页首
  • 作家图片乳腺癌幸存者

找到适合自己的方法

作者:雷娜塔


我叫雷娜塔,11 年前,我和丈夫带着两个孩子从意大利搬到了美国。


2022 年 2 月、 我在淋浴时做常规检查,感觉左侧乳房外侧有一个肿块。我立即打电话预约医生。我不得不等了几天,因为我想换医生,而且我必须等待保险确认。


与此同时,我的乳房开始胀痛。我很担心,但同时也知道肿瘤不会引起疼痛,为什么要担心呢?我什么也没对丈夫说。我试图掩盖肿胀和疼痛,当他想要亲热时,我就找借口推脱,直到去看医生的那天。去年,我丈夫失去了一位亲爱的姑姑,她患上了被忽视的乳腺癌,这对他打击很大。让他看到他视为家中支柱的女人是脆弱的,这对我来说并不容易。 但也许,我并不想让他看到我的脆弱。


当医生给我看病时,他确认这很可能只是一个囊肿,因为肿瘤一般不会痛。但我还是很担心。这时,我和丈夫商量,向他解释这只是一个囊肿,但我必须在一周后做乳房 X 光检查和超声波检查。


测试与诊断

乳房 X 光检查 乳房 X 光检查令人担忧,因为它没有显示出任何东西,但显然有东西在那里。超声波检查 超声波却显示出了更多东西。一位年轻的医生检查完结果后走进病房,说他认为这是 炎症性乳腺癌我的医生会在几天后给我打电话预约时间。这是在星期一。周四,我给医生打了电话,因为没人给我打电话。护士说医生正在休假,下周一会回来。我温和地解释了事情的紧急性,她说会把我的纸条放在最上面。


我知道这些事情是如何运作的。我知道他们可能有很多病人说有急事要优先处理,但我的病确实是优先处理的。我向她道了谢,然后挂了电话。 快速建议:让护士站在你这边。我哥哥是一名医生,这可能有助于我看到医生的一面。但我还是有点紧张。我现实的一面说:"嘿,一天不会改变什么,"但病人的一面却希望早点完成。现在回想起来,我知道自己为什么这么紧张了:在意大利,当你遇到医疗问题时,等待的时间是非常长的。 我不知道再过不到一个月,我就要开始化疗了。


不到一个小时后,同一位护士给我回了电话,告诉我她检查了我的报告,并已经给外科医生 J. 打了电话,他正在等我的电话。于是,我立即打了电话。他预约了下周一,我丈夫和我一起去了。医生又做了一次超声波检查,说他不喜欢看到的东西。 他想当场进行活检。


麻醉针从乳头下穿过,一阵剧痛。在抽取了几个样本后,他又去麻痹腋窝,那是更剧烈的疼痛。我尖叫了几声,眼泪顺着脸颊滚落下来。


周三午饭后,外科医生给我打了电话 "是癌症"这句话在我脑海中回荡,就像死刑判决书。


第二天,也就是 3 月 31 日,我和丈夫去了他的工作室,他用对我们来说完全陌生的图画和文字向我们解释了癌症的不同种类、不同阶段和不同疗法。我的癌症显然是 第三期浸润性乳腺导管癌,累及淋巴结.好消息是,虽然雌激素和孕酮呈阴性,但 HER2 呈阳性,化疗会起作用。感谢上帝,我的丈夫记录了这次会议,因为我当时很困惑。


下一步措施和治疗

医生为我安排了一系列检查和插入静脉输液孔的手术。第一次检查是第二天的核磁共振成像,结果是我从 第三期晋升为第四期,转移性乳腺癌........


在丈夫的帮助下,我和孩子们谈了谈。对我来说,要告诉他们母亲生病了,需要帮助这样艰难而残酷的事情并不容易。20 多年来,一直是我在照顾他们,现在轮到他们来回报我了。母亲永远不会想做,也永远不会打算做的事情,就是向子女寻求帮助。


我于 4 月 19 日开始第一次化疗,每周使用 每周化疗一次 Taxol,每三周化疗一次 Perjeta 和 Herceptin。.让我昏迷的不是化疗,而是他们给我注射的苯海拉明(Benadryl),以防止过敏反应。当化疗药物通过我的血管时,我感觉自己失去了控制身体的能力。这种感觉太可怕了


我这一轮化疗已经结束。下周二,医生会根据 CT 扫描结果(今天,2022 年 7 月 15 日)告诉我下一步该怎么做。


无重大副作用

到目前为止,我还算幸运、 没有什么大的副作用。 我剃了光头,不是因为脱发。而是因为我的头皮疼得无法入睡。剃光头对我来说是个正确的选择。我丈夫修剪了第一层,然后我女儿剃了。即使过了两个月,我还是不喜欢自己秃头的样子,而其他人都说我看起来很漂亮。我在亚马逊上买了几顶专门为癌症患者制作的小帽。它们非常漂亮,我还有几个朋友为我做了一些。


我从来没有呕吐过但我确实有些 恶心尽管他们开的药对我有帮助。我吃了两三次。我有时会出现 腹泻这就需要做一些调整。例如,我不能在海边或徒步旅行中度过一天,因为相信我,当你腹泻时,必须使用公园或海边的厕所,这可不是你愿意看到的。


然后,我不得不接受我的房子并不总是干净整洁、光鲜亮丽的事实,因为大多数时候我都太累了,没有时间打扫。我不得不换工作,因为之前的工作需要长时间站立,而且是全职工作。现在,我有一份兼职工作,而且是坐着工作。这样我下午就可以在家小睡一会儿。是的,每天我都会小睡一会儿,因为 疲劳很难受。我挣扎着接受它,是我的丈夫确保我每天午睡。有时候,我觉得自己很好,但其实不然,这就是为什么我们需要一个丈夫或好朋友,如果你不休息,他们会对你诚实,踢你的屁股,当然是比喻。


运动、写作和我的现在

有一件事我没有妥协,那就是晨泳..每天早上我都会游一个小时。唯一不同的是,以前我每小时能游 45 圈,现在只能勉强游 20 圈,但重要的是要坚持下去。体育锻炼是我们应对化疗最重要的方法之一。水非常适合关节,在水中你可以同时活动全身。我游泳十圈(有氧运动),做十分钟运动,然后再游泳十圈,再做十分钟运动。这对减肥没有帮助,但对减轻疼痛和副作用有帮助。


我一般在 5:30 起床,一边吃简单的早餐,一边和意大利的姐妹们聊天。早上 7 点左右,我出门去游泳,然后去上班。我在游泳的健身房工作。下午 1 点,我回家与丈夫共进午餐,有时与一个或两个孩子共进午餐。午饭后,丈夫让我去睡午觉(他会来看看我是真的在睡午觉,还是在玩手机!)。我不想睡太久,所以把闹钟调到 45 分钟。


午睡后,我一般会写一点东西。我喜欢写故事、看纪录片或阅读。下午 6:30 左右,我开始做晚饭,晚饭后继续做下午剩下的事情。9:30 左右,我准备睡觉。


关于饮食部分......自从我开始化疗,我就被指派了一位营养师。她向我解释说,化疗会改变我的味觉感知,而且我需要营养,所以她不想在我喜欢吃某些食物的时候取消这些食物,反之亦然。她问我的生活习惯,当我解释说作为意大利人,我每天都从头开始做饭时,她说要保持我的生活习惯,并确保在饮食中摄入足够的蛋白质。于是,我照做了,什么也没改变。的确,我的味觉完全改变了。咸的食物总是不够咸,而且往往一点味道都没有,有些食物还很苦。例如,我喜欢吃有生菜和西红柿的沙拉,但现在吃起来很难吃。另一方面,甜的食物总是太甜,但我真的很喜欢吃


好好护理你的皮肤从头到脚,因为皮肤会变得非常脆弱和干燥。早晚使用保湿乳液。即使没有头发,也要使用不含硫酸盐的洗发水,然后在头皮上涂抹精油。你会掉头发,不仅仅是头上,而是所有地方。不是在同一时间,而是在以后的过程中。脱发,尤其是私密部位的脱发,会引起瘙痒。别害羞,告诉医生。我的医生给我开了一种药膏,很管用。


有些事情我真希望以前就知道,比如有些癌症患者秃顶的原因并不总是因为脱发,还因为头皮疼痛。第二件事是副作用不会同时出现,也不会在第一次化疗后马上出现,有些副作用几乎在化疗结束时就会出现。


我的建议

我想就真正对我有帮助的东西提几点建议。第一个建议是 体育锻炼.游泳很神奇,水能拥抱你、支撑你,水还能治愈疾病。当你在水中时,你真的会忘记自己患有癌症。虽然只有一个小时,但相信我,这是一件好事。有时,我让水哄我入睡,有时,当愤怒占据了我的情绪时,我就潜入水中开始尖叫。这真是一种解放。任何其他活动都可以,就去做吧。


第二个建议是 日记.天哪,这真是帮了大忙。因为我用两种语言写日记,所以我的建议是双倍的!


最后,我的建议是,在你的周围要有 那些他们能让你感觉良好,倾听你的心声,即使你不说话,他们也能理解你。只要做你自己,他们就会爱你。


如果你没有支持你的家人或朋友,或者他们的支持还不够,那就找一个 好的支持团体.我不得不花更长的时间去寻找对我有益的东西。一开始,我认为自己并不真正需要一个支持小组。我在这里和意大利都有一个很棒的家庭,还有很好的朋友支持我。后来,在我的人生旅途中,我意识到,虽然他们都很好,但我的家人对我所经历的一切一无所知。没有人像经历过化疗的人一样了解化疗给人带来的感受。我需要与经历过我的旅程的人交谈,他们能理解我的感受。 我们每个人都是不同的,即使是同一种疗法,对两个人的反应也是不同的,而癌症对这两个人的影响也是不一样的。这就是为什么我不能只与一个人交谈。我需要和更多的人交流,这样才能更好地了解我所面对的问题。我也是如此。


我找到的第一个支持是 导师.但那是一对一的关系,而且只能通过电话联系。这不是我所需要的,但也可能是你所需要的。然后,我找到了一个支持小组,该小组每周举行变焦会议,并提供全天候聊天服务。这正是我所需要的。非常适合我。


SurvivingBreastCancer.org就是我的答案。找到适合你的方法。





谢谢你分享你的故事,蕾娜塔。SBC 爱你!


在 Instagram 上与 Renata 联系:@momrenata


乳腺癌幸存者网站资源与支持:





最新文章

查看全部

冥想星期一

与格洛丽亚一起诵经

东部时间每周一上午 10:00 

RSVP

周四夜饕餮

各阶段支持小组

东部时间每周四晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

转移性乳腺癌支持小组

第一和第三个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

 

周四夜饕餮

炎症性乳腺癌支持小组

第二个星期四

东部时间每月晚 7:00

RSVP

周二晚茁壮成长

Después de un Diagnóstico:

西班牙语支持小组

每月第 2 和第 4 个星期三 

东部时间下午 7:00

RSVP

乳腺癌图书俱乐部

每月第一个星期日

RSVP

正念促进健康

东部时间 2 月 23 日下午 1:30

RSVP

普拉提

东部时间 2 月 16 日上午 10:00

RSVP

恢复性瑜伽

秘密花园

美国东部时间 19 日星期一下午 6:00

RSVP

气功

东部时间 2 月 27 日上午 11:30

RSVP

艺术疗法

东部时间 3 月 4 日下午 6:00

RSVP

森林浴

东部时间 3 月 5 日下午 6:00

RSVP

反思与充电

表达性写作

东部时间 3 月 11 日下午 6:00

RSVP

针对 DIEP 皮瓣的瑜伽伸展运动

东部时间 3 月 12 日下午 6:00

RSVP

椅子辅助瑜伽健身

东部时间 3 月 12 日上午 11:30

RSVP

更多西班牙语活动

RSVP

近期活动

1

生存乳癌 "免费为您提供乳癌支持、活动和网络研讨会!无论您是想获得某个特定主题的更多知识,还是想与其他乳癌幸存者见面,我们都能为每个人提供帮助。 

2

我们每周四的长期预约适用于所有阶段。我们还针对特定阶段和亚型(如转移性乳腺癌和炎症性乳腺癌等)每月举办一次特定的分组讨论。 

3

读书俱乐部每月第一个周日上午 11 点(东部时间)举行会议。欢迎您每个月都来参加,或者根据您的时间和我们正在阅读的书籍来选择您的月份。 

4

通过艺术、写作和其他创造性方式,我们有能力管理自己的压力,理解我们的现在,并在静止的时刻放松自己。 

5

每月免费提供恢复性瑜伽、乳腺癌瑜伽和尊巴舞在线课程。 

页底

top of page
  • Writer's pictureSurviving Breast Cancer

Find What Works For You

By Renata


My name is Renata, and eleven years ago I moved to the US from Italy with my husband and our two children.


In February 2022, I was doing a regular check in the shower, when I felt a mass on the exterior side of my left breast. I immediately called for an appointment with my doctor. I had to wait a few days because I wanted to change doctors and I had to wait for the insurance to confirm it.


In the meantime, my breast started swelling and it hurt. I was worried, but at the same time I knew that tumors don’t cause any pain, so why worry? I didn’t say anything to my husband. I tried to hide the swelling and the pain, and found excuses when he wanted intimacy, up until the day of the doctor appointment. Last year my husband lost a dear aunt to a neglected breast cancer, and it hit him hard. Showing him that the woman he sees as the column of the house, was vulnerable, wasn’t easy for me. But probably, I didn’t want to be seen as vulnerable.


When the doctor saw me, he confirmed that it was most likely just a cyst, as tumors don’t generally hurt. But still, I was worried. At this point I talked to my husband, explaining to him it was just a cyst, but I had to do a mammogram and an ultrasound the week after.


Testing and Diagnosis

The mammogram was concerning because it didn’t show anything, but obviously something was there. The ultrasound however, showed more. A young doctor came into the room after he checked the results, and said he thought it was Inflammatory Breast Cancer and it was imperative to see a surgeon sooner rather than later, and my doctor would call me in a few days to schedule an appointment. This was on Monday. On Thursday, I called the doctor because nobody had called me. A nurse said the doctor was on vacation and would be back the following Monday. I gently explained the urgency, and she said she would put my note on top of the pile.


I know how these things work. I understand that they probably have tons of patients who say that it’s urgent and want to be a priority, but mine really was a priority. I thanked her and hung up. Quick suggestion, keep nurses on your good side. My brother is a doctor, and this probably helps me see the doctor’s side. But still, I was a little nervous. The practical side of me said, “Hey, one day won’t change a thing,” but the patient side wanted this to be done sooner. Thinking about that now, I know why I was so nervous: when you go through medical issues in Italy, the waiting time is very long. I didn’t know that in less than a month I would have started chemo.


Less than an hour later, the same nurse called me back to tell me that she checked my report, and she already called the surgeon, Doctor J., who was waiting for me to call. So, I did it immediately. He fixed an appointment for the following Monday and my husband went with me. The doctor performed another ultrasound and said he didn’t like what he was seeing. He wanted to perform a biopsy right there.


The needle to numb the area went under the nipple, and it was a sharp pain. After drawing a few samples, he then went to numb the armpit, which was way sharper. I screamed a little and tears rolled down my cheeks.


The surgeon called me on Wednesday after lunch. “It’s cancer.” These words echoed in my head like a death sentence.


The day after, on March 31st, my husband and I went to his studio where he explained with drawings and words that were totally new for us, about the different kinds of cancer, the different stages, and different therapies. Mine was apparently Stage III Invasive Ductal Breast Cancer involving the lymph nodes. The good news, because apparently there is one, was that while Estrogen and Progesterone were negative, the HER2 was positive, and the chemo would work. Thank God for my husband, who recorded the meeting, because I was confused.


Next Steps and Treatment

The doctor scheduled for me a series of exams and a procedure to insert the IV port. The first exam was the MRI the day after, and with the result I got promoted from Stage III to Stage IV, Metastatic Breast Cancer.


With the help of my husband, I talked to my children. It wasn’t easy for me to tell them something so hard and cruel, that their mother was sick and needed help. After 20+ years in which I was the one taking care of them, it was now their turn to return the favor. Something a mother would never want to do, would never plan to do, is ask her children for help.


I started my first chemo on April 19th, with Taxol every week, Perjeta, and Herceptin every three weeks. It’s not the chemo that knocks me out, but the Benadryl they give me to prevent allergic reactions. The moment it runs through my veins, I feel myself losing power over my body. It’s a horrible feeling.


I’m at the end of this round of chemo. Next Tuesday, with the results of the CT scan (performed today, July 15th, 2022), the doctor will tell me what the next steps are.


No Major Side Effects

I’ve been lucky so far, no major side effects. I shaved my head, not because of the loss of hair. It was because my scalp hurt so badly I couldn't even sleep. Shaving my head was the right choice for me. My husband trimmed the first layer, then my daughter shaved it. I still don’t like how I look bald, even after two months, while everybody else says I actually look pretty. I bought several beanies on Amazon that are specifically made for cancer patients. They are very pretty, and I had a couple of friends who made some for me.


I never had vomiting, but I did have some nausea at the very beginning, though the medication they prescribed helped me. I took it two or three times. I sometimes have episodes of diarrhea, and that required some adjustments. For example, I can’t spend a day at the beach or hiking because, believe me, having to use those restrooms in the parks or at the beach when you have diarrhea, is not something you’d like.


Then I had to accept that my house is not always clean and shiny, because most of the time I’m too tired to clean. I had to change jobs, because the previous one required standing for long hours, and it was a full-time job. Now, I have a part-time job and I’m sitting. This allows me to be home in the afternoon and take a nap. Yes, every day I take a nap because the fatigue is tough. I struggled accepting it, and it’s my husband who makes sure I take my daily nap. Sometimes, I think I’m okay, but I am not, and that’s why we need a husband or a good friend who will be honest with you and kick your butt, metaphorically of course, if you don’t rest.


Exercise, Writing, and My Now

One thing that I didn’t compromise on was my morning swimming. Every morning I go swimming for an hour. The only difference is that while before I used to swim 45 laps/hour, now I can barely swim 20, but the important thing is to keep doing it. Physical activity is one of the most important things we can do to cope with chemo. The water is perfect for the joints and in the water you move all of the body at the same time. I alternate ten laps swimming (cardio) with ten minutes of exercises, then again ten laps and ten minutes. It doesn’t help to lose weight, but it helps with the pain and side effects.


I generally wake up at 5:30 and have a light breakfast while I chat with my sisters in Italy. At about 7am, I leave to go swimming and then to work. I work in the gym where I swim. At 1pm I go home, have lunch with my husband and sometimes one or both children. After lunch, my husband sends me for a nap (he comes to check if I’m really napping or if I’m on my phone!). I don’t want to take too long a nap, so I set the alarm for 45 minutes.


After a nap I generally write a little. I love writing stories, watching documentaries, or reading. At about 6:30pm I start fixing dinner, and after dinner I continue what I left in the afternoon. At 9:30-ish I get ready to go to sleep.


About the eating part… Since I started chemo, I was assigned a nutritionist. She explained to me that chemo would change my taste perception and also that I needed nutrition, so she didn’t want to take off some foods when maybe those were the ones I liked, and vice-versa. She asked me about my habits and when I explained that being Italian, I cook our every-day meals from scratch, she said to keep my habits and to be sure to have enough proteins in my diet. So, I did, and I didn’t change a thing. It’s true, my taste perception is completely altered. Salty food is never salty enough and often has no taste at all, and some foods are bitter. For example, I loved salad with lettuce and tomatoes, but now it tastes awful. On the other hand, sweet food is always too sweet, but I can really appreciate it


Take good care of your skin, head to toe, because it gets really fragile and dry. Use lotion, a hydrating one, in the morning and at night. Even if you don’t have hair, use shampoo, one that’s sulfate free, and then an oil on your scalp. You lose hair, not only on your head, but everywhere. Not at the same time, but later in the journey. Hair loss, especially in the intimate parts, can cause itchiness. Don’t be shy and tell the doctor. Mine prescribed a cream that helps.


There were things I wish I knew before, like the reason why some cancer patients are bald is not always for the hair loss, but also for the scalp pain.The second thing is the side effects don’t show up all at the same time and not right after the first chemo, but some show up almost at the end.


My Suggestions

I’d like to give a few suggestions of what really helped me. The first suggestion is physical activity. Swimming is amazing, the water hugs you, supports you, and water is healing. While you’re in the water you really can forget you have cancer. Just for an hour, but believe me, it’s a good thing. Sometimes, I let the water lull me, and some other times, when anger was taking over my mood, I went underwater and started screaming. It’s been so liberating. Any other activity is fine, just do it.


The second suggestion is journaling. Oh my, how helpful this is. I make it double because I journal in two languages!


Finally, my last suggestion is to surround yourself with people who make you feel good, who listen to you, and who understand you even when you don’t talk. Just be yourself, and they’ll love you for what you are.


If you don’t have supportive family or friends, or if they’re not enough, find a good support group. I had to search a little longer to find what was good for me. At the beginning, I thought I didn’t really need a support group. I have an amazing family, here and in Italy, and great friends to support me. Then, further in the journey, I realized that, as great as they are, my family knows nothing about what I’m going through. Nobody knows how chemo makes you feel like a person that went through it. I needed to talk with someone that went through my journey, that understood what I felt. We human beings are all different, even the same therapy has different reactions on two people, and the cancer is not the same for those two people. That’s why I couldn’t limit talking with only one person. I needed to talk with more people to have a better outlook of what I’m dealing with. That’s true for me.


The first support I found was a mentor. But that is a one-to-one relation, and only by phone. That wasn’t what I needed, but it can be what you need. I then found a support group with weekly zoom meetings and a chat group available 24/7. This was exactly what I needed. Perfect for me.


SurvivingBreastCancer.org was my answer. Find what works for you.





Thank you for sharing your story, Renata. SBC loves you!


Connect with Renata on Instagram: @momrenata


SurvivingBreastCancer.org Resources & Support:





コメント


Meditation Mondays:

Chakra Chanting with Gloria

Mondays at 10:00 a.m. ET 

RSVP

Thursday Night Thrivers:

All Stages Support Group

Thursdays at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Metastatic Breast Cancer Support Group

First and third Thursdays

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

 

Thursday Night Thrivers:

Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support Group

Second Thursday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

The Caregiver Huddle

Third Tuesday

of the month at 7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Tuesday Night Thrivers

Después de un Diagnóstico:

Grupo de Apoyo en Español

2do y Cuarto Martes de cada mes 

7:00 p.m. ET

RSVP​

Encourage and Empower

For Newly Diagnosed

September 10, 11:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Breast Cancer Book Club

The first Sunday of the month

RSVP

Pilates

July 19,  10:00 a.m. ET

RSVP

Restorative Yoga:

Unearthing Opportunities

July 15 ,  5:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

Reflect & Recharge

Expressive Writing

July 22,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Art Therapy

August 5, 6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Fitness with Chair Assist

August 13, 11:30 a.m. ET

RSVP

Forest Bathing

August 13,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Yoga Stretching for DIEP flap

August 20,  6:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

Más eventos en español

RSVP

Upcoming Events

1

Surviving Breast Cancer provides breast cancer support, events, and webinars at no cost to you! Whether you are looking to gain more knowledge on a particular topic or meet up with other breast cancer survivors, we have something for everyone. 

2

Our standing appointment on Thursdays is for all stages. We also host specific breakout groups once a month for specific stages and subtypes such as Metastatic breast cancer, and Inflammatory Breast Cancer, etc. 

3

The Book Club meets the first Sunday of every month at 11 am ET. You are welcome to join each month or pick and choose your month based on your availability and the book we are reading. 

4

Through art, writing, and other creative modalities, we hold the power to manage our stress, make sense of our now, and relax into moments of stillness. 

5

Free, monthly, online classes in restorative yoga, yoga for breast cancer, and Zumba. 

6

Después de un Diagnóstico

bottom of page