页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

颌骨坏死:鲜为人知的乳腺癌治疗副作用

已更新:2022 年 11 月 21 日



什么是颌骨坏死?

颌骨坏死(ONJ)是某些乳腺癌治疗可能产生的副作用。它会导致颌骨组织坏死。颌骨坏死会导致疼痛、感染和牙齿外露。约有 2% 的乳腺癌患者可能会出现这种副作用。


颚骨骨坏死的确切病因尚不清楚,但可能与颚骨供血减少有关。这种病最常见于服用双膦酸盐类药物的患者,这种药物用于减少骨质流失和预防骨折。其他风险因素包括放射治疗或化疗。


颌骨坏死的症状通常在开始接受乳腺癌治疗四到八周后出现。这些症状可能包括口腔疼痛或肿胀、牙齿松动、牙龈中的骨头或组织外露、进食或刷牙时难以张大嘴巴、牙龈异常出血以及口臭。


ONJ 有哪些症状?

ONJ 的症状包括下颌疼痛、牙齿脱落和口腔内骨头外露。这种疾病还会导致进食和说话困难。ONJ 最常见的症状是下颌疼痛,程度从轻微到严重不等。其他症状包括

  • 牙龈肿胀或感染

  • 下颚麻木或刺痛

  • 颚骨外露(表现为牙龈上有一个洞)

  • 发红

  • 伤口引流

  • 裸露的骨头

  • 牙齿松动

  • 咀嚼或吞咽困难

如果您正在接受癌症治疗并出现上述任何症状,请务必立即告知您的肿瘤医生或牙医。 颚骨骨坏死可能很难诊断,但如果您出现任何上述症状,一定要寻求医疗建议。您的医生或牙医可能会对您进行身体检查,也可能会要求您进行 X 光或其他影像学检查。



导致 ONJ 的原因是什么?

ONJ 最常见于接受过静脉注射双膦酸盐治疗的患者,这种治疗可能是癌症治疗的一部分,也可能是为了预防骨质疏松症。双膦酸盐是一种有助于强化骨骼和降低骨折风险的药物。但在某些情况下,它们会导致颌骨退化。

ONJ 是由于流向颌骨的血液减少造成的。这可能是双磷酸盐或地诺单抗等降低血液中矿物质含量的癌症治疗的结果。化疗和放疗也可能导致 ONJ。


什么是双膦酸盐?

双膦酸盐是一种常用于治疗乳腺癌患者骨质流失的药物。它们通过降低分解骨骼的细胞活性来发挥作用,最终达到增加骨密度和降低骨折风险的目的。双膦酸盐通常以注射或静脉注射的方式给药。虽然服用这些药物有很多好处,但下颚骨坏死是一种罕见但可能出现的副作用。

乳腺癌患者通常会服用双膦酸盐来减轻转移性疾病带来的骨骼相关问题,并阻止辅助治疗造成的骨质流失。除癌症治疗外,人们还研究了双膦酸盐在直接抑制乳腺肿瘤细胞生长和扩散方面的潜力。


双膦酸盐的一个例子就是 Zometa。 唑来膦酸是一种用于降低乳腺癌扩散到骨骼和身体其他部位风险的药物。Zometa的作用原理是降低分解骨骼的细胞活性,最终增加骨密度,降低骨折风险。Zometa可以通过注射或静脉注射的方式给药。


双膦酸盐有哪些副作用?

双膦酸盐常见的副作用包括恶心、呕吐、便秘、腹泻和腹痛。双膦酸盐还可能导致颌骨坏死(ONJ)。颌骨坏死是一种罕见但严重的疾病,会对颌骨造成损伤。它通常是由血液减少引起的。


患 ONJ 的风险有多大?

发生颌骨坏死的风险很低,估计为 0.3%-3%。风险会随着治疗时间和接受的总累积剂量而增加。

一项大型 III 期随机研究 发现,早期乳腺癌患者在手术和化疗后接受 3 至 5 年的双膦酸盐治疗并不比接受 2 年的双膦酸盐治疗更能提高生存率。研究还发现,接受 2 年以上的双膦酸盐治疗会增加颌骨坏死的风险。


权衡服用任何药物(包括双膦酸盐)的益处和风险非常重要。如果您患有乳腺癌并正在考虑服用双膦酸盐,请务必与您的肿瘤科医生进行讨论。尽管如此,颚骨骨坏死的风险仍然很低,不应过分担心。


诊断颌骨坏死

ONJ 的诊断需要结合病史、体格检查和影像学检查。医生会询问您的病史和接受过的任何双膦酸盐治疗。他们还会对您的口腔和下颌进行体格检查。医生还可能会要求进行 X 光、CT 扫描和核磁共振成像等成像检查,以便更近距离地观察颚骨。


如何治疗颌骨坏死?

治疗 ONJ 没有放之四海而皆准的方法。医生会与您一起制定符合您个人需求的治疗计划。 ONJ 通常采用药物和手术相结合的方法进行治疗。在某些情况下,可能需要安装假牙。由于 ONJ 是由颚骨血流不足引起的,因此治疗的重点是促进该区域的血液循环。通常只有在其他治疗方法或药物无效的情况下,才会建议进行口腔手术。需要考虑的因素有很多。抗生素也可用于预防或治疗颌骨、牙龈或牙齿感染。虽然没有预防 ONJ 的可靠方法,但在癌症治疗期间保持良好的口腔卫生可能有助于降低风险。


向肿瘤学家咨询有关 ONJ 的问题

- 什么是颌骨坏死?

- 服用双膦酸盐有什么风险?

- 如何降低颌骨坏死的风险?

- 如果发生颚骨骨坏死,如何诊断和治疗?

- 我还可以采取哪些治疗方法或药物来降低颚骨骨坏死的风险?

- 如果发生颌骨坏死,是否有其他治疗方法?

- 颚骨骨坏死会对我的生活质量和治疗计划产生什么影响?

结论

颌骨坏死是一种罕见但严重的副作用,可由治疗乳腺癌的双磷酸盐疗法引起。 当流向颌骨的血流量减少时就会发生这种情况,并可能导致疼痛、感染和牙齿外露。如果您目前正在接受乳腺癌治疗,请务必留意 ONJ 的症状,如果出现任何下颚疼痛、牙齿脱落或口腔内骨头外露的情况,请立即通知您的肿瘤医生或牙医。及早发现 ONJ 并接受适当的治疗,有助于控制病情,提高癌症治疗期间和治疗后的生活质量。 如果您出现任何 ONJ 症状,请务必立即就医进行评估。

1 145 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

3 条评论


辛西娅
2022 年 11 月 21 日

非常抱歉,道恩。 我正准备接受第二次 Zometa 输液,对此我仍然非常紧张。 我的肿瘤医生让我先征得牙医的同意,他似乎很重视这件事。 我总是在输液前去见他。 我很遗憾你经历了这些。

喜欢

琐事
琐事
2022 年 11 月 20 日

很遗憾你不得不经历这一切。我很感谢这个小组让我注意到了这一点,这是我没有得到的副作用之一,所以很高兴你做得更好。

喜欢

dawn.oswald1
2022 年 11 月 20 日
-

ONJ疼得要命我的牙医不知道该怎么办所以他什么也没做我问他的助手我能吃什么止痛药?她告诉我去买测试过的口腔凝胶。我就照做了,直到我约到了另一位牙医。 他也不知道该怎么办。他给我做了洗牙,除了花了我的钱,什么也没做。他不得不把我送到别的地方。我终于找到了一个知道我需要什么的牙医。他给我打了 6 个月的青霉素,病就好了。骨头坏死脱落,9 个月后疼痛终于消失了。不要拖延,马上寻求帮助。没有什么...

喜欢

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Osteonecrosis of the Jaw: A Little Known Side Effect of Breast Cancer Treatment

Updated: Nov 21, 2022



What is Osteonecrosis of the Jaw?

Osteonecrosis of the jaw (ONJ) is a possible side effect of some breast cancer treatments. It is a condition that results in the death of bone tissue in the jaw. ONJ can lead to pain, infection, and exposure of the teeth. Around 2% of breast cancer patients may experience this side effect.


The exact cause of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw is not known, but it may be related to a decrease in blood supply to the jawbone. It is most commonly seen in patients who take drugs that belong to a group called bisphosphonates, which are used to reduce bone loss and prevent fractures. Other risk factors include radiation therapy or chemotherapy.


The symptoms of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw usually appear four to eight weeks after starting breast cancer treatment. These can include pain or swelling in the mouth, loosened teeth, exposed bone or tissue in the gums, difficulty opening your mouth wide enough for eating or brushing your teeth, unusual bleeding from the gums, and bad breath.


What are the symptoms of ONJ?

Symptoms of ONJ include jaw pain, tooth loss, and exposed bone in the mouth. The condition can also make it difficult to eat and speak. The most common symptom of ONJ is a pain in the jaw, which can range from mild to severe. Other symptoms include:

  • Swelling or infections around the gums

  • Numbness or tingling in the jaw

  • Jawbone exposure (seen as a hole in the gums)

  • Redness

  • Drainage from wounds

  • Exposed bone

  • Loose teeth

  • Problems chewing or swallowing

If you are undergoing cancer treatment and experiencing any of these symptoms, be sure to tell your oncologist or dentist right away. Osteonecrosis of the jaw can be difficult to diagnose, but if you experience any of the above symptoms, it is important to seek medical advice. Your doctor or dentist will likely perform a physical exam and may order x-rays or other imaging tests.



What Causes ONJ?

ONJ is most commonly seen in patients who have received intravenous bisphosphonate therapy, either as part of their cancer treatment or to prevent osteoporosis. Bisphosphonates are drugs that help to strengthen bones and reduce the risk of fractures. However, in some cases, they can cause the jawbone to deteriorate.

ONJ is caused by a reduction in blood flow to the jawbone. This can be the result of cancer treatments that reduce the levels of minerals in the blood, such as bisphosphonates or denosumab. Chemotherapy and radiation therapy can also lead to ONJ.


What are Bisphosphonates?

Bisphosphonates are a type of drug commonly used to treat bone loss in people with breast cancer. They work by reducing the activity of cells that break down bone, ultimately leading to increased bone density and reduced risk of fractures. Bisphosphonates are typically administered as an injection or intravenous infusion. While there are many benefits to taking these drugs, Osteonecrosis of the Jaw is a rare but possible side effect.

Breast cancer patients often take bisphosphonates to lessen the skeletal-related issues that come with metastatic disease, and to stop the bone loss caused by adjuvant therapy. Outside of cancer treatment, bisphosphonates have been studied for their potential in directly inhibit breast tumor cell growth and spread.


One example of a bisphosphonate is Zometa. Zoledronic acid is a drug that's given to reduce the risk of breast cancer spreading to the bones and other parts of the body. Zometa works by reducing the activity of cells that break down bone, ultimately leading to increased bone density and reduced risk of fractures. Zometa can be administered as an injection or intravenous infusion.


What are the Side Effects of Bisphosphonates?

Common side effects of bisphosphonates include nausea, vomiting, constipation, diarrhea, and abdominal pain. Bisphosphonates can also cause Osteonecrosis of the Jaw (ONJ). ONJ is a rare but serious condition that causes damage to the jawbone. It is typically caused by a decrease in blood.


What is the Risk of Developing ONJ?

The risk of developing Osteonecrosis of the Jaw is low, with estimates ranging from 0.3-3%. The risk increases with the duration of therapy and total cumulative dose received.

A large phase III randomized study found that receiving 3 to 5 years of bisphosphonate treatment after surgery and chemotherapy for early-stage breast cancer doesn’t improve survival any more than receiving 2 years of bisphosphonate treatment. The study also found that receiving more than 2 years of bisphosphonate therapy increases the risk of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw.


It is important to weigh the benefits and risks of taking any drug, including bisphosphonates. If you have breast cancer and are considering taking a bisphosphonate, it is important to discuss this with your oncologist. That being said, the risk of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw is still low and should not be a cause for undue concern.


Diagnosing Osteonecrosis of the Jaw

ONJ is diagnosed through a combination of medical history, physical examination, and imaging tests. Your doctor will ask about your medical history and any bisphosphonate therapy you've received. They will also perform a physical examination of your mouth and jaw. Imaging tests such as X-rays, CT scans, and MRIs may also be ordered to get a closer look at the Jawbone.


How is Osteonecrosis of the Jaw Treated?

There is no one-size-fits-all approach to treating ONJ. Your doctor will work with you to develop a treatment plan that meets your individual needs. ONJ is typically treated with a combination of medication and surgery. In some cases, a dental prosthesis (false teeth) may be required. Because ONJ is caused by a lack of blood flow to the jawbone, treatments focus on increasing blood circulation to the area. Oral surgery is typically only recommended if other treatments or medications have not been effective. There are many factors to consider. Antibiotics may also be prescribed to help prevent or treat an infection in the jaw, gums, or tooth. While there is no guaranteed way to prevent ONJ, maintaining good oral hygiene during cancer treatment may help reduce your risk.


Questions to Ask Your Oncologist About ONJ

- What is Osteonecrosis of the Jaw?

- What are the risks of taking a bisphosphonate?

- How can I reduce my risk of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw?

- How will Osteonecrosis of the Jaw be diagnosed and treated if it occurs?

- What other treatments or medications can I take to reduce my risk of Osteonecrosis of the Jaw?

- Are there any alternative treatments available if Osteonecrosis of the Jaw occurs?

- How will Osteonecrosis of the Jaw affect my quality of life and treatment plan?

Conclusion

Osteonecrosis of the jaw is a rare but serious side effect that can be caused by bisphosphonate therapy for treating breast cancer. It occurs when there is a reduction in blood flow to the jawbone and can lead to pain, infection, and exposure of the teeth. If you are currently undergoing treatment for breast cancer, be sure to watch for symptoms of ONJ and notify your oncologist or dentist right away if you experience any jaw pain, tooth loss, or exposed bone in the mouth. By catching ONJ early and getting proper treatment, you can help manage this condition and improve your quality of life during and after cancer treatment. If you experience any symptoms of ONJ, it's important to see your doctor right away for an evaluation.

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Cynthia S
Nov 21, 2022

So sorry Dawn. I'm getting ready for my second Zometa infusion and I continue to be very nervous about this. My oncologist had me get the go-ahead from my dentist first and he seems to be on top of it. I will always see him prior to the infusion. I'm really sorry you went through that.

Like

debialdo
debialdo
Nov 20, 2022

So sorry that you had to go through all of that. I’m grateful for this group that brought it to my attention it’s one side effect I didn’t get so glad you’re doing better. 

Like

dawn.oswald1
Nov 20, 2022

ONJ hurts like he--. My dentist didn't know what to do. So he did nothing. I ask his assistant what can I take fir pain? She told me to go get tested oral gel. So I did that until I could get an appointment with a different dentist. Well he didn't know what do to either. He did a washout, and it did nothing but cost me money. He had to send me somewhere else. I finally git a dentist that knew what I needed. He put me on penicillin fir 6 months and it cleared up. The bone died and fell out and the pain was finally gone after 9 months. Don't delay get help right away. No fu…

Like

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page