页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

表达性写作和诗歌能治愈情感创伤吗?


我知道乳腺癌是一种令人难以承受的情感体验。我是在向唱诗班说教。感到恐惧、愤怒、悲伤、孤独和对未来的不确定是很常见的。扫描和肿瘤科就诊都会给您带来很大的压力。 但是,我们可以利用一些工具来管理因乳腺癌诊断、复发和/或进展而产生的大量情绪。在 SBC,我们发现一种非常有用的方法,那就是通过富有表现力的写作和诗歌来排解情绪。


表达性写作是指任何形式的写作,让你探索自己对某一主题的想法和感受(不,你不一定非得是个作家!)。它可以是一封信、一篇日记、一首诗,或者其他任何你觉得可以写的东西,甚至不必与人分享!这只是为了你自己!事实证明,表达性写作有助于减轻压力、提高免疫力、改善身心健康。


虽然应对乳腺癌诊断的方法有很多,但表达性写作和诗歌可能是最有效的两种工具。 在这篇博文中,我们将讨论表达性写作和诗歌如何帮助确诊为乳腺癌的患者进行情感治疗。我们还将举例说明如何开始自己的表达性写作或诗歌项目。



背景介绍

乳腺癌是女性最常见的癌症之一。无论是对患者还是其亲人来说,这都是一种非常情绪化的经历。乳腺癌会给患者带来巨大的焦虑和压力,以及悲伤和悲痛。许多人在被诊断出患有乳腺癌时会感到恐惧和孤独。因此,乳腺癌会对人的情绪和心理健康产生深远的影响。这种经历可能会让人难以承受,通常很难应对身体和生活的变化。


无论在治疗期间还是治疗之后,找到应对乳腺癌情绪挑战的方法都很重要。有些人认为与朋友或家人倾诉自己的感受很有帮助。其他人则认为加入支持小组或参加心理咨询很有帮助。


有些人认为表达性写作很有帮助。这是指你不断书写自己对乳腺癌的想法和感受。这可以是一种释放情绪、理清头绪的方式。


研究表明,富有表现力的写作对情绪有益。在一项研究中,患乳腺癌的妇女如果写下自己的经历,其焦虑和抑郁程度要低于不写下自己经历的妇女。


如果你有兴趣尝试表现性写作,有几点需要注意。

  • 首先,你应该写出自己内心深处的情绪和想法。写下你的负面情绪,如愤怒、恐惧或悲伤,这都是可以的。

  • 其次,每天应连续写作至少 10 分钟。

  • 第三,至少要连续三天这样做。

打破安全感的压力事件会导致情绪上的痛苦和心理上的创伤。可以观察到无助、多动和焦虑。会出现令人不安的情绪,让人觉得自己几乎无法控制局面。事实证明,表达性写作有助于减轻压力、提高免疫力和改善身心健康。诗歌也可以成为治愈疾病的有力工具。 诗歌还可以帮助你以一种创造性和宣泄性的方式表达情感。诗歌还可以帮助你理解自己的经历,与他人建立联系,并找到希望。


请记住,表达性写作与其说是写所发生的事情,不如说是写你对所发生或正在发生的事情的感受。德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的詹姆斯-彭内贝克博士(Dr. James Pennebaker)对表达性写作与健康之间的联系进行了深入探讨。1 在他具有里程碑意义的研究项目中,彭内贝克开发了一种表达性写作提示,以揭示写作情绪波动对健康的潜在益处。

开始富有表现力的写作或诗歌有很多方法。你可以写日记、创建博客,甚至只是开始在纸上涂鸦你的想法。没有规则--只要开始写!如果您不确定写什么,可以尝试以下提示:

"我觉得...."

"我需要...."

"我爱......"

"我感谢......"

您还可以尝试自由写作,让自己的想法流淌在纸上,而不必担心语法或标点符号。


如果你写得不完美,也不用担心。这是为你自己写的,别人不需要看。让文字流淌,看看会写出什么。你可能会惊讶于它的疗效。

什么是情感治疗?

情绪治疗是承认、允许、接受、整合和处理痛苦的生活经历和强烈情绪的过程。它可能涉及同理心、自我调节、自我同情、自我接纳、正念和整合。许多人倾向于通过减少痛苦和控制情绪来控制情绪愈合的过程,但这实际上会抑制愈合过程。

恢复情绪健康是康复过程中的一个重要部分。乳腺癌会对您的情绪造成影响,但通过富有表现力的写作或诗歌来表达自己的情绪,可以帮助您处理自己的感受,并找到平静。感受乳腺癌给你带来的痛苦是可以的,这并不会让你变得软弱或低人一等。花时间表达自己,你可以在自己的文字中找到慰藉,甚至力量。


照顾好自己,允许自己痊愈。写作可以帮助你认识和接受乳腺癌对你生活的影响,并排解它所带来的各种情绪。


乳腺癌的情感挑战

乳腺癌会对您的身心健康产生深远的影响。这种经历会让人难以承受,通常很难应对身体和生活的变化。 在治疗期间和之后,情绪低落、焦虑或压力过大并不罕见。如果您在应对过程中遇到困难,请务必向心理健康专家寻求帮助。

无论在治疗期间还是治疗之后,找到应对乳腺癌情绪挑战的方法都很重要。有些人认为与朋友或家人倾诉自己的感受很有帮助。其他人则认为加入支持小组或参加心理咨询很有帮助。

有些人还发现表达性写作很有帮助。这是指你不断书写自己对乳腺癌的想法和感受。这可以是一种释放情绪和理解所发生事情的方式。


如果您有兴趣尝试富有表现力的写作,有几点需要注意:

  1. 找一个舒适的地方写作,在那里你不会被打扰。可以是在书桌前,也可以是在桌边,甚至是在户外的大自然中。

  2. 从当下开始,以意识流的方式写作,不必担心语法或标点符号。让文字在纸上流淌。

  3. 不一定要完美无缺,也不一定要光鲜亮丽。这是为你自己准备的,别人不需要看到。

每天留出时间写作。时间可以少至 10 分钟,但必须持之以恒。 尝试每天至少写作 10 到 15 分钟,连续 3 天。(在她开始一天的工作之前喝咖啡时,这已经成为我早晨例行公事的一部分!)。坚持是关键,连续的日子越多,你就会自然而然地找到自己的节奏。

  1. 一旦你写了一段时间,如果你愿意,可以开始编辑和修改你的作品。但也完全可以顺其自然。

  2. 请记住,这样做没有对错之分。只要做自己感觉良好的事情,顺其自然就好。

一旦你开始写作,你可能会惊讶于它的治疗作用。写作给我们带来一种控制感。它可以帮助我们处理情感上的痛苦,使我们现在的关系和处境变得有意义,并且是一种有效的方式,让我们清楚地认识到我们不一定愿意谈论的极其个人的情况。


根据《美国公共健康杂志》的报道,富有表现力的写作会增加积极情绪,减少消极想法,从而对我们的心理健康产生深远的影响,让我们感觉更自信、更有控制力、不那么不知所措。


此外,根据《国际癌症管理杂志》的报道,根据米勒希望量表,诗歌疗法在干预后 1 周、8 周和 6 个月会增加希望。研究人员发现,集体诗歌疗法是一种很好的心理疗法,也是提高乳腺癌患者生活质量的一种方法。

同样,被诊断出患有乳腺癌的诗人通常会分享他们的作品,以此向社会传递力量、灵感和勇气--因此,不要害怕以任何你觉得合适的形式表达自己!

无论选择哪种表达方式,请记住


分享您的故事



与他人分享您的故事也能让您感到与他人的联系和支持。乳腺癌并不一定要定义你,但它可以成为你故事的一部分。拥抱自己的情绪,不要害怕表达它们。

分享您的故事有多种方式,包括

-给癌症写信

- 创建博客

-加入在线支持小组

-与朋友或家人分享你的故事

无论你做什么,请记住在这段旅程中你并不孤单。我们可以提供帮助和支持


如何写一首关于乳腺癌的诗

如何写一首关于乳腺癌的诗,没有任何规则可言。只要让文字流淌,表达你的任何感受即可。乳腺癌可能是一个艰难的情感历程,但诗歌可以为您提供一种处理思想和情感的方式。它可以起到治疗甚至宣泄的作用。因此,不必担心押韵或写出完美的散文。让文字随心所欲地表达出来就好。发自内心地写作,不要害怕脆弱。你的诗可长可短,随心所欲。写乳腺癌的方式没有对错之分。让文字流淌,看看它将你带向何方。


写作时,可以尝试用大写字母打字。如果用纸笔书写,笔的感觉如何?是用力按在纸上,还是用较轻柔的笔触?如果你用草书书写,你的字母是异想天开、在纸上跳舞,还是有条理、有步骤?所有这些元素都有助于我们通过文字表达自己。


在创作有关乳腺癌的诗歌时,您可能需要探讨以下主题:

-您在诊断和治疗过程中的某段时间的经历

-您接受特定化疗的经历、第一次接受放射治疗的经历或从手术中醒来的经历。

-写给乳房的情书

-一封经历悲伤的分手信。


利用现有资源

我们坚信写作作为治疗工具的力量,并鼓励您加入我们,利用我们在 SBC 提供的免费计划和服务。


向医生咨询有关表达性写作促进情绪健康的问题:

向医生咨询有关表达性写作的问题是您开始自己的写作计划的第一步。您可能想问一些问题:

1.您如何看待将表达性写作作为情感治愈的工具?

2.表达性写作有哪些好处?

3.如何开始自己的表达性写作项目?

4.在进一步探索表现性写作和诗歌方面,您有什么资源可以推荐?

5.表达性写作有风险吗?

6.写作时应注意什么?

7.如果我在写作过程中需要帮助或支持,我可以向谁倾诉?


最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Can Expressive Writing and Poetry Provide Emotional Healing?


I know breast cancer can be an incredibly overwhelming and emotional experience. I'm preaching to the choir. It is common to feel scared, angry, sad, isolated, and uncertain about the future. Your scans and oncology visits are nothing if not stressful events. However, there are tools available for managing the flood of emotions that come with a breast cancer diagnosis, recurrence, and/or progression. One way we've found to be incredibly helpful at SBC is to begin working through your emotions through expressive writing and poetry.


Expressive writing is any form of writing that allows you to explore your thoughts and feelings about a topic (and no, you don't have to be a writer!). It can be a letter, journal entry, poem, or anything else you feel comfortable writing and don't even have to share! This is just for YOU! Expressive writing has been shown to help reduce stress, boost immunity, and improve mental and physical health.


Although there are many ways to cope with a breast cancer diagnosis, expressive writing and poetry can be two of the most effective tools. In this blog post, we will discuss how expressive writing and poetry can help with emotional healing for those diagnosed with breast cancer. We will also provide examples of how to get started with your own expressive writing or poetry project.



Background

Breast cancer is one of the most common cancers in women. It can be a very emotional experience, both for the patient and their loved ones. Breast cancer can cause a great deal of anxiety and stress, as well as sadness and grief. Many people feel scared and alone when they are diagnosed with breast cancer. Thus breast cancer can have a profound effect on your emotions and mental health. The experience can be overwhelming, and it’s often hard to cope with the changes in your body and life.


It’s important to find ways to deal with the emotional challenges of breast cancer, both during and after treatment. Some people find it helpful to talk about their feelings with friends or family. Others find it helpful to join a support group or participate in counseling.


Some find expressive writing to be helpful. This is when you write continuously about your thoughts and feelings surrounding breast cancer. It can be a way to release the emotions you’re feeling and to make sense of what’s going on.


Studies have shown that expressive writing can have emotional benefits. In one study, women with breast cancer who wrote about their experiences had less anxiety and depression than women who didn’t write about their experiences.


If you’re interested in trying expressive writing, there are a few things you should keep in mind.

  • First, you should write about your deepest emotions and thoughts. It’s okay to write about the negative emotions you’re feeling, such as anger, fear, or sadness.

  • Second, you should write continuously for at least 10 minutes a day.

  • And third, you should do this for at least consecutive three days.

A stressful event that has shattered the sense of security can result in emotional pain and psychological trauma. There is helplessness, hyperactivity and anxiety observed. There are upsetting emotions and making it look like having little or no control over the situation. Expressive writing has been shown to help reduce stress, boost immunity, and improve mental and physical health. Poetry can also be a powerful tool for healing. Poetry can also help you express your emotions in a creative and cathartic way. It can also help you make sense of your experience, connect with others, and find hope.


Keep in mind that expressive writing is not so much what happened as it is how you feel about what happened or is happening. The connection between expressive writing and wellness has been notably explored by Dr. James Pennebaker at the University of Texas at Austin. 1 In his landmark research project, Pennebaker developed an expressive writing prompt to uncover the potential health benefits of writing about emotional upheaval.

There are many ways to get started with expressive writing or poetry. You can write in a journal, create a blog, or even just start scribbling down your thoughts on a piece of paper. There are no rules – just start writing! If you’re not sure what to write about, try prompts like:

“I feel....”

“I need....”

"I love..."

"I appreciate..."

You can also try free writing, where you just let your thoughts flow onto the page without worrying about grammar or punctuation.


Don’t worry if your writing isn’t perfect. This is for you, and no one else needs to see it. Just let the words flow and see what comes out. You may be surprised at how therapeutic it can be.

What Is Emotional Healing?

Emotional healing is the process of acknowledging, allowing, accepting, integrating, and processing painful life experiences and strong emotions. It may involve empathy, self-regulation, self-compassion, self-acceptance, mindfulness, and integration. Many people have a tendency to want to control the process of emotional healing by minimizing the pain and controlling their emotions, but this can actually inhibit the healing process.

Reclaiming your emotional health is an important part of the healing journey. Breast cancer can take a toll on your emotions, but expressing yourself in expressive writing or poetry can help you process your feelings and find peace. It’s okay to feel all of the pain breast cancer has caused you – it doesn’t make you weak or less than. By taking the time to express yourself, you can find solace and even strength in your own words.


Take care of yourself and give yourself permission to heal. Writing can help you recognize and accept that Breast Cancer has had an impact on your life and work through all the emotions it brings up.


The Emotional Challenge of Breast Cancer

Breast cancer can have a profound effect on your well-being and mental health. The experience can be overwhelming, and it’s often hard to cope with the changes in your body and life. It’s not uncommon to feel down, anxious or stressed during and after treatment. If you’re having trouble coping, it’s important to seek help from a mental health professional.

It’s important to find ways to deal with the emotional challenges of breast cancer, both during and after treatment. Some people find it helpful to talk about their feelings with friends or family. Others find it helpful to join a support group or participate in counseling.

Some people also find expressive writing to be helpful. This is when you write continuously about your thoughts and feelings surrounding breast cancer. It can be a way to release the emotions you’re feeling and to make sense of what’s happening.


If you’re interested in trying expressive writing, there are a few things to keep in mind:

  1. Find a comfortable place to write, where you won’t be interrupted. This could be at a desk, at a table, or even outside in nature.

  2. Start by writing stream-of-consciousness style, in the present moment, without worrying about grammar or punctuation. Just let the words flow onto the page.

  3. It doesn’t have to be perfect or polished. This is for you, and no one else needs to see it.

Set aside time each day to write. This can be as little as 10 minutes, but it’s important to be consistent. Try to compose for at least 10 to 15 minutes a day, for 3 consecutive days. (This has become part of my morning routine while she drinks her coffee before starting her day!). Consistency is key and the more consecutive days you can string together, you will start to naturally find your own rhythm.

  1. Once you’ve written for a while, you can start to edit and revise your work if you want. But it’s also perfectly fine to just let the words be.

  2. Remember that there is no right or wrong way to do this. Just do what feels good for you and go with the flow.

Once you start writing, you may be surprised at how therapeutic it can be. Writing offers us a sense of control. It can help us process emotional pain, make meaning of our present relationships and situations, and be an effective way to bring clarity to extremely personal situations that we may not necessarily feel comfortable talking about.


According to the American Journal of Public Health, expressive writing increases positive emotions, reduces negative thoughts, and in term have a profound effect on our mental health, making us feel more confident, in control, and less overwhelmed.


Additionally, according to the International Journal of Cancer Management, poetry therapy increased hope based on Miller Hope scale 1 week, 8 weeks, and 6 months after the intervention The researchers found that group poetry therapy can be a good psychotherapy and a way to increase the quality of life of people with breast cancer.

Similarly, poets who have been diagnosed with breast cancer often share their work as an ode of strength, inspiration and courage to their community – so don’t be afraid to express yourself in whichever form that you feel comfortable with!

No matter which form of expression you choose, remember


Sharing your story



Sharing Your Story with others can also help you feel connected and supported. Breast cancer doesn't have to define you, but it can be a part of your story. Embrace your emotions and don't be afraid to express them.

There are many ways to share your story, including:

-Writing a letter to your cancer

- Starting a blog

-Joining an online support group

-Sharing your story with a friend or family member

Whatever you do, remember that you are not alone in this journey. There is help and support available


How to write a poem about breast cancer

There are no rules for how to write a poem about breast cancer. Just let the words flow and express whatever you're feeling. Breast cancer can be a difficult and emotional journey, but poetry can offer you a way to process your thoughts and emotions. It can be therapeutic and even cathartic. So don't worry about rhyming or writing perfect prose. Just let the words come out however they need to. Write from the heart and don't be afraid to be vulnerable. Your poem can be as long or as short as you need it to be. And there's no right or wrong way to write about breast cancer. Let the words flow and see where they take you.


When writing, you may experiment with typing in all caps. If you are writing with pen and paper, how does the pen feel? Are you pressing hard onto the paper or using a softer lighter touch? If you are writing in cursive, are your letters whimsical and dancing on the page, or are they structured and methodical? All of these elements help us express ourselves through the written word.


When writing a poem about breast cancer, you may want to explore topics such as:

-Your experience with a particular time during your diagnosis and treatment

-Your experience receiving a specific chemotherapy, the first time you went in for radiation, or waking up from surgery.

-A love letter to your breasts

-A breakup letter as you experience grief.


Take advantage of available resources

We believe firmly in the power of writing as a tool for healing and encourage you to join us and take advantage of the free programs and services we offer at SBC.


Questions to ask your doctor about expressive writing for emotional health:

Asking your doctor about expressive writing is a great first step in getting started with your own project. Some questions you may wish to ask:

1. What are your thoughts on using expressive writing as a tool for emotional healing?

2. What are some of the benefits of expressive writing?

3. How can I get started with my own expressive writing project?

4. Are there any resources you would recommend for further exploring expressive writing and poetry?

5. Are there any risks associated with expressive writing?

6. What should I keep in mind while I am writing?

7. Who can I talk to if I need help or support while I am writing?


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

May 20 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

In Body Breathwork

May 21 ,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Brain Spotting

May 27,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

May 28,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

June 3, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

Jun 4,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

June 10,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

June 11, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

June 11,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page