页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

33 岁患乳腺癌:一位年轻妈妈的自强故事

作者:Mandy Richardson Mandy Richardson



你太年轻了。您没有 50 岁以下女性癌症家族史,只有绝经后女性。癌症通常不痛。您正在 哺乳期你很健康。作为一个 33 岁的母亲,她有一个 6 岁的孩子和一个 7 个月的孩子,她一直在处理 "顽固的乳腺管堵塞 "问题。事实上 尽管肿块越来越大,越来越疼,我还是相信了这些安慰。


2021 年 6 月下旬,我去看了妇产科医生,我们确定是一个棘手的小导管堵塞。大约三周前我就注意到了。我以前生第一个孩子时也有过导管堵塞。这次感觉有点不一样,所以我就预约了。但经过人工检查后,护士得出的结论和我一样(没什么好担心的)。她给了我一些帮助按摩的建议,并告诉我如果发烧就打电话给她。我一直没有发烧,所以也就没在意。但它一直在变大。我的供血没有任何问题,所以我不太相信是堵塞了。


我提前安排了年度体检,并将其作为重点。我的妇产科医生让我服用了一轮抗生素,因为肿块现在在我的乳房下方非常明显,看起来非常 "愤怒"。这是一个为期 10 天的抗生素疗程,但八天后,我发现情况没有任何改善,就又打了电话。当我打电话时,终于可以安排超声波检查了。执业护士确信他们可以在诊室里抽吸。但他们做不到。


超声波图像显示,这似乎是一个非固体肿块。我现在知道,这很可能只是肿块周围的乳汁袋。通过超声波检查,执业护士将一根长针插入肿块,试图将其排出。第一次尝试只排出了血。第二次也是如此。她认为手术不成功,决定让我接受进一步的造影检查,而不是把我捅得千疮百孔。


我被送去做了正式的超声波检查,结果显示肿块是实心的。但是,没有人提到 "c "字。有人告诉我,哺乳期妇女经常会得良性肿块。所以 即使我们安排了核心针穿刺活检,我还是很淡定。


直到四天后。


医生还没来得及给我打电话,我手机上的门户应用程序就传来了结果。我不知道 3 级意味着什么。我不明白列出的百分比。 但我听懂了 "癌 "这个词。外科医生最终还是打来了电话。我不太记得当时的谈话内容,只记得我得了一个很大的侵袭性肿瘤,肿瘤学家很快就会给我打电话。我等了两天才给乳腺中心打电话,结果被告知大家都 "很忙",很快就会有人给我回电话。我觉得我已经等够了,于是让家人帮忙找了一位新医生。


第二天,我见到了我的新外科医生和肿瘤内科医生。他们解释说,我的肿瘤有 5.7 厘米,雌激素略呈阳性。他们说,我的肿瘤具有侵袭性,更符合 三阴性乳腺癌(TNBC)他们希望按照这种情况进行治疗。 由于肿瘤太大,计划先进行化疗。 我的目标是两周半后,也就是感恩节前开始化疗。当时我还不知道,在某些情况下,人们会等待多个星期才开始治疗。我问自己是否可以等那么久。我的肿瘤学家说,两到三周可以,两到三个月就不行了。


我必须安排正电子发射计算机断层扫描、乳房 X 光检查(没有人会相信这些检查还没有做)、另一次超声波检查、心电图检查和化疗端口放置。大流行造成的停工让一切都很紧张,大多数地方的日程都排到了 12 月中旬。


我打了一个又一个电话。


我边哭边求。


为了完成所有检查,我丈夫开车送我去诊所,从一个方向到另一个方向需要近两个小时,再从另一个方向到另一个方向需要一个小时。超声波检查提示可能有淋巴结活动,正电子发射计算机断层扫描在我的右卵巢区域检测到一个肿块。我的肿瘤医生要求我做血液检查。CA27.29血检有可能检测出乳腺癌,但结果与预想的一样偏高。但她又做了另一项可能提示卵巢癌的检查(CA 125),结果也是偏高。


此时,我的女儿已经 11 个月大了,尽管我做了各种尝试,但她仍然一直拒绝吃奶瓶。 医生告诉我,我可以继续哺乳,但要做好给她断奶的准备。我偶尔会从活检孔中漏出母乳。用左侧乳房哺乳很痛苦,但医生一再向我保证不会伤害到女儿。我们最终在 PET 扫描的当天给她断了奶,因为检查后我的奶就不安全了。


第二天,我约见了一位妇科肿瘤专家,并被安排

第二天进行手术,切除我的右卵巢和输卵管。因为我的

乳腺癌的侵袭性如此之强,我们不能再拖延了,以便测试能

可能在我的卵巢上。感恩节前一周,我切除了右侧卵巢和输卵管。结果显示一切正常。我的外科医生没有发现肿块。虽然此后我的血检结果显示正常,但没人能给出解释。


我开始 阿霉素/西妥昔单抗(AC)化疗感恩节前一天,我们的好邻居给我们送来了晚餐,这样我们就不用做饭了。13 天后,也就是第二轮化疗的前一天,我的头发开始脱落。我做了四轮 AC 化疗,然后是 12 轮紫杉醇.


化疗结束后,我有几周的恢复时间,我们完成了新的成像,为手术做准备。我的下一次检查是在四月底完成的:又一次乳房 X 光检查、超声波检查和 PET 扫描。 我的肿瘤缩小到了 0.8 厘米! 因此,我的外科医生建议我进行肿瘤切除术,然后进行放射治疗。在我的肿块切除术中,外科医生从我的腋下切除了三个可疑淋巴结,没有迹象表明癌症扩散到我的乳房之外!


剩余疾病的病理结果显示为三阴性,所以我目前

服用 有时建议 TNBC 患者服用口服化疗药 Xeloda。.这是一条漫长的路,但我很庆幸自己没有再等下去,让医生检查了我的症状。我还有一个周期的 Xeloda 化疗,希望到时就可以结束了!


2021 年 11 月 5 日,当我在约翰霍普金斯医院见到我的新外科医生 Melissa Camp 医生时,她告诉我给他们一年时间。 她说我要把这整个经历看作是我必须克服的减速带。 使用 Xeloda 方案一年多了。她的工作人员和我的肿瘤内科团队对我的治疗效果给予了充分肯定。


我能够保持大部分的运动量,我想尽我所能花所有的时间与我的丈夫和女儿们在一起。我们已经做了一些旅行,希望能做更多。我希望能完成阿巴拉契亚步道宾夕法尼亚段的徒步旅行。但我真正想做的是付出。我想让年轻女性知道,尽管统计数据显示,我们并不能幸免于这种可怕的疾病。我想为我认识的女性和陌生人提供支持,就像其他人为我所做的那样。但我真的希望人们知道,我们最好的--有时也是唯一的--代言人就是我们自己。 我们永远不应该停止为自己而战。


了解更多信息:




感谢您分享您的故事,曼迪。SBC 爱你!


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:



最新文章

查看全部

美胸

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

护理人员聚会

第三个星期二

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

新诊断者

东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 7 月 19 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

发掘机遇

东部时间 7 月 15 日下午 5:30

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 7 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 8 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 8 月 13 日上午 11:30

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 8 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 8 月 20 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Breast Cancer at 33: A Young Mom’s Story of Self-Advocacy

By Mandy Richardson



You’re too young. You don’t have a family history of cancer in women under 50—only postmenopausal. Cancer isn’t usually painful. You’re breastfeeding; you’re healthy. All of these thoughts and more are so reassuring as a 33-year-old mom with a 6 year old and a 7 month old who had been dealing with a “stubborn clogged milk duct.” So much so, in fact, that I leaned into these reassurances despite the lump getting bigger and more painful.


I saw my OBGYN in late June 2021 for what we determined to be a tricky little clogged duct. I’d noticed it about three weeks prior. I’d had clogged ducts before with my first baby. This one felt a little different, which led me to making the appointment. But after a manual exam, the nurse practitioner came to the same conclusion as me (that it was nothing to worry about). She gave me some suggestions to help massage it out and told me to call back if I got a fever. I never got a fever, so I let it go. But it kept getting bigger. I wasn’t having any issues with supply, so I wasn’t so confident that it was a clog.


I scheduled my annual exam early and made that my focus. My OBGYN put me on a round of antibiotics because the lump was now quite visible on the underside of my breast and very “angry” looking. It was a 10-day course of antibiotics, but I called back after eight days when I didn’t see any improvement. When I called, I was able to finally schedule an ultrasound. The nurse practitioner was confident they could aspirate it in the office. Except they couldn’t.


The image on the ultrasound showed what appeared to be a non-solid mass. I now know that it was likely just pockets of breast milk around the mass. Using the ultrasound, the nurse practitioner inserted a long needle into the mass in an attempt to drain it. The first attempt yielded only blood. So did the second. Rather than poke me full of holes, she deemed the procedure unsuccessful and decided to send me for further imaging.


I was sent for a formal ultrasound, which determined the lump was solid. Still, no one mentioned the “c” word. Lactating women get benign masses all the time, I was told. So I was still pretty unphased even as we scheduled the core needle biopsy.


Until four days later.


The results came through the portal application on my phone, before the doctor had a chance to call me. I didn’t know what grade 3 meant. I didn’t understand the percentages listed. But I understood the word “carcinoma.” The surgeon did eventually call. I don’t remember much of the conversation, other than I had a large, aggressive tumor and an oncologist would be calling me soon. I waited two days before calling the breast center, and was told everyone was just “very busy” and that someone would call me back soon. Deciding I had done enough waiting, I let a family member pull some strings and found a new doctor.


I met my new surgeon and medical oncologist the next day. They explained that my tumor was 5.7cm, and was slightly estrogen positive. They said it was behaving aggressively and more in line with triple negative breast cancer (TNBC), and they wanted to treat it as such. Because it was so large, the plan was to do chemotherapy first. The goal for my start date was two and a half weeks, right before Thanksgiving. I didn’t know then that in some cases, people wait multiple weeks to start treatment. I asked if I would be okay waiting that long. My oncologist said that two to three weeks would be okay; two to three months would not have been.


I had to schedule my PET scan, a mammogram (no one could believe that hadn’t already been done), another ultrasound, an EKG, and my chemotherapy port placement. Everything was still backed up from the pandemic shutdowns and most places were scheduling into mid-December at that point.


I called and called back.


I begged and cried.


My husband drove me to clinics as far as almost two hours in one direction, and then back an hour in the other, just to get all of the testing done. The ultrasound suggested possible lymph node activity, and the PET detected a mass in the area of my right ovary. My oncologist ordered bloodwork. The CA 27.29 blood test, which can potentially pick up breast cancer, came back high—as expected. But she ran another, one that could suggest ovarian cancer (CA 125), and that came back elevated as well.


My daughter was eleven months old at this point, and despite all attempts was still consistently refusing to take a bottle. My doctors told me that I could continue to nurse, but to be prepared to wean her. I occasionally leaked breast milk from my biopsy hole. Nursing from my left breast was painful, but I was repeatedly assured that it would not hurt my daughter. We ended up weaning her cold turkey the day of my PET scan, since my milk would not have been safe after that test.


The next day I was in an appointment with a gynecologic oncologist and scheduled

surgery for the following day to remove my right ovary and fallopian tubes. Because my

breast cancer was so aggressive, we could not afford to delay in order to test what could

possibly be on my ovary. I had my right ovary and fallopian tube removed the week before Thanksgiving. Somehow, everything came back benign. My surgeon couldn’t find a mass. No one had an explanation, though my blood work has shown normal numbers since then.


I started Adriamycin/Cytoxan (AC) chemo the day before Thanksgiving, and our wonderful neighbors brought us dinner so we didn’t have to cook. My hair started falling out 13 days later, the day before round two. I did four rounds of AC, followed by 12 rounds of Taxol.


After completing chemo, I was given a couple of weeks to recover and we completed new imaging in preparation for surgery. My next tests were completed at the end of April: another mammogram, ultrasound, and PET scan. My tumor had shrunk to 0.8cm! Because of that, my surgeon was able to suggest a lumpectomy, followed by radiation. During my lumpectomy the surgeon removed three suspicious lymph nodes from under my arm, and there was no sign of the cancer spreading beyond my breast!


The pathology of the remaining disease came back as triple negative, so I am currently

taking Xeloda, an oral chemo that is sometimes recommended for TNBC patients. It’s been a long road, but I am so glad I didn’t wait any longer than I did to get my symptoms checked out by my doctor. I have one more cycle of Xeloda and then I will hopefully be finished!


When I met with my new surgeon, Dr. Melissa Camp, at Johns Hopkins Hospital on November 5, 2021, she told me to give them a year. That I would look back at this whole experience as just a speed bump that I had to get over. We are a little over a year now, with the Xeloda regimen. The experience was everything her staff, as well as my medical oncology team, said it would be.


I have been able to stay mostly active, and I want to spend all of the time that I can with my husband and my girls. We have done some traveling and hope to do more. I hope to complete section hiking of the Pennsylvania section of the Appalachian Trail. But what I really want to do is pay it forward. I want young women to know that we are not immune from this awful disease, despite what statistics show. I want to provide support for women I know, as well as strangers, who are going through this, like others did for me. But I really want people to know that our best—and sometimes only—advocate is ourselves. And that we should never stop fighting for ourselves.


Learn more:




Thank you for sharing your story, Mandy. SBC loves you!


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

June 17 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page