页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的普雷维沃故事

作者 康妮-赖查特



我想与大家分享我的 "癌症预防者 "故事。 所谓 "先天性癌症患者"(previvor),是指那些采取了预防措施来降低患上癌症几率的人。我很幸运,知道自己有 BRCA1 基因突变因此,我可以做出不仅对我自己,而且对我的家人和子孙后代都有利的选择。


我的乳腺癌家族史并不长,只有我的外祖母患有乳腺癌,所以我并不像外祖母那样担心。因此,我每年都会去看医生。 39 岁时,我做了第一次基础乳房 X 光检查。从那以后,我每年都去检查。有一次我又被叫去做超声波检查。我只是有致密组织,没什么好担心的。


我将与大家分享一下我的健康史背景,这也让我对自己的健康有了积极的认识。我在 26 岁时结婚,当然,我丈夫一结婚,我就准备组建家庭。不幸的是,事情并没有那么简单。经过多次检查,我的优秀妇产科医生将我介绍给了一位出色的不孕不育专家、 我被诊断出患有多囊卵巢综合症(PCOS)。在尝试了多种不同的怀孕方案后,我们知道对我来说最好的选择是卵胞浆内单精子显微注射(ICSI)体外受精(IVF)。我很幸运,第一次尝试就怀上了双胞胎!


大约三年后,我在没有接受生育治疗的情况下成功怀孕,但在怀孕 12 周左右时失去了孩子。在那之后 我不得不切除了宫颈癌前病变细胞宫颈癌前病变细胞。我们被告知,为了再次怀孕,我需要再次经历整个试管婴儿过程。我们认为四口之家的生活很好,但这并不是我们的命运;我们注定要成为五口之家!在没有接受生育治疗的情况下,我成功地再次怀孕了。


在试管婴儿过程中,我在体内输入了额外的荷尔蒙,我知道自己患某些癌症的风险会一直较高。殊不知,这并不是我罹患乳腺癌和卵巢癌风险较高的原因。 乳腺癌和卵巢癌的高风险。


几年前的圣诞节,我们得到了一个祖先 DNA 测试,其中包括一个健康选项,可以让你对自己的基因数据有一些了解。我拿到检测结果后,了解到了很多以前不知道的关于我祖先的有趣事情。我没有美洲原住民血统,我是 25% 的阿什肯纳兹犹太人,我讨厌香菜(是的,我讨厌它!),我的丈夫和孩子比我更像波兰人! 我还得知自己携带 BRCA1 基因突变。 我听说过这种基因突变,知道它使我患乳腺癌的风险更高,但我不知道它会对我的生活产生怎样的影响!


我已经和我的妇产科医生约好了时间,所以我决定带上我的检查结果和他分享。他的反应出乎我的意料。他开口的第一句话就是 "让我们安排你做子宫切除术和输卵管切除术"这就是切除输卵管和卵巢,或者用我们通俗的话说,全子宫切除术。我已经 50 岁了,而且我不想再要孩子了,所以我同意了。因为 因为 BRCA1 基因突变使人患卵巢癌的风险很高(卵巢癌很难监测),而且我认识一些患过生殖器官癌症的人,所以我同意进行手术。我的妇产科医生还让我马上去看乳腺专家。


我去的乳腺中心希望通过遗传咨询师确认我 确实有 BRCA1 基因突变因为家用基因检测试剂盒不一定准确。今天是我的幸运日,在遗传咨询师的要求下,我的检测结果仍然呈阳性。遗传咨询师详细询问了我所有的风险,并给了我很多信息。然后,我见到了乳腺专家,他主张进行双乳切除术。 他主张对我进行双乳切除术。我刚刚安排了子宫切除术;我们能不能一次只处理一件事!?我的医生非常坦诚,也很有帮助。我们共同决定每六个月交替进行乳房核磁共振和 3D 乳房 X 光检查。值得庆幸的是,之后的每次检查都没有问题,这让我松了一口气,因为我被认为是高危人群。


2023 年 2 月,我得到了 BRCA 的初步结果,3 月去看了妇产科医生,计划在 6 月切除子宫,并制定了乳腺癌监测计划。第二次核磁共振检查后,我就该接受乳腺专家的年度检查了。在与她会面并与我丈夫讨论后,我们决定进行 双乳切除术和 DIEP 乳瓣重建术是我和我们家庭的最佳选择。八月下旬,在送两个孩子去外地上大学,最小的孩子开始上高中后,我被安排进行另一次手术。


在我写这篇文章的时候,我还在从双乳切除术和 DIEP皮瓣重建术.我不知道我的基因突变是从哪里遗传的,虽然阿什肯纳兹家族的基因突变比例要比其他家族高得多,但这并不重要。我知道我有这种基因,我必须积极预防癌症。 BRCA1 基因突变也会导致其他癌症的高风险,但我现在患两种最明显的癌症(乳腺癌和卵巢癌)的风险要低得多。我仍然会每年去看一次妇产科医生和乳腺专科医生,进行检查。


如果我的故事除了让你确保每年做一次体检之外,对你没有任何帮助,那么我已经完成了我的使命。看到这一切,我可能会想,"我的牌不好",但我更愿意这样看,这是我被赋予的道路。 我们并不总是喜欢为我们选择的道路,但希望我们能从中吸取教训,并教导他人。




了解更多信息:








播客 乳腺癌对话


预防性乳房切除术与 BRCA 基因突变



 


分享您的故事


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

My Previvor Story

By Conny Reichardt



I wanted to share my story of being a previvor. A previvor is someone who has taken preventative measures to decrease their chances of getting a cancer they may be predisposed to. I have been lucky enough to know I have a BRCA1 genetic mutation so that I can make choices that will be a win not only for me but my family and generations to come.


I do not have a strong family history of breast cancer; the only person is my paternal grandmother, so it was not as much of a concern as if it had been on my maternal side. So, I did as I should and went to the doctor for my annual visit every year. At 39, I did my first baseline mammogram. From there I went yearly. I did get called back in once and had to have an ultrasound. I just had dense tissue, nothing to be concerned about.


I’ll share a little more background on my health history, which has also made me proactive in my health. I got married at 26 and of course was ready to start a family as soon as my husband was. Unfortunately, it was not that easy. After many tests and being referred by my great OBGYN to an amazing fertility specialist, I was diagnosed with polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). After trying many different options to get pregnant, we knew the best option for me was in vitro fertilization (IVF) with intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI). Did I get lucky; I got pregnant with twins on my first try!


I did manage to get pregnant without fertility treatments about three years later, only to lose that baby around 12 weeks. After that, I had to have precancerous cervical cells removed that were found during a routine Pap smear. We were told that in order to have another viable pregnancy, I would need to go through the whole IVF process again. We decided life was good as a family of four, however that is not what was in the cards for us; we were meant to be a family of five! I managed to get pregnant again without fertility treatments.


After putting extra hormones in my body during the IVF process, I knew that I would always be at a higher risk for some cancers. Little did I know, that is not what was putting me at a higher risk for breast cancer and ovarian cancer.  


A few years ago for Christmas, we were given an ancestry DNA test which included a health option that gives you some insight into your genetic data. I got my results back and learned a lot of interesting things about my ancestry that I was not previously aware of. I have no Native American in me, I am 25% Ashkenazi Jewish, I have an aversion to cilantro (YES, I hate it!) and my husband and kids are more Polish than me! I also learned I carry the BRCA1 gene mutation. I had heard of it, I knew it put me at a higher risk of breast cancer, but I had no idea how it would impact my life!


I already had an appointment scheduled with my OBGYN, so I decided I would bring my test results and share them with him. Well, he had a different reaction than I ever expected. The first thing out of his mouth was, “Let’s get you scheduled for a hysterectomy with oophorectomy.” This is the removal of tubes and ovaries—or, as we like to say in layman’s terms, a total hysterectomy. I was 50, and I was not having any more kids, so I agreed. Because the BRCA1 mutation puts you at a high risk of ovarian cancer (which is very hard to monitor), and after knowing people that have had reproductive organ cancers, I was okay going ahead with the procedure. My OBGYN also had me see a breast specialist right away.


The breast center I went to wanted to confirm with a genetic counselor that I indeed had the BRCA1 gene mutation, as the home genetic testing kits may not always be accurate. And it was my lucky day, I still came back positive on the tests ordered by my genetic counselor. The counselor went over all of my risks and gave me a lot of information. I then met with the breast specialist, who was an advocate for a double mastectomy for me. I had just scheduled my hysterectomy; can we deal with one thing at a time!? My doctor was very honest and helpful. Together we decided to alternate between breast MRIs and 3D mammograms every six months. Thankfully, each test that followed came back clear, which was a relief knowing I am considered high risk.


I got my initial BRCA results back in February 2023, went to my OBGYN in March, scheduled my hysterectomy for June, and was set on a plan for monitoring for breast cancer. After my second MRI, it was time for my annual visit with the breast specialist. After meeting with her and talking with my husband, we decided that a double mastectomy with a DIEP flap reconstruction was the best choice for me and our family. In late August after sending two kids to college out of state and the youngest starting high school, I was scheduled for another surgery.


As I write this, I am still recovering from my double mastectomy with DIEP flap reconstruction. I do not know where I inherited the gene mutation, although there is a much higher percentage of those that have it in the Ashkenazi heritage than others, it really doesn’t matter. I know I have it, and I have to be proactive to prevent cancers.  There are other cancers that can be at a higher risk with the BRCA1 gene mutation, but I now have much lower risk for the two that are most pronounced (breast and ovarian cancers). I will still meet with my OBGYN and breast specialist once a year for checkups.


If my story does nothing more for you other than make sure you have annual checkups, then I have done what I have set out to do. I could look at all of this and think, “I got dealt a bad hand of cards,” but I would rather look at it like this is the path I was given. We don’t always like the path chosen for us, but hopefully we learn from it and can teach others.




Learn More:








On the Podcast, Breast Cancer Conversations:


Prophylactic Mastectomy and BRCA Mutation



 


Share your story:


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:

Recent Posts

See All

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Mindfulness for Wellbeing

February 23 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Pilates

February 16, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

Monday 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

February 27,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

March 4 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

March 5,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

March 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

March,  12,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

March 12 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page