页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的叶状乳腺癌故事:不是 "旅程"

作者:布兰达-科罗纳多


12 月 11 日,布伦达和她的丈夫卡洛斯-古铁雷斯(Carlos Gutierrez)共同生日。
12 月 11 日,布伦达和她的丈夫卡洛斯-古铁雷斯(Carlos Gutierrez)共同生日。

你好,我是布伦达-科罗纳多!我叫布伦达-科罗纳多。 有趣的事实:我来自墨西哥蒙特雷,2008 年搬到美国。我是一名工业工程师,拥有生产库存管理认证(CPIM)证书。我热爱供应链,因此决定在我热爱的领域获得认证!


自 2014 年以来,我每年都接受乳房 X 光检查,当时我发现了一个囊肿,证明是良性的,当时我 35 岁。2022 年 2 月,我安排并去做了年度体检。他们当然发现了什么。我的护理团队让我去做超声波检查,之后他们立即安排了活检。


我有全职工作,所以 2022 年 4 月 7 日对我来说是一个正常的工作日。下午三点左右,我接到活检诊所的电话,护士说: "你好,科罗纳多女士,我们拿到了你的检查结果。你得了癌症。我发誓我开始发抖,我愣住了;我听不懂她在说什么。她试图让我冷静下来,并给了我两个乳腺癌外科医生的名字(什么? 我从来不知道还有这种东西)。

想象一下,你正在上班,当天下午晚些时候有电话安排。我设法接通了那个电话并赶回家。我给在旧金山出差的丈夫打了电话。事实上,我在上车前就给他打了电话,他马上就安排了回来的航班。


我终于约到了乳腺外科医生,时间是 4 月 21 日。我记得当时距离确诊还有三个星期。 我很震惊。首先,他们为什么要在工作日通过电话告诉你癌症结果?他们为什么要这么做?当然,我对未知的事情感到害怕。什么阶段? 这是什么意思??我会死吗?


终于,见到肿瘤外科医生的日子到了。我被诊断为 浸润性小叶癌(ILC)第一期.她向我和我丈夫解释了一切。她非常清楚地回答了我们所有的问题。她又给我做了一些检查。首先是核磁共振成像,结果显示出一些额外的斑点,因此我不得不再做三次活检。一周后,她打电话给我,向我解释了检查结果和我的选择。另一个乳房有一些可疑的斑点,也进行了活检。我选择了双乳切除术因为我担心另一个乳房上会有病变。


布伦达在术后复诊。
布伦达在术后复诊。

6 月 13 日是我的手术日期,在这之后不到两周,我被叫到外科医生的办公室进行复查。根据双乳切除术的病理报告,我被诊断为 ILC 2B 期。因为有一个淋巴结的癌细胞呈阳性、 下一步就是化疗。


正在接受化疗的布伦达
正在接受化疗的布伦达

七月初,在与我的肿瘤内科医生会面后,她决定在讨论我的治疗方案之前,我需要做更多的检查。接下来要做的是 CAT 扫描和骨扫描。我的结果终于出来了。我的癌症被确诊为 2B 期,没有扩散,因此需要进行化疗。我在八月份插入了移植口,并开始了八轮 阿霉素/环己酮(AC)到紫杉醇(Taxol)化疗。.我不得不说,阿霉素的副作用最大,我总是感到疲倦、恶心和困倦。我现在还在忍受 Taxol 的副作用(神经病变)。我在感恩节前一天完成了化疗。


出于某种原因,我认为我不需要 放射治疗-所以当我的肿瘤内科医生告诉我下一步是 35 轮放射治疗.我想,至少我可以在假期休息,从治疗中恢复过来,不是吗?


被辐射烧伤的布伦达
被辐射烧伤的布伦达

我于 2023 年 1 月 4 日开始接受放射治疗。 第 4 周时,我的皮肤被严重灼伤.我不得不停止治疗 10 天。这是我治疗过程中最艰难的部分。但无论如何,这就是我们为了活下去而做的事情,不是吗?我非常害怕,也很疲惫。我讨厌每天开车去接受治疗,也不喜欢这样的生活。10 天后,当我回来接受放射治疗时,我本该再接受 11 次治疗,但放射肿瘤学家告诉我的一些消息让我哭了起来。 因为我的手术边缘清晰,她告诉我可以把剩余的治疗次数从 11 次减少到 4 次。天哪在开车回家之前,我就给丈夫和妈妈打了电话,流下了幸福的泪水!


我已不再接受积极治疗。现在,在生存期内,我正在服用一种名为阿那曲唑的 口服芳香化酶抑制剂 "阿那曲唑"。我还与我的整形外科医生见了面,并安排了我的 重建手术在初秋进行!我的整形外科医生提到,由于辐射,植入物会有风险,所以 我选择了 DIEP 皮瓣重建术。.


我从 2022 年 5 月起成为 SBC 社区的一员,当时我开始参加 周四晚勇士计划.当我与 SBC 建立联系时、 它真正帮助我平静下来,倾听并融入社区。.令我难过的是,我无法找到任何以西班牙语(我的母语)提供的乳腺癌支持。


2022 年 9 月,布伦达在新罕布什尔州 SBC 务虚会上
2022 年 9 月,布伦达在新罕布什尔州 SBC 务虚会上

2022 年 6 月,就在美国临床肿瘤学会 (ASCO) 会议结束后,SBC 的联合创始人 William 和 Laura 邀请我担任新的 社区参与总监和"Después de un Diagnóstico的共同创始人之一。 西班牙语课程我们为西班牙裔社区提供教育信息和支持 为西班牙裔社区提供教育信息和支持.这对我来说再好不过了,因为作为一名西班牙裔,我看到了我们在这次旅行中需要支持。顺便说一下、 我不喜欢 "旅行 "这个词,因为在我看来,旅行是一种享受,而癌症诊断并不是这样的。.


西语裔团队帮助 SBC 完成各种任务。我与同事卢尔德斯-D-赫拉斯(Lourdes D. Heras)共同主持了一个新的 播客:"Después de un Diagnóstico制作一份时事通讯,并主持我们的 周二支持小组在每月的第二和第四个星期二举行会议。我们还提供 艺术治疗活动。我们在计划项目、与成员沟通以及参加活动和会议方面进行合作。


我们为所有新患者和护理人员提供服务。请随时与我或任何一位 SBC 团队成员联系。我们是发自内心的。 这是我们的热情所在,我们将竭诚为您服务。


2022 年南澳大利亚广播与电视学院团队:劳拉-卡芳、布伦达-科罗纳多和卢尔德斯-D-赫拉斯
2022 年南澳大利亚广播与电视学院团队:劳拉-卡芳、布伦达-科罗纳多和卢尔德斯-D-赫拉斯



感谢您分享您的故事,布伦达。SBC 爱你!


了解更多信息:




乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

My Lobular Breast Cancer Story: Not a “Journey”

By Brenda Coronado


Brenda and her husband, Carlos Gutierrez, on their shared birthday, December 11.
Brenda and her husband, Carlos Gutierrez, on their shared birthday, December 11.

Hello! My name is Brenda Coronado. Fun facts: I am originally from Monterrey, Mexico, and I moved to the United States in 2008. I have been happily married for ten years and I am an industrial engineer, with Certified Production Inventory Management (CPIM) certification. I love supply chain, so I decided to get certified in my passion!


I’ve received annual mammograms since 2014, when I found a cyst that proved to be benign at age 35. In February 2022, I scheduled and went to get my annual checkup. Of course they found something. My care team sent me to get an ultrasound, and after that they immediately scheduled a biopsy.


I work full time, so April 7, 2022 was a regular business day for me. When I got the call around 3:00 p.m. from the clinic that did the biopsy, the nurse said, “Hi Ms. Coronado, we have your results. You have cancer.” I swear I started shaking and I froze; I couldn’t understand what she was saying. She tried to help me calm down and gave me the names of two breast cancer surgeons (What?? I never knew there was even such a thing).

Imagine you are at work, and you have calls scheduled later that afternoon. I managed to get on that call and make it home. I called my husband, who was away on business in San Francisco. As a matter of fact, I called him before getting in the car and he immediately scheduled his flight back.


I finally got an appointment with the breast surgeon for April 21. I remember this was three weeks out from my diagnosis, and I was in shock. First, why do they give you cancer results by phone on a weekday? Why would they even do that?? Of course I was scared of the unknown. What stage? What does this mean? Was I going to die?


Finally, the day to meet the surgical oncologist came. I was diagnosed with Stage 1 invasive lobular carcinoma (ILC). She explained everything to me and my husband. She was very clear and answered all of our questions. She ordered some more tests. First was an MRI, which showed some extra spots, so I had to have three more biopsies. A week later, she called me to explain my results and the options available to me. The other breast had some suspicious spots that were biopsied. I opted for a double mastectomy as I was afraid that something was going to develop on the other breast.


Brenda at her post-op follow up appointment.
Brenda at her post-op follow up appointment.

June 13 was my surgery date, less than two weeks after I was called in to the surgeon’s office for the follow up. Based on the pathology report from the double mastectomy, I was diagnosed with Stage 2B ILC. And because one lymph node was positive for cancer cells, chemotherapy was the next step.


Brenda receiving chemotherapy.
Brenda receiving chemotherapy.

After meeting with my medical oncologist in early July, she decided that I needed more tests before talking about my treatment plan. The next steps were a CAT scan and a bone scan. My results finally came. It was confirmed as Stage 2B, with no spread, so it was on to chemo. I had my port inserted in August and started eight rounds of Adriamycin/Cytoxan (AC) to Taxol (T) chemo. I have to say, the AC had the most difficult side effects—I was feeling tired all the time, nauseous, and very sleepy. I am still suffering the side effects of Taxol (neuropathy). I finished chemo the day before Thanksgiving.


For some reason, I didn’t think I was going to need radiation—so it was a shock when my medical oncologist told me that the next step was 35 rounds of radiation. I thought, well, at least I can rest over the holidays to recover from treatment, right?


Brenda with radiation burns.
Brenda with radiation burns.

I started radiation on January 4, 2023. By week 4 my skin was severely burned. I had to stop treatment for 10 days. This was by far the hardest part of my treatment. But anyway, that is what we do to stay alive, right? I was very scared and tired. I hated the daily drive to treatment and how it cut off my day. When I returned for radiation10 days later, I was supposed to have 11 more sessions, but the radiation oncologist gave me some news that made me cry. Because my surgery margins were clear, she told me we could reduce the remaining sessions from 11 to four. OMG!!! I called my husband and mom even before starting the drive home, crying happy tears!!!


I am no longer in active treatment. Now, in survivorship, I am taking an oral aromatase inhibitor called anastrozole. I also met with my plastic surgeon, and we scheduled my reconstruction surgery for early fall! My plastic surgeon mentioned that implants would be risky because of the radiation, so I opted for DIEP flap reconstruction.


I have been a member of the SBC community since May 2022, when I started attending the Thursday Night Thrivers program. When I connected with SBC, it really helped me to calm down, to listen and be part of the community. It saddened me that I was not able to find any breast cancer support in Spanish, my native language.


Brenda at the SBC retreat in New Hampshire, September 2022
Brenda at the SBC retreat in New Hampshire, September 2022

In June 2022, right after the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) conference, SBC co-founders William and Laura invited me to collaborate as the new Director of Community Engagement and co-founder of “Después de un Diagnóstico,” SBC’s new addition of programs offered in Spanish, where we provide educational information and support for the Hispanic community. This was perfect to me, because as a Hispanic I saw the need for support while we are on this trip. By the way, I do not like the word “journey,” because in my mind a journey is something that you are enjoying, and a cancer diagnosis is not that.


The Hispanic team helps with a variety of tasks at SBC. Together with my colleague Lourdes D. Heras, I co-host a new podcast: “Después de un Diagnóstico,” craft a newsletter, and host our Tuesday support group, which meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month. We also offer an art therapy program every first Tuesday of the month. We collaborate in planning programs, communicating with members, and participating in events and conferences.


We are here for all new patients and caregivers. Do not hesitate to contact me or any of the SBC team members. We do this from our hearts. This is our passion, and we are here for you.


Team SBC at SABCS 2022: Laura Carfang, Brenda Coronado, and Lourdes D. Heras
Team SBC at SABCS 2022: Laura Carfang, Brenda Coronado, and Lourdes D. Heras



Thank you for sharing your story, Brenda. SBC loves you!


Learn more:




SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page