页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

自我乳房检查

已更新:2023 年 10 月 26 日

多年来,对于乳房自我检查在早期发现乳腺癌和提高生存几率方面的价值有多大,一直存在着激烈的争论。美国癌症协会不再建议将乳房自我检查作为乳腺癌平均风险妇女的筛查工具。同样,梅奥诊所 梅奥诊所也承认,"大多数医疗组织都不建议将常规乳房自我检查作为乳腺癌筛查的一部分。这是因为乳房自我检查在发现癌症或提高患乳腺癌妇女的存活率方面还没有显示出效果"。

虽然自我乳房检查不是一种正式的筛查方式,但熟悉自己乳房的外观和触感,从而了解什么对自己是正常的,并能够发现和及时报告变化,是非常有价值的。

虽然我们支持乳房自检和了解自己的身体,但重要的是要知道,乳房自检绝不能取代乳腺癌筛查。



自我乳房检查有助于发现乳腺癌的早期症状。乳房自我检查是保健的重要组成部分,应定期进行。自我乳房检查也被称为自我乳房意识、乳房自我意识或 BSE。在进行自我乳房检查时,您会用手来感觉乳房是否有任何变化。定期进行 BSE 非常重要,这样您就能了解自己的 "正常 "基线,然后随着时间的推移,就能发现任何变化。毕竟,您最了解自己的身体!


乳腺癌统计数据

癌症对每个人的影响都不尽相同,但无论谁受到癌症的影响,有些事实仍然是真实的。根据美国癌症协会最近的估计,大约每 8 位女性中就有 1 位(略高于 12%)在其一生中会罹患浸润性乳腺癌,仅在美国女性中,每年就有约 26.5 万例新确诊的浸润性乳腺癌病例。


虽然无论年龄、种族或民族,任何人都有可能罹患癌症;但根据 2019 年基于 2003-2017 年数据的统计,与白种女性相比,非裔美国女性被诊断出罹患晚期乳腺癌的比例更高。此外,同样的统计数据显示,西班牙裔/拉丁裔女性比非西班牙裔白人女性更有可能在 40 岁之前被诊断出癌症(无论年龄、性别认同、种族或族裔),她们需要更好地了解自己的身体,帮助及早发现体征和症状。


早期检测

早期发现可增加成功治疗和康复乳腺癌的机会。通过采取积极主动的措施,如自我乳房检查和在 40 岁后(或更早,取决于风险因素)定期进行乳房 X 光检查,妇女可以随时了解自己的健康状况,并在乳腺癌变得更加严重或危及生命之前,更清楚地认识到与乳腺癌相关的潜在问题。


早期乳腺癌是可以治愈的。晚期乳腺癌或转移性乳腺癌仍无法治愈,但通过终身治疗可以控制病情。


同样,虽然乳房 X 光检查是目前乳腺癌筛查的标准,但了解自己的乳房密度也很重要。乳房密度对乳房 X 线照相术筛查的效果起着重要作用;如果您的乳房密度较高(您的乳房X 线照相术医生应该能够告诉您),您就应该要求进行其他类型的筛查,如超声波或核磁共振成像,以便发现乳腺癌。


了解您的乳房(乳腺癌的常见症状)和身体的其他部位


如果您发现以下情况,请致电医疗服务提供者:乳房的外观、手感或大小发生变化,乳头的外观或手感发生变化,皮肤出现凹陷或皱褶,乳房组织出现肿块、硬结或厚厚的斑点,乳头出现分泌物,乳头或其他部位向内牵拉,某个部位疼痛难忍,乳头出现皮疹,一侧或双侧乳房肿胀,皮肤发热、发红或出现黑斑。

乳腺癌也有可能在没有上述任何征兆或症状的情况下出现。因此,根据自己的乳房密度采用正确的方式进行筛查以了解自己是否患有乳腺癌是非常重要的。


乳房自我检查方法样本

方法 #1

乳房自检的第一步是照镜子。观察乳房或乳头周围皮肤的大小、形状、颜色或质地是否有变化。检查是否有凹陷、肿胀、发红或任何其他可能出现的变化。这种方法还可以帮助你更加熟悉每个乳房的形状和质地,以便在乳房自检时更容易注意到任何变化。


方法 #2

第二种方法称为 触诊.使用这种乳房自检技术时,您将用手触摸乳房,以发现异常。


双臂举过头顶,目的是习惯乳房的触感。这将有助于您发现任何新的或不同之处。如果有,请立即联系您的医疗服务提供者。当您知道什么对您来说是正常的时候,您就会更清楚什么时候会发生变化。许多医院诊所和医疗服务提供者办公室都注重乳腺癌意识服务,包括乳腺癌筛查。您可以每月花几分钟时间进行一次乳房自我检查,帮助您的医疗团队维护您的乳房健康。


从锁骨开始,用手指在每个乳房上做圆周运动,慢慢移动,直到腋窝部位。一定要检查两侧乳房,并深入乳房组织直至锁骨,同时感觉是否有任何肿块或凸起。

你可以从乳头开始,画越来越大的圆圈,直到乳房外缘。你也可以像修剪草坪一样,将手指垂直上下移动。这种上下移动的方法似乎对大多数女性最有效。一定要从乳房的前部到后部摸遍所有的组织:对于乳房下方的皮肤和组织,使用轻微的压力;对于乳房中部的组织,使用中等的压力;对于乳房后部的深层组织,使用较强的压力。当你触摸到深层组织时,你应该可以摸到肋骨。


重要的是,在月经周期中也要进行乳房自检,以便了解正常情况。用三根中指,确保检查整个乳房区域,上下移动,只需几分钟!不会有任何损失!


方法 #3

第三种乳房自检技术称为 叩击法.在进行这种乳房自检时,请对着镜子,用指尖轻轻叩击乳房的每一个部位。这种乳房自检方法有助于发现仅靠触诊可能无法感觉到的肿瘤。重要的是,要注意在乳房自检过程中,敲击乳房的任何部位是否会产生与其他部位不同的声音或感觉。


方法 #4

1) 第四种 BSE 方法是在淋浴时,用三个中指的指垫/指腹,以轻、中、重三种力度按压整个乳房和腋窝部位。每月检查双侧乳房,感觉是否有肿块、增厚、硬结或任何其他乳房变化。


2) 在镜子前 双臂放在身体两侧,目测自己的乳房。然后,将它们举过头顶,看看是否有任何变化。然后,将双手放在臀部,用力按压,弯曲胸部肌肉。查看是否有凹陷或变化,尤其是乳头。


3) 俯卧 - 俯卧时,乳房组织沿胸壁均匀展开。在右肩下放一个枕头,将右臂放在头后。用左手以轻、中、重三种力度向下按压,检查整个右侧乳房区域。用拇指和食指挤压和滚动每个乳头,检查是否有分泌物(这表示感染)。用另一只手对左侧乳房重复上述步骤。


请记住,乳房自检应作为整体健康方案的一部分每月进行一次。如果您在乳房自检过程中发现异常或肿块,请务必去看医生或其他医疗保健专业人员,以便进行进一步评估。乳房自检是及早发现异常的最佳方法,可以通过早期发现乳腺癌来挽救生命。


发现乳腺癌

每月一次的乳房自我检查是妇女在家进行的检查,目的是寻找乳房组织的变化或问题。许多妇女认为这样做对她们的健康很重要。然而,专家们对乳房自我检查在发现乳腺癌或挽救生命方面的益处并不一致。请向您的医疗保健提供者咨询乳房自我检查是否适合您。

每月进行乳房自我检查的最佳时间是月经来潮后的 3 到 5 天。每月在同一时间进行。此时乳房最不容易出现触痛和肿胀。仔细检查每个乳房和腋窝。查看是否有以下变化

  • 乳房或腋下有肿块、硬结或增厚

  • 乳房肿胀、发热、发红或变黑

  • 乳房大小或形状发生变化

  • 皮肤起皱

  • 乳头上出现瘙痒、鳞状溃疡或皮疹

如果您发现自己的乳房有任何变化,并且在月经后仍未消失,请咨询您的医疗保健提供者。自我乳房检查是了解和主动关注自己健康的好方法!因此,请确保每个月都进行自我乳房检查,让自己保持健康!如果您对自我乳房检查中发现的问题感到担忧,请务必尽快咨询医生。


是否建议进行自我乳房检查?

是的,我们仍然建议进行自我乳房检查,这是一种重要的乳腺癌筛查和早期检测工具。自我检查可以帮助您熟悉自己乳房的大小、形状、质地和温度,以便迅速发现任何变化并采取适当的应对措施。定期的乳房自我检查应与乳房 X 光检查等其他筛查工具相结合,以确保在出现任何异常或肿块时尽早发现。

自我乳房检查比乳房 X 光检查更好吗?

自我乳房检查是医疗保健的重要组成部分,可作为早期发现乳腺癌的工具,并通过乳房 X 射线照相术和活组织检查加以确认。 乳房 X 光检查 是用于早期发现乳腺癌的筛查工具。乳房 X 光检查使用 X 光图像来帮助检测任何可能预示着癌组织的肿块或异常。建议所有 40 岁以上的女性都进行这种筛查,但如果您是乳腺癌高危人群,可以更早开始筛查。 值得注意的是,乳房自我检查也应定期进行,因为它能在异常情况变大之前将其检测出来。


自我乳房检查不能取代乳房 X 线照相检查;但是,如果在自我检查过程中发现任何异常或肿块,通过自我乳房检查获得的信息可以提供补充数据,从而可以更早地做出诊断。

结论

自我乳房检查是保健中的一项重要工具,无论年龄大小或乳腺癌相关风险因素如何,都应定期进行自我乳房检查。自我乳房检查可以帮助女性更加熟悉自己的身体,让她们更早地发现可能存在的任何异常。如果在自我检查过程中发现任何异常或肿块,自我乳房检查可提供补充数据,以便更早地做出诊断。


如果在自我乳房检查中发现任何异常或肿块,请务必尽快联系您的医生。医生会建议采取适当的下一步措施,以正确诊断和治疗问题。对于乳腺癌来说,早期发现是关键,而自我乳房检查在快速发现问题并适当处理方面可以发挥重要作用。 乳房自我检查是医疗保健的重要组成部分,不容忽视。

270 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Self Breast Examination

Updated: Oct 26, 2023

Through the years there has been significant debate vis a vis how valuable breast self-examination is in detecting breast cancer early and increasing the likelihood of survival. The American Cancer Society stopped recommending breast self-exam as a screening tool for women with an average risk of breast cancer. Similarly, the Mayo Clinic acknowledges that "most medical organizations don't recommend routine breast self-exams as a part of breast cancer screening. That's because breast self-exams haven't been shown to be effective in detecting cancer or improving survival for women who have breast cancer."

While self breast exams are not a formal screening modality, there is great value in being familiar with the look and feel of your own breasts so you understand what is normal to you and are able to detect and promptly report changes.

While we are proponents breast self exams and knowing your body, it is important to know that BSEs should never take the place of breast cancer screenings.



Self Breast Exams can help to detect early signs of breast cancer. Self-examination of the breasts is an important part of health care and should be done on a regular basis. Self-breast exams are also known as being self-breast aware, breast self-awareness or BSE. During a Self Breast Examination, you will use your hands to feel for any changes in your breasts. It's important to do BSE regularly so that you get a sense of what your "normal" is as a baseline and then, over time, will be able to detect any changes. After all, you know your body best!


Breast Cancer Statistics

Cancer affects everyone differently but some facts remain true no matter who is affected by it. According to recent estimates from The American Cancer Society about 1 in 8 women (just over 12%) will develop invasive breast cancer over their lifetime and about 265,000 new cases of invasive breast cancer are diagnosed each year among US women alone.


Although anyone can develop cancer regardless of age, race, or ethnicity; according to statistics from 2019 based on data from 2003-2017; African American women have higher rates of being diagnosed with later-stage breast cancers when compared to Caucasian women. Additionally, those same statistics show that Hispanic/Latina women were more likely than non-Hispanic white women to be diagnosed before they turn 40 (regardless of age, gender identity, race, or ethnicity) and need to become better informed about their bodies and help catch signs and symptoms early on.


Early Detection

Early detection increases the chances of successful treatment and recovery from breast cancer. By taking proactive measures like Self Breast Examinations and getting regular mammograms after age 40 (or earlier depending on risk factors) women can stay informed about their own health and be more aware of potential issues related to breast cancer before they become more serious or life-threatening conditions.


Early Stage breast cancer is curable. Late-stage breast cancer or metastatic breast cancer still has no cure, though it is manageable with lifelong treatment.


Similarly, while mammograms are the current standard of care for breast cancer screenings, it is important to know your breast density. Breast density plays an important role in the effectiveness of mammography screening; if you have dense breasts (and your mammographer should be able to tell you), you will want to ask for another type of screening such as an ultrasound or MRI in order to detect breast cancer.


Know your breasts (Common Symptoms of Breast Cancer) & Other Parts of Your Body


You should call your healthcare provider if you notice any: changes in the look, feel, or size of the breast, change in the look or feel of the nipple, dimpling or puckering of the skin, lump, hard knot, or thick spot in the breast tissue, nipple discharge, nipple or other area pulling inward, pain in one spot that won't go away, rash on the nipple, swelling of one or both breasts, warmth, redness, or dark spots on the skin.

It is also possible that breast cancer may be present without any of the aforementioned signs or symptoms. That is why it is very important to get screened using the right modality depending on your breast density in order to know whether or not you have breast cancer.


A sampling of Methods used to perform a breast self-examination

Method #1

The first step to Breast Self Exam is to look at your breasts in the mirror. Look for any changes in size, shape, color, or texture of the skin on the breast or around the nipple area. Check for dimpling, swelling, redness, or any other changes that may be present. This method can also help you become more familiar with the shape and texture of each breast so that it is easier for you to notice any changes during Breast Self Exam.


Method #2

The second method is known as palpation. To perform this Breast Self Exam technique you will use your hands to feel for anything unusual in your breasts.


With arms raised above your head, your goal is to get used to the feel of your breasts. This will help you to find anything new or different. If you do, contact your provider right away. When you know what's normal for you, you will be more aware of when changes occur. Many hospital clinics and healthcare provider offices focus on breast cancer awareness services, including breast cancer screening. You can help your healthcare team maintain your breast health by taking a few minutes once a month to conduct a breast self-exam.


Start at the collarbone and using a circular motion slowly move your fingers over each breast until you reach the armpit area. Be sure to check both sides and go deep into the breast tissue all the way up to the collarbone while feeling for any lumps or bumps that may be present.

You can begin at the nipple, moving in larger and larger circles until you reach the outer edge of the breast. You can also move your fingers up and down vertically, in rows, as if you were mowing a lawn. This up-and-down approach seems to work best for most women. Be sure to feel all the tissue from the front to the back of your breasts: for the skin and tissue just beneath, use light pressure; use medium pressure for tissue in the middle of your breasts; use firm pressure for the deep tissue in the back. When you've reached the deep tissue, you should be able to feel down to your ribcage.


It is important to do breast self exams also during your menstrual cycle so you get a sense of what is normal. using your three middle fingers, be sure to check the entire breast area, and move in and up and down pattern and it only takes a few minutes! There is nothing to lose!


Method #3

The third Breast Self Exam technique is called percussion. During this Self Breast Examination technique lightly tap each part of your breast with your fingertips while looking in front of a mirror. This Breast Self Exam technique helps detect possible tumors that may not be felt through palpation alone. It is important to note if there are any areas on the breast where tapping produces a sound or sensation different from what was experienced elsewhere on your breasts during Breast Self Exam.


Method #4

1) A fourth method for BSE is in the shower with the pads/flats of your 3 middle fingers, check the entire breast and armpit area by pressing down with light, medium, and firm pressure. Check both breasts each month feeling for any lump, thickening, hardened knot, or any other breast changes.


2) In Front of a Mirror Visually inspect your breasts with your arms at your sides. Then, raise them overhead and look for any changes. Next, place your hands on your hips and press firmly to flex your chest muscles. Look for any dimpling or changes, particularly on the nipples.


3) Lying Down - When lying down, the breast tissue spreads out evenly along the chest wall. Place a pillow under your right shoulder and put your right arm behind your head. Using your left hand check the entire right breast area by pressing down with light, medium, and firm pressure. Squeeze & roll each nipple between the thumb and forefinger checking for discharge (this would indicate infection). Repeat these steps for your left breast using the other hand.


Remember Breast Self Exams should be completed on a monthly basis as part of your overall health regimen. If you ever find an irregularity or lump during Breast Self Exams it is important to visit a doctor or other healthcare professional for further evaluation. Breast Self Exams are the best way to catch any abnormalities early and can potentially help save lives by providing early detection of breast cancer.


Finding Breast Cancer

Monthly breast self exams are a check-up a woman does at home to look for changes or problems in the breast tissue. Many women feel that doing this is important to their health. However, experts do not agree about the benefits of breast self-exams in finding breast cancer or saving lives. Talk to your healthcare provider about whether breast self-exams are right for you.

The best time to do a monthly breast self-exam is about 3 to 5 days after your period starts. Do it at the same time every month. Your breasts are least likely to be tender and swollen at this time. Check each breast and armpit carefully. Look for changes such as:

  • Lump, hard knot, or thickening inside the breast or underarm area

  • Swelling, warmth, redness, or darkening of the breast

  • Change in size or shape of the breast

  • Dimpling or puckering of the skin

  • Itchy, scaly sore or rash on the nipple

If you find any changes in your breasts that don't go away after your period, talk to your healthcare provider. Self Breast Examinations are a great way to stay informed and proactive about your health! So make sure you Self Breast Exam every month and keep yourself healthy! If ever you're worried about something you notice during Self Breast Exam, be sure to consult a doctor as soon as possible.


Are self-breast exams recommended?

Yes, Self Breast Examinations are still recommended as an important screening and early detection tool for breast cancer. Self-exams can help you become familiar with the size, shape, texture, and temperature of your breasts so that any changes can be detected quickly and addressed appropriately. Regular Self Breast Examinations should be combined with other screening tools such as mammograms to ensure earlier detection if any irregularities or lumps are present.

Are self-breast exams better than mammograms?

Self Breast Examinations are an important part of health care and can be used as a tool in the early detection of breast cancer and confirmed through mammography and biopsy. Mammograms are screening tool used for the early detection of breast cancer. Mammograms use x-ray images to help detect any lumps or abnormalities that may indicate cancerous tissue. This type of screening is recommended for all women over the age of 40, though if you are high risk for breast cancer, you may start screenings earlier. It is important to note that Self Breast Examinations should also be completed regularly due to their ability to detect irregularities before they become larger issues.


Self Breast Examinations cannot replace mammography screenings; however, the information obtained from Self Breast Exams can provide supplemental data that could lead to earlier diagnosis if any irregularities or lumps are detected during the Self-Examining process.

Conclusion

Self Breast Examinations are an important tool in health care and should be done on a regular basis regardless of age or risk factors associated with breast cancer. Self Breast Examinations can help women become more familiar with their own bodies, allowing them to detect any irregularities that may be present earlier on. Self Breast Examinations provide supplemental data that could lead to earlier diagnosis if any irregularities or lumps are detected during the Self-Examining process.


If any irregularities or lumps are found during Self Breast Examinations, it is important to contact your doctor as soon as possible. Your doctor can then recommend the appropriate next steps to be taken in order to properly diagnose and treat the issue. Early detection is key when it comes to breast cancer and Self Breast Exams can play an important role in finding issues quickly and addressing them appropriately. Self Breast Examinations are an important part of health care that should not be overlooked.

269 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico