页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌与医用大麻


随着许多州开始将医用大麻合法化医用大麻或大麻合法化,您可能会好奇它是否有助于缓解乳腺癌和乳腺癌治疗过程中一些较为棘手的副作用。一般来说,大麻可用于缓解疼痛、恶心和焦虑等症状,许多使用大麻的人都对其功效信誓旦旦。然而,在联邦范围内,以任何理由使用大麻仍被视为非法,许多人担心长期使用大麻会产生其他潜在的副作用。


在此,我们收集了一系列文章和科学评论,探讨使用医用大麻如何以及是否会影响您的乳腺癌治疗过程。与大多数疗法一样,使用医用大麻有利也有弊。请查看以下资源,了解更多信息。

 

使用大麻在接受乳腺癌治疗的人群中相当普遍;据报道,在 2021 年,多达 48% 的乳腺癌患者在确诊前 5 年尝试过使用大麻。大麻通常被用来帮助缓解疼痛、恶心、失眠、焦虑或压力,还有人发现大麻二酚(一种从大麻中分离出来的成分)也能帮助缓解这些症状。有初步研究表明,吸食大麻甚至有可能减缓肿瘤的生长速度,但也有初步研究表明,大麻中的活性成分可能会削弱某些化疗药物的疗效,因此现阶段还不清楚大麻是否真的会对乳腺癌治疗产生任何有意义的影响。 更多信息

 

这项科学研究发表在 癌症上发表的这项科学研究调查了乳腺癌患者在治疗的各个阶段及以后使用医用大麻的情况。通过在线调查,他们发现研究对象中有 42% 的人使用大麻来缓解症状,但其中只有 39% 的人事先与他们的医疗团队讨论过使用大麻的问题。研究人员得出结论,虽然大麻对症状控制有好处,但许多尝试大麻的人并不知道这种药物的潜在后果,而且不同参与者使用大麻的质量和剂量差异很大,这表明医疗专业人员和患者应该更加努力,坦诚地对待在癌症治疗中使用医用大麻的问题。 更多信息



 

虽然这篇文章适用于任何类型的癌症,但它概述了大麻在该国的法律地位(联邦规定为非法,但各州的规定各不相同)、大麻中可作为疗法的活性成分(四氢大麻酚和 CBD)、常见副作用和用于治疗的病症(疼痛、神经病变、恶心/呕吐、食欲不振/体重减轻)。不过,它也强调了向医疗专业人士咨询的重要性,因为每个人的治疗方法都是独特的,使用大麻可能会产生其他不良副作用。 更多信息

 

Denise Mann 在这篇为《美国新闻与世界报道》(U.S. News and World Report)撰写的文章中,将统计数据与个人和专业证词相结合,论述了乳腺癌患者使用大麻是否是个好主意。 美国新闻与世界报道. 虽然苏珊娜-韦纳(Suzanne Weiner)等大麻使用者表示 "大麻极大地帮助我缓解了诊断时的焦虑和压力......我当时一团糟",但医生们担心,如果患者不与他们讨论这个问题,可能会产生不可预见的后果。乳腺癌组织(BreastCancer.org)的首席医疗官玛丽莎-魏斯(Marisa Weiss)博士指出:"有些化疗药物会被肝脏中与大麻相同的部分分解,你不想过度消耗肝脏......在胸部接受放射治疗或其他治疗时吸烟或吸食大麻可能会影响肺功能"。一般来说,大家的共识是,虽然吸食大麻会有很大帮助,但最好事先向医疗团队咨询。 更多信息

 

还有一项 最近的一项研究 我们认为有必要与大家分享。根据这项前瞻性队列研究,102 名癌症患者在接受免疫疗法的同时使用或不使用大麻,结果显示,在接受免疫疗法的同时使用大麻的患者肿瘤进展时间明显缩短,总生存时间也缩短了。在分析参与者血液中的大麻代谢副产物时,有 4 种大麻代谢物与总生存时间有关。不过,使用医用大麻的人发生免疫相关不良事件的风险有所降低。由于没有要求研究参与者使用特定剂量、品牌或种类的大麻,而且在整个研究过程中允许参与者改变这些特征,因此很难说这些因素是否会影响研究结果。总的来说,对于那些考虑在使用医用大麻的同时服用免疫疗法的人来说,这项研究结果值得警惕。一如既往,我们建议您在尝试使用大麻等物质治疗癌症之前,先咨询专业医生。 更多信息

 

我们希望这些资源有助于澄清乳腺癌治疗与使用医用大麻之间讨论不多的关系。如果您被诊断出患有乳腺癌,使用过或考虑过大麻,并愿意分享您的故事,我们很乐意 听听!您可以从我们的读者那里了解其他乳腺癌故事 这里.如果您正在寻找 支持小组 加入并讨论更多类似的话题,那就不要再犹豫了: SurvivingBreastCancer.org网站上有一些项目可以帮助您建立一个这样的社区。


114 次浏览

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and Medical Cannabis


With many states beginning to legalize medical marijuana, or cannabis, you may be curious about whether or not it could help with some of the more difficult side effects of breast cancer and breast cancer treatment. Generally, it is used to help mitigate pain, nausea, and anxiety, among other symptoms, and many who use it swear by its efficacy. However, federally, cannabis use for any reason is still considered illegal, and many worry about other potential side effects from longterm marijuana use.


Here, we’ve collected a series of articles and scientific reviews examining how and if medical marijuana use can affect your breast cancer journey. As with most therapies, there are both pros and cons to its use. Check out the resources below to learn more.

 

Cannabis use is fairly common in those being treated for breast cancer; it is reported that in 2021, up to 48% of those with a breast cancer diagnosis had tried it between then and 5 years prior. It is commonly used to help with pain, nausea, insomnia, anxiety, or stress, and others find that cannabidiol, an isolated component from marijuana, can also help with these symptoms. There is very preliminary research that marijuana use could potentially even slow the rate of tumor growth, however there is also preliminary research that the active component of cannabis may undermine some chemotherapy agents by making them less effective, so at this stage it is unclear wheter it truly affects breast cancer treatment in any meaningful way. Read more

 

This scientific study published in Cancer examined medical marijuana use in breast cancer patients at all stages of treatment and beyond. Through online surveys, they found that 42% of their study population used cannabis for symptom relief, but only 39% of those people had discussed using cannabis with their medical team beforehand. The researchers concluded that while there were benefits in terms of symptom management, many of those trying cannabis were unaware of potential consequences of the drug, and the quality and dosage of marijuana across participants varied significantly, indicating that there should be more of an effort by medical professionals and patients to be candid about medical marijuana use in cancer treatment. Read More



 

While this article is generalized to any type of cancer, it contains an overview of the legal status of marijuana in the country (federally illegal, but state regulations vary), the active components in it that may act as a therapy (THC and CBD), and the common side effects and conditions it is used to treat (pain, neuropathy, nausea/vomiting, and appetite/weight loss). However, it also emphasizes the importance of consulting with a medical professional, as each person’s treatment is unique, and cannabis use may have other undesired side effects. Read more

 

Denise Mann integrates the statistics with personal and professional testimony on whether or not using cannabis with breast cancer is a good idea in this piece written for U.S. News and World Report. While marijuana users like Suzanne Weiner remark that, ‘“Pot helped me tremendously with the anxiety and stress of my diagnosis… I was a mess."’, doctors worry that when patients don’t discuss this with them, it may have unforeseen consequences. Dr. Marisa Weiss, chief medical officer of BreastCancer.org, notes, ‘"Some chemotherapy drugs are broken down by the same part of the liver that cannabis is, and you don't want to overtax the liver… smoking or vaping when receiving radiation or other therapies to your chest could affect lung function.”’ Generally, the consensus is that while marijuana use can be immensely helpful, it’s a good idea to check beforehand with your medical team. Read more

 

There is also a recent study brought to us by one of our readers related to this topic that we felt was important to share. According to the prospective cohort study, conducted with 102 cancer patients taking immunotherapy with or without cannabis use, those that were using cannabis alongside immunotherapy showed significantly reduced time of tumor progression as well as shorter times for overall survival. In analyzing cannabis metabolic byproducts in the blood of the participants, 4 cannabis metabolites were associated with overall survival times. However, the risk of immune related adverse events were decreased in those using medical marijuana. Since the study participants were not required to use a specific dosage, brand, or kind of cannabis and participants were allowed to vary these characteristics throughout the study, it is difficult to say whether or not these factors may affect the findings. Generally speaking, the study serves as a cautionary finding for those who are considering medical marijuana use while also taking immunotherapies. As always, we recommend that you consult with a medical professional before trying substances such as marijuana for your cancer care. Read More

 

We hope that these resources help to clarify the not well discussed relationship between breast cancer treatment and medical marijuana use. If you’ve been diagnosed with breast cancer, have used or considered cannabis, and would like to share your story, we’d love to hear about it! You can see some other breast cancer stories from our readers here. If you’re looking for a support group to join and discuss topics like this more, then look no further: SurvivingBreastCancer.org has a few programs that may be able to help provide a community for that.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page