的个人和小公司可以购买保险,从而减少并在理想情况下消除美国的无保险人数。因收入过高而不符合《医疗补助计划》资格的个人可获得补贴,以帮助支付费用,补贴额度最高可达 FPL 的 400%。最高法院裁定,对未扩大计划的州实施处罚是违宪的。因此,并不是所有的州都扩大了医疗保险,仍有相当多的人口没有医疗保险。


"全民医疗保险 "是一个 口号理论上是指单一的医疗保险计划。说 "全民医疗保险 "比说 "全民医疗补助 "在政治上更稳妥,因为医疗补助通常与福利联系在一起。它的含义千差万别,从让每个人都参加我们所知的 "全民医疗保险",到废除 "全民医疗保险 "并重新开始,再到扩大《美国医疗保险法案》的适用范围。


无论发生什么,《医疗补助计划》都为直接受益人和整个社会带来了许多好处。自《医疗补助计划》实施以来,我们降低了婴儿死亡率,改善了低收入儿童的治疗效果,为残疾人提供了更多服务,并减轻了所有美国人的医疗费用。医疗补助计划是老年人和残疾人长期护理的最大资助者。在 COVID-19 大流行的情况下,医疗补助计划将经受考验。


至于乳腺癌的治疗,如果已加入医疗补助计划的男性或女性被诊断出患有乳腺癌,则其治疗将有可能得到承保。如果他们居住的州尚未扩大医保范围,那么如果他们不在现有的医保群体中,无论收入多少,都可能没有资格获得医保。


根据美国预防服务工作组(USPSTF)和卫生资源与服务管理局(HRSA)的建议,ACA 规定私人保险、个人保险计划和州医疗补助扩展计划必须免费承保乳腺癌筛查。如果个人由传统的医疗补助保险组承保,筛查的承保范围将根据该州的可选服务承保范围而定,但大多数州都会承保筛查(以上信息来源于 www.kff.org).国家乳腺癌和宫颈癌早期检测计划 (NBCCEDP) 帮助低收入、无保险或保险不足的妇女获得筛查程序和转介服务。


乳腺癌和宫颈癌预防与治疗法》(BCCPTA)规定,各州可选择向 65 岁以下、无保险并通过以下途径确诊患有乳腺癌或宫颈癌的妇女提供医疗补助保险 通过NBCCEDP 筛查。各州的资格标准各不相同。


在我结束这篇文章时,我相信你们中的一些人认为这篇文章对于一篇博文来说太长而且太专业了。医疗补助 "非常复杂,如果您需要获得它,这取决于您的居住地。但它已融入我们的医疗保健结构,并产生了巨大的效益。


如果您想了解更多信息,请访问 www.kff.org是一个很好的开始。


最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Medicaid and Breast Cancer: What You Should Know

By Contributing Writer, Amy Ferraro Whitsett

 

I will start with the cancer part of my story. I was diagnosed at age 45 with early-stage breast cancer. I was fortunate it was found on a mammogram before it could be felt. The worst part was the time between the second mammogram and the biopsy result. Trying to be helpful, the radiologist told me it was most likely cancer. But since breast cancer was NOWHERE on my radar, I was shocked and confused. Once diagnosed, and through the good fortune of having a well-positioned friend and a super helpful nurse practitioner as my PCP, I was seen by a team of doctors less than 72 hours later. Then I was on my way to surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, genetic testing, and anti-hormone therapy at one of the best institutions in the world. I have supplemented it with alternative medicine, lots of yoga, lots of reading, more exercise, a naturopath, and supplements. The experience sucked, but there have been silver linings.


I have spent the last 25 years working in the health and human services arena, behind the scenes. I helped agencies gain funding so that they can serve consumers. Over the years I have joked that I “kill trees to save children” or “would make a lousy social worker so I make sure the social workers have money to do what they need to do”. I love my work, but my personal experience gave me a longing to do more on the front lines and ensure that the public understands the benefit of certain programs I have been fortunate to work with, including Medicaid.


I want people to know about the positives of Medicaid and how to access it if they need to. There are two large public health insurance programs in the United States, Medicare and Medicaid.

  • Medicare is for individuals over aged 65 and certain aged, blind, and disabled.

  • Medicaid is a means-tested program for certain groups that do not have access to health insurance or whose health insurance is limited.

There are dual eligibles, eligible for both programs.


How Most Americans Get Health Insurance



Today, largely because of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), you can apply via streamlined, online systems that determine if you are eligible for Medicaid or should purchase a system via the federal or state exchange (depending on where you live). There is also a more traditional collaboration with other benefit programs such as the supplemental nutrition program (SNAP).


Approximately 20% of Americans are insured through Medicaid and Medicaid pays for nearly half of all births. Medicaid is administered by the states and territories but funded by both the federal and state governments (for the purpose of this post, state is inclusive of territories and the District of Columbia). There is a separate program, the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), that covers additional children and in some cases their parents and is closely aligned with Medicaid. States must cover certain groups, for example, children at or below 138% of the federal poverty level (FPL). States then have the option to cover other groups.


There are also required and optional services. Some of the services called optional in law are not optional in practice, for example, prescription drugs. It would not be practical nor cost-effective for Medicaid to not pay for prescription drugs. When Medicaid was created in 1965, prescription drugs were not part of private insurance either because they were not as prevalent as they are today, hence some of the out of date lingo.


The ACA sought to reduce and ideally eliminate the number of uninsured in the United States by increasing the number eligible for Medicaid (Medicaid expansion) and creating marketplaces where individuals and small companies who do not have access can purchase insurance. Individuals who do not qualify for Medicaid because they are over income may be eligible for a subsidy to help defray costs, up to 400% of the FPL. The Supreme Court ruled that the penalties imposed on states for not expanding is unconstitutional. Thus, not all states have expanded and there is still a sizable uninsured population.


“Medicare for All” is a catchphrase that theoretically means a single health insurance program. It is more politically prudent to say “Medicare” for all than “Medicaid” for all because Medicaid is often associated with welfare. What it means varies widely, from putting everyone on Medicare as we know it, to scrapping Medicare and starting over, to expanding the ACA for all.


Whatever happens, Medicaid has yielded many benefits to direct recipients and society at large. Since Medicaid was implemented, we have reduced infant mortality, improved outcomes for low-income children, provided more services for the disabled and eased the costs of healthcare on all Americans. Medicaid is the largest funder of long-term care for the elderly and the disabled. And it will be put to the test with the COVID-19 pandemic.


As for breast cancer treatment, if a man or woman already enrolled in Medicaid is diagnosed with breast cancer treatment will likely be covered. If they reside in a state that has not expanded, they may not be eligible for coverage, regardless of income, if they are not in an existing coverage group.


The ACA mandated that private insurance, individual insurance plans, and state Medicaid expansion programs cover breast cancer screenings at no cost in accordance with recommendations from the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). If an individual is covered by a traditional Medicaid coverage group, coverage of screenings will be based on the optional service coverage in the state, though most states will cover screenings (the preceding information is from www.kff.org). The National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program (NBCCEDP) helps low income, un-and under-insured women access screening procedures and referral to services.


The Breast and Cervical Cancer Prevention and Treatment Act (BCCPTA) gives states the option to grant Medicaid coverage to women if they are uninsured, under 65, and diagnosed with breast or cervical cancer via an NBCCEDP screening. The eligibility criteria vary from state to state.


As I close out this post, I am sure some of you think that it is long and technical for a blog post. Medicaid is incredibly complicated and if you need to access it, it comes down to where you live. But it is woven into our healthcare fabric and has yielded great benefits.


If you want to know more, www.kff.org is a good place to start.


Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page