页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

通过针对性营养保护心脏和长期活力

作者:Kim Dalzell,博士,营养师,创始人、 癌症营养智商


我认识的患有 转移性乳腺癌选择用有助于整体健康和活力的食物来喂养自己。他们不谈论治愈,这为他们每天有意识地好好生活打开了大门。我相信,有了这种心态,在选择食物时就会更容易一些,知道自己可以吃一些能稳定癌症病情的食物,并有可能避免正在进行的治疗带来的任何副作用。在决定吃什么或服用哪种膳食补充剂时,有针对性的营养计划可以让您更有信心。


用于治疗转移性乳腺癌的化疗最严重的副作用之一就是会削弱心肌,导致心脏损伤,从而影响生活质量。化疗对心脏的副作用,如心脏扩大或充血性心力衰竭,可能在癌症治疗期间或数年后出现。最近的一项研究发现,心脏病发作或中风等心血管事件可能会使乳腺癌生长得更快。(自然医学》,2020 年 7 月)患上特定心血管疾病和事件--即心脏病发作、中风、心力衰竭--的乳腺癌幸存者、 冠状动脉疾病或心律失常--与未患心血管疾病的女性相比,乳腺癌复发的风险高出59%,死于乳腺癌的风险高出60%。


医生会对心脏毒性进行监测,在医生的指导下,您可以从营养学的角度来减少化疗对心脏的负面影响,从而达到稳定病情的目的。以下是与心肌损伤相关的三种化疗类型以及针对每种类型的营养建议:


蒽环类

蒽环类药物,如daunorubicin (Cerubidine)、doxorubicin (Adriamycin,Doxil)、epirubicin (Ellence)、idarubicin (Idamycin)和valrubicin (Valstar),通过破坏癌细胞的遗传物质并阻止其繁殖来杀死癌细胞。这种疯狂的杀戮会造成不稳定氧分子的堆积,从而导致冠状动脉疾病的发生和发展。研究人员发现,如果能上调一种名为 SESN2 的基因,就能清除破坏性细胞,从而更好地保护心脏免受损伤。(J Mol Cell Cardiol,2019年8月)选择能提高SESN2活性的食物可能有助于这一过程!


草莓、苹果、芒果、柿子、猕猴桃、葡萄、西红柿、洋葱和黄瓜等水果和蔬菜中含有一种名为 "鱼黄素 "的天然化合物,它能上调 SESN2。鱼腥草素还可减少炎症,阻止癌细胞扩散。(Adv Exp Med Biol,2016)一项实验室研究发现,鱼腥草素能显著抑制原发性乳腺肿瘤的生长,并减少三阴性乳腺癌细胞的肺转移。(前沿药理学》,2018年7月)


抗代谢物

5-氟尿嘧啶(Adrucil)是最古老的乳腺癌化疗药物之一,被用作转移性乳腺癌患者的姑息治疗。它是仅次于蒽环类的第二大常见化疗药物,与心肌损伤有关。癌细胞在加入抗代谢物后会死亡,因为它们的 DNA 和 RNA 功能失调,无法繁殖和制造重要的蛋白质。不幸的是,这种化疗还会对内皮(心脏和血管内壁的膜)造成附带损伤。(Can J Cardio,2016年7月)选择支持健康内皮的食物可能有助于防止心脏毒性!


人群研究和临床试验显示,ω-3脂肪酸可以预防心脏毒性,改善血管反应性。欧米伽-3脂肪酸的其他益处还可能包括减轻化疗引起的化脑和疼痛(《营养素》,2019年5月),动物研究表明,富含欧米伽-3脂肪酸的饮食可防止口腔或肠道疼痛和炎症。(BMC Nutr,2016年3月)富含欧米伽-3的食物包括亚麻籽、奇亚籽、鱼、核桃、豆腐、贝类、菜籽油、海军豆、球芽甘蓝和鳄梨。从饮食中摄取足够的欧米伽-3 几乎是不可能的。要想获得协同的心脏保护功效,可选择含有均衡脂肪酸混合物和山楂果的欧米伽-3补充剂,众所周知,山楂果对人类乳腺癌细胞具有抗癌作用。(食品化学》,2013 年 11 月)


顺便提一下,含有叶酸的天然产品可能会增加 5-FU 的作用,导致贫血、感染和神经损伤等更严重的副作用,因此请仔细查看膳食补充剂的标签。


环磷酰胺

环磷酰胺(Cytoxan)等烷化剂通过减缓或阻止癌细胞的生长来杀死癌细胞。在接受总剂量超过 150 毫克/千克环磷酰胺的患者中,急性心力衰竭的发生率在 7% 到 33% 之间。环磷酰胺在体内发挥作用需要细胞色素 CYP3A4 酶的代谢激活。如果 CYP3A4 的表达发生改变,未被代谢的药物可能无法按照设计发挥作用。或者,这些药物可能会在血液中停留更长时间,在血液中积聚并产生毒性,从而增加肌肉损伤和心律失常的风险。


与环磷酰胺相互作用风险较高的常用膳食补充剂和食物包括葡萄柚和葡萄柚汁。一些不太受欢迎的柑橘类水果,如塞维利亚橙(橘子酱和咸味菜肴中的苦橙)、柚子和杨桃,具有与葡萄柚类似的特性,也应避免食用。据估计,食用葡萄柚汁后,CYP3A4 的抑制作用会持续 3 天以上,直到肠壁中合成了新的酶!(英国医学杂志》,2013 年 1 月)


在服用环磷酰胺的同时,还对一些天然组合进行了测试,结果表明它们具有一定的前景。例如,姜黄素和黑胡椒(胡椒碱)为动物提供了强有力的心脏保护。(印度药理学杂志》,2017年1月-2月),给动物食用谷氨酰胺可减少心脏组织损伤,并对环磷酰胺的急性心脏毒性效应提供保护。(营养学,2009年)。营养建议包括在膳食中加入姜黄和黑胡椒,食用鸡肉和鱼等富含谷氨酰胺的食物,以及豆类、甜菜、卷心菜、菠菜、胡萝卜、羽衣甘蓝和球芽甘蓝等蔬菜。


说到营养疗法,一般的健康饮食方法可以帮助您起步;但是,当您根据化疗的类型以及乳腺癌的亚型选择有针对性的方法时,您就可以确定应该食用哪些食物,并了解应该避免食用哪些食物。食物是用来享受的,有了有针对性的计划,您就可以放松下来,因为您知道您选择的食物和膳食补充剂将为您提供最好的治疗机会。


---

与金博士联系

YouTube 频道,DrKim 癌症营养 IQ

最新文章

查看全部

评论员


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 6 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 6 月 17 日下午 5:30

RSVP

太阳的拥抱夏至冥想

东部时间 6 月 21 日上午 11:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 6 月 25 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 7 月 1 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 7 月 2 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 7 月 9 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 7 月 9 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page

Protecting your Heart and Long-term Vitality with Targeted Nutrition

By Kim Dalzell, PhD, RD, Founder, Cancer Nutrition IQ


Those I know who are living with metastatic breast cancer choose to feed themselves with things that support overall health and vitality. There is no talk of cure which opens the door for living well intentionally every day. I believe this mindset makes food choices a little easier, knowing that you can consume something that will feed cancer stability and possibly stave off any side effects from ongoing treatment. A targeted nutrition plan can make your decisions a little more confident when deciding what to eat or which dietary supplements to take.


One of the most serious side effects related to chemotherapy used to treat metastatic breast cancer is the weakening of the heart muscle, leading to heart damage that can impact your quality of life. And the cardiac side effects from chemo, like an enlarged heart or congestive heart failure, can appear during cancer treatment or years down the road. A recent study found that having a cardiovascular event, like a heart attack or stroke, may make breast cancer grow faster. (Nature Med, Jul 2020) Breast cancer survivors who developed specific cardiovascular diseases and events—namely heart attack, stroke, heart failure, coronary artery disease, or arrhythmia—had a 59% higher risk of breast cancer coming back and a 60% higher risk of dying from breast cancer than women who did not develop cardiovascular disease.


Along with your doctor who monitors for cardiotoxicity, there are some things you can do from a nutritional standpoint to decrease the negative impact of chemotherapy on your heart and support your goal of a stable diagnosis. Here are three classes of chemotherapy associated with damage to the heart muscle and the nutritional recommendations for each:


Anthracyclines

Anthracycline drugs like daunorubicin (Cerubidine), doxorubicin (Adriamycin, Doxil), epirubicin (Ellence), idarubicin (Idamycin), and valrubicin (Valstar) kill cancer cells by destroying their genetic material and preventing them from reproducing. This killing spree causes a buildup of unstable oxygen molecules which leads to the development and progression of coronary artery disease. Researchers have discovered that if you can upregulate a gene called SESN2, the damaging cells clear out and you are more protected from heart damage. (J Mol Cell Cardiol, Aug 2019) Choosing foods that increase SESN2 activity may aid this process!


Fruits and vegetables like strawberries, apples, mangoes, persimmons, kiwis, grapes, tomatoes, onions, and cucumbers contain a natural compound called fisetin which upregulates SESN2. Fisetin also may decrease inflammation and stop the spreading of cancer cells. (Adv Exp Med Biol, 2016) One laboratory study found that fisetin dramatically inhibited the growth of primary breast tumors and reduced lung metastasis in triple negative breast cancer cells. (Front Pharmacol, Jul 2018)


Anti-metabolites

5-fluorouracil (Adrucil) is one of the oldest chemotherapies for breast cancer and is used as palliative treatment for metastatic breast cancer patients. It is the second most common chemotherapeutic drug, after anthracyclines, associated with damage to the heart muscle. Cancer cells die when they incorporate anti-metabolites because their DNA and RNA become dysfunctional, preventing them from reproducing and making vital proteins. Unfortunately, this type of chemotherapy also causes collateral damage to the endothelium (the membrane that lines the inside of the heart and blood vessels). (Can J Cardio, Jul 2016) Choosing foods to support a healthy endothelium may help protect you against cardiotoxicity!


Population studies and clinical trials reveal that omega-3 fatty acids can prevent cardiotoxicity and improve blood vessel responsiveness. Additional benefits of omega-3 fatty acids may include alleviating chemobrain and pain associated with chemotherapy (Nutrients, May 2019) and animal studies indicate a diet rich in omega-3 fatty acids protects against mouth or gut soreness and inflammation. (BMC Nutr, Mar 2016) High omega-3 foods include flaxseeds, chia seeds, fish, walnuts, tofu, shellfish, canola oil, navy beans, brussels sprouts, and avocados. It's almost impossible to get enough omega-3s through the diet. For synergistic cardioprotective benefits, choose an omega-3 supplement that contains a blend of balanced fatty acids combined with hawthorn berry, known to exert anti-cancer effects on human breast cancer cells. (Food Chem, Nov 2013)


By the way, natural products containing folic acid may increase the effects of 5-FU, leading to more serious side effects like anemia, infections, and nerve damage so check your dietary supplement labels carefully.


Cyclophosphamide

Alkylating agents, like cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan), kill cancer cells by slowing or stopping their growth. The incidence of acute heart failure is anywhere between 7% and 33% of patients receiving a total dose of more than 150 mg/kg cyclophosphamide. To work in the body, cyclophosphamide requires the metabolic activation of the cytochrome CYP3A4 enzyme. If CYP3A4 expression is altered, drugs that are not metabolized may not work as designed. Or they may stay in the bloodstream longer, build up in the blood and become toxic increasing the risk for muscle damage and heart arrhythmia.


Popular dietary supplements and foods that have a high risk for interaction with cyclophosphamide include grapefruit and grapefruit juice. Some less popular citrus fruits, such as Seville orange (bitter orange found in marmalade and savory dishes), pomelo, and star fruit, have similar properties to grapefruit and should be avoided as well. It is estimated that the inhibition of CYP3A4 can last for longer than 3 days after consuming grapefruit juice until new enzymes have been synthesized in the gut wall! (BMJ, Jan 2013)


Some natural combinations have been tested in conjunction with cyclophosphamide administration and show some promise. For example, curcumin and black pepper (piperine) offered strong cardioprotection in animals. (Indian J Pharmacol, Jan-Feb 2017) and dietary glutamine given to animals decrease cardiac tissue damage and offered protection against acute cardiotoxic effects of cyclophosphamide. (Nutrition, 2009). Nutrition recommendations include integrating turmeric and black pepper into meals and consuming glutamine-rich foods like chicken and fish, vegetables like beans, beets, cabbage, spinach, carrots, kale, and Brussels sprouts.


When it comes to nutritional therapy, a general approach of healthy eating gets you started; however, when you choose a targeted approach based on the type of chemotherapy you are being treated with, as well as the subtype of breast cancer, you can pinpoint the foods to consume and learn which ones to avoid. Food is meant to be enjoyed, and with a targeted plan, you can relax knowing the foods and dietary supplements you choose will provide you with the best healing opportunities.


---

Connect with Dr. Kim:

Cancer Nutrition IQ

FB community at CancerNutritionIQ

YouTube Channel, DrKim Cancer Nutrition IQ

94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Miss

Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Breast Cancer Book Club

December 3, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Writing Workshop:

Reflect and Recharge

December 4, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

December 12 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga with

Chair assist 

December 12, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Follow your gut

December 18,  12:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

December 19,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page