页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

乳腺癌与积极思考:积极面对困难


您可能听别人说过,在乳腺癌的治疗过程中,最好 "保持乐观"。毕竟,拥有乐观的心态 已被证明 可以降低心脏病发作的风险,减轻压力,并普遍提高生活满意度。然而,当像癌症诊断这样严重的健康威胁出现时,事情就不总是那么简单了。


在这里,我们收集了一系列文章,从个人经历到科学文献综述,所有这些文章都旨在研究积极思维是否真的能在癌症的整个过程中起到帮助作用。共识是什么?也许不能--至少,不能作为我们一直期待的灵丹妙药。不过,这并不是说应该完全放弃积极思考。查看下面的资源,了解更多信息。

 

本文献综述总结了积极思维在癌症护理中的四大应用,包括在护理过程中保持积极心态、在癌症治疗过程中使用积极心理学方法,以及 "受益发现 "和 "创伤后成长 "的概念。后两个概念与幸存者在其经历的总体负面经历中发现积极方面的现象有关,虽然可能会对心理健康有益,但评审人员发现身体或免疫力并没有改善,而许多积极心理学研究则声称会有改善。虽然评审人员同意积极思考对某些人有好处,但对于癌症等严重的、通常是全身性的疾病,很难指望一个人的心态会对其生理状态产生重大影响。 更多信息

 

美国癌症协会 美国癌症协会为那些想知道自己的心态会如何影响癌症治疗的人创建了一个常见问题式的资源。他们指出,一般来说,人们的感觉和态度与实际诊断结果关系不大。你不可能想当然地患上癌症,也不可能想当然地摆脱癌症。很多时候,如果试图表现得积极乐观,就会掩盖人们可能对癌症产生的负面情绪,而这可能会比单纯地让自己感到沮丧更加沉重。他们发现一些有助于症状控制或缓解压力的方法包括引导想象、冥想和与支持小组会面。 更多信息



 

芭芭拉-艾伦里奇(Barbara Ehrenrhich)描述了她的乳腺癌之旅,以及她对积极思维的尝试。她发现自己迷失在支持团体、信息书籍和医疗建议的海洋中,于是她转向了积极思考社区,希望这能让她的经历更轻松一些。她被诸如"'癌症是发生在我身上最好的事情'"或"'乳腺癌给了我新的生活'"之类的信息所包围。乳腺癌是我需要经历的事情,它让我看到了生活的乐趣'",她很快就意识到,在她被卷入的这股积极的潮流中,还有一些不那么积极的因素。 更多信息

 

简短的回答是否定的,可能不会。多项研究表明,积极思考不仅不会对乳腺癌的预后产生任何显著的影响,而且在面对如此紧张的情况时,如果试图始终保持积极的心态,或者在与他人相处时隐藏自己的真实感受以显得更加积极,往往只会让你与支持网络更加隔绝。将自己的心态与预后联系在一起,会让您觉得自己要对癌症的进展负责,而事实并非如此。但是,您可以做一些事情来帮助自己获得心理健康--比如加入一个支持小组,或者从心理健康专家那里获得帮助,这些都可以帮助抑制伴随乳腺癌而来的压力和焦虑,并有助于降低抑郁症和精神疲劳的发病率。 更多信息

 

我们希望这些资源有助于澄清心态与身体健康之间经常令人困惑的关系,尤其是与乳腺癌有关的关系。乳腺癌可能会带来很多复杂的情绪,我们 SBC 希望您知道,"不好也没关系"。


如果您正在寻找一些 正念练习支持小组加入,那就不要再犹豫了: SurvivingBreastCancer.org网站上有一些项目可以帮助您缓解乳腺癌治疗过程中的一些压力。无论您的态度是否积极,我们都欢迎您的加入。







最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

6

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer and Positive Thinking: Positively Difficult


You might have heard from others that during your breast cancer journey, it’s best to "stay positive." After all, having an optimistic mindset has been shown to lower the risk of heart attacks, reduce stress, and generally improve life satisfaction. However, when a serious health threat like a cancer diagnosis is thrown into the mix, it’s not always that simple.


Here, we’ve collected a series of articles, ranging from personal accounts to scientific literature reviews, all aimed at examining whether or not positive thinking can actually help throughout your cancer journey. The consensus? Probably not- at least, not as the miracle cure we’ve all been waiting for. However, that’s not to say that positive thinking should be completely abandoned. Check out the resources below to learn more.

 

This literature review summarizes four main applications of positive thinking in cancer care, including having a positive mindset during care, using positive psychology methods during cancer treatment, and the concepts of “benefit finding” and “post-traumatic growth”. The last two concepts relate to a phenomenon of survivors finding positive aspects within the overall negative experiences they went through, and while there may be a mental health benefit, the reviewers found no physical or immune improvement, as many of the positive psychology studies claimed for there to be. While the reviewers agree that positive thinking can have benefits for some, with serious, often systemic illnesses such as cancer, it is difficult to expect one’s mindset to heavily influence their physiological state. Read more

 

The American Cancer Society created an FAQ-style resource for those wondering how their mindsets may impact their cancer care. They report that generally, people’s feelings and attitudes have very little to do with their actual diagnosis. You cannot think your way into getting cancer, and you also cannot think your way out of it, Oftentimes, by trying to be positive, it hides the negative emotions that someone may have with regards to their cancer, and that can prove to be more of a burden than simply allowing themselves to feel upset would be. Some things that they find may help with symptom management or stress relief include guided imagery, meditation, and meeting with a support group. Read More



 

Barbara Ehrenrhich describes her breast cancer journey in relation to her trials with positive thinking. Finding herself lost in a sea of support groups, informative books, and medical advice, she turned to the positive thinking community in the hopes that it would make her experience a little more stress-free. Surrounded by messages such as, “‘Cancer was the best thing that ever happened to me’", or, “‘breast cancer has given me a new life. Breast cancer was something I needed to experience to open my eyes to the joy of living.’”, she quickly realizes that there is a less-than-positive edge to the current of positivity she was being swept up in. Read more

 

The short answer is no, probably not. Not only does thinking positively not impact breast cancer outcomes to any significant degree, as shown by multiple studies, but by trying to be consistently positive when facing such a stressful situation, or hiding your true feelings when with others to seem more positive, it can often only serve to isolate you further from your support networks. By tying your mindset to your prognosis, it can lead you to feel like you are responsible for however your cancer is progressing, which simply isn’t true. But there are things that you can do to help your mental wellbeing- things like joining a support group, or getting help from a mental health professional can both help curb the stress and anxiety that accompanies breast cancer, and help decrease rates of depression and mental fatigue. Read more

 

We hope that these resources help to clarify the often confusing relationships between mindset and physical health, especially as it relates to breast cancer. Breast cancer can come with a lot of complicated emotions, and we at SBC want you to know that it’s ok to not be ok.


If you’re looking for some mindfulness exercises or a support group to join, then look no further: SurvivingBreastCancer.org has a few programs that may be able to help relieve some of the stresses associated with your breast cancer journey. Positive or not, we welcome you as you are.







Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico