页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

在节日期间预防乳腺癌


节假日是一年中神奇而欢乐的时刻。从感恩节(对美国朋友而言)到元旦(对世界各地的朋友而言!),没有什么比这段时间更能让人感受到温暖和团聚了。空气中弥漫着兴奋的气氛,人们的期望值也很高。但是,节日也会让一些人不堪重负,增加压力。对于癌症患者、幸存者和护理人员来说,这可能是一个特别困难的时期,因为他们可能需要处理治疗、副作用、医疗预约以及癌症诊断所带来的心理和情感上的巨大伤害。

没有放之四海而皆准的策略。 无论您的情况如何,例如正在接受最近的诊断、正在接受治疗或正在努力适应 "新常态",以下的一些建议都可以帮助您成功度过并享受这个节日!


善待自己


接受与以往节日不同的情况。您可能不喜欢某些历史悠久的传统。没关系。过去,你可能是最热闹的节日庆祝女王,但现在,你甚至不确定自己能否准备好一餐饭或包装好礼品。当然,做不到以前所做的一切是令人沮丧的,但不要因此而自责。你已经度过了一段充满挑战的时光。对癌症后的自己温柔点。

传达您的需求

健康是第一位的。如果乳腺癌使您难以计划和实施您通常在节日里做的事情,请让您的亲人知道。他们都是爱你的人,希望你过得最好。他们会很乐意替你分担。今年您可能无法举办一年一度的节日聚会。让客人们带一道菜来,做一餐聚餐。使用一次性盘子和餐具(对环境表示歉意)。或者请其他朋友或亲戚来主持今年的活动。

调整期望值

即使没有患上乳腺癌,每个人也都有一个完美假期的憧憬。当节日未能达到我们的期望时,失望和压力就会偷走这个节日的欢乐。放下对 "完美 "假期的幻想。把注意力集中在重要的事情上,也就是与亲人团聚、心存感激,并期待新的一年。如果您通常会旅行去与亲人共度佳节,但由于疲劳和恶心等治疗副作用而无法成行,那么您可以通过 Skype、Zoom 或 FaceTime 等视频聊天服务,在智能手机或笔记本电脑上进行一次难忘的节日通话。

为疯狂的癌症评论做好准备

癌症患者和幸存者在一年中的任何时候都可能受到愚蠢的癌症评论。善意的亲朋好友可能会在节假日期间更上一层楼。当你的远房姑妈为你带来一篮 "治疗癌症 "的礼品时,你的第一反应可能是问她为什么不把这些东西告诉梅奥诊所的专家。如果你只是感谢她,然后继续前进,你会感觉好得多(相信我们)。

尽管与往年相比,您的作用可能有限,但节日对于每一位癌症患者来说都至关重要,因为这可以让他们与生命中最重要的东西--他们所爱的人--重新建立联系。这些社交联系不仅让我们感觉良好,科学研究还表明研究表明,它们对我们的健康至关重要。有大量证据表明,社会支持和联系感可以在很多方面保持我们的健康,包括提高癌症存活率和整体心理健康。

节日是与家人和朋友共度美好时光的绝佳机会。如果您发现自己在节日期间压力很大,或者只是想与理解您的人交流,请参加我们的虚拟 周四晚上的 Thrivers MeetUp.

我们希望这个神奇的季节能让您精神焕发。祝您节日愉快


最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

留言


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Navigating Breast Cancer Around the Holidays


The holiday season can be a magical, joyous time of year. There’s nothing quite like the period from Thanksgiving (for our friends in the U.S) through New Year's Day (to our friends around the world!) that generates feelings of warmth and togetherness. There’s a level of excitement in the air, and expectations are high. But the holidays can also be overwhelming for some people, creating added stress and pressure. It can be an especially difficult time for cancer patients, survivors, and caregivers who may be managing treatments, side effects, medical appointments, and the all consuming psychological and emotional toll of a cancer diagnosis.

There isn’t a one-size-fits-all strategy. No matter what your situation, i.e., coming to terms with a recent diagnosis, going through treatment, or trying to adapt to a ‘new normal’, here are a few tips that may help you successfully navigate the holiday season and enjoy it!


Be Kind to Yourself


Accept that things may be different from your past holidays. You may not feel up to some time-honored traditions. That’s okay. You may have been the queen of over-the-top holiday celebrations in the past, but now you’re not even sure you can prepare a meal or wrap gifs. Sure, it’s frustrating not to do everything you did before, but try not to beat yourself up about it. You’ve had a challenging time. Be gentle with your post-cancer self.

Communicate Your Needs

Your health comes first. If your breast cancer makes it difficult to plan and implement the things you usually do for the holidays, let your loved ones know. These are people who love you and want the best for you. They will be happy to fill in for you. You may not be able to host the annual holiday get-together this year. Have guests bring a dish for a potluck type of meal. Use disposable plates and utensils (with apologies to the environment). Or ask another friend or relative to host the event this year.

Adjust Your Expectations

Even without dealing with breast cancer, everyone has a vision of the perfect holiday. When the holidays fail to measure up to our expectations, disappointment and stress can steal the season’s joy. Let go of the illusion of the ‘perfect’ holiday. Focus on what’s important, which means connecting with loved ones, being grateful, and looking forward to a new year. If you usually travel to spend the holidays with loved ones but cannot due to treatment side effects like fatigue and nausea, visit via a video chat service such as Skype, Zoom, or FaceTime for a memorable holiday call on a smartphone or laptop.

Brace Yourself for Crazy Cancer Comments

Patients and survivors can be subjected to stupid cancer comments at any time of the year. Well-meaning friends and relatives may take it to the next level during the holidays. When your distant aunt brings a gift basket of ‘cancer-curing’ treats for you, your first instinct may be to ask her why she isn’t sharing this with the experts at the Mayo Clinic. You will feel much better if you just thank her and move on (trust us on this).

Even though your role might be limited compared to years past, the holiday season is vital to every cancer patient because it allows them to reconnect with what is important in their lives; their loved ones. Those social connections don’t just make us feel good; scientific research shows that they are vitally important to our health. There’s significant evidence that social support and feeling connected can keep us healthy in many ways, including improving cancer survival and overall mental health.

The holiday season can be a wonderful opportunity to spend time with family and friends. If you find yourself stressed about the holidays or just want to connect with people who understand what you’re going through, check out our virtual Thursday night Thrivers MeetUp.

We hope this magical season renews your spirit. Have a wonderful holiday!


Recent Posts

See All

The Now

留言


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico