页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

精准医疗


美国国家研究委员会称,精准医疗的重点是 "根据遗传、环境和生活方式等因素,确定哪些方法对哪些患者有效"。一旦医生掌握了有关您的肿瘤和遗传学的这些重要信息,他们就能对您的诊断和治疗方案提出明智的建议。


乳腺癌的诊断将我们联系在一起,在我们分享治疗、手术和应对机制的故事时,它提供了一条共同的主线。然而,在乳腺癌圈子里,我们很快就会跳到关于 HER2 状态、激素受体状态或是否选择基因检测的问题上。我们有能力娓娓道来药品和非专利药品的名称,我们正在使用哪种芳香化酶抑制剂,当我们遇到同样是三阴性或 BRCA 阳性的人时,我们会产生一种与生俱来的亲切感。


(观看网络研讨会)



我们与乳腺癌好友进行这些对话,开始确定我们的 "乳腺癌双胞胎"。也就是说,与我们年龄相仿、罹患乳腺癌的阶段和类型相同的人。


然而,如果我们找到了自己的乳腺癌双胞胎,那么为什么我们会有不同的副作用呢?为什么我的双胞胎癌症患者对新辅助化疗(手术前接受化疗)有完全反应,而我没有?为什么我的癌症在 4 年后复发,而她的没有?

精准医疗使我们能够回答其中一些棘手的问题,并根据肿瘤特征确定具体的治疗方案。例如,如果您的 HER2 基因检测呈阳性,肿瘤学家就会认识到,与 HER2 基因检测呈阴性的患者相比,这种特殊基因会导致癌症更快地生长和扩散。 如果您确实患有 HER2+ 乳腺癌,好消息是有一些靶向疗法,如赫赛汀,可以通过阻断试图到达 HER2 蛋白的任何信号来减缓甚至阻止癌细胞的生长。由于精准医疗的出现,研究人员已经能够开发出靶向疗法,使那些被诊断患有 HER2+ 乳腺癌的患者受益。

精准医疗可以提高疾病检测能力,预防疾病恶化。它还强调预防,而不仅仅是对特定疾病的反应。简而言之,精准医疗是一个极具吸引力的选择,因为它可以帮助我们更好地了解癌症、老年痴呆症、糖尿病和其他许多困扰我们的疾病。

技术的进步使研究人员和科学家能够以闪电般的速度解码 DNA。如果我们能够解码我们的基因,了解它们蕴藏着哪些秘密,并利用这些信息来针对、治疗和预防疾病,那么我们就真的掌握了金钥匙。2015 年,在时任总统奥巴马的领导下,美国国立卫生研究院(NIH)发起了一项由患者推动的全国性研究计划,寻求 100 万或更多的美国人自愿参与研究。


为了了解人类基因组和疾病的发生,科学家和研究人员将需要大量非常多样化的样本。这是人们参与医学进步的大好机会。 然而,说起来容易做起来难。


目前,人们对科学和医学缺乏信任。Smirnoff、Willets 和他们的团队(2018 年)确定了一个框架,用于了解不同研究人群中研究信任/不信任的具体领域。在他们发表的论文中 理解医学研究中信任与不信任的范式:社区 VOICES 研究中,学者们提出了四大支柱,这些支柱提供了一个概念框架,以加强真相并扩大临床研究的参与范围。这些领域是


- 一般可信度(年龄较大,非残疾人)

- 对歧视的看法(非裔美国人、拉丁裔、西班牙语偏好者)

- 对欺骗的看法(先前的研究经历,非裔美国人)

- 对剥削的看法(教育程度较低)

尽管联邦规定要确保妇女和少数民族参与联邦资助的研究,但参与研究仍然存在其他障碍,包括 "后勤问题、健康知识水平低和社会文化因素"(Scharff、Mathews、Jackson、Hoffsuemmer、Martin 和 Edwards,2010 年)。

如果我们看一看 塔斯基吉研究,为什么人们不怀疑呢?塔斯基吉研究是公共卫生服务办公室进行的一项长达 40 年的实验,他们对阿拉巴马州 600 名患有梅毒的农村黑人进行了终生跟踪,拒绝告诉他们诊断结果,重复使用治疗方法,并拒绝为他们提供治疗。


美国的制度和结构有着根深蒂固的历史,但我们需要克服这一点。我们可以做得更好。由于塔斯基吉研究(Tuskegee Study)的可怕实验,美国制定了保护人类受试者的政策和立法。例如,研究人员需要获得自愿的知情同意,并由机构审查委员会对其研究进行审查和批准,以确保符合道德标准。

首先,我们需要认识到精准医疗确实有其危险性。虽然我们一直在关注其优势,如揭开隐藏在 DNA 中的信息,但作为一个社会,我们需要做得更好,以确保我们将所有参与者都包括在内,并邀请他们参与进来。


在我们交出自己的基因信息用于研究之前,必须探讨一些伦理问题。例如,共享 DNA 会带来哪些法律后果?谁拥有这些数据?雇主或人寿保险公司是否可以根据你的基因信息对你进行歧视?

我们如何才能做到正确?我们有机会重建信任、改善临床跟踪参与和支持研究;这一举措比任何个人都重要,它是一百万个数据点的总和,以确保我们的儿女和他们的孩子在未来的岁月里能够获得最好的药物和预防性护理。



 

参考资料


Smirnoff, M., Wilets, I., Ragin, D. F., Adams, R., Holohan, J., Rhodes, R., Winkel, G., Ricci, E. M., Clesca, C., & Richardson, L. D. (2018)。理解医学研究中的信任与不信任的范式:社区 VOICES 研究。 AJOB 实证生物伦理学, 9(1), 39-47. https://doi.org/10.1080/23294515.2018.1432718

Scharff, D. P., Mathews, K. J., Jackson, P., Hoffsuemmer, J., Martin, E., & Edwards, D. (2010).不只是塔斯基吉:了解对参与研究的不信任》(More than Tuskegee: understanding mistrust about research participation. 穷人和得不到充分服务者的医疗保健期刊》(Journal of Health Care for the Poor and underserved, 21(3), 879-897. https://doi.org/10.1353/hpu.0.0323

16 条意见

最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Precision Medicine


Precision medicine, according to the National Research Council, focuses “on identifying which approaches will be effective for which patients based on genetic, environmental, and lifestyle factors.” Once doctors have this important information regarding your tumor and genetics, they can make informed recommendations related to your diagnosis and treatment plan.


A breast cancer diagnosis unites us and it provides a common thread as we share stories about treatments, surgeries, and coping mechanisms. Within breast cancer circles however, we quickly jump to questions about one’s HER2 status, hormone receptor status, or whether or not we opted for genetic testing. We have the ability to rattle off pharmaceutical and generic name drugs, which aromatase inhibitor we are on and the bond we innately forge when we meet someone else who is also Triple Negative, or BRCA Positive.


(Watch the Webinar)



We have these conversations with our breast cancer besties, and we start to identify our “breast cancer twin”. That is to say, someone else diagnosed around the same age, with the same stage and type of breast cancer.


However, if we have found our breast cancer twin, then why do we have different side effects? Why would my cancer twin have a complete response to neo-adjuvant chemotherapy (receiving chemotherapy prior to surgery) whereas I did not? Why did my cancer come back (recurrence) 4 years later and hers did not?

Precision medicine enables us to answer some of these tough questions and to identify specific treatment options based on our tumor characteristics. For example, if you have tested positive for the HER2 gene, oncologists recognize that this particular gene causes the cancer to grow and spread faster than if you tested negative for HER2. If you do have HER2+ breast cancer, the good news is that there are targeted therapies such as Herceptin, that work to slow or even stop the growth of the cancer cell by blocking any signals trying to get to the HER2 protein. Because of precision medicine, researchers have been able to develop targeted therapies to benefit those diagnosed with HER2+ breast cancer.

Precision medicine can improve disease detection and preempt disease progression. It also places emphasis on prevention rather than just serving as a reaction to a particular disease. Concisely, precision medicine is an attractive option as it can help us to better understand cancer, Alzheimer’s, diabetes and many other illnesses that plague us.

Technological advances have enabled researchers and scientists to decode DNA at lighting speeds. If we can decode our genes, understand what secrets they hold, and harness that information to target, treat and prevent disease, we are literally holding the golden ticket. In 2015, under then President Barack Obama, the National Institute of Health (NIH) launched a national, patient-powered research initiative seeking one million or more Americans to volunteer as participants in research.


In order to understand the human genome and the onset of disease, scientists and researchers will need a substantial and very diverse sample size. This is a heroic opportunity for people to get involved in the advancement of medicine. However, it is easier said than done.


There is currently a lack of trust in Science and Medicine. Smirnoff, Willets and their team (2018) identified a framework for understanding specific areas of research trust/mistrust amongst disparate study populations. In their published paper, A paradigm for understanding trust and mistrust in Medical Research: The Community VOICES Study, the scholars laid out four pillars that offer a conceptual framework in order to strengthen truths and increase broader participation in clinical research. The areas are:


· General Trustworthiness (Older age, not disabled)

· Perceptions of Discrimination (African American, Latino, Spanish Language Preference)

· Perceptions of Deception (prior research experience, African American)

· Perceptions of Exploitation (less education)

Despite federal mandates to ensure the inclusion of women and minorities in federally funded research, there continues to be additional barriers to participation including “logistical problems, low levels of health literacy, and sociocultural factors” (Scharff, Mathews, Jackson, Hoffsuemmer, Martin & Edwards, 2010).

If we take a look at the Tuskegee Study, why wouldn’t one be skeptical? The Tuskegee Study was a 40-year experiment run by Public Health Service Offices who followed 600 rural black men in Alabama with syphilis over the course of their lives refusing to tell them of their diagnosis, reusing to treat them and denying them treatment.


The U.S. has a long rooted history engrained in our system and structures but we need to overcome this. We can do better. As a result of the horrific experiment of the Tuskegee Study, policies and legislation were formed to protect human subjects. For example, researchers need to obtain voluntary informed consent and have their research reviewed and approved by Institutional Review boards to ensure that ethical standards are met.

To begin, we need to recognize that precision medicine does have its perils. While we’ve been focusing on the advantages such as unlocking the information hidden within our DNA, we as a society need to do better to insure we are including all of the players and inviting them to the table.


There are ethical considerations that must be explored before we hand over our genetic information for research. For example, what are the legal ramifications of sharing your DNA? Who owns the data? Can an employer or life insurance company discriminate against you base on your genetic information?

How can we get it right? We have an opportunity to rebuild trust, to improve clinical trail participation and to support research; this initiative is bigger than any individual, it is the sum of one million data points to ensure that our sons, daughters, and their children have access to the best medicine and preventative care in years to come.



 

References:


Smirnoff, M., Wilets, I., Ragin, D. F., Adams, R., Holohan, J., Rhodes, R., Winkel, G., Ricci, E. M., Clesca, C., & Richardson, L. D. (2018). A paradigm for understanding trust and mistrust in medical research: The Community VOICES study. AJOB empirical bioethics, 9(1), 39–47. https://doi.org/10.1080/23294515.2018.1432718

Scharff, D. P., Mathews, K. J., Jackson, P., Hoffsuemmer, J., Martin, E., & Edwards, D. (2010). More than Tuskegee: understanding mistrust about research participation. Journal of health care for the poor and underserved, 21(3), 879–897. https://doi.org/10.1353/hpu.0.0323

25 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico