页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

金融知识与乳腺癌



对很多人来说,金钱是造成压力的主要原因,这已经不是什么秘密了。诊断出乳腺癌当然也是造成压力的主要原因。将这两者结合在一起--哎呀!对个人和家庭财务进行自我教育从来都不是坏事,而新的季节和月份带来的新的开始则是进行自我教育的大好时机。



但从哪里开始才是最好的呢? 财务知识被定义为理解和有效使用各种财务技能的能力,包括个人财务管理和预算编制。 但谁会预料到大笔医疗账单呢?乳腺癌治疗通常涉及筛查、手术、化疗、放疗、肿瘤团队和住院费用,这些费用可能高达数十万美元。 保险和医疗保险确实会支付其中的许多费用,但在大多数情况下并非全部。

例如:患有淋巴水肿的乳腺癌患者(淋巴水肿是癌症治疗过程中切除淋巴结后常见的副作用)每年的自付费用平均超过 2,000 美元,而没有淋巴水肿的患者每年的自付费用仅为 1,000 多美元(《福布斯》,2020 年)。福布斯》,2020 年).

您熟悉您的保险的免赔额和自付额吗? 保险计划各有不同,我们中的大多数人在遇到危机需要使用医疗保险之前,并不一定了解财务细节。 有些计划提供低免赔额和共付额,而有些则没有。事实上,有些自付额高达每年 5000 美元。即使您达到了自付额,保险公司也不能保证 100%承担之后的余额,从而增加了额外的经济负担。

除了与癌症治疗相关的高昂费用外,账单往往也不正确,许多患者不会花时间逐条查看账单。 非营利组织 患者倡导者基金会估计,"所有医疗账单中约有一半包含不正确的收费、错误的拒绝索赔或意外账单"。他们可能会向您收取错误的服务费,或对同一项服务收取两次费用,或说您服用了布洛芬,而实际上您并没有服用。因此,在就诊时和就诊后都要做笔记,记下就诊日期和医生姓名,这样您就能轻松记住所接受的服务、打针、扫描和输液,并在账单到来时进行全面审查。

最后,许多医疗服务提供者在首次向您收费时,尤其是在医院就诊时,并不列出逐项收费清单。相反,他们会将所有费用汇总到所谓的 "摘要 "账单中,并在底部注明 "应付总额"。有些最初的账单没有将医疗保险或保险公司的付款计算在内,这会让您觉得自己欠的钱比实际欠的多。

杜克大学癌症研究所的外科医生格林努普博士和她的同事们调查了癌症治疗的费用及其对患者的影响。

"三分之一的参与者表示,乳腺癌的治疗费用比她们预期的要高。尽管大多数人表示,支付癌症治疗费用并不会影响她们的其他医疗保健,但四分之一收入最低的妇女表示,她们逃避了医生和医疗检查"。(美国国立卫生研究院,2019 年)

因此,财务压力是最容易理解的。

四月是 "财务知识普及月",我们在下文中重点介绍了一些资源,帮助您了解如何减轻癌症诊断带来的财务负担和压力。

 

最近的一项研究表明,医疗保险知识普及可能是解决癌症相关财务问题的一项重要干预措施。癌症治疗费用的上涨会导致癌症幸存者陷入经济困境--即使是那些有医疗保险的幸存者。 阅读更多


 

虽然 "庆祝 "这个话题似乎有些奇怪,但你接受的金融教育越多,你就越有能力做出明智的决定。根据美国金融业监管局(Financial Industry Regulatory Authority)的数据,美国人的金融知识水平正在下降。 阅读更多

 


财务宣传网络的目标是使医疗服务提供者能够积极主动地将财务健康纳入肿瘤护理的连续性中,并帮助患者获得高质量的护理,从而提高生活质量。阅读更多


 

研究表明,有经济负担的癌症幸存者患抑郁症的比例明显更高。幸运的是,有一些方法可以最大限度地减轻癌症诊断带来的经济负担。 阅读更多

最新文章

查看全部

现在

候车室

评论


冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

鼓励和赋权

对于新诊断的患者

美国东部时间 9 月 10 日上午 11:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

东部时间 4 月 22 日下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 4 月 23 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 5 月 6 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 5 月 7 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

美国东部时间 5 月 13 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

美国东部时间 5 月 14 日上午 11:30

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 5 月 14 日下午 6:00

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Financial Literacy and Breast Cancer



It's no secret that money is a major cause of stress for far too many people. A breast cancer diagnosis can certainly be a major cause of stress. Combine those two—yikes! While it's never a bad time to educate yourself about personal and family finances, the fresh start that a new season and month brings is a great time to do so.



But where is the best place to start? Financial literacy is defined as the ability to understand and effectively use various financial skills, including personal financial management and budgeting. But who anticipates large medical bills? Breast cancer treatment typically involves screening, surgery, chemotherapy, radiation, and oncological team and hospital expenses that can approach hundreds of thousands of dollars. Insurance and Medicare do cover many of these bills, but not all in most cases.

For instance: Breast cancer patients with lymphedema — a common side effect after the removal of lymph nodes as part of cancer treatment — experience an average exceeding $2,000 in out-of-pocket costs per year, compared to just over $1,000 for those without lymphedema (Forbes, 2020).

Are you familiar with your insurance’s deductibles and out of pocket payments? Plans are all different and most of us do not necessarily know the financial details until we are hit with a crisis and need to tap into medical insurance. Some plans offer low deductibles and copays while others do not. In fact, some deductibles run as high as $5000 annually. Even if and when you reach your deductible, it is never guaranteed that insurance companies will pick up 100% of the balance thereafter, thus adding additional financial burden.

In addition to the incredibly high costs associated with cancer treatment, oftentimes bills are incorrect, and many patients do not take the time to review their bills line by line. The nonprofit Patient Advocate Foundation estimates that about “half of all medical bills contain incorrect charges, wrongly denied claims or surprise bills”. They may charge you for the wrong service or charge you twice for the same service, or say you had an ibuprofen when you didn’t. That’s why it’s important to take notes during and after your appointments, make a note of the dates and the names of the doctors you’ve seen so you can easily remember the services, shots, scans, and infusions you received and be able to thoroughly review your bill when it arrives.

Lastly, many medical providers don’t include an itemized list of charges when they first bill you, especially for a hospital visit. Instead, they lump all the charges together in what's called a “summary” bill, with a “total due” at the bottom. Some initial statements don’t factor in payments from Medicare or your insurance company, which could give you the impression that you owe more than you do.

Dr. Greenup, a surgeon at Duke Cancer Institute, and her colleagues investigated the costs of cancer treatment and it’s impact on the patients.

“One-third of the participants reported that the costs of their breast cancer care turned out to be higher than they expected. Although most said that paying for their cancer treatment did not interfere with their other medical care, a quarter of the women with the lowest incomes reported avoiding doctors and medical tests.” (NIH, 2019)

Financial Stress is therefore most understandable.

As April is Financial Literacy Month, we've highlighted some resources below to help you learn about ways to lessen the financial burdens and stress of a cancer diagnosis.

 

A recent study indicated that health insurance literacy may be an important intervention for addressing financial problems associated with cancer. Rising costs of cancer care can result in financial hardship for cancer survivors—even among those with health insurance. Read More.


 

While it might seem like a strange topic to “celebrate,” the more education you have about finances, the more equipped you’ll be to make smart decisions. According to the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, financial literacy is declining among Americans. Read More.

 


The goal of the Financial Advocacy Network is to empower providers to proactively integrate financial health into the oncology care continuum and help patients gain access to high-quality care for a better quality of life. Read More.


 

Studies show that cancer survivors with financial burden had significantly higher rates of depression. Fortunately, there are ways to minimize the financial burden of a cancer diagnosis. Read More.

Recent Posts

See All

The Now

Comments


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

The secret Garden

April 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Qi Gong

April 23,  11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

May 6, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

May 7,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

May 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

May 14, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

May 14,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico