页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

男性乳腺癌患者资源

罗德-里奇

无论是早期乳腺癌还是四期乳腺癌,男人被诊断出乳腺癌时一般都会被吓一跳。在听到 "很遗憾地告诉你,你患上了乳腺癌 "这句话的最初震惊之后,我在互联网上广泛搜索,发现大多数关于这种疾病的信息都非常明确地针对女性。这并不奇怪,因为我们只占新病例的不到百分之一。一旦我被告知癌症的类型和分期,我就知道自己患上了乳腺癌、 炎症性乳腺癌,IIIB 期当我被告知癌症的类型和分期(炎症性乳腺癌,IIIB 期)后,我就迫切地想了解有关治疗甚至预后的所有信息。最后,我在许多有用的支持论坛上尽可能多地提问。 在约见医护人员时,我一定要带上我的伴侣,因为她既是记录员,也是一个可以问那些惊吓过度的病人显然不会问的问题的人。


社交媒体

治疗开始后,我的问题越来越多,我发现主要的乳腺癌社区之一是寻找更多信息的好地方、 BreastCancer.org该网站有数百个主题和超过 10 万名会员。遗憾的是,很少有男性在这里发帖,但多年来,这里有大量的帖子,这些帖子回答了我的许多问题。


Facebook 上也有男性乳腺癌支持页面,有些是私人的,有些是公开的。 男性对抗癌症 是一个针对所有男性癌症的普通页面,但以男性乳腺癌为群组。男性乳腺癌全球联盟 男性乳腺癌全球联盟有一个公开的 Facebook 页面。这两个组织都随时准备帮助新确诊的男性解决任何问题。


我也是 乳腺癌幸存者私人 FB 群组 该小组对确诊患者(男性和女性)以及护理人员开放。我还通过 SBC 的私人群组刚刚开始了一个专门针对男性乳腺癌患者的私人群组。 他们的网站 以及通过 SBC 应用程序.


向我推荐的另一个 Facebook 支持页面是 Beyond The Pink Moon这是一个由女性和男性组成的大型社区,12 年来他们一直在互相帮助。虽然一开始我在这里没有发现很多男性,但现在情况并非如此。很明显,由于患有这种疾病的男性会受到污名化的影响,他们羞于在一个以女性为主的论坛上发帖。


基因检测

A 基因测试i建议所有患有乳腺癌的男性进行基因检测。在我的病例中,由于我的母亲在我 40 岁时因病去世,因此我可能会遗传这种疾病。结果发现,我的 BRCA1 基因有一个意义不明的变异。这是一个矛盾的结果,没有临床意义。



治疗

治疗男性乳腺癌的大部分信息来自医生治疗女性乳腺癌的经验。治疗男性乳腺癌的主要方法是通过手术切除肿瘤。 肿瘤.通常是 乳房切除术因为男性乳房较小。 化疗化疗是手术后常用的辅助治疗方法,您的肿瘤科医生会根据您的类型和阶段制定最适合您的治疗方案。 放射治疗也可用作辅助治疗。男性乳房 重建几乎总是在完成所有其他乳腺癌治疗后作为 "延迟 "手术进行。


您可能很幸运,在医院里被指派了一名乳房护理护士。 虽然这些专业护士更多的是为女性服务,但我发现她们确实也是为男性提供信息和支持的重要来源。最后 激素阻断药物他莫昔芬的处方有效期至少为五年。


由于男性不愿及时就医,他们的预后通常较差。而当他们就诊时,他们的保健医生往往不会想到乳腺癌是一种可能的诊断。目前也没有针对男性的筛查计划,即使是那些有患病遗传倾向的男性也不例外。主流的乳腺癌慈善机构也没有大力宣传男性也可能患上这种疾病。


不要陷入这样的误区,了解自己的风险,进行自我检查,并及时向您的主治医生报告。


---

罗德-里奇罗德-里奇(Rod Ritchie)是一位出生于悉尼的作家、网络出版商和乳腺癌患者活动家,同时患有乳腺癌和前列腺癌。目前,他的乳腺癌和前列腺癌均为非晚期。他是男性乳腺癌全球联盟董事会主席,他的网站是 MaleBC.org 您可以在 Twitter @malefitness 上关注他。


他为《健康联盟》撰写的文章可在此处找到: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



228 观点

最新文章

查看全部

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Resources for Male Breast Cancer Patients

By Rod Ritchie

A guy is generally blindsided by a breast cancer diagnosis, whether it be early stage or Stage IV. After the initial shock of hearing the word, “sorry to say, you have breast cancer,” I discovered from a wide internet search that most information about the disease was very clearly aimed at women. No surprise here, since we make up less than one percent of new cases. Once I was told the type and stage of cancer, Inflammatory Breast Cancer, Stage IIIB, I felt an urgency to learn all I could about treatment and even its prognosis. I ended up on many useful support forums and asked as many questions as possible. At appointments with healthcare professionals, I was sure to take my partner as a both record keeper and a person to ask those questions a patient in shock obviously won’t ask.


Social Media

After treatment commenced, and the questions mounted up, I found a good place to find further information was with one of the major breast cancer communities, BreastCancer.org, which had hundreds of threads and over 100,000 members. Unfortunately, very few men posted here, but over the years there has been a storehouse of posts, and these answered many of my questions.


There are also male breast cancer Facebook support pages, some private, some public. Man Up to Cancer is a general page for all male cancers, but with a male breast cancer cohort. The Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance has a public Facebook page. Both are ready to help newly diagnosed guys with any questions they might have.


I am also part of Surviving Breast Cancer’s Private FB group which is open to those diagnosed (men and women) as well as caregivers. I also just started a private group specifically for males with breast cancer via SBC’s private groups which you can access both on their website as well as through the SBC app.


Another Facebook support page recommended to me was Beyond The Pink Moon, a very large community of women and men who have been helping each other for 12 years now. While I didn't find many men here at first, that’s not the case nowadays. Obviously, due to the stigma affecting guys with this disease, they are shy about posting on a predominantly female forum.


Genetic Testing

A genetic test is recommended for all men with breast cancer. In my case, since my mother passed away, aged 40, from the disease, it could have been expected that I inherited the disease. It turned out that I had a variation of unknown significance of the BRCA1 gene. This is an ambivalent result of no clinical significance.



Treatment

Most of the information about treating male breast cancer comes from doctors’ experience with treating female breast cancer. The main treatment for breast cancer in men is surgery to remove the tumor. This is usually a mastectomy because of the small size of a male breast. Chemotherapy is the post-common adjuvant treatment after surgery and your oncologist will work out a regimen that best suits your type and stage. Radiation can also be used as adjuvant therapy. Male breast reconstruction is almost always performed as a “delayed” procedure, after completion of all other breast cancer treatments.


You may be lucky enough to be assigned to a breast care nurse at your hospital. Whilst, these expert nurses are more commonly dealing with women, I found they really were a great source of information and support for guys as well. Finally, the hormone-blocking drug, Tamoxifen, is prescribed for at least five years.


Men generally have a poorer prognosis because of their reluctance to see a doctor in a timely fashion. And when they do present, their health practitioners are often not thinking of breast cancer as a possible diagnosis. There is also no screening program for men, even for those with a genetic predisposition to the disease. And mainstream breast cancer charities are not pushing hard enough the message that men can get this disease too.


Don’t fall into this cohort, know your risk, check yourself, and present to your primary care provider in a timely fashion.


---

Rod Ritchie is a Sydney-born writer, internet publisher, and breast cancer patient activist, living with breast and prostate cancers. Currently, he’s NED for both. He’s President, Board of Directors, Male Breast Cancer Global Alliance, has a website at MaleBC.org and you can follow him on Twitter @malefitness


His articles for Health Union can be found here: https://advancedbreastcancer.net/author/traveltext



224 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page