页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

采取行动

作者:伊莉斯-安娜-哈里斯


在我开始之前,你需要了解我的一些情况:我通常是一个非常注重隐私的人,我真的不希望别人知道我的事情。我不想透露自己得了乳腺癌,因为担心别人知道后会说什么或想什么。 我意识到,如果我不愿意,我不必分享任何事情,但经过一番思考,我不能再沉默了! 我必须告诉别人;我必须告诉你们!


乳腺癌诊断

我记忆犹新,仿佛就在昨天。那是 2002 年 5 月 22 日星期五,我 36 岁,收到了一条震撼我世界的信息。我以为我要死了。我想起了癌症是如何让我母亲骨瘦如柴的。医生走进病房告诉我,我患上了浸润性乳腺导管癌,也就是乳腺癌。我在进行自我乳房检查时,摸到了一个肿块。我预约了时间,去看医生。我是和雪莉阿姨一起去的。 当他告诉我这个消息时,我感觉一切都停止了。我不记得他之后说了什么,我只是泪流满面。当我收到那条信息时,我发出了一声尖叫,泪水开始滚滚而出。我以为我要死了。这是所有女人能收到的最糟糕的消息。母亲总是教导我和妹妹要了解自己的身体。我记得她给我们看了肿块,有柚子那么大。我母亲患过两次乳腺癌,47 岁时去世。我还了解到,我的家族有患乳腺癌的历史。我知道我的祖母在 44 岁时死于乳腺癌,但我不清楚我的曾祖母是怎么死的。我是伊莉斯家族的第三代,也是乳腺癌的幸存者。


我很高兴这些年来有所突破。我母亲在接受化疗时没有服用止呕药,我记得她说过,在一轮治疗后,她就像吸了一便士一样。 她接受治疗时,通常会病上几天。多亏了时代的进步,我才能坚持治疗。他们现在会给你止呕的药。 我母亲没有这种药。 虽然治疗已经取得了长足进步,但有些方面仍需改进。化疗的副作用之一就是脱发。第一轮化疗时,我的头发脱落了,第二轮化疗后,脱落的头发更多了。我记得自己曾一度陷入抑郁,因为我感觉自己正在失去女性的魅力。我坚持了下来。我坚持完成了 6 次化疗。


乳腺癌复发

五年后的 2007 年 5 月,41 岁的我再次被诊断出患有乳腺癌。我被击垮了,因为我刚刚战胜了它。我感觉自己又被吸入了一个黑洞。我不禁要问:为什么我又要经历这一切?为什么是我?为什么这种事总是发生在我身上?第三次是 2018 年 1 月,52 岁。我又摸到了乳房里的肿块。于是,和之前一样,我预约了肿瘤医生。我和雪莉阿姨一起走进了办公室。技术人员解释说,那块黑色区域就是癌症。雪莉阿姨抱着我,我像个孩子一样嚎啕大哭。哭过之后,我又接受了治疗。第二轮化疗后,我发现自己完全筋疲力尽,什么都不想做。第三轮、第四轮、第五轮,终于,六轮化疗结束了。我发现自己躺在床上。我姐姐走进房间,告诉我需要吃点东西。我吃不下,我完全失去了知觉。她打了我一巴掌(严厉的爱),说 "吃吧"。我又开始哭。最后,我还是吃了。我很幸运地说,我已经接受了 12 次化疗和 33 次放疗。


乳腺癌支持

作为一名三度幸存的幸存者,我希望每个人都知道,支持是必不可少的。我从两个地方得到了支持。这两个地方就是我的亲生家庭和教会家庭--其中有两位姐妹最为突出。第一个姐妹是 Julie Weem。我们两家人从小一起长大,因此我们更容易建立联系。她是我在 2010 年 10 月做见证的原因。作为一名幸存者,我可以向你们保证,每一天都是提高认识的一天。上帝对朱莉-威姆斯也有不同的安排,她死于乳腺癌。这对我来说是个悲伤的日子,因为她已经结婚生子。我联系的下一位姐妹是薇诺娜-海-琼斯(Winona Hae Jones)。2019 年 9 月,她被诊断出患有乳腺癌。我们交换了电话号码,每周都会聊天。我开始分享我的化疗和放疗经历。我告诉她我得过三次癌症。她说:"什么!你是我的 "Shero!"(女性版的英雄)。(女版英雄)。


她还叫我 "百科全书"她说 "你知道很多"我告诉她我会做研究,会找到很多信息。就像我和另一位乳腺癌患者朱莉一样,我和她之间有一种强烈的、相互支持的纽带。我告诉她,就像上帝希望我分享这些信息一样。

一年后,主对薇诺娜-海-琼斯另有安排。她于 2019 年 12 月去世。这对我来说是个悲伤的日子。


我想分享我作为幸存者的经历,以此鼓励妇女们熟悉自己的身体,了解家族病史,并每年做一次乳房 X 光检查。行动起来吧




最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Take Action

By Elise Anna Harris


Before I start, you need to know something about me: I am usually a very private person, and I really don’t want people knowing my business. I didn’t want to reveal that I had breast cancer because of the unease of what people would say or think if they knew. I realize that I don’t have to share anything if I don’t want to, but after some thought, I can’t be silent anymore! I have to tell someone about it; I have to tell you!


A Breast Cancer Diagnosis

I remember it like it was yesterday. It was Friday, May 22, 2002; I was 36 when I received a message that would rock my world. I thought I was going to die. I remembered how cancer had stripped my mother down to bones. The doctor came into the room and told me that I had developed Invasive Ductal Carcinoma, also known as breast cancer. I was doing a self breast examination when I felt a lump. I set up an appointment and went to the doctor. I went there with Auntie Shirley. When he gave me that message, it felt like everything just stopped. I don’t remember hearing anything he said after that; I just burst into tears. When I got that message, I just let out a scream, and the tears just started rolling out. I thought I was going to die. It was the worst news that any woman could receive. My mother always taught my sister and me to learn our bodies. I remember her showing us the lump, and it was the size of a grapefruit. You see, my mother had breast cancer twice, and she died at the age of 47. I also learned that my family has a history of breast cancer. I knew that my grandmother died of breast cancer at the age of 44; I’m not sure how my great grandmother died. I am the 3rd generation named Elise, a survivor of breast cancer.


I am so glad that there have been breakthroughs over the years. My mother took chemotherapy without anti-nausea pills, and I remember her saying that after a round of treatment that it was like she had sucked on a penny. When she took her treatments, she was usually sick for a few days. Thanks to the advancements, I was able to work through treatment. They now give you medicine for anti-nausea. My mother didn’t have this. Although treatment has come a long way, there are some things that still need to be improved. One of the side effects from chemotherapy is hair loss. During the 1st round, I lost my hair and after the second round, even more came out. I remember falling into a bout of depression because it felt like I was losing my femininity. I persevered. I made it through 6 rounds of chemotherapy.


A Breast Cancer Recurrence

Five years later, in May 2007, I was diagnosed with breast cancer again at age 41. I was devastated because I just beat it. It felt like I was being sucked back down into a black hole. I couldn’t help but ask, why do I have to go through this again? Why me? Why does this keep happening to me? The third time was January 2018, age 52. I felt another lump in my breast. So, just like before, I made an appointment with the oncologist. I went into the office with Auntie Shirley. The tech explained that the area of blackness was cancer. Auntie Shirley hugged me, and I just bawled like a baby. After crying, I went through treatment again. After the 2nd round of chemo, I found myself totally exhausted, not wanting to do anything. Round 3, 4, 5, finally, six rounds of chemo completed. I found myself lying in bed. My sister came into the room telling me I needed to eat. I could not eat; I was completely out of it. She slapped me on my face (tough love) and said, “eat”. I began crying again. Finally, I did eat. I am blessed to say I have endured 12 rounds of chemotherapy and 33 rounds of radiation.


Breast Cancer Support

As a three-time survivor, I want everyone to know that support is essential. I received support from two places. Those places are my natural family and church family- two sisters stand out. The first sister was Julie Weem. Our families grew up together, so because of that, it was easier for us to connect. She was the reason why I gave my testimony in October 2010. As a survivor, I can assure you that every day is a day for awareness. The Lord also had different plans for Julie Weems; she died of breast cancer. That was a sad day for me because she was married and had kids. The next sister I connected with was Winona Hae Jones. In September 2019, she was diagnosed with breast cancer. We would exchange phone numbers and would talk weekly. I began to share my experiences with chemo and radiation. I told her I had cancer three times. She said, “What! You are my “Shero!” (female version of a hero).


She also called me an “Encyclopedia.” She said, “You know a lot.” I told her I would do research and would find a lot of information. There was a strong, supportive bond I had with her, just like I did with the other breast cancer patient, Julie. I told her it was like the Lord wanted me to share the information.

One year later, the Lord had other plans for Winona Hae Jones. She died in December 2019. That was a sad day for me.


I wanted to share my experience as a survivor, so it will encourage women to become familiar with their bodies, know the family history, and to get the yearly mammogram. Take action!




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

April 12, 10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

April 16,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico