页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

我的遗产是什么?

作者:阿比盖尔-约翰斯顿


2017 年,38 岁的我被诊断出患有 IV 期转移性乳腺癌(MBC),我的遗产简直是我最不愿意考虑的事情。所有的精力、注意力和脑细胞都集中在保命上,集中在弄清诊断结果和学习一切有关乳腺癌的知识上。


如今,五(5)年过去了,我终于跨入了半独角兽领域,扫描结果显示我体内的癌症已不再活跃,又称 "无活动性疾病证据"(NEAD)。在这个减少药物治疗压力和担心病情恶化的季节,我有机会和空间更多地思考我的遗产。

最近,我的岳父去世了,我们花了很长时间谈论他和他的遗产,这让我更加思考我的遗产。我的遗产是什么?在我离开肉体之后,什么将继续存在?

当丽莎-劳迪科最近去世时(她创办了 @OurMBCLife 播客,并参与了其他宣传活动),我开始更多地思考我在家庭之外的遗产以及 MBC 社区内发生的事情。对于我们这些沉浸在宣传活动中的人来说,当我们离开人世时,别人会记得我们什么? 我们如何在社区中纪念和缅怀逝者?



那么,什么是 MBC 的遗产呢?


在研究这个定义的过程中,我发现了许多不同的观点,但我为自己确定的观点是这样的: 遗产就是我们生命结束后留下的东西。 我们留下的东西可以是:1)人(家人和朋友);2)文字/著作;3)物品(财产和其他东西);4)项目(如 SBC);5)日后结出果实的宣传工作;等等。每个人留下的遗产都各不相同,就像我们每个人一样。我留下的遗产之一就是我可能会也可能不会遗传给我的孩子们的基因突变(ATM),这对我来说并非不是一件好事,但我很感激我的许多家庭成员能够发现他们是否也携带这种突变,并在必要时采取行动。

在遗产问题上,我认为我们每个人都可以这样做:

1.思考我们每个人的遗产,并为此做好计划。 这可能意味着写下家族传统或故事;这可能意味着预先计划葬礼服务或预付墓地费用;这可能意味着为我们不能出席的特殊日子写信或写贺卡;这可能意味着制作一个盒子,装上一些可能有助于亲人回忆美好时光的物品;这可能意味着定期拍摄专业照片,以便为我们和家人留下影像记录;这可能意味着录制遗产视频;这可能意味着任何对您有意义的事情。

2.纪念和颂扬他人的遗产。 我认为我们 MBC 社区在这一点上做得很好,因为我们缅怀逝者,但我认为我们可以想办法做得更好。我在 GRASP (www.GRASPCancer.org我在 GRASP 的好朋友们()在每次会议期间都会向研究倡导者致敬,他们的工作非常出色--当我们准备回顾通过他们的努力而延续下来的科学时,我们会分享研究倡导者的照片和故事

我还想强调我们每个人本月可以为我们的遗产做的两件事,因为我知道有时很难知道从哪里开始。

首先,对于各位作家来说,我们的合作伙伴之一、野火网站的 April Stearns (www.WildfireCommunity.org) 提供了一个撰写遗产的绝佳机会。我们将出版一期特刊,主题是:遗产故事、 遗产故事。 文章类别包括1)过去的故事和人物;2)当下;我们今天的生活方式;3)未来。投稿时,请选择其中一个类别进行写作,并将稿件发送至:editor@wildfirecommunity.org。截止日期为 2022 年 8 月 25 日星期四。

其次,我们将于 2022 年 8 月 27 日东部时间下午 1 点到 3 点为所有 MBC 患者举办首期 MBC 季刊研讨会,该研讨会将完全以遗产为主题。 这次研讨会由 MBC 领导团队设计和主持,重点关注著作、法律规划和遗产视频。我们希望这将为大家提供一个起点和一个安全的场所,来讨论您可能已经制定好的计划。研讨会结束后,所有与会者都将收到一份讲义(目前有 20 多页!),其中包含我们收集的信息、清单和资源。 了解更多信息,请登录我们的 活动页面!敬请期待我们将在十月举办的以正念为主题的研讨会。

如果您对未来的 MBC 讲习班有任何建议,请随时告诉我们!

我想给你们留下这样一个想法--遗产不一定是轰轰烈烈的,比如在建筑物上留下自己的名字,或者给我们身后的人留下美元。我们的遗产是我们离开人世后留下的东西,我猜想我们最大的遗产将是我们以某种方式感动过的人。在最近一次纪念我岳父的仪式上,我听到了关于他的故事,人们最怀念和颂扬的是他每天所做的事情,这些事情只是他的一部分。

因此,让我们在与 MBC 一起经历生与死的过程中,有意识地仔细考虑我们将留下什么。

其他资源:



最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

What's My Legacy?

By Abigail Johnston


When I was diagnosed with Stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer (MBC) in 2017 at 38 years young, my legacy was literally the last thing on my mind. Every bit of energy and focus and brain cell were focused on staying alive, on figuring out the diagnosis and learning everything I could about breast cancer.


Now, five (5) years later, I’ve crossed over into semi-unicorn territory and finally got a scan that showed the cancer in my body is no longer active a/k/a No Evidence of Active Disease (NEAD). In this season of less stress attached to medication and worry about progression, I’ve had the opportunity and space to think more about my legacy.

And when my father in law died recently and we spent a long time talking about him and his legacy, it got me thinking even more about mine. What will be my legacy? What will live on after I’m no longer in this physical body?

When Lisa Laudico died recently (she so-founded the @OurMBCLife podcast, among other advocacy efforts), I started thinking more about my legacy outside my own family and what happens within the MBC Community. For those of us immersed in Advocacy, what will others remember about us when we’re gone? How can we in the Community remember and honor those who have died?



So, what is a legacy in the context of MBC?


In researching the definition, I came across many different perspectives, but the one I’ve settled on for myself is this: Legacy is simply what we leave behind when our lives are over. What we leave behind can be 1) people (family and friends); 2) words/writing; 3) items (property and other things); 4) programs (like SBC); 5) Advocacy efforts that bear fruit later; and so much more. What each person leaves behind as a legacy is as individual as we each are people. One piece of my legacy is the germline mutation (ATM) that I may or may not have passed on to my boys, which isn’t something that isn’t a positive to me, but I am thankful that many of my family members have been able to discover whether they too carry the mutation and to take action, as necessary.

Here’s what I think we each can do when it comes to legacy:

1. Think about our individual legacies and plan for it. This could mean writing down family traditions or stories; this could be pre-planning for funeral services or pre-paying for a burial plot; this could be writing letters or cards for special days we won’t be present for; this could be creating a box with items that may help our loved ones recall better days; this could be taking professional pictures regularly so that there is a visual record of us with our families; this could be recording a legacy video; this could be anything that makes sense to you.

and

2. Honor and celebrate the legacies of others. I think we do a pretty good job of this in the MBC Community as we honor the lives of those who have died, but I think we can think of ways to do this even better. My dear friends at GRASP (www.GRASPCancer.org) do an amazing job of honoring research advocates during each session — pictures and stories of research advocates are shared as we prepare to review the science that lives on through their efforts

I also wanted to highlight two things that each of us can do towards our legacies this month because I know it’s hard to know where to start sometimes.

First, for you writers, one of our partners, April Stearns over at Wildfire (www.WildfireCommunity.org), is offering an amazing opportunity to write about legacy. There will be a special issue with the theme, Legacy Stories. The categories are: 1) stories and people from the past; 2) The Present moment; the way we live today; and 3) The Future. For the submissions, you would select one of these categories to write about and send your submission to: editor@wildfirecommunity.org. The deadline is Thursday, August 25, 2022.

Second, for anyone living with MBC, we have our inaugural quarterly MBC workshop focused entirely on legacy on August 27, 2022 from 1-3 p.m. Eastern. This workshop is designed and hosted by the MBC Leadership team and is focused on writings, legal planning, and legacy videos. We hope that this will give everyone a starting point and a safe place to talk about plans you might already have in place. All of the attendees will receive a handout (currently more than 20 pages!) of information we’ve gathered, checklists and resources after the workshop. Learn more and sign up on our Events page! And watch for the next workshop, focused on mindfulness, that we will have during the often difficult month of October.

If you have a suggestion for a future MBC workshop, please don’t hesitate to let us know!

I’d like to leave you with this thought — a legacy doesn’t have to be big and splashy like getting your name on a building or $$ left to those we leave behind. Our legacies are what is left once we leave this earth and I suspect our greatest legacy will be the people we’ve touched in some way. As I heard the stories about my father in law at the recent service honoring his life, it was the things he did every day and were just part of who he was, that people most remembered and celebrated.

So, let’s be intentional and carefully consider what we will leave behind as we go about this living while dying experience with MBC.

Other Resources:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

June 14,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Sun's Embrace: A Summer Solstice Meditation

June 21,  11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

June 25,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

July 1, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

July 2,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

July 9, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

July 9,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page